Transcript – November 3, 2016: The Evolution of Social Tools

#lrnchat is an online chat over the social messaging service Twitter. It is held on Thursdays at 8:30-9:30pm ET/5:30-6:30pm PT. Participants are people interested in the topic of learning from one another and who want to discuss how to help other people learn in formal, informal, social and mobile ways. We aim to steer clear of topics that are more “training department” oriented and focus on how people learn, what they learn, and what we’re learning.  If you an idea for a topic that you would like to suggest for #lrnchat, please feel free to reach out to any of the Chat Hosts.

This Week’s Questions

  • How are you using social technologies to help yourself learn?
  • How has your use of social technologies changed or evolved over the last few years?
  • What have been the most meaningful advancements in social tools over the last few years?
  • What are your social tools of choice today? What makes you use those tools?
  • What functionality is still missing from today’s social tools?
  • Have today’s tools helped us realize the potential of Social Learning? If yes, how? If no, what’s missing?
Please excuse the format of this week’s transcript as our typical capturing method experienced an error.
lrnchat    Welcome everyone to #lrnchat! How have you been?
lrnchat    Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
HigginsLindsay    @lrnchat Been pretty good! I’m excited for our discussion tonight!!!! 🙂 #UNTJ4460 #Lrnchat
ziolablu    Hello #lrnchat – ers.
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
avanbarn    The time is now for #lrnchat ! Tonight’s theme: “”The Evolution of Social Tools “”. Join us for tonight’s chat!
HigginsLindsay    I’m a college student at UNT in Texas.  I’m also an event planner and an assistant at a PR firm! #LrnChat
lrnchat    Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
urbie    Hey #lrnchat! urbie
eLearninCyclops    Jeff Goldman – eLearning Designer – Just getting use to my new dept and finding my way around – literally & metaphorically  #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
rabbitoreg    Hello #lrnchat! Zsolt from Philly. Writing a book
avanbarn    Angela in Ottawa. Working on personal health and wellness; coding and trend analysis – newbie! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794336234919358465 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
ziolablu    Just gave my first conference presentation with my coworkers today at our local teaching and technology conference… lived to tell #lrnchat
airlieplane    Yay! I remembered #lrnchat! Hi folks
avanbarn    A0: Today I was reminded that it’s okay if things go slowly. Better to be sure and fully informed…and then we make a best guess! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794336664344739847 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
HigginsLindsay    I learned how to be a successful people person today.  How to communicate effectively and determine what someone’s interests are.  #Lrnchat
brianaustinbp    I learned that innovation is almost always a process and rarely a eureka moment. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794336664344739847 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
lrnchat    Q1) How are you using social technologies to help yourself learn? #lrnchat
ziolablu      Replying to @rabbitoreg
airlieplane    A0) Today I learned that… Oh
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q1) How are you using social technologies to help yourself learn? #lrnchat
boondockedmedia    A0) Adobe XD still does not work with Muse. Grrrrrr.  #lrnchat
Quinnovator    Clark Quinn
Quinnovator    a0) learning a new tool trying to get more organized #lrnchat
heikan2003    A1) I find new blogs and articles through twitter. #lrnchat
ziolablu      Replying to @avanbarn
brianaustinbp    A1) I mainly use twitter as a way to see what my peers & the industry is doing and to curate content for myself. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794337510382047232 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q1) How are you using social technologies to help yourself learn? #lrnchat
LnDDave    Greetings #lrnchat. David from NY
avanbarn    WOW! You learned all that today? Good on ya! @HigginsLindsay #lrnchat https://twitter.com/higginslindsay/status/794337237810843649 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Lindsay Higgins @HigginsLindsay                          I learned how to be a successful people person today.  How to communicate effectively and determine what someone’s interests are.  #Lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    A1) To start – Following a PLN on Twitter
Quinnovator    a1) follow interesting folks on blogs and twitter
LearnNuggets    Hi all. Glad to be here. #lrnchat
LearnKotch    Hi all Con from Melburne Australia joining #Lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A1) Twitter to connect with likeminded
Quinnovator    nice to see some familiar friends here on #lrnchat and hope to make some new ones
avanbarn    A1: I’m here
urbie    #lrnchat A1a Social media’s a lot like the #bebop2 drone i fly.. both extend my reach into interesting places. My PLN n me share stuff.. +
LearnKotch      Replying to @Quinnovator
JeremyDBond    Sneaking into #lrnchat. Jeremy
JaneBozarth    A1 Great PLN w friends w expertise ie app dev
LearnNuggets      Replying to @Quinnovator
boondockedmedia    A1) Listening/reading thoughts by leaders in the industry
rabbitoreg    A1) Always learn from blogs
JeremyDBond    A1) Twitter chats like this
Quinnovator      Replying to @LearnNuggets
Quinnovator      Replying to @LearnKotch
ziolablu    A1) reading and following to find others with lessons to share #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
LearnKotch    A1) For me Twitter still my platform of choice to connect and extend my #PLN #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A1b Besides finding #ShinyObjects social media also opens up fresh perspectives & connections with other stuff I’d not think of..
LearnKotch       Replying to @MrKMaston @lrnchat
LnDDave    A1) Social tech helps me connect with people; learning is a natural byproduct.  #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @JeremyDBond
Quinnovator    a1) on a few smaller groups to stay in touch with colleagues
brianaustinbp    A1) once tried an experiment on LinkedIn to see what I could get endorsed for
LearnNuggets    A1) SoMe is always the go-to when I need to learn. Ukulele chords
JaneBozarth      Replying to @avanbarn
ziolablu    @Quinnovator in regards to asking/answering question – for me learning took off when I moved from lurking to participating #lrnchat https://twitter.com/quinnovator/status/794338125459832832 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                          a1) follow interesting folks on blogs and twitter
LearnNuggets      Replying to @brianaustinbp
heikan2003    A1) I learned in one of these chats to utilize lists in twitter. It has helped me take learn breaks. #lrnchat
avanbarn    @rabbitoreg I don’t even have SnapChat – not sure what to do with it. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/rabbitoreg/status/794338557502570497 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Zsolt Olah @rabbitoreg                          A1) Always learn from blogs
eLearninCyclops    A1) Yammer interanlly to connect and share – Lots  of good networking even outside the silos #lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @donnamurdoch
JaneBozarth    I love Twitter b/c someone is always talking about something I didn’t know I wanted to talk about.  #lrnchat
heikan2003      Replying to @LearnNuggets
lrnchat    Q2) How has your use of social technologies changed or evolved over the last few years? #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    A1) I don’t go to SoMe *to* learn. I come across something I *want* to learn and then choose the right SoMe tech. #lrnchat
LearnKotch       Replying to @avanbarn @rabbitoreg
boondockedmedia    @heikan2003 I need to learn about lists… I am kinda clueless on that. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/heikan2003/status/794339197670850561 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Heidi Matthews @heikan2003                          A1) I learned in one of these chats to utilize lists in twitter. It has helped me take learn breaks. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth       Replying to @avanbarn @rabbitoreg
JD_Dillon    My bad! Im here! I’m here!  #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    Q2) Relationships. Bar none. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q2) How has your use of social technologies changed or evolved over the last few years? #lrnchat
Quinnovator    so right; €œyou gotta be in it to win it€
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
airlieplane    A1) I visit Twitter
lotus_yon    A1 love learning from others through Twitter
ManasiMankame1    @lrnchat Better Late than never
LearnNuggets    Q2) Beyond friendships
MrKMaston       Replying to @LearnKotch @lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A2) Less watching. More contributing. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794339470623514624 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) How has your use of social technologies changed or evolved over the last few years? #lrnchat
LearnKotch      Replying to @lrnchat
airlieplane    A2) Well
JaneBozarth    A2 I admit now I’m more likely to say… “”ANOTHER new tool? Really?””  #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    A1 I love seeing the articles ppl post that I wouldn’t see otherwise #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A2) More structured use of specific channels to share w/ specific parts of the network #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794339470623514624 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) How has your use of social technologies changed or evolved over the last few years? #lrnchat
brianaustinbp      Replying to @LearnNuggets
lotus_yon    A2 Never thought I’d do anything w/ video but totally obsessed with Snapchat & hoping to start developing full videos for learning #lrnchat
avanbarn    A2: Expanded a little when I actually designed a Social Media for Learning (not teaching) course. Learned from my learners! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794339470623514624 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) How has your use of social technologies changed or evolved over the last few years? #lrnchat
heikan2003    A2) SoMe has become a habit. I use it to learn
carlakarijolich    A1 I also like to see pictures from people’s travels. It gives me a view into the world I otherwise wouldn’t have #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a2) not trying as many new (so many!)
JaneBozarth       Replying to @MrKMaston @lrnchat
LearnNuggets      Replying to @brianaustinbp
airlieplane      Replying to @MrKMaston
boondockedmedia    A2) It owns us! Haha. It has evolved us as because we are constantly on top of things like software updates or quick dev tricks. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794339470623514624 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) How has your use of social technologies changed or evolved over the last few years? #lrnchat
ziolablu    A2) As @donnamurdoch mentioned I started as a lurker
JaneBozarth      Replying to @avanbarn
JeremyDBond    A2) If we’re talking the last FEW years
eLearninCyclops    A2) Fewer tweets
avanbarn    And where do you usually come across your ‘something’? @LearnNuggets #lrnchat https://twitter.com/learnnuggets/status/794339552655765504 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Kevin Thorn @LearnNuggets                          A1) I don’t go to SoMe *to* learn. I come across something I *want* to learn and then choose the right SoMe tech. #lrnchat
LearnKotch    A2) Don’t take your #PLN for granted – give and it shall giveback.Focus on those share and care and take an interest in you #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    A2 I now try to follow people I don’t know it person #lrnchat
ziolablu    A2) I’m also better at walking away when a community isn’t a good match for me than I used to be – streamlining #lrnchat
Quinnovator    So that #lrnchat https://twitter.com/JaneBozarth/status/794339931787329536 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Jane Bozarth @JaneBozarth                          A2 I admit now I’m more likely to say… “”ANOTHER new tool? Really?””  #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
dawnjmahoney    #LrnChat Hello all – Sorry I am jumping in late!
Quinnovator    a2) trying to be good about matching platform affordance with learning need #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A2a I remember it like it was yesterday.. it’s an oft-told tale. September ’13 I tripped over #EdCampWestTexas. #WhoKnew +
LearnKotch      Replying to @dawnjmahoney
JD_Dillon    A2) Increasingly visual + brief #lrnchat
avanbarn    Efharisto
lotus_yon    You’re doing pretty darn good then
JaneBozarth      Replying to @JaneBozarth
Quinnovator    a2) getting more relaxed about occasionally missing a #chat
MrKMaston      Replying to @airlieplane
heikan2003    Important #lrnchat  https://twitter.com/ziolablu/status/794340445354496000 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Melissa @ziolablu                          A2) I’m also better at walking away when a community isn’t a good match for me than I used to be – streamlining #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    MT @ziolablu @donnamurdoch mentioned I started as lurker
HigginsLindsay    Q2: I think w/ apps ever changing and developing
urbie    #lrnchat A2b The unconference model #EdCamp has made all the difference. We don’t need no stinkin’ agendas.. lots of know-how in the room..
JaneBozarth      Replying to @Quinnovator
Quinnovator      Replying to @dawnjmahoney
eLearninCyclops    RT @JD_Dillon A2) Increasingly visual + brief #lrnchat
brianaustinbp    A2) It’s become
avanbarn    @Quinnovator Such as and for what? #lrnchat https://twitter.com/quinnovator/status/794340138205597696 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                          a2) not trying as many new (so many!)
JaneBozarth    Like now I just accidentally tweeted myself. I’m like a blur. #lrnchat
LearnNuggets      Replying to @avanbarn
Quinnovator      Replying to @JaneBozarth
LearnKotch    Anyone tried out the new #Blab – http://bebo.com ?  #lrnchat
boondockedmedia    @eLearninCyclops I love IG! Need to use it more. Going to look u up. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/elearnincyclops/status/794340335757492229 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Jeff Goldman @eLearninCyclops                          A2) Fewer tweets
eLearninCyclops    A3) I’m finding more coworkers on SoMe now than b4. So
ziolablu      Replying to @donnamurdoch
LearnNuggets      Replying to @eLearninCyclops
Jennagalg      Replying to @lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A2c So a big change is participation in chats (mostly educators of all stripes) plus blogging. I haven’t had much luck w/FB groups.
LearnKotch    Personally so far not a fan of the new #Blab http://bebo.com  – I much prefer the older one – but maybe its just me 🙂 #lrnchat
donnamurdoch    a)2 also Slack for groups
JaneBozarth      Replying to @Quinnovator
lrnchat    Q3) What have been the most meaningful advancements in social tools over the last few years? #lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @avanbarn
avanbarn    @eLearninCyclops  How are you using it
LearnNuggets    A2) SoMe tech has groups of different type users. Depending on the conversation will dictate which SoMe community I go to. #lrnchat
heikan2003       Replying to @ziolablu @donnamurdoch
JD_Dillon    A3) Video #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794341433226444802 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What have been the most meaningful advancements in social tools over the last few years? #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A3a For me it’s not so much the tools. Collaborating with other educators has made me question why I’d been fearful of #wol..
Quinnovator    a3) mostly lots of experimentation allowing a darwinian selection 😉 #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794341433226444802 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What have been the most meaningful advancements in social tools over the last few years? #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    A3) Video support. FaceBook Live. Animated GIF generation. And now the ever so fun iMessage stickers! #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A3) Curation capabilities like Snapchat stories + Twitter moments #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794341433226444802 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What have been the most meaningful advancements in social tools over the last few years? #lrnchat
busynessgirl    I feel I’ve become more skeptical of new SoMe platforms in the last few years. So much time invested & then the platform fails. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A3b Tools like @plotagon
Quinnovator    a3) not as big a user of video but am liking some decent interoperability
LearnKotch      Replying to @lrnchat
donnamurdoch      Replying to @vr_forum1
heikan2003    A3) Options. longer dm in twitter. sort content on facebook. things that helped my curation. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    have to balance your time investment #lrnchat (I wait until my €˜early adopter’ colleagues continue to talk about instead of moving on 🙂 https://twitter.com/busynessgirl/status/794341795039612928 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Maria H. Andersen @busynessgirl                          I feel I’ve become more skeptical of new SoMe platforms in the last few years. So much time invested & then the platform fails. #lrnchat
LearnKotch    Social curating tools will make content development/ distribution easier and support corporate learning more going forward. #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    A3) 5 yrs ago I would jump on every new platform. Suffered from SoMe overload. Maybe use half a dozen on regular basis now. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A3) This.  #lrnchat pic.twitter.com/4tKLFi242c
airlieplane    A3) I think TED is pretty meaningful… but again
busynessgirl    I find myself wondering where these conversations will go if Twitter goes belly up. Any ideas? #lrnchat
LearnNuggets      Replying to @TTMobile_us
heikan2003      Replying to @donnamurdoch
urbie      Replying to @donnamurdoch
airlieplane    I’m starting to think I don’t use social media the ‘right’ way… #lrnchat
Jennagalg    I’ve been able to follow groups & organizations like @LDPHL to explore new topics and see what’s happening in L&D #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794337510382047232 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q1) How are you using social technologies to help yourself learn? #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @avanbarn
JaneBozarth    Live video
JD_Dillon    Reality is that every platform is going away. Must find value + evolve communication/collaboration ability + move on. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/quinnovator/status/794342193536245760 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                          have to balance your time investment #lrnchat (I wait until my €˜early adopter’ colleagues continue to talk about instead of moving on 🙂 https://twitter.com/busynessgirl/status/794341795039612928 €¦
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q3) What have been the most meaningful advancements in social tools over the last few years? #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
ziolablu      Replying to @donnamurdoch
JaneBozarth    Hey  #lrnchat it’s @JD_Dillon’s birthday!
LearnNuggets      Replying to @busynessgirl
LearnKotch       Replying to @JaneBozarth @JD_Dillon
lesliefarooq    A1: Twitter gave me many new ideas. I tried them in the classroom. Youtube gave me tutorials. I built digital #breakoutedu puzzles! #lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @busynessgirl
eLearninCyclops    A3) Better access via apps  #lrnchat
dawnjmahoney    A3) People it is NOT about the social tool. Instead it is about the collaboration and contribution. Be tool agnostic/Adapt #lrnchat
donnamurdoch      Replying to @urbie
heikan2003      Replying to @boondockedmedia
HigginsLindsay    Q3: The best advancement over the years is how much social media has expanded people’s circles. You can reach basically anyone! #Lrnchat
ziolablu    A3) I don’t think the advancements are on the platform side
MrKMaston       Replying to @JaneBozarth @JD_Dillon
lesliefarooq      Replying to @rabbitoreg
airlieplane      Replying to @JaneBozarth
boondockedmedia    A3) Video! App’s ability to integrate a lightbox to support various outputs & length. Cross channel data sharing from your acct. #lrnchat
Quinnovator       Replying to @JaneBozarth @JD_Dillon
LearnKotch      Replying to @JD_Dillon
lesliefarooq      Replying to @LearnKotch
dawnjmahoney    I toasted @JDDillon after midnight! (certain he appreciated that) HAPPY BIRTHDAY
donnamurdoch      Replying to @ziolablu
avanbarn    A3: Mostly connection and collaboration. Am hesitant to explore each new tool that comes out. #toomuch #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794341433226444802 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What have been the most meaningful advancements in social tools over the last few years? #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat Talking about social media learning.. https://twitter.com/katiemc827/status/794305423075659782 €¦  QUOTE TWEET
LearnKotch      Replying to @lesliefarooq
JD_Dillon      Replying to @LearnKotch
lesliefarooq      Replying to @urbie
LearnNuggets      Replying to @LearnKotch
Quinnovator      Replying to @busynessgirl
hapara_team    Brief experiences make oversize difference to #student results via @nytimes #lrnchat http://nyti.ms/2fguyem
JaneBozarth       Replying to @MrKMaston @JD_Dillon
busynessgirl    LinkedIn does seem to be evolving into more of a SoMe professionals conversation space. More shares
donnamurdoch    @MelMilloway started a hipchat group last year
compare_edu    No Logins Required or Brokers Daily Updates #art #photography #beauty #hair #fashion #it #ios #me #lrnchat #edchatpic.twitter.com/uVDmrN5WTf
lrnchat    Q4) What are your social tools of choice today? What makes you use those tools? #lrnchat
LearnKotch       Replying to @LearnNuggets @JD_Dillon
eLearninCyclops    MT @busynessgirl LinkedIn does seem 2b evolving into a SoMe pros convo space. More shares
lesliefarooq      Replying to @airlieplane
LearnNuggets      Replying to @busynessgirl
heikan2003      Replying to @busynessgirl
lotus_yon    A3 Being able to collaborate in new ways via video is cool #lrnchat
LearnKotch      Replying to @catherinepybar1
JD_Dillon    A4) Twitter: established PLN + open channel #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794343693343932416 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q4) What are your social tools of choice today? What makes you use those tools? #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a4) LinkedIn
heikan2003    A4) Twitter & Facebook
lesliefarooq      Replying to @lotus_yon
JD_Dillon    A4) Slack: topical convos w/ virtual work teams #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794343693343932416 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q4) What are your social tools of choice today? What makes you use those tools? #lrnchat
lesliefarooq      Replying to @JD_Dillon
JD_Dillon    A4) WordPress: simple blogging/websiting #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794343693343932416 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q4) What are your social tools of choice today? What makes you use those tools? #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    I don’t know if it’s just me but LinkedIn learning is completely random. I never find anything on it. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    Ditto #lrnchat https://twitter.com/JD_Dillon/status/794343998701895680 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      JD  ðŸ‘¨ðŸ»€ðŸ’» @JD_Dillon                          A4) Twitter: established PLN + open channel #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794343693343932416 €¦
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A4 Twitter.
lotus_yon    A4 Definitely Twitter and Snapchat!  #lrnchat
dawnjmahoney    SoMe is set up to take information in at a rapid pace and in small bites/bytes. Dont overwhelm anyone. Please. no courses  #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A4) Youtube: endless content + enjoyment #lrnchat
lesliefarooq                       Replying to @donnamurdoch @LearnKotch and 2 others
LearnNuggets    A4) Twitter (colleagues
lesliefarooq       Replying to @LearnKotch @lrnchat
LearnKotch      Replying to @rabbitoreg
ziolablu    A4) Twitter
LearnNuggets      Replying to @MrKMaston
airlieplane      Replying to @lesliefarooq
heikan2003      Replying to @rabbitoreg
dawnjmahoney    A4) Social streams of choice/Have fewer than I did before/The Twitter! FB Skype LinkedIn  #lrnchat
busynessgirl    Does Feedly count as a SoMe platform? I’ve started using that for learning. Finally replaced beloved Google Reader. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A4b Reach. It’s like that CW song.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPCjC543llU €¦ .. there are others interested in #reimaginedPD somewhere..
LearnKotch      Replying to @lesliefarooq
ziolablu    A4) The tools I’m active on help me to connect and learn – I follow several graphic designers/artists on IG for inspiration #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a4) Facebook: friends/family; LinkedIn: created a group for the Revolution book; Twitter
LearnNuggets      Replying to @busynessgirl
boondockedmedia    @JD_Dillon Good call! I second this! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/jd_dillon/status/794344076011339776 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      JD  ðŸ‘¨ðŸ»€ðŸ’» @JD_Dillon                          A4) Slack: topical convos w/ virtual work teams #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794343693343932416 €¦
airlieplane    A4) Instagram and Twitter. I quit Fakebook – found it overwhelming. I tend to go for actual conversations these day. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    I still love Twitter and FB. My org now has need for me to explore tools for recruitment. Instagram and Snapchat winning.  #lrnchat
LearnKotch      Replying to @busynessgirl
lesliefarooq      Replying to @airlieplane
heikan2003    A4) I have also noted that my fact checking & curation skills have improved with my facebook use. #lrnchat
avanbarn    A4: Definitely Twitter for PLN base; Facebook (personal)
airlieplane    A4) I choose Instagram because I like pictures and they don’t always need explanation. #lrnchat
boondockedmedia    A4) Just started using Periscope and FB Live. Love them – instant notification to followers is great. IG stories; need 2 use more. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A4) The internet just is social today
compare_edu    #scholarship #highered #collegechat #collegebound #educhat #lrnchat #gtchat #hsc #vce #engchat #CollegeChat #careerpic.twitter.com/4lqf3bnxgD
ziolablu    A4) Twitter keeps me current with new ideas/technologies/solutions #lrnchat
JaneBozarth    I still don’t get LI. #confession #lrnchat
donnamurdoch      Replying to @busynessgirl
Quinnovator      Replying to @busynessgirl
urbie    #lrnchat A4c As for websites/blogs
rabbitoreg    A4) Quick answer comes from Twitter. Articles and forums on LinkedIn. Slideshare for visual presentations. #lrnchat
airlieplane    A4) I choose Twitter because I enjoy finding out about new stuff this way and it offers a way to quickly vent/comment. #lrnchat
LearnNuggets      Replying to @JD_Dillon
ziolablu      Replying to @LearnNuggets
eLearninCyclops    RT @heikan2003 A4) I have also noted that my fact checking & curation skills have improved with my fb use. #lrnchat | Me 2
lotus_yon       Replying to @donnamurdoch @busynessgirl
LearnKotch      Replying to @avanbarn
dawnjmahoney      Replying to @rabbitoreg
lesliefarooq    A3: Connecting people from (nearly) anywhere around the world
urbie    #lrnchat A4x I’m finding i’m more a practitioner than researcher. So Twitter & blogs expose me to some really cool stuff others have tried..
airlieplane    A4) I un-chose Fakebook because it was diminishing the quality of my friendships and ACTUAL social interactions #lrnchat
lrnchat    Q5) What functionality is still missing from today’s social tools? #lrnchat
JeremyDBond    A4) Twitter for everything. @Voxer & @bitrix24 for planning/collaboration
Quinnovator    will look at SlideShare
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q5) What functionality is still missing from today’s social tools? #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    A4 trying yellowdig at the moment. It’s like Pinterest for learning #lrnchat
heikan2003       Replying to @dawnjmahoney @rabbitoreg
donnamurdoch       Replying to @lotus_yon @busynessgirl
urbie    #lrnchat A5a It’d be *awesome* if the Twitter apps could somehow filter out bots. It’s a scary place out there.
JD_Dillon    A5) Meaningful integration to help keep it all straight + moving forward #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794345468591558656 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) What functionality is still missing from today’s social tools? #lrnchat
brianaustinbp    a4) twitter for professional stuff. Slack for work. FB and Instagram for personal stuff. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794343693343932416 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q4) What are your social tools of choice today? What makes you use those tools? #lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @donnamurdoch
dawnjmahoney    A4)Have Feedly
lesliefarooq    A4: Twitter
lotus_yon    A5 There could still be some improvements made to integrating different tools. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794345468591558656 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) What functionality is still missing from today’s social tools? #lrnchat
LearnKotch      Replying to @boondockedmedia
JD_Dillon    A5) Filtering that doesn’t lessen value #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794345468591558656 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) What functionality is still missing from today’s social tools? #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    A5 a way to get rid of dated information #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    Q5) Holodeck. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A5b It’d be cool if Twitter apps could integrate better with EverNote or OneNote.. make #curation simpler.
airlieplane    A5) TONE OF VOICE. #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A4) Nobody using Sharepoint? 🙂 #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    A5 a way to make sense of lots of different points over a period of a few years  #lrnchat
dawnjmahoney      Replying to @JD_Dillon
Quinnovator    a5) perhaps better integration
LearnNuggets    Q5) Better ability to tag and curate. Many times I recall an interesting article/post/tweet
LearnKotch    If you after a great effective and easy to use curation tool you must try out @anderspink – it is awesome!  #lrnchat
lesliefarooq    A5: I wish that more of them were easier to use globally. I find with Slack and Voxer one almost needs an IRL group to start with. #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
heikan2003      Replying to @rabbitoreg
busynessgirl    I’ve actually been trying out various focus apps lately to block SoMe and get work done: @stayfocusd
HigginsLindsay    Q4: Twitter
JD_Dillon    A5) VIRTUAL REALITY!  #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @airlieplane A5) TONE OF VOICE. #lrnchat | Eye roll 😉
JaneBozarth    More security: Creeps me out that you can’t really block someone on LI. Better ability to manage spammers/ads #lrnchat
lotus_yon      Replying to @JeremyDBond
Quinnovator    a5) want to use them as external memory
HigginsLindsay    Q5: A functionality that is missing is just more specific apps/tools.  Apps for churches is one. #lrnchat
brianaustinbp    a5) I still wish there was a better way to compartmentalize my feeds. Most platforms can … but it’s clunky. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794345468591558656 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) What functionality is still missing from today’s social tools? #lrnchat
dawnjmahoney    A5) Smell-O-Vision #lrnchat
lesliefarooq      Replying to @urbie
LearnNuggets      Replying to @eLearninCyclops
urbie      Replying to @lesliefarooq
carlakarijolich      Replying to @urbie
rabbitoreg    A5) Personalization. Oh
lotus_yon    Totally agree!!! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/learnnuggets/status/794345991633780740 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Kevin Thorn @LearnNuggets                          Q5) Better ability to tag and curate. Many times I recall an interesting article/post/tweet
lesliefarooq      Replying to @LearnKotch
boondockedmedia    A5) A way to protect yourself from hackers.#lrnchat
heikan2003    yessssssss #lrnchat https://twitter.com/LearnNuggets/status/794345991633780740 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Kevin Thorn @LearnNuggets                          Q5) Better ability to tag and curate. Many times I recall an interesting article/post/tweet
JD_Dillon    A5) Recognized cultural value that can overcome the desperate search for revenue #lrnchat
lesliefarooq      Replying to @catherinepybar1
carlakarijolich      Replying to @airlieplane
dawnjmahoney    A5) Tools that REALLY work in the adaptability space/Getting there/S-L-O-W-L-Y #lrnchat
busynessgirl    It would be nice if you could block a topic from SoMe stream. #electionseason #lrnchat
Quinnovator    actually
LearnKotch    Gotta go – Check out @bizlearningdude Top 20 L&D https://elearningindustry.com/top-20-learning-and-development-value-tweeters €¦ #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    Q5) Shock therapy when it’s time to unplug for a few hours. #lrnchat
lesliefarooq      Replying to @LearnKotch
urbie      Replying to @carlakarijolich
busynessgirl    .@urbie I use IFTTT to curate tweets in a google doc #lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @lotus_yon
boondockedmedia    @LearnKotch You mean you want us to deliver training in a quick
btopro    A5 #lrnchat truly free
lesliefarooq      Replying to @urbie
airlieplane       Replying to @urbie @carlakarijolich
LearnNuggets      Replying to @busynessgirl
JaneBozarth      Replying to @lotus_yon
brianaustinbp    a5) perhaps this is user error
dawnjmahoney    A5) In reality I don’t want more blocking capability/It is SOCIAL media/tech–far less interesting
eLearninCyclops    A5) Certificates
LearnKotch    Let’s start with our own people first then we can focus on Corp America. #Embrace #Explore #Enjoy #lrnchat   https://twitter.com/boondockedmedia/status/794347008504934400 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Boondocked Media @boondockedmedia                          @LearnKotch You mean you want us to deliver training in a quick
LearnNuggets      Replying to @eLearninCyclops
lrnchat    Q6) Have today’s tools helped us realize the potential of Social Learning? If yes
boondockedmedia    Deal! Let’s do it. Where do I sign? #lrnchat https://twitter.com/learnkotch/status/794347446440579072 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Con Sotidis @LearnKotch                          Let’s start with our own people first then we can focus on Corp America. #Embrace #Explore #Enjoy #lrnchat   https://twitter.com/boondockedmedia/status/794347008504934400 €¦
JeremyDBond    A5) More bookmarking. Why must everything be “”liked”” to mark it? Why must marking it that way always be public? #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794345468591558656 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) What functionality is still missing from today’s social tools? #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q6) Have today’s tools helped us realize the potential of Social Learning? If yes
JD_Dillon    A6) Expanded access + accelerated conversation
Quinnovator    a6) They’ve certainly brought a lot of opportunity. The full potential?  Who knows?  But huge benefits on tap already! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794347540992954368 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q6) Have today’s tools helped us realize the potential of Social Learning? If yes
dawnjmahoney    Q6) No. Seem to be “”all about me/my opinion”” and far less about collaboration IMHO #lrnchat
busynessgirl    It would be cool to pin a tweet for discussion
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
lesliefarooq    A6: No b/c there are people around the world w/o reliable (or any) internet access. Voices w/ good ideas but cannot share them. #lrnchat
lotus_yon    A6 Absolutely! There’s pretty much always a way. Just ask! You all taught me two new tools already today! That’s learning! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794347540992954368 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q6) Have today’s tools helped us realize the potential of Social Learning? If yes
Quinnovator    a6) lots of ways to track potentially interesting information
urbie      Replying to @lesliefarooq
eLearninCyclops    A5) Not sure what it is
rabbitoreg    A6) I think those who aren’t using social learning are still defining the governance piece of it. #lrnchat
elizbtheastman    Q4] To Curate & Connect  @Flipboard  @feedly @Inoreader @instapaper @scoopit @Pocket #lrnchat
carlakarijolich    A6 depends on the perception of collaboration vs actual collaboration and if that turns into anything useful #lrnchat
ziolablu    A6) The tools are there. It’s our own evolution that we need to seek out.  #lrnchat
JeremyDBond       Replying to @lesliefarooq @catherinepybar1
Quinnovator    “”the future is already here
urbie       Replying to @airlieplane @carlakarijolich
JD_Dillon    A6) Its not a new concept
LearnNuggets    A6) Yes. Tracking Caribou migration w/ Google Maps w/ kids. No. Learn the creativity in mashing more than one SoMe tool together. #lrnchat
brianaustinbp    a6) I don’t think we’ll ever be able to say we’ve reached the full potential of #SoMe. I think we’re making good progress #lrnchat eg #slackhttps://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794347540992954368 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q6) Have today’s tools helped us realize the potential of Social Learning? If yes
JustStormy    Q6) they facilitate connected learners and learning communities #lrnchat
ziolablu    A6) As during the dawn of the printing press – here is this new info – how will you incorporate it into your life meaningfully? #lrnchat
HigginsLindsay    @lrnchat Thank you for the awesome discussion today! Always a pleasure. Thank you for making me think about social media! #lrnchat #untj4460
btopro      Replying to @lrnchat
lesliefarooq      Replying to @urbie
Quinnovator      Replying to @dawnjmahoney
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
boondockedmedia    A6) We learn from PEOPLE
JeremyDBond      Replying to @lesliefarooq
LearnNuggets    A6) We learn better together. Integrating SoMe into learning experiences we learn more of what we thought we knew. #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    Q6) SoMe helps finding the right ppl. I used to wait for books come out to connect… #lrnchat
lesliefarooq       Replying to @JeremyDBond @catherinepybar1
JaneBozarth    Speaking of Pinterest: It will soon be time for the Hand Turkey Gallery #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A6a Participation in #EdCampWestTexas begat sharing via #TxEduChat #CaEdChat #tlap #dtk12chat et al.. +
brianaustinbp    Totally agree
Quinnovator    a6) could have better segue between components: tweets
LearnNuggets      Replying to @JaneBozarth
eLearninCyclops    RT @LearnNuggets A6) We learn better together. Integrating SoMe into learning experiences we learn more of what we thought we knew. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @rabbitoreg Q6) SoMe helps finding the right ppl. I used to wait for books come out to connect… #lrnchat
lesliefarooq      Replying to @JeremyDBond
donnamurdoch      Replying to @lrnchat
JaneBozarth       Replying to @Quinnovator @dawnjmahoney
urbie    #lrnchat A6b It’s like Steve Jobs used to say about consumers not knowing what they couldn’t live without. Out there somewhere is *amazing*
Quinnovator       Replying to @JaneBozarth @dawnjmahoney
LearnNuggets      Replying to @JaneBozarth
brianaustinbp    My team quietly uses google docs … have to be quiet so IT doesn’t shut us down. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/Quinnovator/status/794348482588876800 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                      Replying to @dawnjmahoney                           think there *are* good collaboration tools (google docs
ziolablu    A6) also – democratization -most have a voice and can participate #lrnchat
dawnjmahoney      Replying to @JaneBozarth
urbie    Gotta run #lrnchat.. my granddaughter Lily’s teething n the frozen binky isn’t working. OraGel? Baby Tylenol? Suggestions welcome..
JustStormy      Replying to @dawnjmahoney
JaneBozarth      Replying to @LearnNuggets
urbie      Replying to @lesliefarooq
lesliefarooq        Replying to @donnamurdoch @lrnchat @Q6
lrnchat    Q7) What is something that you learned tonight or will try? #lrnchat
dawnjmahoney    If I were still internal/Wd use combo of social tools to engage learners/new hires/compliance training/retooling managers & leaders #lrnchat
elizbtheastman    Q6] Big learning curve to fully realize learning potential! Often Info-over whelmed but committed to trying! #lrnchat
dawnjmahoney    A7) Google slides!  #lrnchat
busynessgirl       Replying to @LearnNuggets @JaneBozarth
Quinnovator      Replying to @urbie
carlakarijolich       Replying to @btopro @rabbitoreg
eLearninCyclops    RT @lrnchat Q7) What is something that you learned tonight or will try? #lrnchat
JeremyDBond    no no no no no! We need this platform. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/busynessgirl/status/794342430120112128 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Maria H. Andersen @busynessgirl                          I find myself wondering where these conversations will go if Twitter goes belly up. Any ideas? #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    A7) I learned the Chicago Cubs won the World Series and its not a hoax. It really did happen! #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    RT @dawnjmahoney A7) Google slides!  #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @MrKMaston
lotus_yon    IFTTT and pocket! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794349500492038144 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q7) What is something that you learned tonight or will try? #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a7) may have to explore a few more tools #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794349500492038144 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q7) What is something that you learned tonight or will try? #lrnchat
JaneBozarth      Replying to @MrKMaston
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A7) Learned that there’s still a long way for social learning to become the norm. I still have to find a way to use snapchat. #lrnchat
dawnjmahoney    A4) (I think) Put the tech into the hands/minds of the learners/Less spoon feeding of content/Have them do it!  #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    A7) I learned the world loved the distraction of the World Series today. Happy Feet! #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @LearnNuggets
lotus_yon    Gots to run! Thursdays are always better when I can make #lrnchat – I always learn something new from you all! Thanks for a great chat!
brianaustinbp    Agree. Tired of switching from Slack channels to Skype video. Virtual team enjoys the video F2F in skype but the channels in slack #lrnchat https://twitter.com/Quinnovator/status/794348788571746304 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                          a6) could have better segue between components: tweets
ziolablu    A7) I’m going to think about my own balance between collecting and contributing  #lrnchat
LearnNuggets      Replying to @eLearninCyclops
busynessgirl    Maybe we should hold a special #lrnchat in Snapchat so we can all figure out how to use it.
dawnjmahoney      Replying to @rabbitoreg
JaneBozarth      Replying to @donnamurdoch
lrnchat    QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
brianaustinbp    a7) reminded of google docs and how effective they are for collaboration. Thanks #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794349500492038144 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q7) What is something that you learned tonight or will try? #lrnchat
LearnNuggets    A7) I learned I miss being here weekly. And I will try to make a more regular appearance.  #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @LearnNuggets
dawnjmahoney    A?) Prefer to get my news via Social channels than on TV anymore/Faster/More accurate much of the time #lrnchat
heikan2003    Heidi in KS saying thanks for the chat friends. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    Thanks #lrnchat! JD in Orlando. Online @ http://jddillon.com  + http://axonify.com . Cya @ #DevLearnhttps://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/794350407015350272 €¦  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
JeremyDBond    Including many schools
brianaustinbp    QWrap. ID leader in UT. Thanks for the great insights
dawnjmahoney    QWrap) I am in the Great State of WI/Speaking at DevLearn in 2 weeks/Love to learn & hang w/smart people like YOU! #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    Great convo! Remember
LearnNuggets    Qwrap) Kevin Thorn
Quinnovator    aW) blogging at http://learnlets.com
eLearninCyclops    Jeff from Baltimore. Come see me present at #DevLearn – https://www.elearningguild.com/DevLearn/sessions/session-details.cfm?session=7780 €¦  #lrnchat
ziolablu    Melissa – ID in HEd – headed back for a second local presentation tomorrow
busynessgirl    Maria: consultant
boondockedmedia    A7) I learned this is a big world. Everyone has a social media fav with individualized motivations. Can’t have just 1 solution. #lrnchat
JaneBozarth        Replying to @btopro @brianaustinbp @dawnjmahoney
odguru      Replying to @Quinnovator
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
dawnjmahoney    @JaneBozarth Yup! My course on LMS exactly #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    See you at #devlearn! And don’t forget about your tribe: http://pdg.modcourse.com/classes/intro-1  #lrnchat
Quinnovator    aW) hope to see you at #DevLearn
lrnchat    Thanks everyone for joining #lrnchat tonight. See you next week! Look for weekly transcripts at http://lrnchat.com
