Transcript – July 28, 2016: Determination/Dedication

8:30 PM lrnchat Welcome everyone to #lrnchat! How have you been?
8:31 PM lrnchat Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
8:31 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
8:31 PM TeacherTeaWood Hello! I teach 8th Grade ELA in KY. This is my first chat of the Twitter. Very excited for this! #lrnchat
8:31 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
8:32 PM JD_Dillon Howdy #lrnchat! JD actually in Orlando, FL (traveling a lot). Learning geek w/ Axonify. Blogger. Speaker. Sharer. https://t.co/m7sqpdfHhC
8:32 PM KatieStroudPro Yay! It’s time for #lrnchat! It’s been awhile but here I am.
8:32 PM CynnamonStelly Cynnamon for Louisiana! This is my first time doing a rapid fire chat. I’m looking forward to it. Hope I keep up! #lrnchat
8:32 PM eLearninCyclops Jeff Goldman – eLearning Designer in Baltimore. Working on finishing courses for my org b4 they move me “downtown” #lrnchat
8:32 PM chriscarlson Chris Carlson. L&D Consultant from Minneapolis, MN. Fascinated with business, technology and how we learn. #lrnchat https://t.co/dqhQ9uvalb
8:33 PM KatieStroudPro I am working on a book. Yes, it will be released next year! So inspired! #lrnchat
8:33 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat Beaming in from Sydney. Just a guy curious about how people and organisations learn “stuff:. #lrnchat
8:33 PM DrJessupS Hi #lrnchat I’m Stephanie an e-learning manager. Working on building 2017 compliance courses.
8:33 PM BenGianacakos My name is Ben and I am working on not losing my mind #lrnchat
8:33 PM sbruington Hello. Stephen in Roanoke, VA. Developing an enterprise social learning strategy. #lrnchat https://t.co/OqUfqSoiq0
8:33 PM ryantracey Hi everyone. Ryan here from Sydney. I tried Pokémon Go this week. Not really my cup of tea, tho I can see why people get into it. #lrnchat
8:34 PM lrnchat Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:34 PM eLearninCyclops RT @KatieStroudPro I am working on a book. Yes, it will be released next year! So inspired! #lrnchat |Very cool
8:34 PM WrayMelissa Melissa from CLT. Passionate about games. Trying to figure out this mobile thing. #lrnchat
8:34 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:34 PM SpeakWriteInc First #lrnchat & business skills instructor!
8:34 PM kregerck Christine Kreger, Librarian and trainer for the @COStateLibrary.#lrnchat https://t.co/xD5PQDZGHS
8:34 PM KatieStroudPro @chriscarlson Book is about something I call Instructional Story Design. #lrnchat
8:35 PM sbruington I did the same, the week prior. Where I live there aren’t enough to justify the time it takes to find them! #lrnchat https://t.co/NVG9lKuHOZ
8:35 PM DrJessupS @SpeakWriteInc Welcome to #lrnchat
8:35 PM TeacherTeaWood This year I am teaching ELA using a PBL platform where we focus on teaching Ss to be self-directed learners #lrnchat https://t.co/wCrPec9WHQ
8:35 PM HollyJustice1 Hi #lrnchat! Holly Justice Portland OR making videos for software nerds financial services slant – instructional designer
8:35 PM sbruington . @SpeakWriteInc Welcome! You’re gonna love it! #lrnchat
8:35 PM kelly_smith01 Q0) Networking and creating a wonderful world #lrnchat
8:35 PM sbruington . @HollyJustice1 Very cool. Are you using screen capture software? If so, what? #lrnchat
8:35 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A0) I learned a little more about probability mathematics (for game design) and spying shenanigans in ancient Greece #lrnchat
8:36 PM WrayMelissa @lrnchat a0) I’ve been learning about how to changes the export settings in Premiere to make my videos smaller. #lrnchat
8:36 PM JD_Dillon A0) Apparently feelings are more important than facts … Who knew?!?! 😦 #lrnchat https://t.co/SLvNXMG0PP
8:36 PM sbruington A0) Today I learned to grab work by the horns and own my space. Move or get out of the way. #lrnchat
8:36 PM BenGianacakos A0) I re-learned how much better I flow when everything is happening all at once. #lrnchat
8:36 PM TeacherTeaWood @ryantracey Just found this today #lrnchat https://t.co/7B5BWFdYld
8:36 PM eLearninCyclops Q0) Learned I can finally tell coworkers that my team is being restructured – All good. Hopefully bigger opportunities for us all #lrnchat
8:36 PM KatieStroudPro I learned that if you sketch a fly on a urinal, you get 80% less spillage.
#lrnchat
8:36 PM QHATIQ @MRifqiPutraB Suka fotografi?
https://t.co/TpzgwA2kSC
#Jokowi
#lrnchat
⌚29/07/2016 07:36:54 ⌛2188
8:36 PM nsulla Dr. Nancy Sulla here — creator of #LATIC; author of #StudentsTakingCharge and #ItsNotWhatYouTeachButHow
#lrnchat
8:37 PM IDTInsights Natane in Los Angeles. Monday I started a new contract gig developing eLearning for Career Builder, so it’s been a busy week! #lrnchat
8:37 PM sbruington A0) I also learned that EVERYTHING i know about #SharePoint “transfers” to Project Web App (MS Project). Whew! #lrnchat
8:37 PM DrJessupS @WrayMelissa @lrnchat I’d love to hear what you’ve learned. We are always trying to get our videos smaller in size. #lrnchat
8:37 PM sbruington . @IDTInsights Oh. Very cool! You like it? Busy is good, yeah? #lrnchat
8:37 PM SpeakWriteInc @DrJessupS thanks! How long have you participated? #lrnchat
8:37 PM HollyJustice1 You bet! #lrnchat is so fun. Happy to be here with Katie. https://t.co/f8Z0yDR1e0
8:37 PM TeacherTeaWood I’ve learned that graduate school is kicking my butt #lrnchat https://t.co/bijjciFxJS
8:37 PM sbruington I read that somewhere in the world (the UK, I think) those are actually painted into urinals. #lrnchat https://t.co/lgS0SWpQhE
8:38 PM SpeakWriteInc @sbruington thanks for the welcome! Let me know if you recommend any other similar chats #lrnchat
8:38 PM CynnamonStelly @HollyJustice1 Hi Holly! How have you been? #lrnchat
8:38 PM DrJessupS @SpeakWriteInc @DrJessupS About 1-1/2 years. It’s now a weekly habit. #lrnchat
8:38 PM SpeakWriteInc @kregerck thank you! Happy to be here 🙂 #lrnchat
8:38 PM sbruington . @TeacherTeaWood Oh no! I start a master’s in accounting program at @wgu in October. *gulp #lrnchat
8:38 PM MrKMaston @KatieStroudPro I must test this for peer reviewing! #lrnchat
8:38 PM HollyJustice1 Lots of tweets coming as we’re in #lrnchat now! @lrnchat for more details
8:38 PM SpeakWriteInc @DrJessupS haha a good kind of habit #lrnchat
8:38 PM nsulla Q0 I learned that Kdg Ss are naturals with a remote presence device – check out my video visit: https://t.co/jTlXld01cW
#lrnchat
8:39 PM sbruington . @SpeakWriteInc Well, since you asked: #chat2lrn, #pkmchat, #bufferchat, and – of course – #lrnchat.
8:39 PM theASIDEblog We witnessed the power of incredible, well crafted speeches. #lrnchat
8:39 PM IDTInsights @sbruington Loving it so far! And yes, it’s good to be busy! #lrnchat
8:39 PM BillBlackRI Hello #lrnchat Bill Black, Principal Providence, Rhode Island. Excited to be here proud to learn!!! https://t.co/FJhC9i21UF
8:39 PM lrnchat Q1) What are some things that you stuck at until you were skilled? What drove your determination? #lrnchat
8:39 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q1) What are some things that you stuck at until you were skilled? What drove your determination? #lrnchat
8:39 PM KatieStroudPro @mrkmaston I posted a link that describes the study on “nudge learning.” Who knew? #lrnchat
8:40 PM ryantracey A1) Whenever MS updates Office. Gotta do what you gotta do. #lrnchat
8:40 PM AssignmentHelpN ACT vs SAT : Here is How to Make the Right Choice
https://t.co/C9nGxdAN4i
#lrnchat #delachat #G2Great #precalcchat #delachat
8:40 PM massignmenthelp Benefits of Online learning
https://t.co/sBEBdmhGjJ
#lrnchat #delachat #G2Great #precalcchat #delachat
8:40 PM sbruington A1) Probably an unfair answer, but @SharePoint. I’ve stuck at it because I have to use it, candidly. Now I love it! #lrnchat
8:40 PM eLearninCyclops Q1) Adobe Flash/Actionscript – Don’t use much now, but was such a powerful dev tool #lrnchat
8:40 PM JD_Dillon A1) Juggling … I just wanted to be able to do it so I kept trying and trying and trying until it clicked #lrnchat https://t.co/LiYNeWAuAG
8:40 PM KatieStroudPro RT @lrnchat: Q1) What are some things that you stuck at until you were skilled? What drove your determination? #lrnchat
8:40 PM sbruington A1) As a trainer, I always asked for feedback. I stuck at it because I loved seeing people “get” new things. #lrnchat
8:41 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: Q1) What are some things that you stuck at until you were skilled? What drove your determination? #lrnchat
8:41 PM eLearninCyclops RT @ryantracey A1) Whenever MS updates Office. Gotta do what you gotta do. #lrnchat | Especially if u has to teach others
8:41 PM BenGianacakos A1) I constantly try to be more aware of my facial expression – when I am in problem-solving mode I am pretty abrasive #lrnchat
8:41 PM CynnamonStelly A1) Drawing. I wanted a career as an animator. Didn’t become an animator, but my drawing skills are rather nice. #lrnchat
8:41 PM JD_Dillon A1) Roller skating … I wanted to play street hockey on skates so I had to fall my way to skill #lrnchat https://t.co/LiYNeWAuAG
8:41 PM DrJessupS @eLearninCyclops There are many days I miss Flash and Actionscript and the things you could do with it. #lrnchat
8:41 PM BillBlackRI A1 – Twitter was something I have been sticking with and getting better at. #lrnchat
8:41 PM sbruington . @JD_Dillon Your answers are so much better than mine! #lrnchat
8:41 PM eLearninCyclops RT @DrJessupS @eLearninCyclops There are many days I miss Flash and Actionscript and the things you could do with it. #lrnchat | Me 2
8:42 PM sbruington Oh! The piano. I taught myself to play when I was 17. I heard a song, it lit a fire inside me that couldn’t be put out. #lrnchat
8:42 PM chriscarlson A1) Web development. I was interested in learning the nuts and bolts of web applications. #lrnchat https://t.co/LHzOp5d7ua
8:42 PM KatieStroudPro A0) Why am I having trouble thinking of an answer for this one?
#lrnchat
8:42 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A1) Juggling! Drivers: valued outcomes (ambidex & co-ordination are important to me), engagement (fun!), accessibility #lrnchat
8:42 PM BillBlackRI A1 – Creating videos to communicate with staff and deliver information is something I have stuck with. #lrnchat
8:42 PM JD_Dillon A1) Public speaking. I was SCARED TO DEATH in school but knew it was an important skill. #lrnchat
8:42 PM sbruington Incidentally, for the first time ever, I will have a real piano of my own tomorrow! (Kawaii Console) #lrnchat
8:43 PM HollyJustice1 Q0 What did I learn this week? Always step up and help the team do the right thing even if it means oodles of XML DITA work. #lrnchat
8:43 PM TeacherTeaWood @sbruington @SharePoint #lrnchat https://t.co/poyUKxOZGc
8:43 PM IDTInsights A0) I’ve been going through new hire training, so I’ve learned a LOT of new information this week! #lrnchat
8:43 PM MrKMaston @KatieStroudPro Because it’s happening all the time; because it’s invisible in the everyday? #lrnchat
8:43 PM KatieStroudPro A0) Ah yes, currently “sticking to” better presentation skills. Not just for a crowd but to better express who I am.
#lrnchat
8:43 PM ryantracey @JD_Dillon Yep, ditto. #lrnchat
8:44 PM WrayMelissa @sbruington @SharePoint Same. Had to at first. Now I refuse to let it beat me. #lrnchat
8:44 PM eLearninCyclops Q1) Photoshop – Important in my toolkit, but tough to master #lrnchat
8:44 PM KatieStroudPro @mrkmaston Perhaps. Maybe because I’m always trying to do something better. So still “sticking to it.” #lrnchat
8:44 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Q1) What are some things that you stuck at until you were skilled? What drove your determination? #lrnchat
8:44 PM lrnchat Q2) What factors drive someone to give up trying or learning something knew? #lrnchat
8:44 PM kelly_smith01 Q1) I have learned software applications – not a BIG accomplishment but some grit #lrnchat
8:44 PM sbruington Written communication. I’ve learned to read and re-read my emails, and try to feel how the recipient will react. #lrnchat
8:45 PM eLearninCyclops RT @WrayMelissa @sbruington @SharePoint Same. Had to at first. Now I refuse to let it beat me. #lrnchat | I hear ya – Not very user friendly
8:45 PM SpeakWriteInc RT @lrnchat: Q1) What are some things that you stuck at until you were skilled? What drove your determination? #lrnchat
8:45 PM DrJessupS A1) Photography and Photoshop. When you get the great shot or finished image it’s very rewarding. #lrnchat
8:45 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q2) What factors drive someone to give up trying or learning something knew? #lrnchat
8:45 PM nsulla A1) Teaching myself C language – fueled by a belief that I could and would prevail #determination #grit
#lrnchat
8:45 PM BenGianacakos A2) Negative reactions, embarrassing situations, no one to share experiences with #lrnchat
8:45 PM KatieStroudPro A2) When you don’t get paid, when it’s too hard, when you’re not passionate, when something else is easier. #lrnchat
8:45 PM CynnamonStelly A2) Fear and difficulty level. I’m facing that now as I learn a foreign language. But I will stick with it. #lrnchat
8:46 PM ryantracey A2) When it’s a “nice to have” rather than a “must have”, the struggle can become onerous. #lrnchat
8:46 PM SpeakWriteInc @BillBlackRI Luckily, the more I try to get better at @twitter the more I enjoy it! #lrnchat
8:46 PM JD_Dillon A2) Lack of support, lack of alignment to desired outcomes, conflicting priorities … #lrnchat https://t.co/2GMDnodE0s
8:46 PM TeacherTeaWood A2 I think for students they typically give up too easily if something is not clear to them from the start #lrnchat https://t.co/9dNmKzPj87
8:46 PM eLearninCyclops Q2) Not having a good use for it or the investment is not worth the payoff #lrnchat
8:47 PM chriscarlson A2) Fear of failure. Failure. Repeated failure. Not seeing progress. Lack of support. Lack of resources. #lrnchat https://t.co/7vlB6r2Ru5
8:47 PM KatieStroudPro RT @chriscarlson: A2) Fear of failure. Failure. Repeated failure. Not seeing progress. Lack of support. Lack of resources. #lrnchat https:/…
8:47 PM JD_Dillon A2) Fear of failure due to lack of organizational support for failure as a learning opportunity #lrnchat https://t.co/2GMDnodE0s
8:47 PM IDTInsights A1) I worked hard to become skilled in Dreamweaver, HTML and CSS to create my ePortfolio to complete my Master’s degree. #lrnchat
8:47 PM TeacherTeaWood @KatieStroudPro I agree that if someone if not passionate then it’s much for difficult #lrnchat
8:47 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q2) What factors drive someone to give up trying or learning something knew? #lrnchat
8:47 PM kregerck A2) Fixed mindset. I grew up believing I could not do math. Maybe I should have tried harder…#lrnchat
8:47 PM BillBlackRI A2 – Lack of small wins and lack of support can cause frustration and assault learning. #lrnchat https://t.co/Fl8wKL8cA1
8:47 PM caitsteinbach A1) public speaking. Being uncomfortable w/ discomfort drove me. Not necessarily “skilled” now but more comfortable with discomfort #lrnchat
8:47 PM SpeakWriteInc Presented ration skills are valuable for a multitude of reasons #lrnchat #presentationskills https://t.co/XcbsljzHa9
8:47 PM theASIDEblog We stuck to our belief that empowering students with choice makes a difference, and pushed to find ways to embrace it. #lrnchat
8:48 PM kelly_smith01 Q2) Spellcheck. #lrnchat
8:48 PM DrJessupS A2) Rapid pace of change. When you feel like you can’t learn it before the next version comes out. #lrnchat
8:48 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A2) Lack of: sense of progress, accomplishment, fun, relevance, challenge (or conversely, too great a challenge)… #lrnchat
8:48 PM ryantracey @JD_Dillon When the manager doesn’t care, extrinsic motivation nosedives. #lrnchat
8:49 PM WrayMelissa @lrnchat a2) I tend to give up after running into too many obstacles. Tend not to try if I can’t come up with a good test case. #lrnchat
8:49 PM kregerck RT @chriscarlson: A2) Fear of failure. Failure. Repeated failure. Not seeing progress. Lack of support. Lack of resources. #lrnchat https:/…
8:49 PM tfuhrman A2) Lack of accomplishment, encouragement, and willingness to take risks. Some never feel capable, often due to low expectations. #LrnChat
8:49 PM KatieStroudPro @speakwriteinc So true, and someone once told me that “great presenters are the same ON as they are OFF.” #lrnchat #Authenticity
8:49 PM HollyJustice1 A1 Motivation to change careers had me learn graphic design, Adobe Captivate and Camtasia. Shared projects to motivate further #lrnchat
8:49 PM SpeakWriteInc @sbruington agreed! That’s a skill many overlook #lrnchat
8:49 PM chriscarlson A2cont) Other things take priority. Distractions. Lack of confidence. #lrnchat https://t.co/7vlB6r2Ru5
8:49 PM kelly_smith01 Q2) Not having a place or reason to practice or apply what someone is learning #lrnchat
8:49 PM nsulla A2) When challenges are too hard or too easy, (Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi) #OutofFlow
#lrnchat https://t.co/et1I6hNu54
8:50 PM TeacherTeaWood @kregerck I completed agree! I wonder where we get those fixed ideas from? #lrnchat
8:50 PM eLearninCyclops RT @kelly_smith01 Q2) Not having a place or reason to practice or apply what someone is learning #lrnchat
8:50 PM DrJessupS @nsulla Why C? There are so many new and modern languages to learn. C was one of the first languages I learned before OOP. #lrnchat
8:50 PM perrinia A2 #lrnchat for me? doorknob knowledge. the one obvious bit that experts think is soooo obvious but to noobs it’s 100% unknown
8:50 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Q2) What factors drive someone to give up trying or learning something knew? #lrnchat
8:50 PM ryantracey RT @kregerck: A2) Fixed mindset. I grew up believing I could not do math. Maybe I should have tried harder…#lrnchat
8:51 PM theASIDEblog We believed in our mantra – Thinking like a designer can change the way students learn. It paid off. #lrnchat
8:51 PM KatieStroudPro @kelly_smith01That’s why I can never get a foreign language checked off my list! #lrnchat
8:51 PM stony12270 A2: No support. Lack of understanding. Failure. #LrnChat
8:51 PM IDTInsights A2) Frustration and failure. A little of both is OK, but they need to be balanced with support and opportunities for success. #lrnchat
8:51 PM Tderiso10 RT @BillBlackRI: A1 – Creating videos to communicate with staff and deliver information is something I have stuck with. #lrnchat
8:52 PM eLearninCyclops Q2) I’ve given up on applications once the org has. Frustrating to learn something only to find out org dumps it #lrnchat
8:52 PM Joshing Sorry I’m late for tonight’s #lrnchat, What did I miss?
8:52 PM kregerck RT @nsulla: A2) When challenges are too hard or too easy, (Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi) #OutofFlow
#lrnchat https://t.co/et1I6hNu54
8:52 PM SpeakWriteInc @KatieStroudPro That’s great advice 🙂 Happy to connect #lrnchat
8:52 PM KatieStroudPro @eLearninCyclops Yeah, why use something in a vacuum. #lrnchat
8:52 PM Tderiso10 RT @BillBlackRI: A2 – Lack of small wins and lack of support can cause frustration and assault learning. #lrnchat https://t.co/Fl8wKL8cA1
8:53 PM ryantracey @eLearninCyclops If the people around you don’t value the skill… it causes you to wonder. #lrnchat
8:53 PM kregerck A2) Wanting to please people can lead to avoidance of hard things. #lrnchat
8:53 PM TeacherTeaWood @kregerck I think it’s so interesting how it all comes down to the culture of our environment a lot of the time #lrnchat
8:53 PM HollyJustice1 Q2 I love to share and help others. If boss or team doesn’t care or there’s no community I lose interest. #lrnchat
8:53 PM ryantracey RT @TeacherTeaWood: @kregerck I think it’s so interesting how it all comes down to the culture of our environment a lot of the time #lrnchat
8:54 PM KatieStroudPro @TeacherTeaWood @kregerck Yes, culture has a bigger impact that people realize. #lrnchat
8:54 PM eLearninCyclops @ryantracey Yup. Sometimes the org decides just to switch software – financial reasons usually (e.g. claims systems) #lrnchat
8:55 PM KatieStroudPro @eLearninCyclops @ryantracey I hear a theme here. Jeff, have they taken away a favorite toy? #lrnchat
8:55 PM StyleLearn A2) lack of relevance or unattainable too distant goals #lrnchat https://t.co/Rru4Wvy3IL
8:55 PM ryantracey @eLearninCyclops Regardless of the costs of getting it up & running! #lrnchat
8:55 PM chriscarlson A2contcont) One thing I am seeing team members is a fear of looking dumb in front of peers. #lrnchat https://t.co/7vlB6r2Ru5
8:56 PM eLearninCyclops RT @ryantracey @eLearninCyclops Regardless of the costs of getting it up & running! #lrnchat | Plenty of waste out there 😉
8:56 PM kregerck RT @chriscarlson: A2contcont) One thing I am seeing team members is a fear of looking dumb in front of peers. #lrnchat https://t.co/7vlB6r2…
8:56 PM ryantracey @chriscarlson I’m finding that re enterprise social networking. The 90-9-1 rule is real. #lrnchat
8:56 PM theASIDEblog We see students give up too fast with small challenges because they are afraid to make mistakes. #lrnchat
8:56 PM nsulla A2) @DanielPink points to mastery, autonomy, and purpose as the recipe for drive. Missing those? #nogrit
#lrnchat
8:56 PM eLearninCyclops MT @KatieStroudPro @eLearninCyclops @ryantracey I hear a theme here. Jeff, have they taken away fav toy? #lrnchat | A few over the years 😉
8:57 PM theASIDEblog Perseverance needs to be encouraged and promoted. #lrnchat
8:57 PM KatieStroudPro @chriscarlson Oh that’s a big one, but sometimes a reason to work harder at something. No one wants to look dumb. I encourage it. #lrnchat
8:57 PM SpeakWriteInc RT @theASIDEblog: We see students give up too fast with small challenges because they are afraid to make mistakes. #lrnchat
8:57 PM TeacherTeaWood How can we change this mindset in our classrooms for our students? #lrnchat https://t.co/UxHo8j2VOc
8:58 PM chriscarlson A2) Or one that drives me crazy – fear of knowing less than those at a lower job level. #egointheway #lrnchat https://t.co/7vlB6r2Ru5
8:58 PM HollyJustice1 A2 no showcase often discourages learning. For music more fun in garage or a metal band! Practices and shows, feedback and fans #lrnchat
8:58 PM ryantracey @theASIDEblog Neuroscience supports that idea. #lrnchat
8:58 PM TeacherTeaWood @theASIDEblog I think some how it also needs to be modeled for students #lrnchat
8:58 PM jmarrapodi See my tip for sparking #design #creativity in the new eLearning Guild eBook https://t.co/HFGnfpZdFg #lrnchat @eLearningGuild
8:59 PM theASIDEblog Sharing in the pursuit of an idea helps with dedication and determination. #lrnchat
8:59 PM eLearninCyclops MT @jmarrapodi C my tip – sparking #design #creativity -the new eLearning Guild eBook https://t.co/77kuBBGxoc #lrnchat @eLearningGuild
8:59 PM ryantracey @chriscarlson Which is a funny one, because there’s an argument that they *should* know less. #lrnchat
9:00 PM theASIDEblog @TeacherTeaWood Yes it does. It’s about building confidence to try without worry about the outcome. #lrnchat
9:02 PM HollyJustice1 @MrKMaston @lrnchat #lrnchat too great a challenge discourages the learner with no support.
9:02 PM KatieStroudPro @ryantracey @chriscarlson This reminds me of an article I wrote about how being an idiot makes you smarter. Forgot to post #lrnchat
9:02 PM TeacherTeaWood @theASIDEblog I wonder then how much the weight of grades comes into play and offset or add to this challenge #lrnchat
9:02 PM eLearninCyclops RT @stipton Great diagram. When challenges are too easy or too hard. https://t.co/oCihrYu8I8 #lrnchat
9:03 PM KatieStroudPro RT @nsulla: A2) When challenges are too hard or too easy, (Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi) #OutofFlow
#lrnchat https://t.co/et1I6hNu54
9:03 PM theASIDEblog @ryantracey So do teachers; unfortunately perseverance means to struggle sometimes. Parents don’t like that. #lrnchat
9:04 PM JD_Dillon RT @nsulla: A2) When challenges are too hard or too easy, (Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi) #OutofFlow
#lrnchat https://t.co/et1I6hNu54
9:04 PM kelly_smith01 RT @eLearninCyclops: RT @stipton Great diagram. When challenges are too easy or too hard. https://t.co/oCihrYu8I8 #lrnchat
9:04 PM StyleLearn A2) Complacency. A complacent mind would do evrything to avoid change and therefore compromise learning #lrnchat
9:05 PM HollyJustice1 Yes. Learners must reach beyond their teams who don’t care to peer communities like #lrnchat to push their limits! https://t.co/vPSA4iSChj
9:05 PM theASIDEblog @TeacherTeaWood We were trying to stay away from the “G” word, but that is the elephant in the room (or chat) #lrnchat
9:05 PM KatieStroudPro @ryantracey @chriscarlson Need to dust it off and send to web master for posting…#lrnchat
9:06 PM kirbycrizzle Kirby Crider. Just got off of Long’s Peak and am now jumping back into after effects to work on an instructional animation #lrnchat
9:06 PM ryantracey @KatieStroudPro @chriscarlson Keep me posted 🙂 #lrnchat
9:06 PM ryantracey Did someone trip over the cord of the lrnchat bot? #lrnchat
9:07 PM HollyJustice1 Yes indeed we are such social creatures! #lrnchat https://t.co/dJDNGM1Z6z
9:07 PM CynnamonStelly @ryantracey I was thinking the same thing. #lrnchat
9:08 PM eLearninCyclops RT @ryantracey Did someone trip over the cord of the lrnchat bot? #lrnchat | Maybe they decided to go learn something new 😉
9:08 PM StyleLearn RT @ryantracey: Did someone trip over the cord of the lrnchat bot? #lrnchat
9:09 PM ryantracey OK, so the next question might be the opposite of Q2. What drives people to continue learning something hard? #lrnchat
9:09 PM JD_Dillon At what point do we just make up a new Q4? #lrnchat 🙂
9:09 PM eLearninCyclops RT @ryantracey: OK, so the next question might be the opposite of Q2. What drives people to continue learning something hard? #lrnchat
9:09 PM perrinia @JD_Dillon go for it
#lrnchat
9:09 PM MrKMaston @eLearninCyclops @ryantracey But… how will we #lrnchat without @lrnchat? *freaks out*
9:10 PM StyleLearn The DNC took over? #lrnchat
9:11 PM JD_Dillon Is this like a meta thing? Will we give up on #lrnchat if @lrnchat isn’t there to support us? 😉
9:11 PM eLearninCyclops Q4) I continue b/c you can just keep uping the game – mastery #lrnchat
9:11 PM ryantracey RT @eLearninCyclops: Q4) I continue b/c you can just keep uping the game – mastery #lrnchat
9:11 PM eLearninCyclops RT @MrKMaston @eLearninCyclops @ryantracey But… how will we #lrnchat without @lrnchat? *freaks out* | We will learn how
9:11 PM CynnamonStelly @StyleLearn I think you may be right. #lrnchat
9:12 PM StyleLearn @lrnchat just left to catch @PokemonGoApp #lrnchat
9:12 PM TeacherTeaWood @ryantracey There has to be a level of investment and connection or valued reason for whatever is being learned #lrnchat
9:12 PM ryantracey Leaders higher up the food chain leading by example works. #lrnchat
9:12 PM eLearninCyclops Q4) Sometimes you must continue b/c you must teach it and students keep expecting more #lrnchat
9:12 PM KatieStroudPro RT @StyleLearn: @lrnchat just left to catch @PokemonGoApp #lrnchat
9:12 PM KatieStroudPro RT @StyleLearn @lrnchat just left to catch @PokemonGoApp #lrnchat
9:13 PM ryantracey ICYMI – Question: What drives people to continue learning something hard? #lrnchat
9:13 PM WrayMelissa Forgot the hashtag. #lrnchat https://t.co/TXt3IdmEYr
9:13 PM HollyJustice1 That’s great! #lrnchat https://t.co/IJ0ekTzydC
9:13 PM Ruthie_HB Q2) Fear of failure heavily influences someone’s attempt to continue forward #lrnchat
9:13 PM eLearninCyclops RT @ryantracey Leaders higher up the food chain leading by example works. #lrnchat
9:14 PM StyleLearn @TeacherTeaWood @lrnchat @PokemonGoApp #lrnchat https://t.co/XQSIecgmC5
9:14 PM chriscarlson A3) Seeing small amounts of progress. Working with others – peers, mentors, coaches, leaders. #lrnchat https://t.co/YGtQ0EVkHC
9:14 PM KatieStroudPro @eLearninCyclops There’s a Q4? and Q3? #lrnchat
9:14 PM nsulla hmmm @JD_Dillon … do we create #lrnchat or does #lrnchat create us? https://t.co/MSQRKvm436
9:14 PM ryantracey RT @chriscarlson: A3) Seeing small amounts of progress. Working with others – peers, mentors, coaches, leaders. #lrnchat https://t.co/YGtQ0…
9:15 PM WrayMelissa Or even showing genuine interest in the results. Accountability AND kudos! #lrnchat https://t.co/0YN5t5Rmh6
9:15 PM nsulla #lrnchat … perhaps we should create our own question … How do we learn when no teacher is driving us?
9:15 PM CynnamonStelly For me, achievement. The pain gives more pleasure when you know you’ve overcome the obstacles. #lrnchat
9:15 PM IDTInsights When it’s necessary to reach a goal they’re trying to reach. #lrnchat https://t.co/KwILcAtD1C
9:15 PM kregerck RT @nsulla: hmmm @JD_Dillon … do we create #lrnchat or does #lrnchat create us? https://t.co/MSQRKvm436
9:15 PM eLearninCyclops RT @KatieStroudPro @eLearninCyclops There’s a Q4? and Q3? #lrnchat | @ryantracey asked why we cont learning hard stuff
9:15 PM Ruthie_HB The commitment to master it can drive people to figure out something difficult/hard. #lrnchat
9:16 PM WrayMelissa @nsulla @JD_Dillon we ARE #lrnchat
9:16 PM HollyJustice1 What drives people to keep learning hard stuff? Thinking what we do will really make a difference in this world #lrnchat
9:16 PM MrKMaston @nsulla Oh gods below, this is reminiscent of … (#lrnchat) https://t.co/x5LvmmyzTf
9:16 PM eLearninCyclops RT @kregerck RT @nsulla: hmmm @JD_Dillon … do we create #lrnchat or does #lrnchat create us? https://t.co/K7wQfv7S1h
9:16 PM ryantracey RT @WrayMelissa: @nsulla @JD_Dillon we ARE #lrnchat
9:16 PM eLearninCyclops RT @Ruthie_HB The commitment to master it can drive people to figure out something difficult/hard. #lrnchat
9:16 PM chriscarlson A4) Having the learning tied to a goal or need – fixing a broken sink, overcoming a computer glitch, etc. #lrnchat https://t.co/xBuStludGF
9:16 PM ryantracey Welcome to the #lrnchat revolution.
9:17 PM kregerck RT @nsulla: #lrnchat … perhaps we should create our own question … How do we learn when no teacher is driving us?
9:17 PM StyleLearn When your favorite chat goes numb #lrnchat #fml https://t.co/6kVdJjsVyy
9:17 PM eLearninCyclops Q4) B/C we can make cool stuff with it – Design, Dev Tools, Apps.. #lrnchat
9:17 PM ryantracey @nsulla I like it. Next Q) How do we learn when no teacher is driving us? #lrnchat
9:17 PM fml_compilation RT @StyleLearn: When your favorite chat goes numb #lrnchat #fml https://t.co/6kVdJjsVyy
9:17 PM eLearninCyclops RT @kregerck RT @nsulla: #lrnchat … perhaps we should create our own question … How do we learn when no teacher is driving us?
9:18 PM theASIDEblog We hear too much “what do we get if we…” Learners need to be encouraged to achieve for personal satisfaction, not winning. #lrnchat
9:18 PM KatieStroudPro A3) What do you keep working at learning something hard. @lrnchat @ryantracey @elearnincyclops #lrnchat
9:18 PM Ruthie_HB And to prove that it can be done–drive to learn something hard. #lrnchat
9:18 PM Ruthie_HB RT @ryantracey: @nsulla I like it. Next Q) How do we learn when no teacher is driving us? #lrnchat
9:18 PM HollyJustice1 Mastery and craftsmanship are excellent reasons to learn! #lrnchat https://t.co/wW0KdlZ43Z
9:18 PM eLearninCyclops Q5) We must be self-directed learners – If not, well, you r limited then #lrnchat
9:18 PM CynnamonStelly Next A) Ambition. I CAN do that! 😉 #lrnchat
9:19 PM WrayMelissa Teachers don’t drive, they guide. #lrnchat https://t.co/7lYN4iYkq8
9:19 PM DrJessupS Intrinsic motivation. I want/need to know something so I learn it. #lrnchat
9:19 PM ryantracey Learning without teaching involves curiosity, exploration, discovery. #lrnchat
9:19 PM audioswhite Waaay late but – quote from dad “Learning is something you DO and it’s your responsibility to do it” #lrnchat https://t.co/Ne8V6H45jQ
9:19 PM Ruthie_HB When no teacher is driving us–aha, then do we ourselves become the teacher? #lrnchat
9:19 PM eLearninCyclops RT @WrayMelissa Teachers don’t drive, they guide. #lrnchat https://t.co/p4iNIbcQ9C
9:19 PM theASIDEblog @Ruthie_HB We need to change failure to making mistakes. It takes the sting out of it. #lrnchat
9:19 PM ryantracey RT @audioswhite: Waaay late but – quote from dad “Learning is something you DO and it’s your responsibility to do it” #lrnchat https://t.co…
9:20 PM Ruthie_HB RT @HollyJustice1: Mastery and craftsmanship are excellent reasons to learn! #lrnchat https://t.co/wW0KdlZ43Z
9:20 PM theASIDEblog RT @nsulla: hmmm @JD_Dillon … do we create #lrnchat or does #lrnchat create us? https://t.co/MSQRKvm436
9:20 PM kregerck RT @ryantracey: Learning without teaching involves curiosity, exploration, discovery. #lrnchat
9:20 PM MrKMaston Play is the thing! Play with it. Muck around. Push that red button and see what happens… #lrnchat https://t.co/GcvaCRiw3J
9:20 PM kregerck RT @DrJessupS: Intrinsic motivation. I want/need to know something so I learn it. #lrnchat
9:20 PM WrayMelissa RT @Ruthie_HB: When no teacher is driving us–aha, then do we ourselves become the teacher? #lrnchat
9:20 PM ryantracey ICYMI – Q) How do we learn when no teacher is driving us? #lrnchat
9:20 PM Ruthie_HB RT @theASIDEblog: We hear too much “what do we get if we…” Learners need to be encouraged to achieve for personal satisfaction, not winni…
9:20 PM KatieStroudPro A5) How do we learn when no teacher is driving us? Because we don’t need no stinkin’ teacher! #lrnchat
9:21 PM ryantracey RT @MrKMaston: Play is the thing! Play with it. Muck around. Push that red button and see what happens… #lrnchat https://t.co/GcvaCRiw3J
9:21 PM airlieplane #lrnchat… I’m suuuuuuuuuper late today!
9:21 PM KatieStroudPro A5) And we don’t need no education! #lrnchat
9:21 PM IDTInsights Take initiative, find and consume resources, ask questions, then try it for yourself. #lrnchat https://t.co/dUrhIOv6bx
9:21 PM TeacherTeaWood There is nothing wrong with making mistakes. It is how we learn and grow. #lrnchat https://t.co/XxPDX7lL10
9:21 PM eLearninCyclops RT @kregerck RT @DrJessupS: Intrinsic motivation. I want/need to know something so I learn it. #lrnchat | & we welcome a challenge
9:21 PM airlieplane #lrnchat Aaaaaand I have no idea what’s going on! Haha.
9:21 PM KatieStroudPro @airlieplane Missing a fun session. @lrnchat left us #lrnchat
9:21 PM ryantracey @airlieplane Join the club! #lrnchat
9:22 PM nsulla Imagine a school in which Ss explore and “find problems” — Ss and Ts figure out how to address standards through them
#lrnchat
9:22 PM eLearninCyclops RT @KatieStroudPro A5) And we don’t need no education! #lrnchat
9:22 PM ryantracey Anyone familiar with Biesta’s work on learning vs teaching? #lrnchat
9:23 PM kregerck RT @nsulla: Imagine a school in which Ss explore and “find problems” — Ss and Ts figure out how to address standards through them
#lrnchat
9:23 PM airlieplane @KatieStroudPro Apparently, we don’t need no @lrnchat either! #lrnchat
9:23 PM WrayMelissa @airlieplane the inmates are running the asylum 😜 #lrnchat
9:23 PM DrJessupS We need to approach learning with curiosity and awe instead of trepidation and fear. #lrnchat
9:23 PM TeacherTeaWood What a wonderful world. This is what we need to aspire to and activity work towards. #lrnchat https://t.co/SUj6ef8nrY
9:24 PM HollyJustice1 We learn on our own without a teacher or guide because our hearts or wallet tell us to do it #lrnchat
9:24 PM theASIDEblog RT @nsulla: Imagine a school in which Ss explore and “find problems” — Ss and Ts figure out how to address standards through them
#lrnchat
9:24 PM ryantracey RT @HollyJustice1: We learn on our own without a teacher or guide because our hearts or wallet tell us to do it #lrnchat
9:25 PM KatieStroudPro QWrap. Is it that time again? Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome. #lrnchat
9:25 PM HollyJustice1 Or because it makes us laugh! #lrnchat https://t.co/QZSJtRK17U
9:25 PM IDTInsights @ryantracey Not familiar with Biesta. Do you have a good link? If not, no problem, I can Google it. #lrnchat
9:25 PM WrayMelissa Agreed! And make it safe to fail. #lrnchat https://t.co/taAaPpx07j
9:25 PM ryantracey AWrap) Ryan from Sydney, aka Learnchat Benchwarmer. That was fun! #lrnchat
9:25 PM chriscarlson @KatieStroudPro Have you been working on your #lrnchat impression? I’m impressed!
9:26 PM Ruthie_HB Re: quasi-Q5) Does measurement become the enemy? #lrnchat
9:26 PM KatieStroudPro @ryantracey Despite fear of looking dumb, no. Not familiar with Biesta on Learning vs Teaching #lrnchat
9:26 PM kregerck RT @WrayMelissa: Agreed! And make it safe to fail. #lrnchat https://t.co/taAaPpx07j
9:26 PM theASIDEblog @TeacherTeaWood That’s what we are saying. When you make mistakes, or things fail, you adjust and figure them out. #lrnchat
9:26 PM eLearninCyclops RT @KatieStroudPro QWrap. Is it that time again? Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome. #lrnchat
9:26 PM kregerck RT @WrayMelissa: @airlieplane the inmates are running the asylum 😜 #lrnchat
9:27 PM eLearninCyclops QWrap) Jeff in Baltimore – A reaaly great, improved #lrnchat Thx every1 and have a gr8 night
9:27 PM ryantracey @IDTInsights @KatieStroudPro Shameless plug: The learnification of education https://t.co/bvRWaGHnHm #lrnchat
9:27 PM WrayMelissa Already? Melissa from CLT. Glad we all hung in there. #lrnchat https://t.co/lmkfBpTtoo
9:27 PM ryantracey RT @KatieStroudPro: QWrap. Is it that time again? Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome. #lrnchat
9:27 PM nsulla QWrap #lrnchat plugs?
Follow my blog: https://t.co/EaVW0wjMbu
Read my books:
https://t.co/q1Mk6ox54x
And have a great weekend!
9:27 PM HollyJustice1 Wise words! Taking the leap despite fear gets you going…find the interest within. #lrnchat https://t.co/eB7f4Xc1IP
9:27 PM KatieStroudPro QWrap) Upcoming author on a book about Instructional Story Design. #lrnchat
9:27 PM MrKMaston Awrap) Loved the chaos. Loved the perseverance! #lrnchat
9:27 PM WrayMelissa @ryantracey great job! #lrnchat
9:27 PM kregerck Awrap) Christine Kreger, librarian and trainer of librarians. Fun if odd chat tonight! #lrnchat
9:28 PM HollyJustice1 RT @KatieStroudPro: QWrap. Is it that time again? Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome. #lrnchat
9:28 PM Ruthie_HB QWrap) Ruth–learning enthusiast now in Colorado. Interesting format tonight. I like it. #lrnchat
9:28 PM DrJessupS Awrap) Stephanie an e-learning manager in Wisconsin. Taking tomorrow off to pick blackberries and make coffeecake. #lrnchat
9:29 PM Ruthie_HB RT @MrKMaston: Awrap) Loved the chaos. Loved the perseverance! #lrnchat
9:29 PM nsulla #lrnchat If you liked the experiential school idea, here’s a brainstorming video I made for a client: https://t.co/w2A1Xdiscb
9:29 PM ryantracey RT @MrKMaston: Awrap) Loved the chaos. Loved the perseverance! #lrnchat
9:30 PM eLearninCyclops @DrJessupS That sounds like a great, relaxing day off- enjoy! #lrnchat
9:30 PM chriscarlson AWrap) Chris. Signing off from Minneapolis. Thanks for the good Q&A. #lrnchat https://t.co/7dikRn5zGU
9:30 PM theASIDEblog Fun and engaging #lrnchat tonight. Our dedication allowed us to stayed determined to participate thru the loss of which “Q” we were on. 🙂
9:31 PM KatieStroudPro AWrap) Need to get the 2 yr old outdoors before he rebels too much. #lrnchat
9:31 PM kneaverchat #lrnchat Today, 326 Tweets (including 50 RTs) 35 Participants (Most Active @eLearninCyclops 25 Tweets) via https://t.co/CaYhKNE4kH
9:31 PM HollyJustice1 Qwrap…Holly Justice People, projects, software and communication. Thanks for all the LOL moments fellow #lrnchat tweeters. Good night!
9:32 PM IDTInsights AWrap) Natane, eLearning Developer in Los Angeles. https://t.co/L7tbMZRIWn I enjoyed tonight’s unconventional #lrnchat !
9:32 PM airlieplane #lrnchat I assume that someone considered the possibility that @lrnchat‘s disappearance was a test of our determination and dedication?
9:34 PM ryantracey RT @airlieplane: #lrnchat I assume that someone considered the possibility that @lrnchat‘s disappearance was a test of our determination an…
9:34 PM IDTInsights Thanks @ryantracey, I’ll check it out! #lrnchat https://t.co/O3k98YgGMT
9:39 PM lrnchat Apologies for tonight’s Qs. It appears all Qs after q2 were set to launch Friday evening. We blame our tech monkey. #lrnchat