Transcript – February 9, 2017: Self-Directed Learning

#lrnchat is an online chat over the social messaging service Twitter. It is held on Thursdays at 8:30-9:30pm ET/5:30-6:30pm PT. Participants are people interested in the topic of learning from one another and who want to discuss how to help other people learn in formal, informal, social and mobile ways. We aim to steer clear of topics that are more “training department” oriented and focus on how people learn, what they learn, and what we’re learning.  If you an idea for a topic that you would like to suggest for #lrnchat, please feel free to reach out to any of the Chat Hosts.

This Week’s Questions

  • What sorts of formal learning experiences (Workshops, Conferences, Classes, etc.) have you chosen in the last few years?
  • How do you choose which experiences to participate in? Are they usuallly related to your own goals or something set by org?
  • When and how have your expectations and reality not matched? (i.e. – being beyond pleased or disappointed)
    • CLARIFICATION: Your expectations of a self-directed learning experience.
  • What makes it easier to learn during these types of experiences? What makes it more difficult?
  • What would you like to see at something like a conference that you think could enhance your learning?
  • What can you do to make an experience better fit your own needs?
  • What do you do before or after the experience to help make what you learn during the experience stick more?
  • Did your organisation value your achievements? if so, how, if not, why not?
  • What kind of moral or other support would have been useful/appreciated? How can you get that next time?
Please excuse the format of this week’s transcript as our typical capturing method experienced an error.
lrnchat    Welcome everyone to tonight’s special rapid-fire #lrnchat! How have you been?
ShannonRenee    What I learned in last 20 mins: Self-directed learning
lrnchat    Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
weisblatt    Just in time for  #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    Hi #lrnchat! JD from Disney World. Learning geek w/ @Axonify
weisblatt    A-intro) Adam Weisblatt a Connecticut Learnist in King Content’s Court #lrnchat
LearnerAdvocate    It’s so long since my last #lrnchat. I’m Angel – advocate for the learner
JaneBozarth    I’m Jane!  #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    Hi everyone! Zsolt from Philly. Speaker
amypen64    Amy from Kansas City.  Developing training for credit unions.  #lrnchat
jam09960    #lrnchat My name is Joseph
theASIDEblog    Looking forward to #lrnchat tonight’s discussion on self-directed learning.
NancyReyesNYC    Looks like I will finally get to join in. Exciting. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @LearnerAdvocate
ShannonRenee    Hi
weisblatt      Replying to @JaneBozarth
ApraRalli    #lrnchat From India
write2tg    Hello people of the world! TG from Vancouver BC joining this stream of tweets now #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    Carla. prepping for my thesis. It’s finally here. #lrnchat
jam09960    #lrnchat I am a student in UNT and I will be doing my first tweetchat today
SimonBlairTrain    Howdy #lrnchat peeps. I’m Simon
LnDDave    Greetings all. David from NY
lrnchat    Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
write2tg      Replying to @lrnchat
piercemr    Matt Pierce
weisblatt      Replying to @jam09960
Brian_Hoelscher    Hello #lrnchat!  Brian Hoelscher
urbie    #lrnchat urbie
JeremyDBond    Hey
spotlessmind82    Hey there
urbie      Replying to @JaneBozarth
ShannonRenee    I’m preparing for an LBT brunch on Saturday…I’m the mimosa mixologist for the event. Woot! #LrnChat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @LearnerAdvocate
nsulla    Dr. Nancy Sulla at #lrnchat tonight: Creator of the s-directed
JD_Dillon    A0) Learned that I don’t need a 2nd season of Westworld… I’m good … #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829866053413003266 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
weisblatt    A0) Learned that clarity I may think is annoying
urbie      Replying to @write2tg
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
amypen64    A0 that current expected credit loss is hard to understand and even harder to make it into an understandable webinar.  #lrnchat
NancyReyesNYC      Replying to @weisblatt
rabbitoreg    A0) Learned who let the dogs out. #lrnchat
write2tg      Replying to @urbie
MoniIDD    #lrnchat I’m Moni from Florida- 1st time participating
piercemr    A1 Learned that if I am conservitive with my phone use I can eek out a day on less than 50% battery
weisblatt    A0) Learned that Apple isn’t the only company that likes taking features away #LMSvendors #Whatweretheythinking #lrnchat
kelly_smith01    Kelly Smith – Consultant in data immigration and learning #lrnchat
Brian_Hoelscher    A0:  Learned how to use Voxer this week #lrnchat
ApraRalli    #lrnchat A0. This week was a learning experience engaging Parents in the learning process… Getting them to think out of the box was fun
write2tg    A0) Learned that we can learn to be more wise via a post shared by @Quinnovator #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @piercemr
SimonBlairTrain    A0: I learned that one (or more) of my hens has decided her winter break is over and has started to lay eggs again. #lrnchat
spotlessmind82    A0) I’ve been learning a new Contract Lifecycle Management tool… I know
weisblatt    A0) Learned you can use FTP on spotty wifi because it picks up where it left off. Never thought of that. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @piercemr
carlakarijolich    a0 I learned about vulcanizing! Exciting
pbouffleur    Hey #lrnchat Paul from Minneapolis with an infant sleeping in my arms. We’ll see how this goes. Tons of learning video these days!
lrnchat    Q1) What sorts of formal learning experiences (Workshops
MoniIDD    A0) #lrnchat this week I learned more about using CIDI Labs for Canvas https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829866053413003266 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
LearnerAdvocate    A0)Learned that no matter how much I try not to #procrastinate
write2tg    A0) Also loved the MPL toolkit graphic by @theMWLmagazine. Used it for a conversation around how learning settings are changing #lrnchat
theASIDEblog    We learned that it’s impt to stick to our principles regarding expectations. Learn and grow kids!  #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    Q0 Met @DrTempleGrandin last week; have been learning more about autism #lrnchat
NancyReyesNYC    A0) Been experimenting with cooking and I’ve learned several new recipes. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A0 Tuesday morning I had doubts.. today can’t remember why. Playing around with simple to use & free #make #learning #visible apps
pbouffleur    A0) learning how to use this dern android phone…#lrnchat
Brian_Hoelscher    A1:  Looking to remain current in technology #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A0 1) basic definition of self-directed learning 2) 1
weisblatt    A1) Learning Conferences…not sure how formal they really are. I learn the most BETWEEN the sessions. #lrnchat
lesliefarooq    A0) Hey
JaneBozarth    Q1 Tend to go very small (YouTube) or huge (big conference). Before that NINE YEARS of grad school #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A1) A few MOOCs. Plenty of conferences. A workshop or 2. Nothing very structured. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829867027426865153 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q1) What sorts of formal learning experiences (Workshops
amypen64    A1 free webinars from training magazine #lrnchat
LnDDave    A1) I go to as many conferences as I can.  #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A1) Last year I spoke at four conferences and did two workshops. I learn a lot mostly from talking to other peeps. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @NancyReyesNYC
kelly_smith01      Replying to @JaneBozarth
weisblatt    A1) Started a cohort to take a MOOC on Learning Analytics from #edx #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    a1 I’ve taken classes and got certified in HR. I’ve gone to tutor/mentor conferences and presented at them #lrnchat
NancyReyesNYC      Replying to @JaneBozarth
JeremyDBond    A1) I do love conferences for the buzz
rabbitoreg    A1) I started MOOCs and http://Lynda.com  courses but I didn’t have the patience to finish them. #lrnchat
jam09960      Replying to @Brian_Hoelscher
urbie    #lrnchat A1a Define formal? Last L&D conference I was at was #lscon16.. before that #devlearn15.
write2tg    A1) MOOCs
lesliefarooq    A1) AP Biology APSI
JaneBozarth    Oh yah? #lrnchat https://twitter.com/kelly_smith01/status/829867532786028544 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Kelly Smith @kelly_smith01                      Replying to @JaneBozarth                           If I could I would pay you and your band to play in Brainerd at my Mom & Dads center #YouBetcha #Lrnchat
piercemr      Replying to @rabbitoreg
ShannonRenee    A1 I’ve attended a variety of classes
SimonBlairTrain    A1: I got to go to #LSCon last year. Aside from that
NancyReyesNYC    A1) Conferences. Keep trying (and dropping out of) MOOCs. After 8 years working on doctorate
ApraRalli    #lrnchat workshops s attending and conducted
urbie    #lrnchat A1b I go to lots of #edcamps (unconferences).. most recent was #edcampsummitSD.. it had a published agenda.. #formal?
JaneBozarth      Replying to @dpontefract
LearnerAdvocate    A1)Attended 3x #CLO to connect and #learn from other leaders of #learning. Webinars on #PerformanceManagement and #talentmangement  #lrnchat
MoniIDD    A1) InstructureCon last year
ShannonRenee    A1 And the classes I’ve attended have been more like seminars or symposia.  #LrnChat
jam09960    A1 #lrnchat I have been looking into money management
lrnchat    Q2) How do you choose which experiences to participate in? Are they usuallly related to your own goals or something set by org? #lrnchat
spotlessmind82    A1) Fortunate to participate in 2 conferences last year. The connections and resources I learned about has led to more (e.g.
NancyReyesNYC    Q2) Always my own goals. #lrnchat
theASIDEblog    We’ve given and attended workshops
mansfieldsupt    First time participating as well  #lrnchat
urbie    Wow! I just had one.. hit the spot.. #lrnchat https://www.instagram.com/p/BQUCZCihCvv7twaoSg_rE28mMphQEecw6piDRU0/ …
kelly_smith01    Q1) Some online learning on data migration topics #lrnchat
dpontefract      Replying to @LnDDave
rabbitoreg    A2) My own goals. Learning as much as I can about the brain. Before I lose my mind.  #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A2) Depends on the problem I’m trying to solve. More complexity = more structured learning often. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829868379607556096 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) How do you choose which experiences to participate in? Are they usuallly related to your own goals or something set by org? #lrnchat
amypen64    A2 my goals and what I want to learn to grow.  Secondly tools I need for work. #lrnchat
MoniIDD      Replying to @NancyReyesNYC
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A1 Most recently I’ve been focused on learning how to start/manage a nonprofit. #LrnChat
SimonBlairTrain    A2: Ideally (and usually) the goals are aligned. #lrnchat
piercemr    Q2 More and more it’s set by the org’s need
JD_Dillon    A2) My goals align to and expand beyond org needs – hopefully #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    a2 I pick based on what interests me or what I THINK will give me more career opportunities #lrnchat
ApraRalli    #lrnchat it’s a mix of both
LearnerAdvocate    A1) I’ve read >15 #nonfiction books this year
write2tg    A2) Have always set my own goals reg. the learning experiences I participate in but they support my organization’s goals too.  #lrnchat
dpontefract       Replying to @MoniIDD @NancyReyesNYC
LnDDave    A2) A little bit column A
weisblatt    A2) I get impatient. If I think a program is going try to sell me on how good the program is for half of the time
JaneBozarth    My whole career has been spent getting myself ready for the next thing before the org knew it would want it #seemstohaveworkedok #lrnchat
write2tg    A2) I keep them aligned where I can. In some cases
willconstantine    My everyone…arriving late to the party! #lrnchat
MoniIDD    A2) goals
carlakarijolich    a1 but now I’m seeing it’s important to pick learning opportunities where I will meet “”my people”” who will support me #lrnchat
jam09960    @lrnchat #lrnchat A2 I was looking into the orgs due to my lack of understanding.And yes talk school advice on certain skills to take
lesliefarooq    A2: My own goals. I can choose to do no formal learning or I can apply for whatever I want and see what gets approved. #lrnchat
drwrobichaud    Finished my doctorate in 2016 #lrnchat
MoniIDD       Replying to @dpontefract @NancyReyesNYC
JaneBozarth      Replying to @LearnerAdvocate
spotlessmind82    A2) It’s a mixed bag – sometimes it’s a requirement
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
kelly_smith01    Q2) I have found that if you don’t do it yourself – nothing happens #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A2 My recent learning experiences are b/c Honey & I are launching a nonprofit. So I need to know what the heck I’m doing. #LrnChat
weisblatt    A2) I’m hungry for learning so I hunt down the easiest game. #lrnchat
pbouffleur    A2) Normally my personal goals and org goals match up
jam09960      Replying to @learner4eva
write2tg      Replying to @pbouffleur
willconstantine    Q2) Most of my learing is from my own goals since I have my company…that’s not to say I won’t learn something new for a client #lrnchat
lrnchat    Q3) When and how have your expectations and reality not matched? (i.e. – being beyond pleased or disappointed) #lrnchat
drwrobichaud    A2 my own interests and goals #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A2) I’ve got a fever. And the only prescription is … #lrnchat
LearnerAdvocate    A2) Always my own goals
ShannonRenee    A2 The learning experiences I had for work were to advance my career and/or support client work. #LrnChat
carlakarijolich    a3 sometimes I learn that I don’t actually like something and I can re-direct my efforts #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @weisblatt
weisblatt    A2) If I’m too clueless about a topic to put together knowledge from a bunch of Youtube Videos
willconstantine    Q2) In the age of the self enabled learner it’s critical to understand why you need to learn something…it helps guide you #lrnchat
The_NthDegree    swinging in a little late… quick-fire eh? I work in education
kelly_smith01    Q2) With my nature I find stuff on my own I simply do not have faith in organizations – butter my own toast #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A3) If we’re talking about formal learning
rabbitoreg    A3) Conference sessions are risky.  Some sounds good on paper but not in reality. Happened. #lrnchat
The_NthDegree    A3 Parenthood. LIfe… jeez I don’t know… #lrnchat
SparkyTeaching    Empathy for your classroom wall…  From this powerful resource: http://www.sparkyteaching.com/resources/motivational/messagesthatmatter.php … #lrnchat #mschat #whatisschool #urbaneduchat #njedpic.twitter.com/rsLT9ppRTz
JaneBozarth    Credit: Jane Hart @c4lpt helped w Q2. Turned out to be quite an eyeopener. #lrnchat
theASIDEblog    We choose to participate to gain experience and expertise. Our organization supports and encourages PD. The community benefits. #lrnchat
willconstantine    Q2) If you discover learning something you don’t want to learn it could be an indication that you’re on the wrong path #lrnchat
spotlessmind82      Replying to @JD_Dillon
rabbitoreg    A3) In corporate
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
Quinnovator    (late) a1) lots of conferences: speaking to a) show work
NancyReyesNYC      Replying to @rabbitoreg
JD_Dillon    A3) Often disappointed when making decisions based on brand names and logos. Pleasantly surprised by new stories + peers. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A2 Location. Location. Location. It’s a 2-birds with 1 stone thing. #edcamps in Texas cuz that’s where the #ozarka is..
weisblatt    A3) You know it’s going bad when the instructor tells you how much they loved taking the class you are sitting in. #lrnchat
MoniIDD    A3) going to conference session that sound amazing & the session is boring or topic deviates from abstract. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829869522140151809 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) When and how have your expectations and reality not matched? (i.e. – being beyond pleased or disappointed) #lrnchat
write2tg    A3) Most formal ‘training’ experiences set up around classrooms don’t intrigue me. #expectationmismatch #lrnchat
jam09960      Replying to @theASIDEblog
theASIDEblog    The more we grow from outside learning
lrnchat    Q3 CLARIFICATION: Your expectations of a self-directed learning experience. #lrnchat
spotlessmind82    A3) If my expectations are too high going in
pbouffleur      Replying to @write2tg
urbie    #lrnchat A2b It started out as #edutherapy actually. When I hear of something innovative
weisblatt    A3) Expectations and reality diverge with selling (the instructor
Quinnovator    a2) I choose my own (because my org is me 😉 #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829868379607556096 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) How do you choose which experiences to participate in? Are they usuallly related to your own goals or something set by org? #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A3 Conferences can be tricky…what’s supposed to be a learning experience turns into a 45-minute sales pitch. #disaster #LrnChat
write2tg      Replying to @pbouffleur
amypen64    A3 promised job
willconstantine    Q3) The penchant I though I had for elearning…realized dev wasn’t valued
LnDDave    A3) I’m always disappointed by events that lack energy.  #lrnchat
willconstantine    Honesty is best #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A3) Less likely to be disappointed when I seek support + suggestions from trusted network #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829870391875272704 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3 CLARIFICATION: Your expectations of a self-directed learning experience. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    Q3 When descrip does not match what’s delivered
urbie    #lrnchat A2c so I’day it’s my goals that drive me. Oh
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
carlakarijolich    a3 self-directed learning can get lonely at times. I go in excited about something and then don’t have anyone to debrief with #lrnchat
write2tg    A3) I participated in some great MOOCs that totally went beyond my expectations in a good way. I really learned! #lrnchat
lrnchat    Q4) What makes it easier to learn during these types of experiences? What  makes it more difficult? #lrnchat
Elham_ab    3) when disappointed- if my objectives aren’t met.by the way glad to make it #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    AKA the David Kelly factor …  #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lnddave/status/829870626458464257 …  QUOTE TWEET                      David Kelly @LnDDave                          A3) I’m always disappointed by events that lack energy.  #lrnchat
amypen64    A3 description sounds great
NancyReyesNYC    A3) When the instructor doesn’t use the methods and approaches they are telling you to use. #lrnchat
The_NthDegree    A3 Expectation and outcome seem almost inversely proportional at times with learning.. kinda like movies… best can be accidental #lrnchat
theASIDEblog    Sometimes conference presentations are better in the program. It can be hit or miss. Most times it’s a hit. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a3) when some talks don’t match descriptions (e.g. sales pitch
write2tg      Replying to @carlakarijolich
pbouffleur    A3) it seems that my expectations about some conf. sessions are not being met more often these days.  #lrnchat
cogdebby    New learning goals for 2017. Be more engaged in social media
write2tg      Replying to @NancyReyesNYC
rabbitoreg    A4) People make easier to learn. Motivating and challenging. Sometimes frustrating. But overall
carlakarijolich    a4 having enough time/emotional capacity to reflect and bounce back from failures helps me stay on task w/ self-directed learning #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain      Replying to @susangenden
LnDDave      Replying to @JD_Dillon
The_NthDegree      Replying to @cogdebby
willconstantine    Q3 CLARIFICATION) The time I spent hours learning Creative Cloud on Lynda w/o context  #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A4) Targeted purpose + scope. Pace myself rather than trying to cover everything too quickly (science). #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829870778137063424 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q4) What makes it easier to learn during these types of experiences? What  makes it more difficult? #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A3 I enjoyed my formal ed experiences
carlakarijolich      Replying to @write2tg
write2tg    A4) Having a goal and a vision about the outcome and how it supports me is very motivating for self directed learning #lrnchat
weisblatt    A4) To be honest I think my resistance to taking formal training is mostly ego. I want to learn my way. #lrnchat
kelly_smith01    Q4) Difficulty – The objectives of the learning “”session”” may not align 100% with my goals #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A3a This is going to sound really weird.. #edcamps tend not to have agendas. Learning is open-ended. You get what/who in the room..
Elham_ab    3) also when talks and presentations turn out to be sales pitches rather than knowledge sharing #lrnchat
LearnerAdvocate    A3) Every freaking day. My expectations are pie in the sky
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
write2tg      Replying to @carlakarijolich
willconstantine    Q4) Easier = context; harder = purpose #lrnchat
weisblatt    A4) You become a willing hostage. #lrnchat
The_NthDegree    A4 Engagement on some level
pbouffleur      Replying to @The_NthDegree
Quinnovator    a4) easier when good models
rabbitoreg    A4) Sometimes
JaneBozarth      Replying to @weisblatt
theASIDEblog    Learning requires time. Sometimes we’re so excited by things we learn
lesliefarooq    A3: When I come to Twitter and join a chat that lacks reciprocity. I tend to quit answering and go do something else. #lrnchat
NancyReyesNYC    A4) I try to figure out how to turn it into practice while I am learning about it. This way I know what I need to explore on my own #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A4 During my formal ed
carlakarijolich    a4 I struggle when I run out of “”milestones””. I did 120+ consecutive days on duolingo and stopped when I ran out of lessons #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A3b Haven’t been disappointed yet. Ok
weisblatt    A4) Occupational hazard. I judge while taking a class. Can’t learn and judge at the same time. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a3) had a bad example: took an online course on programming mobile
nsulla    A4) learning is easier when you have   – felt need (purpose)  – activities just above your ability level  – options and choice #lrnchat
write2tg    A4) Positive interaction and engagement with others after the self directed learning experience makes it worth it #lrnchat
piercemr    Q4) Desire to know
nipponupdate    #BatmanSoJelly
pbouffleur    And there goes the baby… be back later
willconstantine      Replying to @JD_Dillon
ApraRalli    A4 #lrnchat  your clear focus .When I know what to do and I am convinced where I want to be
LnDDave    A4) Having an agenda that provides opportunities for connecting and reflecting is critical. #lrnchat
The_NthDegree      Replying to @weisblatt
NancyReyesNYC      Replying to @weisblatt
lesliefarooq      Replying to @urbie
carlakarijolich      Replying to @susangenden
willconstantine      Replying to @carlakarijolich
kelly_smith01    Q4) Positive – I can “”opt-out”” of parts of the learning “”session”” that don’t align with my goals #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain    A4: It’s way easier when I can focus on the learning
write2tg    A4) I need goals
urbie    #lrnchat A3x CLARIFICATION most conferences I go to are 100s or 1000s of miles from home. So lots of reflection there and back.
jam09960    #lrnchat A4  I lkearn easy with my children when I see them as equal and not belittle them. the hard part is not to belittle them as parent
ShannonRenee    A4 At conferences & the like
lrnchat    Q5) What would you like to see at something like a conference that you think could enhance your learning? #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a4) time to reflect #lrnchat
MoniIDD    A4) #lrnchat having motivation
piercemr      Replying to @willconstantine
lesliefarooq    A4: Easy = interesting topic
The_NthDegree    A5 Collaborative building of something utilising the talent in the room… anything but another case study or preso 🙂 #lrnchat
willconstantine    Q4) It’s time…not just from the focused learning but the process around it…having time to reflect
write2tg    A5) I would like to see less sales pitches/book pitches and more hands-on activities in conferences. #letscreatesomething #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A4 Learning is pleasurable now. I learn b/c I want to
JD_Dillon    A5) More time focused on collaboration and practical application. Carry that beyond event. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829872100609515520 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) What would you like to see at something like a conference that you think could enhance your learning? #lrnchat
urbie      Replying to @lesliefarooq
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
willconstantine      Replying to @piercemr
write2tg      Replying to @The_NthDegree
edorble    Hi #lrnchat folks! Would love to see any of you in the free online class we’re offering soon on 3D/VR tech+education http://bit.ly/3DVReducation
lesliefarooq    A5: Presenters who have been vetted as meeting at least 3/4 of my ‘easy’ list from my A4. #lrnchat
kelly_smith01    Q5) For me a good conference session gets me started on a path where I will created my learning #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a5) reconciling models
rabbitoreg    A5) No chairs. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A5) Lets use the talent in the room to solve some real problems #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829872100609515520 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) What would you like to see at something like a conference that you think could enhance your learning? #lrnchat
jam09960      Replying to @write2tg
willconstantine      Replying to @write2tg
amypen64    A5 pie in the sky
theASIDEblog    Mastery and drive push us to be curious to learn more. #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A4 When I was getting my formal ed–in the stone age–we didn’t have options. It was school or nothing. #LrnChat
write2tg      Replying to @willconstantine
rabbitoreg    A5) Love to have a day of 10 minutes sessions. Then I can pick the ones I want to go to full. #lrnchat
LnDDave    A4) a challenge during these events is speakers that prioritize “”getting through all their content”” over learning #lrnchat
lesliefarooq      Replying to @urbie
carlakarijolich    a5 a speed round of “”feed forward: stating a question about a problem in 1 sentence and going around getting quick suggestions #lrnchat
theASIDEblog    If we want our students to be self-directed learners
MoniIDD    #lrnchat A5) workshops (that don’t cost extra) Some conf. sessions aimed at beginners
urbie    #lrnchat A4 Easy? The mistakes I make that others haven’tend vice-versa. Sharing out. Some major (passionate) practitioners out there..
carlakarijolich    a5 It helps when everyone can share what they’re “”stuck”” on and others can give their 2 cents to get them “”unstuck”” #lrnchat
write2tg    A5) I would like to see people from different fields come into an L&D conference and share how they solved a learning problem #lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @JD_Dillon
willconstantine    Q5) Have sessions that focus around more workshops
kidd78    Download Words with Ibbleobble #Game #fun #iOS #School #Teaching #Learn #lrnchat #ipad #iphone  http://apple.co/2kwjzl7 pic.twitter.com/8cBOys2Eli
SimonBlairTrain    A5: What about themed days? E.g. day 1: design topics
theASIDEblog    We wish more parents were self-directed learners. They need to know what kids know to help them navigate. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon      Replying to @Quinnovator
tweetynu      Replying to @lrnchat
jam09960      Replying to @theASIDEblog
JaneBozarth      Replying to @kidd78
weisblatt    A5) Workshops where the leader brings the participants with them in the process of learning. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A5 #CueRockStar has the #shred session where presenters sing for their supper basically. Makes it easier to choose sessions.
carlakarijolich    a5 speakers asking the audience for questions/what they want to get out of the session BEFORE presenting #lrnchat
spotlessmind82    A5) An opportunity to collaborate with other likeminded individuals to develop a learning experience!! #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A5 Smaller workshops are GREAT for Q&A
lrnchat    Q6) What can you do to make an experience better fit your own needs? #lrnchat
The_NthDegree    A5 All out learnachy 🙂 #lrnchat
write2tg    A5) We need more Unconferences than Conferences.  #lrnchat
dpontefract    @JaneBozarth My daughter taught herself guitar (picking) via YouTube. #lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @LnDDave
jam09960      Replying to @carlakarijolich
urbie       Replying to @dpontefract @lesliefarooq
JaneBozarth    Not sure why we’re only talking about conferences? I love to learn uke via YouTube
tweetynu      Replying to @lrnchat
weisblatt    A6) Circle words in your notes that you want to delve deeper into. #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    My parents both went to school while I was a child/teenager. I saw the discipline it takes to keep learning & work a full time job #lrnchat https://twitter.com/theASIDEblog/status/829873074380144640 …  QUOTE TWEET                      theASIDEblog @theASIDEblog                          We wish more parents were self-directed learners. They need to know what kids know to help them navigate. #lrnchat
The_NthDegree    A6 It’s like going to a disco (showing age?) – dance. Get involved
theASIDEblog    We have no fear in tapping students to help us w/ tech. They can know more
urbie       Replying to @lesliefarooq @dpontefract
amypen64    A6 choose wisely and do your research on the presenter and topic #lrnchat
piercemr      Replying to @LnDDave
JD_Dillon    A6) Identify opportunities based on my needs and desires approach
carlakarijolich    a7 set goals and priorities. Conduct mini “”tests”” of pet ideas to see if they really work. #lrnchat
willconstantine       Replying to @NancyReyesNYC @JaneBozarth
jam09960      Replying to @willconstantine
Quinnovator    a6) take ownership: apply what you hear to your situation
write2tg    A6) To make the experience fit my needs
JaneBozarth    BTW DELIGHTED in 1999 when what I expected to be boring “”tech in training”” course turned out to be teaching me to code
JD_Dillon    A6) Do my homework. Don’t expect things to be handed to me. Participate. Ask questions. Challenge. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829873324981420033 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q6) What can you do to make an experience better fit your own needs? #lrnchat
tweetynu      Replying to @lrnchat
NancyReyesNYC       Replying to @willconstantine @JaneBozarth
urbie    #lrnchat A6 Wear comfortable shoes and natural fabrics that breathe. You’ll be moving around a lot. #boos (butts out of seats)
LnDDave    A6) if you want to get more out of anything
ShannonRenee    A6 I sit close to the front. This keeps me from getting distracted; I can hear clearly & I tend to get my questions answered. #LrnChat
The_NthDegree    A6 …treat conferences like all learning activities… as part of learning
ApraRalli    #lrnchat A5. interaction.. Effectively. Intelligence..but not the Holier than thou attitude.
weisblatt    A6) When demonstrating software
lesliefarooq       Replying to @urbie @dpontefract
drwrobichaud    I love hearing other people’s passions #lrnchat https://twitter.com/susangenden/status/829873438894456832 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Susan Genden
KidDotCo    Download Words with Ibbleobble #Game #fun #iOS #School #Teaching #Learn #lrnchat #ipad #iphone  http://apple.co/2kwmtpN pic.twitter.com/I2KQPgLGdk
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
write2tg    A6) Once I know I am in the right place with the right learning experience
nsulla    All the content you need to learn is on the Internet … IF you have #executivefunction: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yxpc96lgLpw … #lrnchat https://twitter.com/dpontefract/status/829873430379900930 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Dan PontefractVerified account @dpontefract                          @JaneBozarth My daughter taught herself guitar (picking) via YouTube. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    GO FIND SOMETHING ELSE. Don’t stay if it doesn’t meet your needs
ApraRalli    #lrnchat A6. contribute to the discussion
willconstantine    Q6) Knowing what the need is first is critical…we might assume
Elham_ab    I echo that #lrnchat  https://twitter.com/quinnovator/status/829871535229788160 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                          a4) easier when good models
urbie    Hey #lrnchat.. take a peek at #pedagome now in progresshttps://twitter.com/pedagome/status/829872554953285633 …  QUOTE TWEET
rabbitoreg    A6) Ask QUESTIONS! Best learning is through conversation about the topic. Different point of views. #lrnchat
urbie    Kinda what we’re chatting about over at #lrnchat #pedagomehttps://twitter.com/pedagome/status/829870017068032006 …  QUOTE TWEET
write2tg    A6) I believe that I am an active node of the learning experience and I am creating it for myself as much as others are  #lrnchat
The_NthDegree      Replying to @rabbitoreg
piercemr    Q6 At conferences: law of the two feet. If session isn’t meeting needs
ShannonRenee    A6 I always ask questions. If I don’t have questions then the session was a waste of my time. #LrnChat
JaneBozarth    Choose sessions purposefully. Read beyond the session title. #lrnchat
spotlessmind82    A6) Do your due diligence. #lrnchat
willconstantine       Replying to @NancyReyesNYC @JaneBozarth
Quinnovator    a6) reframe: mindmap
LnDDave      Replying to @piercemr
weisblatt    We learn inside our heads. The classroom is just the playground. We can lean against the fence or grab the ball. #lrnchat
ApraRalli    #lrnchat A3 #lrnchat not applicable…I do what satisfies me…I can’t work/ play half heartedly. Must give everything my 100%
carlakarijolich    Even if you’re not the one paying for a conference/class your time is valuable. You can’t opt out of something that won’t help you #lrnchat https://twitter.com/JaneBozarth/status/829874064554598402 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jane Bozarth @JaneBozarth                          GO FIND SOMETHING ELSE. Don’t stay if it doesn’t meet your needs
NancyReyesNYC      Replying to @JaneBozarth
tweetynu      Replying to @lrnchat
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
pbouffleur    A6) I have to be part of the experience plan well
margiemeacham    Sorry I’m so late. #lrnchat – Loved what #TLDC did – blocked out time for reflection. Also #trgconf – Dine around networking at night.https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829872100609515520 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) What would you like to see at something like a conference that you think could enhance your learning? #lrnchat
urbie    #pedagome #lrnchat https://twitter.com/pedagome/status/829873790171635712 …  QUOTE TWEET
theASIDEblog    Learning is not always comfortable. That’s okay; growth comes from perseverance. #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain    A6: First
willconstantine      Replying to @jam09960
carlakarijolich    a6 When I don’t like something I stop
lrnchat    Q7) What do you do before or after the experience to help make what you learn during the experience stick more? #lrnchat
ShannonRenee      Replying to @rabbitoreg
Elham_ab    4) when goals are set to apply the novel ideas
margiemeacham    #lrnchat A6 – I’m guilty of not planning in advance – setting goals
MoniIDD    A6) in general prioritize what I want/need to learn dedicate more time 4 self directed learning experiences #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829873324981420033 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q6) What can you do to make an experience better fit your own needs? #lrnchat
carlakarijolich      Replying to @carlakarijolich
The_NthDegree    A7 Think. Learning without thinking
JD_Dillon    A7) Research. Practice. Reflect. Share. Repeat. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829874627430252545 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q7) What do you do before or after the experience to help make what you learn during the experience stick more? #lrnchat
willconstantine      Replying to @Quinnovator
JeremyDBond       Replying to @NancyReyesNYC @JaneBozarth
theASIDEblog    We try to think of questions when learning. It’s no longer just about facts/skills; it’s about inference and analysis. #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain    A6: Keep asking yourself
rabbitoreg    A7) Whatever @JD said. #lrnchat
urbie    #pedagome A1b Who know so much information could be shared via clicks and buzzes and.. Check out @SpeechlessShow #lrnchat
write2tg    A7) I prep myself for the learning experience. Define goals
margiemeacham    A7 #lrnchat – TAKE NOTES – reflect after every session and make notes of what you will take away. Taking notes by hand is a powerful tool. https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829874627430252545 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q7) What do you do before or after the experience to help make what you learn during the experience stick more? #lrnchat
weisblatt    A7) I slip out the back and go for a walk. I need to put the new ideas in incubators for future reflection. #lrnchat
carlakarijolich       Replying to @NancyReyesNYC @JaneBozarth
LnDDave    A6) embrace that it is your responsibility to learn
JaneBozarth    Look for something you might not find elsewhere. Experiences offering reviews of research
The_NthDegree    A7 Reflect. Try to be self-aware…  #lrnchat
JD_Dillon       Replying to @rabbitoreg @jd
write2tg    A7) After the learning experience
jam09960      Replying to @willconstantine
weisblatt    A7) Before class: “”Oh shoot was that class today? Gotta run!”” #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    a7 I don’t do this enough. I usually think of one soundbyte I can carry forward into my day. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth       Replying to @JeremyDBond @NancyReyesNYC
Elham_ab    7) engage in conversations and share w/ my team
spotlessmind82    A7) Reflect
piercemr    A7) I think talking abt is a great way to help it stick. If share it
urbie    #lrnchat A7 Reflect and fly my #mavicpro. #edcampnavasota is 1100 miles one-way. Lots to reflect on needs going & application on return..
Quinnovator    a7) document questions beforehand
The_NthDegree    A7 if you learn something new it’s always good to try & explain it to someone else – soon learn what you don’t yet know too… #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain      Replying to @JaneBozarth
NancyReyesNYC       Replying to @JaneBozarth @JeremyDBond
pbouffleur       Replying to @LnDDave @piercemr
carlakarijolich      Replying to @SimonBlairTrain
MoniIDD    A7) depends-Conf sessions I’ll make recap notes
LnDDave    A7) I write #lrnchat
jam09960    #lrnchat  that’s what I lack in the after part of learning
JaneBozarth    I remember being 2/3 through preso on “”Using PPT to Create eLearning”” when sad someone in audience said: “”I don’t do any eLearning”” #lrnchat
willconstantine    Q7) Writing out your reflection with action steps
write2tg        Replying to @NancyReyesNYC @JaneBozarth @JeremyDBond
jam09960    #lrnchat A7 any ideas or set rules to do after learning to keep learning
urbie    #lrnchat A7b The drone figures in because its expensive. Flying it is exhilarating.. it’s great for ideation.
rabbitoreg    A7) If it’s a skill
weisblatt    A6) I try to figure out why the instructor wanted to teach this class in the first place. Helps being open to their viewpoint. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A7) I heard spaced repetition drives long-term retention … Cant remember where I heard it though…  #lrnchat
margiemeacham    Me too @JaneBozarth I’d rather have them leave than feel disappointment and waste their time #lrnchat https://twitter.com/NancyReyesNYC/status/829875377178832896 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Nancy Reyes @NancyReyesNYC                       Replying to @JaneBozarth @JeremyDBond                          When I present
JaneBozarth      Replying to @SimonBlairTrain
spotlessmind82      Replying to @LnDDave
LearnerAdvocate    A6)Understand where I need #improvement and where I am #struggling. Self reflection of current is necessary for future growth  #lrnchat
rockynu    The only really decent thing to do behind a person’s back is pat it. #lrnchat
willconstantine    Sometimes you have to just speak out loud! #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A7 Do basic research B4 session; live-tweet the session; and post-session
SimonBlairTrain      Replying to @carlakarijolich
JaneBozarth       Replying to @NancyReyesNYC @JeremyDBond
willconstantine      Replying to @JD_Dillon
lrnchat    Q8) Did your organisation value your achievements? if so
weisblatt        Replying to @JaneBozarth @NancyReyesNYC @JeremyDBond
JaneBozarth    If someone hands me a manuscript version of slides
LearnerAdvocate    A7)I take good ole fashioned #notes with colored pens and sybmols. I #network and keep in touch. I make #actionplans  #lrnchat
JeremyDBond    As a parent
ShannonRenee    A7 I may also turn my tweets into a blog post. #LrnChat
NancyReyesNYC    A8) No one even understood what it is I did there so no. #lrnchat
jam09960      Replying to @write2tg
rabbitoreg    A7) I love those sketch notes. I can never read my own handwriting anyway. #lrnchat
weisblatt    A8) My org is very keen on self development (gotta eat your own dogfood) #lrnchat
margiemeacham    A8 #lrnchat – not sure what you mean – my employer? That would be me
JD_Dillon    A8) Past
pbouffleur    Learn about presenter beforehand
The_NthDegree    A8 Directly? Maybe not
theASIDEblog    Searching and reading ahead before a workshop or presentation primes us for the learning experience. #lrnchat
ShannonRenee    A8 Some orgs valued–and encouraged–my learning experiences more than others. #LrnChat
carlakarijolich    a8 one day I realized people were calling me an “”expert”” in something I taught myself
Quinnovator      Replying to @JaneBozarth
write2tg    A8) Yes! My previous org and my current org both value my achievements via self directed learning. They believe it adds value #lrnchat
margiemeacham    A8 You can also bring back the highlights and share with your team. #lrnchat. https://twitter.com/weisblatt/status/829876152214888448 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Adam Weisblatt @weisblatt                          A8) My org is very keen on self development (gotta eat your own dogfood) #lrnchat
willconstantine    Q8) My org values all of my achievements especially when I work from the couch 😉  #lrnchat
MoniIDD    A8) if the knowledge I gained helped w/something at work they appreciate it. #lrnchat  https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829875828636971009 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q8) Did your organisation value your achievements? if so
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
weisblatt      Replying to @margiemeacham
JD_Dillon    A8) Often comes down to your selection of manager. Yes
ShannonRenee    A8 I ❤ orgs that ACTIVELY support learning  and offer tuition co-pay or reimbursement programs. #LrnChat
rabbitoreg    A8) Yes. We discuss applicability after. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a8) my org is me
margiemeacham    #lrnchat – You work with smart folks – lucky you! https://twitter.com/write2tg/status/829876342313336833 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Taruna Goel @write2tg                          A8) Yes! My previous org and my current org both value my achievements via self directed learning. They believe it adds value #lrnchat
spotlessmind82    A8) It’s complicated. #lrnchat
weisblatt      Replying to @JD_Dillon
JaneBozarth    Interesting that the qs keep referencing ‘self-directed learning’  & everyone keeps defaulting to ‘conferences’. #lrnchat
The_NthDegree    A8 I am part of my organisation – don’t forget that! So if you got something out of it
pbouffleur    A8) My org has been very receptive to what I’ve brought back so far. #lrnchat
margiemeacham    A8 Most conferences have group discounts. Attending as a team really multiplies the learning before/during/after #lrnchat https://twitter.com/ShannonRenee/status/829876639467200513 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Shannon Mouton Gray @ShannonRenee                          A8 I ❤ orgs that ACTIVELY support learning  and offer tuition co-pay or reimbursement programs. #LrnChat
write2tg    A8) When I persue self-directed learning
amypen64    A8 yes
ShannonRenee    A8 Orgs that value their teams ~get~ the concept of investing in them. #LrnChat
JaneBozarth    My org has tuition reimursent/leave accommodations for academic work #lrnchat
margiemeacham    LOL – I hadn’t noticed. Guess it’s on my mind #lrnchat https://twitter.com/JaneBozarth/status/829876735520997376 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jane Bozarth @JaneBozarth                          Interesting that the qs keep referencing ‘self-directed learning’  & everyone keeps defaulting to ‘conferences’. #lrnchat
weisblatt    A8) Self development can be a check the box activity. Not sure they care WHAT I learn. #lrnchat
lrnchat    Q9) What kind of moral or other support would have been useful/appreciated? How can you get that next time? #lrnchat
write2tg    A8) I also share with my org what my self-directed learning goals are. They can see how they are a win-win for both. #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    Is that where Yoda got his famous line “”Do. Or do not. There is no try””? #lrnchat https://twitter.com/SimonBlairTrain/status/829875771309162498 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Simon Blair @SimonBlairTrain                      Replying to @carlakarijolich                           Yes! €œKnowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do.€ €• Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. #lrnchat
theASIDEblog    We’re fortunate. Our organization promotes our achievements via print
jam09960      Replying to @willconstantine
Quinnovator    a9) working on getting smart on tools to help me self-manage learning #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829877062097895424 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q9) What kind of moral or other support would have been useful/appreciated? How can you get that next time? #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A8 Yes. And. No. What I learned at #EdCamp got me the job I have now. But priorities changed and I do something else now..
tweetynu      Replying to @lrnchat
write2tg      Replying to @margiemeacham
kelly_smith01    Q?) Since I am independent I have to pay for it or borrow it from various sources #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain      Replying to @carlakarijolich
theASIDEblog    We have to go. Thank you for a thoughtful #lrnchat tonight.
spotlessmind82      Replying to @JaneBozarth
JD_Dillon    A9) Often a question of capacity/prioritization to allow for energy/focus for development #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829877062097895424 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q9) What kind of moral or other support would have been useful/appreciated? How can you get that next time? #lrnchat
The_NthDegree    A9 The best thing an org can do is let you try things & get it wrong… that’s what I want from my org around learning… #lrnchat
JeremyDBond                       Replying to @weisblatt @JaneBozarth and 2 others
write2tg    A9) I think tuition reimbursements and helping with fees to attend meaningful conferences will go a long way.  #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A8b it’s cool tho. I do a lot of consulting now. I’m looking for my next big thing ATM #shinyobject
Quinnovator    love library checkout
weisblatt    A8) My org especially likes when I say
ShannonRenee      Replying to @margiemeacham
write2tg    A9) But more than that
rabbitoreg    A9) Learn what’s needed tomorrow
SimonBlairTrain    A9: Support during: the freedom to step away from work and focus on learning. After: a project on which to practice what’s learned. #lrnchat
willconstantine      Replying to @Quinnovator
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
margiemeacham    A9 Agreed! Part of the job is staying on top of the industry – you can’t do that without reaching out beyond your own circle #lrnchat https://twitter.com/write2tg/status/829877519696408577 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Taruna Goel @write2tg                          A9) I think tuition reimbursements and helping with fees to attend meaningful conferences will go a long way.  #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A9) Accountability for continued development … Don’t let people stagnate even if job is getting done #lrnchat
weisblatt    A9) Dedicated learning time to promote a culture of learning. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @spotlessmind82
urbie    #lrnchat A9a At my last job
JeremyDBond    A9) Appreciation for how my expansion into that area would benefit the organization. I’ll have to be formal about making the case. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829877062097895424 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q9) What kind of moral or other support would have been useful/appreciated? How can you get that next time? #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @susangenden
The_NthDegree    A9 Recognise that learning & PD doesn’t always come in the form of conferences or workshops… this is PD… #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @susangenden
lrnchat    QWrap) It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
spotlessmind82    A9) It always comes down to time – lack of… Let me know if you’ve hacked know how to find more time in the day! #lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @willconstantine
urbie    #lrnchat A9b Guess what? It worked. And still does.. going forwards
margiemeacham    @ShannonRenee #lrnchat – Totally unfair. And may set you up as a target. Better to rotate or bring several folks. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/ShannonRenee/status/829877602118668293 …  QUOTE TWEET
JaneBozarth      Replying to @susangenden
weisblatt    A9) @lisagoldstein started a weekly session for sharing learning in our org. It has been a hit for the past 3 years. #lrnchat
margiemeacham    #lrnchat Learning consultant – I help folks apply learning science to enhance learning & performance. http://www.learningtogo.info https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829878136653373440 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          QWrap) It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
Quinnovator    aW) blogging at http://learnlets.com
ShannonRenee    Cultures of learning come from the top. If the org is serious about learning
JD_Dillon    Enjoyed the rapid fire tonight #lrnchat! Cya next week. Til then http://jddillon.com  + http://axonify.com https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/829878136653373440 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          QWrap) It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
piercemr    Matt Pierce
SimonBlairTrain        Replying to @rabbitoreg @JaneBozarth @spotlessmind82
JeremyDBond      Replying to @Quinnovator
willconstantine      Replying to @Quinnovator
margiemeacham    #lrnchat Also looking to trade guest blogging posts for mutual benefit. Interested let me know – margie@learningtogo.info
jam09960      Replying to @lrnchat
The_NthDegree    AWrap – Nigel from NZ you can probably find me somewhere with The_NthDegree out there… always keen to connect 🙂 #lrnchat
write2tg    This was a rapid fire chat indeed. My fingers are on fire 🙂  #lrnchat
weisblatt    A-wrap) Adam Weisblatt Learning Technologist. Hope to see some of you at #LSCON #lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @JeremyDBond
rabbitoreg    AWrap) Loved the quick fire challenge! Thanks for all the convo! Engage the WORL&D! — Zsolt #lrnchat
MoniIDD    Enjoyed my first #lrnchat hope I can join again. Shameless plug: I start my PhD this year
margiemeacham    Best wishes on your recovery @Quinnovator #lrnchat https://twitter.com/Quinnovator/status/829878394024136704 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                          aW) blogging at http://learnlets.com
amypen64    Amy from Kansas City.  Looking for free or cheap leaning opportunities #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @amypen64
JeremyDBond      Replying to @carlakarijolich
urbie    #lrnchat urbie
ShannonRenee    Orgs have to be intentional about investing in their ppl. Learning won’t happen just happen b/c leadership wants it to. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    Want a good laugh at the expense of the LMS? Check out the #rethinkthelms videos from @Axonify
write2tg    QWrap) Taruna Goel
margiemeacham    #lrnchat Let me know if you’ll be at @ATD #ICE in May – we can connect IRW.
weisblatt    A-wrap) Shameless plug: Blogging at http://weisblatt.wordpress.com  #lrnchat
spotlessmind82    Missed #lrnchat last week. Good to be back! Have a fabulous evening everyone!!
NancyReyesNYC    AWrap) Nancy
JaneBozarth        Replying to @SimonBlairTrain @rabbitoreg @spotlessmind82
pbouffleur    @JD_Dillon you win #lrnchat with this one! https://twitter.com/JD_Dillon/status/829877853701414914 …  QUOTE TWEET                      JD  ðŸ‘¨ðŸ»€ðŸ’» @JD_Dillon                          A9) Accountability for continued development … Don’t let people stagnate even if job is getting done #lrnchat
margiemeacham    Taruna wrote a nice guest post for me a few weeks back #lrnchat https://learningtogo.info/2017/01/16/my-experience-of-working-out-loud-using-pinterest/ …https://twitter.com/write2tg/status/829878839107080193 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Taruna Goel @write2tg                          QWrap) Taruna Goel
piercemr    And I have training related podcast: http://5trainersinacar.com  – new episodes coming soon! You can make an episode w/ us too! #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    AWRap) Take the one touch survey. http://rabbitoreg.com/example/survey/  #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @spotlessmind82
write2tg    @NancyReyesNYC Nancy
ShannonRenee    Orgs serious about learning make it easy: tuition reimbursement
willconstantine    QWrap) Enjoying the last of the snow day and my recharging…exciting new things start next week!  #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain        Replying to @JaneBozarth @rabbitoreg @spotlessmind82
willconstantine    Good night all! #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    Jane
SimonBlairTrain        Replying to @JaneBozarth @rabbitoreg @spotlessmind82
margiemeacham    Highly recommended! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/JaneBozarth/status/829879547537539072 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jane Bozarth @JaneBozarth                          Jane
LearnerAdvocate    QW)Angel – passionate improving human and organizational performance
SimonBlairTrain                       Replying to @SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth and 2 others
JeremyDBond       Replying to @jam09960 @lrnchat
ShannonRenee    Awrap) I’m Shannon
weisblatt    Shameless Plug #lrnchat pic.twitter.com/jQ51a3TQMm
NancyReyesNYC    Thanks for the interesting chat. Hope I become a regular. #lrnchat
kneaverchat    #lrnchat Today
lrnchat    Thanks everyone for joining #lrnchat tonight. Look for weekly transcripts at http://lrnchat.com
