Transcript – December 22, 2016: It’s Our Annual Appy Hour

#lrnchat is an online chat over the social messaging service Twitter. It is held on Thursdays at 8:30-9:30pm ET/5:30-6:30pm PT. Participants are people interested in the topic of learning from one another and who want to discuss how to help other people learn in formal, informal, social and mobile ways. We aim to steer clear of topics that are more “training department” oriented and focus on how people learn, what they learn, and what we’re learning.  If you an idea for a topic that you would like to suggest for #lrnchat, please feel free to reach out to any of the Chat Hosts.

This Week’s Questions

  • Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social, organization, etc
  • What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why?
  • What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain
  • What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why?
  • How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool?
  • What tools/apps do you use to help you learn, and why? How did you find them?
  • BONUS: Lightning Round. What’s the worst/stupidest/most overhyped tool of 2016? Why?
  • BONUS: Lightning Round. Any app not out there that you wish existed?
Tonight we’re building a Google Doc together. http://dld.bz/fpqbB
Please excuse the format of this week’s transcript as our typical capturing method experienced an error.
lrnchat    Welcome everyone to #lrnchat! How have you been?
PeytonWydickRU    Hello all! Peyton from KC
lrnchat    Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
Voced_au    #lrnchat  Waiting for pizza at work as today is definitely a POETS day around here
urbie    #lrnchat urbie
Tracy_Parish    #lrnchat Hi Everyone. I need an app that will do all my wrapping. pic.twitter.com/rK1wqVdzHB
rabbitoreg    (H)Appy Hour to all! Zsolt from Philly. Engage the WORL&D! Game thinking all the way. #lrnchat
Voced_au    #lrnchat POETS (P**s off early tomorrows saturday)
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
ryantracey    Hi everyone. Ryan here from Sydney
KatieStroudPro    It’s been a few busy weeks but excited to join #lrnchat today.
lrnchat    Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
piercemr    Matt Pierce
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
B_e_price    Hi
rabbitoreg    A0) I learned that passion may be perceived in the wrong way when you’re not careful. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A0 Learned in past hour how cartoons like How the Grinch Stole Christmas & Frosty the Snowman capture my grandkids like they did me
JeremyDBond    Jeremy
TWardLearning    A0) Learned/remembered my wrapping skills don’t improve with non-use  #lrnchat
trchandler    a0) I learned how to make Christmas Crack https://youtu.be/LoZ_7y3z5S8  #lrnchat
lrnchat    Any first-time #lrnchatters tonight? Please say hi. Ask for help if you need it. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    Jeff Goldman in Baltimore – Just finished a online course today. On to the next #lrnchat
write2tg    Hello #lrnchat I am chasing deadlines so won’t be joining the  (H)Appy hour tonight. See you next week. Merry Christmas!
piercemr    A0) I learned the decible level of 8 teenage boys during a vicious game of battlefront is really loud. I #lrnchat #birthdaypartynight
busynessgirl    Today I learned about why I’ve made some of my recent decisions. Like quitting a job. http://busynessgirl.com/the-four-processors/ … #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A0) I’m also watching the Eagles… BTW #lrnchat
KatieStroudPro      Replying to @eLearninCyclops
lrnchat    Q1) Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social
JeremyDBond      Replying to @rabbitoreg
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @KatieStroudPro
KatieStroudPro      Replying to @JeremyDBond
urbie    #lrnchat A1 Animation/video processing apps. When i meet with clients it’s so easy to prototype interactive learning activities..
rabbitoreg    A1) Total Commander. Do I have to say more? 🙂 #lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @piercemr
KatieStroudPro    A0) I’m wondering if I’m the only one who had a great 2016…#lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @busynessgirl
piercemr    A1) A few tools I use a lot
busynessgirl    I tend to use mostly apps that connect me with people and ways to learn interesting things. #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
ryantracey    A1) Whatever fills the holes in my sieve of a memory. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q1) Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social
JeremyDBond      Replying to @write2tg
trchandler    Q1) Audio: @pocketcasts and @audible_com I’m always listening to a podcast or audiobook #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    Q1) on phone – SoMe On my PC – Dev Tools #lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @TWardLearning
rabbitoreg    A1) As for apps
piercemr      Replying to @JeremyDBond
urbie    #lrnchat A1b Using iPad’s camera i can shoot sample video clip of a client presenting; drop it into green screen app & we’re there..
JeremyDBond      Replying to @piercemr
JaneBozarth    A1 My life runs on social media appsand SnagIt #lrnchat
lrnchat    Tonight we’re building a Google Doc together. Add info about your favorite apps & tools & whatnot http://dld.bz/fpqbB    #lrnchat
busynessgirl    I think we should all share the apps we use most by sharing screen 1 of our mobile devices. 🙂 #lrnchat
piercemr      Replying to @JeremyDBond
ryantracey      Replying to @JaneBozarth
Voced_au    A1) outlook and word
JeremyDBond    A1) Social
lrnchat    Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
KatieStroudPro      Replying to @eLearninCyclops
JeremyDBond      Replying to @busynessgirl
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
busynessgirl    Q2 is hard because now I have to remember what’s not on my devices anymore. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @KatieStroudPro
ryantracey       Replying to @busynessgirl @JaneBozarth
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
piercemr    A2) I was using Illustrator a lot to build presentations
busynessgirl    I used to use Sublime
urbie    #lrnchat A2 Almost all the Adobe CC apps on my Mac. I don’t use elearning authoring apps like Storyline
eLearninCyclops    Q2) Yammer – Micrsoft has made it tuff to log in without Office 365 – Still OK on desktop
rabbitoreg    A2) Pokemon Go. #lrnchat
ryantracey    A2) Google Cardboard. The photos aren’t fully 360
JaneBozarth      Replying to @ryantracey
urbie    #lrnchat A2b They’re way too expensive compared to apps. A lot of the stuff I do ends up as micro learning..
B_e_price    A2) Twiiter (ironcially) – makes me very  unproductive when deep concentration is required  #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain    A1: Not sure where this fits in
piercemr      Replying to @rabbitoreg
ryantracey      Replying to @JaneBozarth
urbie    #lrnchat A2c Have learning need? Search LMS for topic. Click here & video/interaction launches. Watch it. Print job-aid [if any] & assess..
rabbitoreg    A2) I’m trying to get used to Slack. I’m still having issue with no thread. #lrnchat
JeremyDBond    A2) Slowly learning not to stick with the default apps (e.g.
SimonBlairTrain    A2: I had to stop using Pocket. I added stuff faster than I read it. #lrnchat
piercemr    Yes! & Thanks for the @Snagit love @JaneBozarth!  #lrnchat https://twitter.com/JaneBozarth/status/812111840780177414 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jane Bozarth @JaneBozarth                          A1 My life runs on social media appsand SnagIt #lrnchat
busynessgirl    I very rarely use Word these days if I can use Google Docs instead. Don’t really like PP either anymore. Too much bloat. KISS #lrnchat
lrnchat    Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat
KatieStroudPro    Q1) Social apps dominate. Staying connected is how we learn and grow. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    Tonight’s #lrnchat collaborative apps/tools doc: please add to it! https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ifsBirm67qNzsf9D8jqSuuBavNvAEaD_KgakN2xY6Dg/edit#gid=0 …
urbie    @trchandler these ones .. my grandkids are watching Frosty the Snowman on my iPad. A couple more there. #lrnchat pic.twitter.com/tsdLxQ1tDe
piercemr      Replying to @rabbitoreg
Voced_au    #lrnchat  Pizza has arrived here so Merry Christmas and all that jazz to everyone and see you all next year.
eLearninCyclops    Q3) Just today – MS Word
trchandler      Replying to @busynessgirl
JeremyDBond      Replying to @busynessgirl
ryantracey    A3) Twitter. I’ve never tweeted a photo of my breakfast. #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A3) My daughter arranged/grouped my apps on the phone based on colors. Instead of functions. I stopped using a lot of them. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    Yesterday @TorontoZooPanda destroying snowman video inspired me to make this on my iphone: panda builds snowman #lrnchat pic.twitter.com/JXI7t0nK34
JeremyDBond      Replying to @B_e_price
trchandler      Replying to @urbie
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A3 A few days ago @Plotagon clued me in on *secret word* that enabled green screen. Gonna use that a lot..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BD3lCPtD0GE …
piercemr    A3) Most tools I use I’m manipulating. They can do it
JaneBozarth    I love watching people work on a Google Doc/Sheet together #lrnchat https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ifsBirm67qNzsf9D8jqSuuBavNvAEaD_KgakN2xY6Dg/edit#gid=0 …pic.twitter.com/SC42F5BALB
urbie    #lrnchat A3b I can create characters in @plotagon & use the built-in scenes or green screen something more real. So cool w/client next to me
eLearninCyclops    Q3) SnagIt for gonzo job aids
busynessgirl    Q3 Can’t think of any
JaneBozarth    I make heavy use of IFTTT for connecting social channels #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A3x Probably coolest is Aurasma to make VR story cube-like job aids like.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvZvzDhwDTM …
piercemr      Replying to @rabbitoreg
busynessgirl      Replying to @JeremyDBond
lrnchat    Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
urbie      Replying to @trchandler
eLearninCyclops    MT @urbie #lrnchat A3b I can create characters in @plotagon use the built-in scenes or green screen So cool w/client next to me
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
piercemr      Replying to @JaneBozarth
JaneBozarth    I use Pinterest ALL the time for training support. Most popular thing I ever built  was this virtual tour https://www.pinterest.com/janebozarth/your-first-day/ … #lrnchat
ryantracey    Sorry friends
eLearninCyclops    Q4) StoryLine – I build 75% on my projects in it #lrnchat
SimonBlairTrain      Replying to @JaneBozarth
urbie    #lrnchat A4a That’s a hard one. I’m getting a lot more into using my #dji #MavicPro drone for video capture.. Litchi iPad app +
eLearninCyclops    Q4) PhotoShop – Can’t live with it
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A4b Makes it so EASY to capture static images for 360 media. #MavicPro flying camera hovers so well i can use indoors
rabbitoreg    A4) AHK Auto Hot Key. You can capture anything you do on the screen and automate with one click after. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @piercemr
JaneBozarth    IFTTT can talk to Alexa. Just sayin’. #lrnchat
piercemr    A4) My browsers (I use multiple w/ many tabs). Many things are browser based. Social tools
urbie    #lrnchat A3c So I’d say it’s the #MavicPro I can’t live w/o. Also helps w/inspiration & ideation.. https://www.instagram.com/p/BNlPRWUhZyp/?taken-by=wiredless …
rabbitoreg    A2) ALT+DEL+CONTROL #lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @busynessgirl
busynessgirl    Wunderlist keeps me married
piercemr      Replying to @JaneBozarth
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
JaneBozarth    Pinterest board instead of a handout https://www.pinterest.com/janebozarth/positive-deviance/ … #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @JaneBozarth Pinterest board instead of a handout https://www.pinterest.com/janebozarth/positive-deviance/ … #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A4 Another can’t live w/o app is Paper by @FiftyThree It’s indispensable for back-of-napkin ideation.. https://www.instagram.com/p/BKLwvMmjGtB/?taken-by=wiredless …
lrnchat    Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @piercemr
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A5a I’m not sure. I think we need a new name. I’m most productive [self-evaluation] when I’m enjoying myself. Mobile apps are fun..
JeremyDBond      Replying to @ryantracey
eLearninCyclops    Q5) Dreamweaver v. Chrome #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A5b Another thing [which i haven’t been able to sell to a client] is learnings w/mobile devices making something to demo learning..
JaneBozarth      Replying to @urbie
urbie    #lrnchat A5c I’m getting more into authentic assessment
JaneBozarth       Replying to @MrKMaston @lrnchat
JeremyDBond    A5) Learning needn’t have limits. Assignments and projects do. One shouldn’t be bound by the other. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/812117664743247874 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A5) To be productive
piercemr    DRAFT: Productivity tool == Get things done. Learning tool == help me know what I have to get done or ways to do it & do it better. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @susangenden
piercemr      Replying to @piercemr
lrnchat    Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn
urbie      Replying to @JaneBozarth
eLearninCyclops    MT @piercemr Productivity tool = Get things done. Learning tool = help me know what I have 2 get done or ways to do it do it better #lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @rabbitoreg
TheQuietSpeaker        Replying to @JaneBozarth @MrKMaston @lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn
JaneBozarth    Twitter
heikan2003    I’m at the symphony but wanted to wish #lrnchat folks Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays!
rabbitoreg    A6) Google. Find forums with answers that are ranked. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth       Replying to @JeremyDBond @rabbitoreg
urbie    #lrnchat A6 Right now it has to be Litchi & #dji’s DJI Go 4 app. Learning to fly & shoot 4K video is amazing. Found in AARP mag last year..
eLearninCyclops    Q6) Twitter – So long ago not sure how I found it
JeremyDBond      Replying to @MrKMaston
JaneBozarth    Back at you! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/heikan2003/status/812119636674310144 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Heidi Matthews @heikan2003                          I’m at the symphony but wanted to wish #lrnchat folks Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays!
piercemr    Interesting mix of both is Grammarly
urbie    #lrnchat A6x #dji #MavicPro is awesome at stuff like.. https://www.instagram.com/p/BN4jFB3BNYK/?taken-by=wiredless … .. but i gotta get better w/camera settings
TheQuietSpeaker    A6) Twitter! So much to learn from folks in L&D and comms worlds. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    Q6) Youtube   and eLearning Heroes (Articulate)  #lrnchat
JaneBozarth       Replying to @rabbitoreg @JeremyDBond
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @JaneBozarth @rabbitoreg @JeremyDBond And I often dream of using CTRL + Z in real life #lrnchat
piercemr    +1 Google things all the time. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/rabbitoreg/status/812119681083576320 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Zsolt Olah @rabbitoreg                          A6) Google. Find forums with answers that are ranked. #lrnchat
lisadbudzinski       Replying to @JaneBozarth @Pinterest
JeremyDBond    A6) Twitter is what I always use. YouTube is what I should use. “”The Google”” is what everybody uses. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/janebozarth/status/812119638142255105 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jane Bozarth @JaneBozarth                          Twitter
JaneBozarth      Replying to @TheQuietSpeaker
rabbitoreg    A5) Not really an app (yet) but I learn new things from @JD_Dillon 🙂 #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @JeremyDBond
CaveoLearning    Designing creative #elearning within the confines of process really is possible. Here’s how. http://hubs.ly/H05ymtL0  #edtech #atd #lrnchat
MrKMaston    @lrnchat A6) Yes
lrnchat    Q7) BONUS: Lightning Round. What’s the worst/stupidest/most overhyped tool of 2016? Why? #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q7) BONUS: Lightning Round. What’s the worst/stupidest/most overhyped tool of 2016? Why? #lrnchat
lrnchat    Please add to our shared Google Doc on Tools/Apps http://dld.bz/fpqbB  #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A6z After 30+ years using digital pencils
rabbitoreg    A7) All online test to tell your learning style. #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A6zz Take a look.. https://www.instagram.com/p/BHBIXVnBwSX/?taken-by=wiredless … .. so now i use familiar tools in totally different ways. Awesome sauce!
JaneBozarth    As I say every Appy Hour: I will never understand why people like LinkedIn. #toeachhisown #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A7 That bar thing on the new MacBook pro and getting rid of the USB ports. They’re going back to the 80s. Repeating [bad] history..
lrnchat    Q8) BONUS: Lightning Round. Any app not out there that you wish existed? #lrnchat
piercemr    A7) I totally should have paid more attention to the apps that failed me or threw away. But they are gone. #lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @heikan2003
piercemr    A8) Think it in my brain
B_e_price    A7 Adobe Captivate has made my question humanity several times this year  #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
JaneBozarth    Answer to Q7 last year per the google doc then: Weather apps that never work
urbie    #lrnchat A8 I heard Google is getting rid of Chrome apps on Mac OS soon. That’s a real shame. Awesome [free!!] apps there. #awesome
urbie    #lrnchat A8 See.. https://chrome.google.com/webstore/category/apps …
lrnchat    QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
lisadbudzinski      Replying to @rabbitoreg
JaneBozarth    A8 The Invisibility Cloak app  #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A8 I haven’t totally figured out #Minecraft.. I’d love to use that in my projects. You should see it used in K-12 #pbl
JaneBozarth    A8 The Bureaucrat Speeder Upper app  #lrnchat
JeremyDBond    A8) One that captures anything from anywhere–a liked tweet
TheQuietSpeaker      Replying to @JaneBozarth
urbie    #lrnchat https://education.minecraft.net/
busynessgirl    Maria
JaneBozarth    Don’t forget to add your ideas to oru shared doc tonight! https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ifsBirm67qNzsf9D8jqSuuBavNvAEaD_KgakN2xY6Dg/edit#gid=0 … #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @JaneBozarth
lrnchat    Thanks everyone for joining #lrnchat tonight. Look for weekly transcripts at http://lrnchat.com
