Transcript – October 27, 2016: Note taking and it’s impact on learning.

#lrnchat is an online chat over the social messaging service Twitter. It is held on Thursdays at 8:30-9:30pm ET/5:30-6:30pm PT. Participants are people interested in the topic of learning from one another and who want to discuss how to help other people learn in formal, informal, social and mobile ways. We aim to steer clear of topics that are more “training department” oriented and focus on how people learn, what they learn, and what we’re learning.  If you an idea for a topic that you would like to suggest for #lrnchat, please feel free to reach out to any of the Chat Hosts.

This Week’s Questions

  • How does writing help you learn?
  • Do you take notes or keep a learning journal?
  • What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal?
  • Is there a difference between handwriting notes and typing them? Why or why not?
  • Can you think of any negative effects or outcomes of writing learning notes or journalling?
  • What are some tips to improve your note-taking?
  • What are some tips for making note taking or keeping a learning journal a habit?
Please excuse the format of this week’s transcript as our typical capturing method experienced an error.
lrnchat    Welcome everyone to #lrnchat! How have you been?
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    I’m doing hunky-dory  #lrnchat
lrnchat    Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
Quinnovator    time for the 60 mins of memestream fun and learning that is #lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    Well that’s pretty good for a Thursday.  #lrnchat https://twitter.com/elearnincyclops/status/791799557260648448 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jeff Goldman @eLearninCyclops                          I’m doing hunky-dory  #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    JD in Orlando
Tracy_Parish    Tracy Parish
rabbitoreg    Zsolt from #Philly. Working on #devlearn and guest appearance on @MMTorrance #xAPI cohort #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @Tracy_Parish
eLearninCyclops    Jeff Goldman – eLearning Extraordinaire in Baltimore.  #lrnchat
StyleLearn    https://twitter.com/stylelearn/status/787383955871916032 … Flippin awesome #lrnchat  QUOTE TWEET
lrnchat    Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
kregerck    Christine Kreger
theLandOfCopes    Nicholas Copeland
Quinnovator    Clark Quinn
Tracy_Parish    Prepping for a #Storyline workshop next week at #i4pl and #DevLearn in a few weeks.  #lrnchat
ryantracey    Hi everyone. Ryan here from overcast Sydney. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A0) Some people just don’t know when to get off the stage … #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791800249383870464 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
busynessgirl    Maria
eLearninCyclops    Q0) I learned people will still ask for you to do quite a bit even though it is your last day. Could’t they asked a bit earlier? #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a0) learned today that it’s hard to present when you’re heavily affected by a cold 😦 #lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    I learned some tips on how to create a logo today. Been researching more on UI/UX trends. #lrnchat
theLandOfCopes    Q0)  Field trips require way too much prep work…  #lrnchat
kregerck    A0) Learned that confidence was a very popular topic at the Colorado Association of Libraries Conference! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791800249383870464 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
4KM    A0) Here briefly!  Experiential learning of a traditional sweat lodge experience a few days ago.  #lrnchat
lrnchat    Q1) How does writing help you learn? #lrnchat
jyoti__gupta    A0) Hello. Jyoti from Boston. I learned that my Roomba doesn’t save me time. I like to drink coffee and watch it work. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
LnDDave    Greetings #lrnchat. David from NY
theASIDEblog    We learned that sometimes a new approach makes sense. #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A0) Learned about box vs. French hair braiding. #lrnchat
StyleLearn    A0) Learned about the latest #AR research and mixed reality #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791800249383870464 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today
perrinia    A) #lrnchat I learned about ACT- a type of therapy. so many!
Tracy_Parish    That’s incredibly interesting. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/4km/status/791800878172872704 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Alice MacGillivray @4KM                          A0) Here briefly!  Experiential learning of a traditional sweat lodge experience a few days ago.  #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    Q1) If it’s note taking
Quinnovator    a1) it’s a chance to get concrete about my thoughts; writing them down causes me to process them again #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791801013565087744 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q1) How does writing help you learn? #lrnchat
kelly_smith01    Q0) Learned that a broken collarbone impacts typing
JD_Dillon    A1) Forces me to reflect
Tracy_Parish    A skill that will never leave you. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/rabbitoreg/status/791801125703933952 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Zsolt Olah @rabbitoreg                          A0) Learned about box vs. French hair braiding. #lrnchat
perrinia    reflection reflection reflection #lrnchat  plus all that good motor skills to brain malarkey https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791801013565087744 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q1) How does writing help you learn? #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A1) Actually
StyleLearn    I mean… uhum Do I really need to introduce myself? Don’t answer that! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791799650567290880 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
ryantracey    A1) In general
jyoti__gupta    a1) It’s a good form of reinforcement and summarization. #lrnchat
THEMylesMwamba    A1) Writing helps me understand things in a deeper manner once I’m able to write it down #Lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @kelly_smith01
theLandOfCopes    Q1)  “”lowstakes”” writing is a key part of formative learning.  #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops    Q1) Let’s me be imaginative and that helps with knowledge retention… at least for me. #lrnchat
MoniIDD      Replying to @lrnchat
perrinia      Replying to @rabbitoreg
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
TWardLearning    A1) Taking notes seems to embed learning more
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @kelly_smith01
JeremyDBond    Hey #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @TWardLearning
Tracy_Parish    Agree. I also have a hard time reading my own writing. #shouldhavebeenadoctor 😉 #lrnchat https://twitter.com/rabbitoreg/status/791801460975628288 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Zsolt Olah @rabbitoreg                          A1) Actually
tracie_marie    Tracie from Austin..builder of talent development programs
StyleLearn    A1) It helped developing critical thinking skills. Although APA format is automated these days? #lrnchat #notfair
theASIDEblog    Writing is an intentional act. For young learners
tracie_marie    I wish I wrote more. When I do my thought processes improve. #lrnchat  https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791801013565087744 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q1) How does writing help you learn? #lrnchat
LnDDave    A1) writing for me is layered reflection: reflect
MoniIDD      Replying to @lrnchat
busynessgirl    Writing helps me learn by forcing me to reflect on connections with other things I know and summarizing key concepts. #lrnchat
StyleLearn      Replying to @JeremyDBond
Quinnovator    a1) how often have you had a thought
Tracy_Parish    I find if I sketchnote I do seem to retain the information better #lrnchat
ChrisQuinn64    A1: Writing helps to bring out what is on our minds
theASIDEblog    We’ve noticed that our “”born digitals”” like to take notes by hand even if they can have a digital copy. #lrnchat
kidd81    #Subtraction for #kids! #iOS10 #Game #fun #iOS #School #Teaching #Learn #lrnchat #creativebizhour  http://apple.co/2e2mZZF pic.twitter.com/MnGYUuye6p
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @Tracy_Parish
lrnchat    Q2) Do you take notes or keep a learning journal? If so
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
kelly_smith01    Q1) If you edit
LnDDave    A1) I give myself writing challenges to force more learning. Example: writing a book review to force myself to see the lessons. #lrnchat
THEMylesMwamba    A1) Also helps me keep track of the thousands of ideas that pop into my head  #Lrnchat
JeremyDBond    A1) It’s active. I’m “”teaching
kregerck      Replying to @Tracy_Parish
urbie    Hey #lrnchat! Lost track of time pulling a #bebop2 motor. I learned I need one of those magnifying glass/lights to handle teenie screws..
Quinnovator    a2) does writing a blog count? That’s how I document my learnings (http://learnlets.com ) #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791802716611829761 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) Do you take notes or keep a learning journal? If so
eLearninCyclops    Q2) I use to take notes on iPad
JD_Dillon    A2) My blog and social media channels have become my public form of note taking #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791802716611829761 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) Do you take notes or keep a learning journal? If so
theLandOfCopes    A2) I find when it is something I need to know later (read “”for my job””) I take notes…otherwise I listen and engage more in disc. #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A2) Writing screenplay and blogs. Otherwise
Tracy_Parish      Replying to @rabbitoreg
urbie    #lrnchat A1 Writing helps me learn when i label callouts after sketching something. Writing “I will not ____” 1
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A2) I keep a journal and I use my iPad to take notes
kregerck    A2) I take notes by hand
StyleLearn    A2) I’m not a natural born note writer. Kept a journal for my graduate degrees and that was cool to reflect #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791802716611829761 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q2) Do you take notes or keep a learning journal? If so
Quinnovator      Replying to @kelly_smith01
WillWorkLearn    Let me use this time to mourn the loss of my Note 7. A brilliant and explosive note taking machine. #lrnchat
tracie_marie    My notes are scattered in a bullet point journal
Tracy_Parish    Don’t be intimidated. Just make it your own. Do the best you can and remember it’s only for you
THEMylesMwamba    A2) I keep both a journal and take notes that way I can revisit things from the present and the past… #Lrnchat
Quinnovator      Replying to @WillWorkLearn
rabbitoreg    A1) I did a dream journal for two years. Learned a lot about myself. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A2 I sketch note.. you know
theASIDEblog    Our students love to sketchnote. We’ve used it for years now. #lrnchat http://bit.ly/1i44ahM https://twitter.com/Tracy_Parish/status/791802434435817473 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Tracy Parish @Tracy_Parish                          I find if I sketchnote I do seem to retain the information better #lrnchat
4KM    A2) My most useful notes start to answer “”now what?””  The “”what”” notes seem to gather dust.  #lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    I find that as well. I need to review more often. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/kregerck/status/791803278820380673 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Christine Kreger @kregerck                          A2) I take notes by hand
ryantracey    A2) OneNote is my life support system. #lrnchat
JeremyDBond    A2) As a former student and journalist
StyleLearn    I use RTs as reminders
Mucky1217    A1 Writing is how I learn. Taking notes
ryantracey      Replying to @StyleLearn
Quinnovator    a2) taking notes very different than learning journal
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @StyleLearn
theASIDEblog    Sketchnoting is about listening
Tracy_Parish      Replying to @JeremyDBond
theLandOfCopes      Replying to @JeremyDBond
busynessgirl    For a good five years my blog was my learning journal. Trying to get back in the habit again. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a2) valuable process for note-taking: paraphrasing what’s heard/thought
ryantracey      Replying to @Tracy_Parish
lrnchat    Q3) What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal? #lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    Completely agree. A learning journal is a much deeper reflective process
StyleLearn      Replying to @eLearninCyclops
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @theASIDEblog
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
Mucky1217    A2 I take notes constantly
Tracy_Parish      Replying to @ryantracey
ryantracey    A3) Humans forget stuff. Some more than others
JD_Dillon    A3) What was that idea I had that one time??? That! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791804443100667904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal? #lrnchat
theASIDEblog    Teaching learners a variety of options in note-taking let’s them find the niche that works for them. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a3) Both notes/journal are forms of reprocessing
kelly_smith01    ZZQ2) When I am n good habit I keep notes in spiral notebooks  both things to work on and things to abandon #lrnchat
heikan2003    Amen! Wait what did you say? #lrnchat https://twitter.com/mucky1217/status/791804587082649601 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Alicia Muck @Mucky1217                          A2 I take notes constantly
tracie_marie    I wonder that myself sometimes when I look back at old notes. #lrnchat  https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791804443100667904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal? #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A3) Aid in reflection + continued evolution of an idea #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791804443100667904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal? #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @ryantracey
urbie    #lrnchat A2b Sometimes #sketchnotes that stick are drawn with a specific  context. You know
rabbitoreg    A3) Notes are good b/c in the moment you think you will remember. And the next day… #lrnchat
ryantracey      Replying to @JD_Dillon
Tracy_Parish    It’s when we make note of it and still forget that’s the real problem. #thejoysofgettingolder #lrnchat https://twitter.com/ryantracey/status/791804745744650240 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Ryan Tracey @ryantracey                          A3) Humans forget stuff. Some more than others
Quinnovator    a3) note taking better for reprocessing through rephrasing. Journal good for documenting underlying thinking (making visible) #lrnchat
theLandOfCopes    A3) Done well
kregerck    A3) Refection. I need to do this more. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791804443100667904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal? #lrnchat
jyoti__gupta    a2) yeah my blog is a journal of sorts #lrnchat
ryantracey      Replying to @eLearninCyclops
StyleLearn    A3) I guess total recall over time. I pretty much remember everything I read. My wife remembers everything I said 10yrs ago #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791804443100667904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal? #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A3 When my kids [or lately grandkids] and I have concurrent downtime i can pull out a journal and reminisce about how learning was.
heikan2003    A3) I #sketchmap in meetings and also have art journal. Both are reflective for me #lrnchat
Mucky1217    A3 Note taking helps me commit information to memory
JeremyDBond    A3) You forget. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791804443100667904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal? #lrnchat
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A3) scope creep or change of scope – gaining alignment from key stakeholders to renegotiate outcomes – good to refer back to
vidyakumar    Hello #lrnchat! Late to the party
Quinnovator    a3) notes/journal gives you the opportunity to reactivate the patterns #lrnchat
THEMylesMwamba    A3) Using it as a tool not to let life pass you by without doing everything you planned to do #Lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A3 Sometimes
duchampian    A3. To see what’s behind you and what’s ahead #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
jyoti__gupta    a3) helps me turn rambling thoughts into a position statement that makes any kind of sense #lrnchat
busynessgirl    The blog was a hard drive for my brain. If I wrote it down
JeremyDBond      Replying to @kregerck
vidyakumar    A1) Writing helps me remember & reflect. #lrnchat
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A3) my brain can only store so much info these days with multiple projects and stakeholders and shifting timelines – I need notes
kelly_smith01    Q3) Paraphrase David Byrne – “Well
theASIDEblog    Kids today want options. We encourage keeping a learning journal
LnDDave    A3) Some of the best ideas I have today are inspired by reviewing notebooks from years ago.  #lrnchat
duchampian    A3. To keep track of the things I said I’d get done… so many things #lrnchat
StyleLearn    A3) I’m a slow
vidyakumar    A2) Journal. Basically a messy Word doc full of half-formed thoughts & ideas. #lrnchat
Elham_ab    Hello #lrnchat.Late again but will be with you during my ride to work.1)writing helps me to organize my thoughts and document my learning.
lrnchat    Q4) Is there a difference between handwriting notes and typing them? Why or why not? #lrnchat
vidyakumar    A3) Should do more of the pen & paper stuff. #lrnchat
JD_Dillon    A3) Evidence  #lrnchat
theLandOfCopes      Replying to @StyleLearn
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
StyleLearn      Replying to @busynessgirl
Quinnovator    a2) one method I use in taking notes (e.g. keynote) is to mindmap it
perrinia    A3)#lrnchat  something to say for seeing what level of defcon something is at when it is in b/w https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791804443100667904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q3) What are some of the reasons or benefits for keeping learning notes or a journal? #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat https://twitter.com/siowehmeyer/status/791804322958848000 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Tara @SIOWehmeyer                          a4: growth
busynessgirl      Replying to @LnDDave
JeremyDBond      Replying to @theLandOfCopes
THEMylesMwamba      Replying to @LnDDave
heikan2003    I often get ideas from conf notes from a yr or 2 ago. Timing is everything #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lnddave/status/791806004791042048 …  QUOTE TWEET                      David Kelly @LnDDave                          A3) Some of the best ideas I have today are inspired by reviewing notebooks from years ago.  #lrnchat
duchampian    A2. I keep a large day planner
JD_Dillon    A4) Individual preference. I must type. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791806305786880002 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q4) Is there a difference between handwriting notes and typing them? Why or why not? #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A4) My learning style is typer. Not scribbler. I know research shows handwriting is better but for some
eLearninCyclops    Q4) I heard somewher that people retain more info from handwriting notes v. typing.  #lrnchat
theLandOfCopes    A4)  For me the difference is my ability to participate in discussion versus just take notes.  Typing allows me to do both #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a4) handwriting makes it easier to sketch
urbie    #lrnchat A4 I read somewhere that writing out notes long hand is better for learning than typing them. Sadly
perrinia    #lrnchat writing is a reifying process + writing is rewriting. notes start untangling the thought-wires.
Mucky1217    A0 I was at Learning 2016 thus week so I learned a lot. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    apparently more from mindmapping than straight notes
busynessgirl    Handwriting notes does force more summarizing of ideas and concepts
vidyakumar    A4) Just going over the notes once in a while reminds me of ideas that hit me. #lrnchat
kelly_smith01    Q3) See Jane Bozarth’s Show Your Work section on rocket science folks sharing comments and notes on design efforts  #lrnchat
duchampian    A4. If I write it down
heikan2003    A4) I think it is personal preference. My #sketchnote habit helps me focus via added doodling #lrnchat
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A4) 4 me yes
vidyakumar    A4) Handwriting makes it more personal. Should do more of that. #lrnchat
Elham_ab    2) tend to take notes & love referring to them.Did learning journal during my studies but didn’t find it useful except for marks! #lrnchat
perrinia    #lrnchat handcramps vs carpal tunnel? https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791806305786880002 …  QUOTE TWEET
JeremyDBond    A4) Just alluded to this: handwriting isn’t good for recall. Typing at least gets you close to the words you meant. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791806305786880002 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q4) Is there a difference between handwriting notes and typing them? Why or why not? #lrnchat
ryantracey    A4) Apparently handwriting is more effective from a psychological perspective (?) but I find typing more convenient. #lrnchat
THEMylesMwamba    A4) I feel as if handwriting notes help the brain right then and there
LnDDave    A4) Yes. My typed notes I can actually read. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a4) typed makes easier to digitally access and process
jyoti__gupta    a4)  handwriting anything now leads me to doodling… I just can’t concentrate on it. #lrnchat
perrinia    sketchnoting is 100% meaning based for me. real anaylsis/reframing. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/heikan2003/status/791807056005111808 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Heidi Matthews @heikan2003                          A4) I think it is personal preference. My #sketchnote habit helps me focus via added doodling #lrnchat
tracie_marie    Oh yes! The typed ones are easier to sort and search through. #lrnchat  https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791806305786880002 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q4) Is there a difference between handwriting notes and typing them? Why or why not? #lrnchat
Elham_ab    3) we tend to forget fast..too much info
busynessgirl    Often
Quinnovator    note-taking helps me listen better;  extra cognitive overhead helps my mind from wandering off down interesting tangents! #lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    Anyone in this group Bullet Journal and will be at #DevLearn? I’d love to see one “”in action””.  #lrnchat
LnDDave    A4) For me the value is less handwriting vs typed and more analog vs digital. Digital notes can be leveraged in more ways. #lrnchat
StyleLearn      Replying to @LnDDave
eLearninCyclops    Q4) However
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @LnDDave
Quinnovator    Truth. Paraphrasing/restating very valuable in processing thoughts in action! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/busynessgirl/status/791807637818003456 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Maria H. Andersen @busynessgirl                          Often
lrnchat    Q5) Can you think of any negative effects or outcomes of writing learning notes or journalling? #lrnchat
Mucky1217    A4 It is personal choice for me
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
heikan2003      Replying to @LnDDave
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A4) I watched someone writing notes once
Tracy_Parish    @LearnNuggets taught me how to print better for my notes/sketch notes. It was invaluable in being able to read my notes. #lrnchat
perrinia    my 16yo self still hopes my mom doesn’t find my journals #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791808012436512769 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) Can you think of any negative effects or outcomes of writing learning notes or journalling? #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
WillWorkLearn    #lrnchat research on note-taking in lectures shows that hand written ones are better learned. BC typing prompts only shallow processing.
eLearninCyclops    Q5) It sucks when the dog eats my notes 😉 #lrnchat
compare_edu    #scholarship #highered #collegechat #collegebound #educhat #lrnchat #gtchat #hsc #vce #engchat #CollegeChat #careerpic.twitter.com/Jph2dIYCPj
LnDDave    A5) Writer’s cramp? #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a5) can get lost in restructuring
busynessgirl    Digital note taking can be just as effective as handwriting notes IF the learner knows good strategies (focus on concepts
ryantracey    A5) How annoying is it when you can’t interpret one of your own notes! #lrnchat
vidyakumar    A5) Interesting question. No. Can’t think of any. #lrnchat
theLandOfCopes    A5)  Focusing so much on writing every word
heikan2003    Valid point Jeff and valuable #lrnchat https://twitter.com/elearnincyclops/status/791807768101527552 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jeff Goldman @eLearninCyclops                          Q4) However
theASIDEblog    Handwriting notes is like hand drawing maps. It’s the thoughful process of looking at more. #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @ryantracey
StyleLearn    A5) It’s distracting for me. Writing would miss the context #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791808012436512769 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) Can you think of any negative effects or outcomes of writing learning notes or journalling? #lrnchat
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A5) I write in pencil
rabbitoreg    A5) Not sure if it’s bad or not but I actually note not what said but my reflection on what was said. #lrnchat
Quinnovator    but with paraphrasing instead of just capturing? #lrnchat https://twitter.com/WillWorkLearn/status/791808216678170625 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Will Thalheimer @WillWorkLearn                          #lrnchat research on note-taking in lectures shows that hand written ones are better learned. BC typing prompts only shallow processing.
kelly_smith01    Q4) Handwriting and sketching have soul – it captures the spirit. What would the Gettysburg Address look like in sans serif? #lrnchat
Mucky1217    A5 Only when I rely on my notes too much and become lost without it. Otherwise I have only had positive outcomes #lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    Sometimes I try to rush/simplify my notes and then they turn out to be too brief and didn’t capture the full thought. #useless #lrnchat
ryantracey    A5) If you take notes to think about later
THEMylesMwamba    A5) Sometimes get to excited and words are legible lol #Lrnchat
JeremyDBond    A5) I suppose we can contemplate forever and not achieve outcomes. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791808012436512769 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) Can you think of any negative effects or outcomes of writing learning notes or journalling? #lrnchat
Quinnovator    actually
kregerck    A5) For me…killing trees. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791808012436512769 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q5) Can you think of any negative effects or outcomes of writing learning notes or journalling? #lrnchat
jyoti__gupta    a5) When you aren’t comprehending anything
Elham_ab      Replying to @busynessgirl
busynessgirl    Every once in a while
urbie    #lrnchat A5 Hi-Fi note taking probably not good idea. You know
perrinia      Replying to @Quinnovator
StyleLearn    A5) People that think that’s a learning style #lrnchat
heikan2003    A5) so many notes to reflect on; storing; searching #lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @kelly_smith01
ryantracey      Replying to @Quinnovator
MrKMaston      Replying to @ryantracey
Quinnovator    been there
theASIDEblog      Replying to @busynessgirl
JeremyDBond      Replying to @OU812Jensen
heikan2003    Me too or I can’t keep up in the live event #lrnchat https://twitter.com/tracy_parish/status/791808902832779264 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Tracy Parish @Tracy_Parish                          Sometimes I try to rush/simplify my notes and then they turn out to be too brief and didn’t capture the full thought. #useless #lrnchat
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A5) my notes tend to reveal a common theme when I look back on them  can serve as data or links to other projects
Quinnovator      Replying to @ryantracey
LnDDave    A5) Freezing up so much on missing info on 1 point that you miss the next 6 or 7. #lrnchat
busynessgirl    I’m pretty sure I wrote a blog post about writing blog posts as a learning journal
Quinnovator      Replying to @perrinia
ZSharon    A5 It’s only bad when Ss mistake it for real writing. #lrnchat
lrnchat    Q6) What are some tips to improve your note-taking? #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
JeremyDBond      Replying to @ZSharon
theLandOfCopes    A6) What I have learned tonight
LnDDave    A5) Thinking that having more detailed notes means you learn more: Example: “”Can I just get a copy of your slides?””  #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a6) don’t just document
heikan2003    My #lrnchat buddy tonight
perrinia    http://bulletjournal.com/  <–this is as aspirational as it is intimidating.   #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791809724299771904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q6) What are some tips to improve your note-taking? #lrnchat
kelly_smith01    Q5) If you try to capture everything or follow the speakers “main” points to closely – you may miss everything #lrnchat
ZSharon      Replying to @JeremyDBond
ryantracey    A6) I’ve developed my own abbreviations. Maybe I need my own font too… Ryantium. #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A6 I’ve been wanting to give Note-taking Bingo a try. Like buzzword bingo by reading/gathering ideas/keywords then add notes later.
JeremyDBond      Replying to @ZSharon
StyleLearn    A6) Use keywords and mnemonics. Know thyself #lrnchat #notanotetakerhttps://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791809724299771904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q6) What are some tips to improve your note-taking? #lrnchat
LnDDave    A6) Put tweet-like size constraints on your notes. It forces you to break ideas down to the core value. #lrnchat
rabbitoreg    A6) Find patterns and connect thoughts with previous knowledge while making notes on new ones.  #lrnchat
perrinia    Srsly tho #lrnchat – turning the notes into a sketch is a level up https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791809724299771904 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q6) What are some tips to improve your note-taking? #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A6b I learning about #ExitSlips from @SciencePenguin.. where one makes notes on what they think they learned & give to Teacher..+
vidyakumar    A7) Make sure it is fully formed
jyoti__gupta    a6) Actually do it
urbie    #lrnchat A6c Teacher reviews/reflects on the exit slips then follows up as needed later.
heikan2003    A6) Practice. May sound odd but you have to find your style & what works for you. #lrnchat
perrinia      Replying to @jyoti__gupta
WillWorkLearn    I need to revisit the research
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A6) check for understanding
THEMylesMwamba    A6) I could use more examples in my notes… #lrnchat
hjarche    Writing is in #PerpetualBeta : works in progress #lrnchat Half-baked ideas that get cooked over time through sharing #PKMasteryhttps://twitter.com/perrinia/status/791806769580224512 …  QUOTE TWEET                      mahna mahna @perrinia                          #lrnchat writing is a reifying process + writing is rewriting. notes start untangling the thought-wires.
ryantracey    A6) Revisit your notes
theASIDEblog      Replying to @StyleLearn
JeremyDBond    A6) Type them. Don’t try to capture everything. Don’t sacrifice listening skills
ZSharon      Replying to @JeremyDBond
busynessgirl    I bought a bunch of whiteboards off someone. Planning to include more hand-drawn diagrams and sense making in my blog/journal. #lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    Would be great if you could check and share back with us. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/willworklearn/status/791810716399468544 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Will Thalheimer @WillWorkLearn                          I need to revisit the research
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A6) I need to date my notes more often so I can link it up to calendar if I need to go back to something – easier to find.
kelly_smith01    Check out Clark’s mind mapping notes of keynote speakers at learning conferences #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A6x In #designthinking meetings with SMEs not making a note of who wrote something helps minimize personality/role bias.
busynessgirl      Replying to @WillWorkLearn
JeremyDBond      Replying to @ZSharon
vidyakumar    Great idea
Quinnovator    You can see them this way: http://blog.learnlets.com/index.php?s=mindmap … #lrnchat https://twitter.com/kelly_smith01/status/791811201122570240 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Kelly Smith @kelly_smith01                          Check out Clark’s mind mapping notes of keynote speakers at learning conferences #lrnchat
heikan2003      Replying to @ryantracey
StyleLearn      Replying to @theASIDEblog
urbie    #lrnchat A6 Don’t load up on high fructose laced snacks like these before note taking.. https://twitter.com/pamplainandtall/status/791811238544150528 …  QUOTE TWEET
lrnchat    Q7) What are some tips for making note taking or keeping a learning journal a habit? #lrnchat
Mucky1217    A6 Using shorthand I remember later
theASIDEblog      Replying to @busynessgirl
LnDDave    A6) People take pictures with their phones to cut corners on note-taking
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
Quinnovator    a7) commit to a schedule (e.g. my goal: 2 x week posts). Commit to a certain pattern (e.g. mindmap all keynotes).  Commit! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791811553091878912 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q7) What are some tips for making note taking or keeping a learning journal a habit? #lrnchat
heikan2003    I’ve used those & asked for where they still had questions so I could close the gaps next day. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/urbie/status/791810494067716096 …  QUOTE TWEET                      urbie delgado @urbie                          #lrnchat A6b I learning about #ExitSlips from @SciencePenguin.. where one makes notes on what they think they learned & give to Teacher..+
urbie    #lrnchat A7 Scan them into something like Evernote/OneNote then tag ‘em like crazy so they can be found when needed later.
Tracy_Parish    Very true. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lnddave/status/791811621211533312 …  QUOTE TWEET                      David Kelly @LnDDave                          A6) People take pictures with their phones to cut corners on note-taking
ZSharon    having a goal before starting to take notes can help focus intention  #lrnchat
vidyakumar    A7) Set aside time for note taking
Quinnovator      Replying to @LnDDave
theASIDEblog      Replying to @StyleLearn
Quinnovator    absolutely
shannongrahamtx    #A7 teach #sketchnoting. It’s fun once you know how #lrnchat
LnDDave      Replying to @WillWorkLearn
rabbitoreg    A7) Join note takers anonymous. Commit. #lrnchat
StyleLearn    A7) I much rather capture video or audio so I can get the truth and not what I thought I heard #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791811553091878912 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q7) What are some tips for making note taking or keeping a learning journal a habit? #lrnchat
perrinia    writing is more perspiration than inspiration. Arm yourself with pens you like
eLearninCyclops    Q7) I like to sum-up the day in I Done This. Helps me reflect on the day and can search in their application #lrnchat
jyoti__gupta    a7) Journaling routinely doesn’t happen for me.  Notetaking happens for me because I use the simplest tool: Notepad++. #lrnchat
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A7) journal and pencil go where I go so I’m not caught off guard 2 reference something or capture opportunity-trends r information
vidyakumar    Absolutely! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/LnDDave/status/791811621211533312 …  QUOTE TWEET                      David Kelly @LnDDave                          A6) People take pictures with their phones to cut corners on note-taking
Tracy_Parish    Schedule and make time each day to write and each week to review.  #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @Tracy_Parish
ryantracey       Replying to @LnDDave @WillWorkLearn
busynessgirl      Replying to @Quinnovator
Quinnovator    Also
THEMylesMwamba    A7) Making it a habit to carry a pen n paper everywhere you go… #lrnchat
LnDDave    A7) Schedule it. If I want to write about something
urbie    #lrnchat A7 Weird note-taking idea.. #Aurasma for note retrieval. Scan an image/object representing the note opens a video playing the note+
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A7) a way to set an intention for the day through a note to yourself
Mucky1217    A7 Find your style
heikan2003    A7) buy a sketchbook and drag it everywhere #lrnchat
StyleLearn      Replying to @theASIDEblog
Tracy_Parish    I love doing that with other sketchnote takers. Very enlightening how you each visualized a point. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/quinnovator/status/791812597301456896 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                          Also
ZSharon    recognizing that notes or journaling is a way of thinking
ryantracey      Replying to @urbie
theASIDEblog      Replying to @busynessgirl
theLandOfCopes    A7)  For students
urbie    #lrnchat A7 Kinda like those #RSI notes that you see sometimes (like this.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc … )
Quinnovator    I like that! #lrnchat https://twitter.com/eLearninCyclops/status/791812285916405760 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jeff Goldman @eLearninCyclops                          Q7) I like to sum-up the day in I Done This. Helps me reflect on the day and can search in their application #lrnchat
busynessgirl      Replying to @LnDDave
Quinnovator      Replying to @rabbitoreg
lrnchat    Q8) What is something that you learned tonight or will try? #lrnchat
vidyakumar    Brilliant idea. Can be very enlightening to see how others perceived the same point. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/Quinnovator/status/791812597301456896 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Clark Quinn @Quinnovator                          Also
heikan2003    A7) practice with Ted talks to help develop habit of note taking & self development time #lrnchat
Quinnovator    a8) may have to calendar more reflection #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791813290624159744 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q8) What is something that you learned tonight or will try? #lrnchat
urbie    #lrnchat A8 Zappar via @ryantracey
theLandOfCopes    A8)  Very intrigued with this Sketchnoting trend…will definitely investigate and try! #lrnchat
theASIDEblog      Replying to @StyleLearn
Tracy_Parish    I do that now and have for the last few months. Helps me to remember all the tasks I actually do get accomplished #lrnchat #trellohttps://twitter.com/elearnincyclops/status/791812285916405760 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Jeff Goldman @eLearninCyclops                          Q7) I like to sum-up the day in I Done This. Helps me reflect on the day and can search in their application #lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @Quinnovator
rabbitoreg    A8) Sketchnoting looks great when it’s done. By others. But still
StyleLearn    @urbie @ryantracey Take it to the next level with Blippar https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/what-blip-ar-blippar-alexander-salas-cplp … #lrnchat https://twitter.com/ryantracey/status/791812985513795585 …  QUOTE TWEET                      Ryan Tracey @ryantracey                      Replying to @urbie                           Try Zappar. No need for channels. #lrnchat
ryantracey    A8) I will make more of an effort to revisit my notes. #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    A8) I want to try what @LnDDave suggested with the constrained notes and scheduled time #lrnchat
lesliefarooq      Replying to @rabbitoreg
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat A8) compare notes with others – my view vs. their view – what’s common
LnDDave    A7) When random ideas strike
eLearninCyclops    Q8) I will have a bit more fun taking notes… Including some more sketchnoting  #lrnchat
kregerck    A8) Going back to revewi my notes with a “”now what”” perspective. Share those thoughts with others. #lrnchat https://twitter.com/lrnchat/status/791813290624159744 …  QUOTE TWEET                      lrnchat @lrnchat                          Q8) What is something that you learned tonight or will try? #lrnchat
lrnchat    QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
eLearninCyclops      Replying to @lrnchat
Tracy_Parish      Replying to @WillWorkLearn
vidyakumar    A8) I will make it a point to schedule time for note taking and revisiting. #lrnchat
StyleLearn      Replying to @theASIDEblog
busynessgirl    Goal: Going to try to look at social media less
theASIDEblog    Our learners love using visual note-taking. It’s no different that using visuals in a slide deck. It helps content stick. #lrnchat
urbie      Replying to @urbie
ZSharon    This validates the strategies I’m implementing in http://ln.is/com/PZVpJ  that recognizes the value of writing as thinking #lrnchat
theLandOfCopes    Thanks all!  A lot learned
Quinnovator    aW) learning out loud at http://learnlets.comÂ
MrKMaston      Replying to @lrnchat
Tracy_Parish    Find me and @TorontoSUG doing a pre-con at #i4pl next week and join me at #Devlearn to explore free e-tools  #lrnchat
THEMylesMwamba    A8) Take more detailed notes.. #lrnchat
busynessgirl    If you’d like more reflection on learning more intentionally
Quinnovator    aW) elearning strategy workshop at DevLearn in Las Vegas in Nov
theASIDEblog    Great topic and exchange of ideas on #lrnchat tonight. As always
heikan2003    A8) I’ve learned to find @Tracy_Parish at #devlearn & check out her notes #lrnchat
OU812Jensen    #lrnchat Qwrap Cheers from Chilly Canada no snow yet was great to connect with the likeminded again.  Have a gr. weekend all!
rabbitoreg    AWrap) Note to myself: good chat again! See you #DevLearn Or at http://rabbitoreg.com  RIP #vine #lrnchat
ryantracey    AW) Ryan signing out from Sydney  #ShamlessPlug How to fix our senseless compliance training http://ow.ly/KTlO304OHnx    #lrnchat
kregerck    Christine Kreger
lrnchat    Thanks everyone for joining #lrnchat tonight. See you next week! Look for weekly transcripts at http://lrnchat.comÂ
