Transcript – June 16, 2016: Learning in an accidental career

8:31 PM lrnchat Welcome everyone to #lrnchat! How have you been?
8:32 PM ChadSLowry Chad Lowry, Client Education Manager. Working on final revisions to a class I’m delivering next week. #lrnchat
8:32 PM btopro #lrnchat bryan, PSU, lead developer of @elmsln . Been working on conversational interfaces later so you can talk to our network, literally.
8:32 PM lrnchat Our chats focus on how people learn. #lrnchat
8:33 PM elmsln RT @btopro: #lrnchat bryan, PSU, lead developer of @elmsln . Been working on conversational interfaces later so you can talk to our network…
8:33 PM lrnchat Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:33 PM JD_Dillon Howdy #lrnchat! Checking in from #ATDTK planning meetings in VA. Learning geek w/ Axonify, sharer. https://t.co/JyLZnqvAkc
8:33 PM kregerck Christine Kreger, librarian and trainer from Denver. #lrnchat https://t.co/fjFtZnbMG8
8:33 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:33 PM agilix RT @MindShiftKQED: 10 ways educators can extend their own learning over the #summer @TeachingChannel https://t.co/KpFzbElUYy #edchat #pd #l…
8:34 PM perrinia Hi #lrnchat Perrin from Auckland. Trying to bring UX to education
8:34 PM CynnamonStelly Hello everyone! Cynnamon here! #lrnchat
8:34 PM ChadSLowry A0) I picked up a number of tips about my company’s software that I can turn into broader lessons for others. #lrnchat
8:34 PM btopro #lrnchat A0) instructional designers and faculty need to fudge with HTML bc the world only affords them this terrible reality in LMSs. sad.
8:34 PM kregerck A0) Grit, growth mindset, confidence can all be learned and practiced. #lrnchat https://t.co/S52CNcPHN2
8:34 PM kat_goyette Katherine Goyette, EdTech Integration Consultant, Central CA, working on professional development for how adults learn best #LrnChat
8:34 PM StyleLearn Hi! Alex Salas #L&D practitioner #elearning developer in Orlando, FL #lrnchat https://t.co/up977D0xw4
8:34 PM DrJessupS hi #lrnchat I’m Stephanie in Wisconsin. I’d like Mother Nature to stop knocking over our trees.
8:35 PM eLearninCyclops Jeff Goldman Joining in – #lrnchat
8:35 PM AssignmentHelpN A Guide to Competency-Based Education Model https://t.co/EzJ05wjifc #lrnchat #CTQChat #delachat #G2Great #delachat https://t.co/3yxwnXy6vY
8:35 PM perrinia A0) #lrnchat TWIL about L3 WAN needs
8:35 PM CynnamonStelly A0) I am currently trying to figure out if my personality type is truly INFJ or ENFJ. #lrnchat
8:35 PM The_NthDegree Wassup @lrnchat? Nigel from BoP in New Zealand, sick of spreadsheets & analysis so keen to have some learning chat 🙂 #lrnchat
8:35 PM ric9901 Good evening #lrnchat! Taking a break from learning new this week and focusing on reflection.
8:36 PM eLearninCyclops Q0) I learned a bunch today including that my job is going to change a lot over the next few months – All good though #lrnchat
8:36 PM kat_goyette A0) Today, I learned we must believe not only can ALL students learn, but ALL adults can be intrinsically motivated, at their pace. #LrnChat
8:36 PM lrnchat Q1) What career did you THINK you would have? How did you end up where you are now? #lrnchat
8:36 PM The_NthDegree @CynnamonStelly chances are you’re neither, both or a bit of every type… maybe you’re born on the cusp 😉 #lrnchat
8:36 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: Q1) What career did you THINK you would have? How did you end up where you are now? #lrnchat
8:36 PM perrinia @perrinia #lrnchat yeah i was just as bored
8:37 PM The_NthDegree A1 Depends on age – at one point I was going to be Lee Majors…. #lrnchat
8:37 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q1) What career did you THINK you would have? How did you end up where you are now? #lrnchat
8:37 PM TheQuietSpeaker Q0) How to manage a WebEx meeting with clients in Africa and an SME on west coast #lrnchat
8:37 PM JD_Dillon A1) Started in radio. Veered into operations management. Then HR. And now L&D. #lrnchat https://t.co/Y5hPlq0Qi6
8:37 PM The_NthDegree A1 From about 13 I was going to be a teacher… did that… and back in education now I guess so hey, planned that well 🙂 #lrnchat
8:37 PM perrinia A1) #lrnchat when i was 9 I wanted to be a rollerskating waitress. This is still aspitational
8:37 PM btopro #lrnchat A1) I thought Id work somewhere programming; I found passion, a career and a desire to change the world. I screwed up apparently 🙂
8:38 PM SimonBlairTrain A1: At various points, I thought I’d be a lawyer or an architect. My career has been an exercise in free association. #lrnchat
8:38 PM ChadSLowry A1) I never really thought about a career, actually. Never saw myself as a police man, architect, pilot, etc. #lrnchat
8:38 PM ric9901 Q1) Ha! I went to college to get into law enforcement. That’s kinda like being a corporate sales trainer, right? #lrnchat
8:38 PM katrinamwehr Katrina, instructional designer at Penn State. This is my first #lrnchat! Excited to get going and a little late in the game here.
8:38 PM StyleLearn A0) Deep learning and recovery times in my city. Learned about the strength of solidarity in human beings #lrnchat
8:38 PM perrinia #lrnchat A1) I ended up here because of a seat on the bus. I am grateful for choosing the right seat
8:38 PM ChadSLowry @JaneBozarth My Dad studied copywriting in college, too! He had a similar reaction to it as you did. #lrnchat
8:38 PM HollyJustice1 Q0 #lrnchat learned new ways to capture video from webinars by SMEs plus how few understand matrix mgmt #agile
8:39 PM LnDDave Greetings #lrnchat. David from NY, looking forward to tonight’s chat. Hope all are well.
8:39 PM perrinia @StyleLearn So many hugs #lrnchat
8:39 PM DrJessupS A1) I wanted to be a programmer. Merger moved me from IT to training to create online training because I knew the technology. #lrnchat
8:39 PM LnDDave RT @lrnchat: Q1) What career did you THINK you would have? How did you end up where you are now? #lrnchat
8:39 PM kregerck RT @kat_goyette: A0) Today, I learned we must believe not only can ALL students learn, but ALL adults can be intrinsically motivated, at th…
8:39 PM carlakarijolich a1 I thought I would be a laywer! Then I learned about the reality of the job market… #lrnchat
8:39 PM StyleLearn @btopro either that or become Excell VBA masters #lrnchat
8:39 PM TheQuietSpeaker Q1) I thought I was going to be a marketing VP! Now am an independent instructional designer and loving it 🙂 #lrnchat
8:39 PM ric9901 Q1) Came to the realization quickly that I’m not emotionally built to handle the realities of what human beings are capable of… #lrnchat
8:39 PM WrayMelissa #lrnchat time!
8:40 PM eLearninCyclops Q1) I stumbled upon training thru promotion frm casework to “job coach” in a juvenile justice training program -then 2 elearning #lrnchat
8:40 PM katrinamwehr A1) Thought I’d be a teacher, got into the classroom, wasn’t prepared for it, went back to school, found instructional design #lrnchat
8:40 PM JD_Dillon A1) Continue to explore where my skill set provides the most value (and what I enjoy) #lrnchat
8:40 PM carlakarijolich hi everyone, I’m Carla. A trainer and instructional designer in chicago. #lrnchat
8:40 PM CynnamonStelly A1) I thought I was going to be an video game animator. Working for a helicopter company bc I wasn’t able to return to art school. #lrnchat
8:40 PM The_NthDegree A1 in all fairness my stunt-man career hasn’t quite gone to plan though… #lrnchat
8:40 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Q1) What career did you THINK you would have? How did you end up where you are now? #lrnchat
8:41 PM ChadSLowry A1) I always considered a career from the perspective of, what do I NOT want to do? Never wanted to be a lawyer. Seemed boring. #lrnchat
8:41 PM LnDDave A1) I started out focused on being a musician and music teacher. Life took me in another direction. #lrnchat
8:41 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth @ChadSLowry Agreed! I remember following a lawyer around on career day. I learned they’re master procrastinators. #lrnchat
8:41 PM The_NthDegree Also kinda realised that what you do isn’t as important as how you do it… #lrnchat
8:41 PM WrayMelissa A1) I thought I was going to be an astronaut. I got here because I saw someone playing with Authorware when I was in college. #lrnchat
8:42 PM ChadSLowry @JaneBozarth Corporate politics depicted as horror stories should keep them in grad school until they’re 30. #lrnchat
8:42 PM The_NthDegree @SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth @ChadSLowry there’s certainly a precedence for that #lawyerjokes #lrnchat
8:42 PM StyleLearn A1) Medicine,served in the US Navy as Hospital Corspman but during college learned about #L&D and thats it #lrnchat https://t.co/detGYI8yPZ
8:42 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth @ChadSLowry Sounds about right. “Now, we go to the judge and ask for more time.” (actual #WOL with lawyer) #lrnchat
8:43 PM ChadSLowry @The_NthDegree @SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth #lrnchat
8:43 PM lrnchat Q2) Have any life events caused you to rethink your ambitions/goals? #lrnchat
8:43 PM techcoachjuarez RT @kat_goyette: Katherine Goyette, EdTech Integration Consultant, Central CA, working on professional development for how adults learn bes…
8:43 PM ChadSLowry @The_NthDegree @SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth “Precedence” – I see what you did there. #lrnchat
8:44 PM keroleenl @lrnchat A1) #lrnchat I had always wanted to be a teacher. So I guess that’s more or less where I ended up – in education
8:44 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q2) Have any life events caused you to rethink your ambitions/goals? #lrnchat
8:44 PM kregerck A1) Enjoy providing access to information/learning in a variety of ways in libraries! #lrnchat
8:44 PM JD_Dillon A2) Sometimes alter the path. Sometimes accelerate the pace. #lrnchat https://t.co/GqbMvJk6ym
8:44 PM kelly_smith01 Q1/ Originally a developer of text books and AV material – plug in overhead projectors #Lrnchat
8:44 PM carlakarijolich a2 The recession & student loan debt! After working in public policy, I ended up in HR at a corporation. #lrnchat
8:44 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A1) I’ve never had a specific career in mind. I ended up here through life’s triumphs and blunders. Still not a career tho #lrnchat
8:45 PM perrinia #lrnchat A2) I can look back and ID forks and think ‘coulda gone left’ ‘shoulda gone right’
8:45 PM kregerck A2) Bad managers led me to look for different jobs. But both times ended I where I needed to be. #lrnchat https://t.co/v1GaYnExc2
8:45 PM ChadSLowry @JaneBozarth @TheQuietSpeaker Hi, Amy! Welcome to #lrnchat
8:45 PM DrJessupS A2) Job eliminated early in my career allowed me to go back to school to get a CS degree. #lrnchat
8:45 PM The_NthDegree A2 Reality sucks. Never be a realist that’s all I know. You can do anything when you’re an optimist, even when it goes wrong… 🙂 #lrnchat
8:45 PM ric9901 Q2) Saw the movie “7” and realized after not sleeping for days that I’m not cutout for police work. #lrnchat
8:46 PM HollyJustice1 Q1 what career path? Mine is constantly moving, centers around people learning, mostly software and tech comm. #lifelonglearning #lrnchat
8:46 PM carlakarijolich a2 I worked my way (and around) into learning and development. I couldn’t control it 100%, but I influenced it in that direction #lrnchat
8:46 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: Q2) Have any life events caused you to rethink your ambitions/goals? #lrnchat
8:46 PM The_NthDegree A2 I’m still not quite sure what I’m going to do when I grow up… #lrnchat
8:46 PM SimonBlairTrain A2: Does working where you land count as a “life event”? #lrnchat https://t.co/UrhualFiof
8:46 PM AmberandGreene Amber & Greene London UK, Hi everyone what we learnt today from twitter was how to keep up with industry trends. #lrnchat
8:46 PM CynnamonStelly A2) Everyday. Video games have changed more 1st person. I was more interested in animating characters. Now I’m into graphic novels #lrnchat
8:47 PM eLearninCyclops RT @kregerck A2) Bad managers led me to look for different jobs. But both times ended I where I needed to be. #lrnchat | Been there
8:47 PM ChadSLowry A2) Not really. I originally took a job out of college as a technical writer in part because it’s what my Dad did. #lrnchat
8:47 PM carlakarijolich @kregerck Always good when you can take a bad situation and come up on top. Bad managers are a master class in leadership. #lrnchat
8:47 PM katrinamwehr A2) Car accident in my early 20s – realized I didn’t want to live to work, but rather do something I enjoyed + get paid for it! #lrnchat
8:47 PM StyleLearn A2) Marriage, combat or maybe both LOL #lrnchat
8:47 PM WrayMelissa A2) life events may have slowed me down, but I’m proud that course corrections have been mainly by choice #lrnchat
8:47 PM btopro #lrnchat A2) my son was born, nothing I prev cared about mattered anymore. Life, and my project, became about making his world better
8:47 PM carlakarijolich @MrKMaston @lrnchat Why not a career? What would make it a career or what is it missing? #lrnchat
8:47 PM perrinia @TheQuietSpeaker #lrnchat Sat down next to someone who offered me a job working on an LMS. My entry to edutech.
8:48 PM eLearninCyclops Q2) Currently going thru some change management, which always is a good time to stop and consider all opportunities #lrnchat
8:48 PM perrinia @JaneBozarth @ChadSLowry Lulz me too. #lrnchat
8:48 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q2) Have any life events caused you to rethink your ambitions/goals? #lrnchat
8:48 PM SimonBlairTrain @The_NthDegree Me neither. Maybe I can be a kayak tour guide? #lrnchat
8:49 PM TheQuietSpeaker A2) I’m a walking cliche – realized life is too short to spend it doing work that wasn’t meaningful to me. #lrnchat
8:49 PM kregerck RT @eLearninCyclops: Q2) Currently going thru some change management, which always is a good time to stop and consider all opportunities #l…
8:49 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A2) A few times, yes. All to do with human and animal rights. Currently going through the motions of another one now. #lrnchat
8:49 PM HollyJustice1 Following your dream works! #lrnchat https://t.co/I5WhixXQ1b
8:49 PM kregerck RT @btopro: #lrnchat A2) my son was born, nothing I prev cared about mattered anymore. Life, and my project, became about making his world…
8:49 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth Maybe it’s the absence of a “life event”. 🙂 #lrnchat
8:49 PM The_NthDegree A side question; do experience & qualifications mean you’re good at what you do? should career mobility be easier?? #lrnchat
8:49 PM eLearninCyclops Q2) When organization just doesn’t support training – Sometimes realized after accepting the position #lrnchat
8:49 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Q2) Have any life events caused you to rethink your ambitions/goals? #lrnchat
8:50 PM ric9901 I enjoy what I do- leading people to their aha moments. talking to folks at focuson made me rethink Corp and consider higher ed. #lrnchat
8:50 PM lrnchat Q3) If you’ve found yourself in a new role by accident, how did you learn the ropes? #lrnchat
8:50 PM StyleLearn @btopro children and what they mean to you are definitely life changers #lrnchat
8:50 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q3) If you’ve found yourself in a new role by accident, how did you learn the ropes? #lrnchat
8:50 PM ric9901 @kregerck yeah – I wanted to go into the FBI too! Agent Ross – I thought I would be so cool! #lrnchat
8:50 PM MrKMaston @carlakarijolich Happy to answer – My current role is missing growth, room to move, intellectual stimulation. @lrnchat #lrnchat
8:51 PM kat_goyette A2: Upon determining to make a difference, to lead by serving others, success naturally comes when you least expect it. #lrnchat
8:51 PM LnDDave RT @lrnchat: Q3) If you’ve found yourself in a new role by accident, how did you learn the ropes? #lrnchat
8:51 PM btopro @katrinamwehr follow #lrnchat … like now. and every thursday at 8:30
8:51 PM JD_Dillon A3) Trying. Screwing up. Trying again. Asking for help. #lrnchat https://t.co/iT8dFJ4ZKT
8:51 PM SimonBlairTrain @StyleLearn Sometimes, marriage is combat. 🙂 #lrnchat
8:51 PM perrinia My #WOL and #lrnchat are syncing. https://t.co/1ofFXiLQKM
8:51 PM eLearninCyclops Q3) Looked and found others doing it, and asked for guidance, resources, and an available ear #lrnchat
8:51 PM The_NthDegree A3 Are we talking parenthood here?? Making that one up as I go… #lrnchat
8:51 PM kregerck A3) Observation, reading, trying, brainstorming #lrnchat https://t.co/HDFVGSr1Is
8:51 PM kelly_smith01 Q2) The Internet/telecom crash (my life event sorry) threw me in a unanticipated trajectory #Lrnchat
8:52 PM CynnamonStelly A3) Tweetchat! Great topics – Great people – Great advice! Internet research is good but advice from people “IN IT” helps me best. #lrnchat
8:52 PM whitneykilgore A3: Seek out others in similar roles, find your tribe and share ideas, struggles & successes #lrnchat
8:52 PM keroleenl #lrnchat Devlearn2014. Made me realize my need to stay relevant and what was outside the academic bubble
8:52 PM ric9901 Q3) I learned a lot about how people learn using tech from my son with autism. #lrnchat
8:52 PM iamDrWill I have been an instructional technologist. Know looking to learn how to design online courses for my next career move #lrnchat
8:52 PM ChadSLowry A3) Ask someone you respect and who does the job well for help/guidance. #lrnchat
8:52 PM LnDDave A3) when I first became a trainer, I immersed myself in as much content as I could. #lrnchat
8:53 PM carlakarijolich a3 I ended up in sales by accident. I learned about building relationships by making lots of mistakes, reflecting, & trying again. #lrnchat
8:53 PM QKArchitects RT @MindShiftKQED: 10 ways educators can extend their own learning over the #summer @TeachingChannel https://t.co/KpFzbElUYy #edchat #pd #l…
8:53 PM StyleLearn A3) Immediately found out the value of that function and what it took to make it even more valuable #lrnchat https://t.co/3l6NAH2kTa
8:53 PM kregerck RT @LnDDave: A3) when I first became a trainer, I immersed myself in as much content as I could. #lrnchat
8:53 PM SimonBlairTrain A3: Sometimes I’ve had a mentor, other times it’s been informal learning. Once took a job doing what I used to teach people to do. #lrnchat
8:53 PM eLearninCyclops Q3) Took cclasses too. Luckily I was at a Univ so classes were free #lrnchat
8:53 PM DrJessupS A3) I went back to school and earned another degree. Also lots of reading and looking at other examples. #lrnchat
8:53 PM HollyJustice1 Q2 Major surgery lit a fire for me recently. Alive, healthy and not wasting time. Not afraid to do the right thing. #lrnchat
8:53 PM carlakarijolich a3 I looked for role models who I could emulate and observe. I was an “apprentice” to the masters. #lrnchat
8:54 PM TheQuietSpeaker A3) Found people who really know their ID and soak up all I can from them #lrnchat #learning
8:54 PM khaydensafdie @JaneBozarth I hear it’s a popular one these days! #lrnchat
8:54 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: Q3) If you’ve found yourself in a new role by accident, how did you learn the ropes? #lrnchat
8:54 PM kregerck RT @whitneykilgore: A3: Seek out others in similar roles, find your tribe and share ideas, struggles & successes #lrnchat
8:54 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q3) If you’ve found yourself in a new role by accident, how did you learn the ropes? #lrnchat
8:54 PM katrinamwehr A3) Trial by fire! Learning through experience is sometimes the fastest way to get the hang of new routines #lrnchat https://t.co/MsdAwaPdMy
8:54 PM StyleLearn @SimonBlairTrain and combat a marriage to the will to survive #lrnchat
8:54 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A3) I have, and I learned the ropes by reflecting on past mistakes and established new behaviour goals. E.g. Ask questions #lrnchat
8:54 PM The_NthDegree A3 Look around… see what you don’t want to be… and then learn out loud… #lrnchat
8:54 PM carlakarijolich @LnDDave What kinds of content? Specific blogs or journals? I’m always looking to expand my library. 😉 #lrnchat
8:54 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Q3) If you’ve found yourself in a new role by accident, how did you learn the ropes? #lrnchat
8:55 PM btopro #lrnchat A3) It may seem an accident to the outside but everything is sickly calculated. learn ropes by making longer 1s, more slack 😉
8:55 PM carlakarijolich The story of the past 2 years of my life! I started grad school at #msloc to invest in myself. #lrnchat https://t.co/tBDCrXnoxR
8:55 PM WrayMelissa A3)Worked for an accountant but knew nothing about GAAP. Wrote down every phrase and acronym I didn’t know, looked it up at night. #lrnchat
8:56 PM btopro RT @The_NthDegree: A3 Look around… see what you don’t want to be… and then learn out loud… #lrnchat
8:56 PM kelly_smith01 Q3/ Forced myself in the door not always welcome but have adapted #lrnchat
8:56 PM SimonBlairTrain Can you rephrase that? I believe the #LOL hashtag is taken. 🙂 #lrnchat https://t.co/BHsFS5judO
8:56 PM btopro RT @katrinamwehr: A3) Trial by fire! Learning through experience is sometimes the fastest way to get the hang of new routines #lrnchat http…
8:56 PM The_NthDegree A3 I’m probably a bit different from most, not interested in copying others, want to try myself – happy to get it wrong & learn #lrnchat
8:56 PM StyleLearn A3) Asked a ton of questions and listened intently #lrnchat https://t.co/3l6NAH2kTa
8:56 PM iamDrWill A3) by learning from a colleague. Reading. Seeking guidance from those with more experience. Learning on the job #lrnchat
8:56 PM carlakarijolich a3 participating in #lrnchat was actually a part of my learning journey when I landed in training. I needed a network of peers.
8:56 PM The_NthDegree @SimonBlairTrain I tried to use that as an acronym last year – got laughed out the place apparently 🙂 #lrnchat
8:56 PM Elham_ab 3) Hi everyone! I asked those who knew better than me & reflected a lot. #lrnchat
8:57 PM kelly_smith01 RT @LnDDave: A3) when I first became a trainer, I immersed myself in as much content as I could. #lrnchat
8:57 PM lrnchat Q4) What’s the most important thing you’ve learned during your career journey? #lrnchat
8:57 PM carlakarijolich @WrayMelissa I admire that kind of dedication. Learning about accounting is no joke. #lrnchat
8:57 PM perrinia #lrnchat a3) all of my answers ar a version of Fake it till I made it look easy. Im hoping to give a talk at #UXNZ called FAUX- about this.
8:57 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q4) What’s the most important thing you’ve learned during your career journey? #lrnchat
8:57 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q4) What’s the most important thing you’ve learned during your career journey? #lrnchat
8:58 PM ric9901 A3) There are no mentors in my org so I looked for them in the elearning industry. #lrnchat
8:58 PM Elham_ab 4) not making assumptions. Digging into the problem to solve it. #lrnchat
8:58 PM TomikoRudio RT @Elham_ab: 4) not making assumptions. Digging into the problem to solve it. #lrnchat
8:58 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: Q4) What’s the most important thing you’ve learned during your career journey? #lrnchat
8:58 PM JD_Dillon A4) You can NEVER allow yourself to stop learning and evolving in your work #lrnchat https://t.co/1LvN0B2EgH
8:58 PM HollyJustice1 Q3 to learn quickly listen carefully, do research, be open to ideas, and very organized. Make plans and deliver the goods. #lrnchat
8:58 PM TheQuietSpeaker @carlakarijolich @LnDDave agree! And read books not specifically for training, like “Made to Stick” and “Art of Explanation” #lrnchat
8:58 PM perrinia #LRNCHAT a4) that dramatic response you want to make will not help anyone.
8:59 PM eLearninCyclops Q4) You are never finished learning – Thankfully, there is always more & the more u learn the more u can offer #lrnchat
8:59 PM AmberandGreene A4 Most important thing learned in career journey:- Find your voice, Tell your story, Stay in your lane, Enjoy and have fun #lrnchat
8:59 PM DrJessupS A4) Being able to work from home makes up for a lot of other challenges. #lrnchat
8:59 PM perrinia #lrnchat a4) part 2- you are likely not as funny as you think you are
8:59 PM kregerck A4) Nothing is final. Decisions, success, failures all lead to something else.(Hard to remember sometimes) #lrnchat https://t.co/68mbJ9kEtY
8:59 PM btopro #lrnchat A4) “Move, keep walkin’ soldier keep movin’ on
And lift your head, it ain’t over yet, ain’t over yet” – https://t.co/S3e7haVxzo
8:59 PM kregerck RT @JD_Dillon: A4) You can NEVER allow yourself to stop learning and evolving in your work #lrnchat https://t.co/1LvN0B2EgH
8:59 PM kat_goyette A4: Most important thing I’ve learned – The more I know, the more I realize I do not know. #lrnchat #lifelonglearner
8:59 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A4) Oh that’s easy! Learning & development mindset. I attribute @ActivateLearn and #lrnchat as introducers and catalysts for this
8:59 PM btopro #lrnchat never. give. up. never accept “we always have done it this way”. Never sit down. Never shut up.
8:59 PM WrayMelissa A4) that every step teaches you something, even if it seems unrelated to your career goals. #lrnchat
8:59 PM ChadSLowry A4) Be unfailingly kind. People will forgive mistakes if you treat them kindly. No one wants to work w/a jerk, even if a genius. #lrnchat
9:00 PM CynnamonStelly A4) Take it slow in the beginning bc I didn’t know hardly anything about my new career path. Actually, I’m STILL a newbie. #lrnchat
9:00 PM ric9901 A4) so many things! Ask for help, agile pm, action mapping, tech stuff, and not to let SMEs storyboard. #lrnchat
9:00 PM carlakarijolich a4 too many things right now I’m working on learning to build trust with clients and navigate org politics #lrnchat
9:00 PM kelly_smith01 Q3) As Dave did I immersed my self in content and in my case became a SME of the content #Lrnchat
9:00 PM kregerck A4) and I am interested in too many things! #lrnchat
9:00 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth Many people seem to find being a victim liberating. No responsibility. Everything is someone else’s fault. #lrnchat
9:00 PM carlakarijolich @TheQuietSpeaker @LnDDave Thanks for the recommendation! #lrnchat
9:01 PM JD_Dillon A4) 2nd most important: loving what you do is priceless #lrnchat
9:01 PM kregerck RT @ChadSLowry: A4) Be unfailingly kind. People will forgive mistakes if you treat them kindly. No one wants to work w/a jerk, even if a ge…
9:01 PM The_NthDegree A4 I’m hoping I haven’t learnt it yet… otherwise it’s probably just a corny old be true to yourself 🙂 #lrnchat
9:01 PM StyleLearn A4) My expectations of myself and others are way too high. Learning is change, not everyone is ready #lrnchat https://t.co/VZxDTcemTZ
9:01 PM LnDDave The importance of ownership; don’t let your employers dictate your career path. #lrnchat https://t.co/LdyvwcPcqO
9:01 PM carlakarijolich RT @ChadSLowry: A4) Be unfailingly kind. People will forgive mistakes if you treat them kindly. No one wants to work w/a jerk, even if a ge…
9:01 PM The_NthDegree @ChadSLowry that’s a really good point Chad – kindness. #lrnchat
9:02 PM kregerck RT @StyleLearn: A4) My expectations of myself and others are way too high. Learning is change, not everyone is ready #lrnchat https://t.co…
9:02 PM eLearninCyclops RT @LnDDave The importance of ownership; don’t let your employers dictate your career path. #lrnchat https://t.co/nYcgWOX6lp
9:02 PM iamDrWill A4) don’t get too comfortable. change is guaranteed. put in the work to be prepared when change knocks at the door #lrnchat
9:02 PM The_NthDegree A4 Sense of humour. Hands down the most important thing. That and being able to step back (although not if you’re a window cleaner) #lrnchat
9:02 PM btopro RT @JD_Dillon: A4) 2nd most important: loving what you do is priceless #lrnchat
9:03 PM SimonBlairTrain A5: It’s a toss-up between “EVERYTHING is negotiable” and “if you can’t meet a deadline, speak up early”. #lrnchat
9:03 PM carlakarijolich a4 not to suffer in silence. I need to speak up, ask for help, & take action. I have agency!. #lrnchat
9:03 PM katrinamwehr A4) No amount of prep/training can prepare you for everything you’ll encounter on the job. Also, can’t save the world in a day #lrnchat
9:03 PM btopro RT @The_NthDegree: A4 Sense of humour. Hands down the most important thing. That and being able to step back (although not if you’re a wind…
9:03 PM perrinia @carlakarijolich YEAH you do! #lrnchat
9:03 PM AmberandGreene @JaneBozarth your answer to a4 deserve a high five #lrnchat #learninganddevelopment #ld #training #career https://t.co/CFcOcpsMoH
9:03 PM keroleenl #lrnchat A4) Keep learning skills that not only will help you now but also when you lose your job and transfer to another one
9:03 PM kelly_smith01 Q4) Rules are guidelines, suggestions, or pointless boundaries- sometimes just look the other way #Lrnchat
9:03 PM The_NthDegree A4 This one too… Swimming upstream is mighty difficult, only do it when it’s mission critical. #salmonlogic #lrnchat
9:03 PM MrKMaston @carlakarijolich This. Suffering in silence. That was definitely one I experienced maaany years ago. Agency indeed. #lrnchat
9:03 PM ChadSLowry A4) Always challenge yourself. Each year, you should be able to recognize some progress you made in your work. #lrnchat
9:04 PM kregerck RT @iamDrWill: A4) don’t get too comfortable. change is guaranteed. put in the work to be prepared when change knocks at the door #lrnchat
9:04 PM lrnchat Q5) When has a curiosity or tension taken your career interests in a new direction? #lrnchat
9:04 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q4) What’s the most important thing you’ve learned during your career journey? #lrnchat
9:04 PM kregerck RT @ChadSLowry: A4) Always challenge yourself. Each year, you should be able to recognize some progress you made in your work. #lrnchat
9:04 PM LnDDave Interesting question. What I used then is probably different than what I’d recommend now. #Hindsight #lrnchat https://t.co/LCyAryJ7V9
9:04 PM urbie #lrnchat A4 The most important thing learned during my career journey? Nobody benefits by staying quiet. Speak up.
9:04 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q3) If you’ve found yourself in a new role by accident, how did you learn the ropes? #lrnchat
9:05 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: Q5) When has a curiosity or tension taken your career interests in a new direction? #lrnchat
9:05 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 Once or twice I haven’t learned the ropes. Sometimes one has to move on to grow. Why stay hung-up?
9:05 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q2) Have any life events caused you to rethink your ambitions/goals? #lrnchat
9:05 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q5) When has a curiosity or tension taken your career interests in a new direction? #lrnchat
9:05 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Q4) What’s the most important thing you’ve learned during your career journey? #lrnchat
9:05 PM The_NthDegree A5 I was curious to see what it would be like not to have a ‘boss’ & work for myself, same with working from home… #lrnchat
9:05 PM StyleLearn A4) My desire to develop others does not equate to their willingness to develop #lrnchat https://t.co/VZxDTcvYiz
9:06 PM perrinia my #WOL group got me thinking of what my vendors do. discussions with them means now i get to help a really important charity. #lrnchat a4
9:06 PM CynnamonStelly A5) Curiosity – new software for elearning content (get caught up in creating graphics). Tension – from coworkers fear of change. #lrnchat
9:06 PM btopro #lrnchat A5 when I realized what I was building was completely wrong, scrapped everything; 3 years later, minds are blown, including mine :p
9:06 PM carlakarijolich a5 using flawed processes –> developing a solution –> establishing competence –> gaining more responsibility –> repeat #lrnchat
9:06 PM TheQuietSpeaker A5) I remember the moment I saw a course an ID created (I was on client side) and thought, “that is so cool! I could do that! #lrnchat
9:06 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth Anti-social recruiting is more my speed. 🙂 #lrnchat
9:06 PM eLearninCyclops Q5) I was an ISD student and did not consider elearning until a fellow student discussed his exciting WBT design course #lrnchat
9:06 PM The_NthDegree A5 Tension made me leave one job too – although was able to move internally away from a intensively negative person #sithlord #lrnchat
9:06 PM perrinia a4) #lrnchat Curioisuity has to be a learning superpower. it IS the point of difference. knowing lots about lots
9:07 PM ChadSLowry A5) I didn’t know as much about learning as I needed to, & wasn’t leading as effectively as I could, which led me to grad school. #lrnchat
9:07 PM perrinia @perrinia #lrnchat Spelling not so much
9:07 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 An event that caused me to rethink my ambitions/goals occurred in 1993.. working at Intel I learned I had a knack for training..
9:07 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q1) What career did you THINK you would have? How did you end up where you are now? #lrnchat
9:07 PM katrinamwehr A5) All the red tape in #K12 made me feel like I was handcuffed. Have more freedom now to make real impact #lrnchat https://t.co/sNmf9itThg
9:07 PM kat_goyette A5: Curiosity leads to learning. Leaders cultivate natural curiosity in adults & children alike. #lrnchat https://t.co/6rLR43UtOc
9:07 PM LnDDave A5) When I discovered all the sharing people at conferences were doing on Twitter. #lrnchat https://t.co/ODvWD02mYa
9:07 PM HollyJustice1 Q4) Number 1 thing learned in career? Be flexible and enjoy the ride, but don’t forget to drive when it’s your turn. #lrnchat
9:07 PM AmberandGreene MT @JaneBozarth Q4. It’s up to YOU, create the job/situation u want. Own it. Life’s too short to spend it doing something u hate. #lrnchat
9:07 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A5) When I was expected to run a 2hr session on very dry material & consider people ‘trained’ afterwards. I said no. #lrnchat
9:08 PM urbie #lrnchat A1 I have a problem with “End up..” I learned (and am periodically reminded) that I excel as a practitioner. Bean counting bites..
9:08 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q5) When has a curiosity or tension taken your career interests in a new direction? #lrnchat
9:08 PM kregerck RT @perrinia: a4) #lrnchat Curioisuity has to be a learning superpower. it IS the point of difference. knowing lots about lots
9:08 PM LnDDave A5) My discovery and interest in conference backchannels was in many ways a pivot point in my career. #lrnchat https://t.co/ODvWD02mYa
9:08 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth You’re probably right. It’s the type of service you have to offer, instead of waiting to be asked. 🙂 #lrnchat
9:08 PM HollyJustice1 Green and growing is a good way to live. #lrnchat https://t.co/1hvr51W77l
9:09 PM HollyJustice1 RT @LnDDave: The importance of ownership; don’t let your employers dictate your career path. #lrnchat https://t.co/LdyvwcPcqO
9:09 PM kregerck RT @LnDDave: A5) When I discovered all the sharing people at conferences were doing on Twitter. #lrnchat https://t.co/ODvWD02mYa
9:09 PM HollyJustice1 RT @CynnamonStelly: A4) Take it slow in the beginning bc I didn’t know hardly anything about my new career path. Actually, I’m STILL a newb…
9:09 PM carlakarijolich @MrKMaston LOL. Big old NOPE. Good for you. It’s tough to tell someone what they want is counterproductive. #lrnchat
9:09 PM ric9901 A5) hmmm. I’m always curious! Rising to the challenge of teaching a kid on the autism spectrum led me to pursue learning tech. #lrnchat
9:09 PM urbie #lrnchat A5 #EdCampWestTexas changed my life. #tlap Later, #cue15 rocked my world. Both illuminated what imagination & fearless-ness can do.
9:09 PM kelly_smith01 This has been very helpful and valuable #Lrnchat https://t.co/6IDAVrHM5m
9:10 PM HollyJustice1 Yes build relationships first then business #lrnchat https://t.co/SSZ7arPnS3
9:10 PM The_NthDegree Good conversation @lrnchat I’m seriously considering another career change now, don’t want the wind to change & get stuck! #lrnchat
9:10 PM btopro RT @kelly_smith01: This has been very helpful and valuable #Lrnchat https://t.co/6IDAVrHM5m
9:10 PM TheQuietSpeaker @carlakarijolich YES. I’m convinced this is the secret to life… or at least success in your career. #lrnchat
9:10 PM DrJessupS A5) My knowledge of SQL lets me run reports and data mine for things others don’t know how to find in the LMS. #lrnchat
9:10 PM urbie Late arrival.. I got enthralled watching Gypsy with Natalie Wood. #lrnchat Urbie, instructional designer
9:11 PM HollyJustice1 It’s always darkest before the dawn. #lrnchat https://t.co/ynTTFQCxNf
9:11 PM AlwynKlein RT @JD_Dillon: A4) You can NEVER allow yourself to stop learning and evolving in your work #lrnchat https://t.co/1LvN0B2EgH
9:11 PM StyleLearn A5) My curiosity in technologies in and outside of L&D Tension is always getting uncomfortable to become comfortable in learning #lrnchat
9:11 PM carlakarijolich RT @HollyJustice1: Yes build relationships first then business #lrnchat https://t.co/SSZ7arPnS3
9:11 PM lrnchat Q6) What role does learning/interest in learning play in ongoing career paths? #lrnchat
9:11 PM urbie @kelly_smith01 Well said Kelly. It’s the people that make conferences & stuff vital #lrnchat
9:11 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: Q6) What role does learning/interest in learning play in ongoing career paths? #lrnchat
9:12 PM btopro #lrnchat A6 if ur in a career that doesn’t value personal growth (or u dont feel motivated to keep growing) it’s time to move on, big time.
9:12 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q6) What role does learning/interest in learning play in ongoing career paths? #lrnchat
9:12 PM LnDDave RT @lrnchat: Q6) What role does learning/interest in learning play in ongoing career paths? #lrnchat
9:12 PM The_NthDegree @btopro @lrnchat I think the only way to guarantee not being overtaken by a bot is to be a free thinker… got a feeling I’m safe 🙂 #lrnchat
9:12 PM CandiceCPLP A5) Seems to happen every couple of years, from reading or meeting a thought leader–Jane Hart has been a huge influence #lrnchat
9:12 PM kat_goyette A6: Those who do not learn or are not interested in learning will not grow. Therefore, they remain stagnant, stuck in mediocrity. #lrnchat
9:12 PM SimonBlairTrain A6: Ideally a huge role. When possible, it’s always better to do something you enjoy and where you can learn. #lrnchat
9:12 PM CynnamonStelly A6) That is my motivator to take things to perhaps a new level or different direction. #lrnchat
9:13 PM kelly_smith01 RT @AmberandGreene: MT @JaneBozarth Q4. It’s up to YOU, create the job/situation u want. Own it. Life’s too short to spend it doing somethi…
9:13 PM JD_Dillon A6) Career is a moving target. You have to grow with marketplace to sustain. #lrnchat https://t.co/vJoo5KrelT
9:13 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q6) What role does learning/interest in learning play in ongoing career paths? #lrnchat
9:13 PM The_NthDegree A6 Same same really, you win some you learn some – you can even learn when you win if you’re smart about it 🙂 #lrnchat
9:13 PM carlakarijolich a6) sometimes you find something on the fringes of your comfort zone that ends up becoming a professional passion. #lrnchat
9:13 PM ric9901 A5) When you as the trainer stop learning and being curious bad things happen for learners too. If ur stuck they will be. #lrnchat
9:13 PM LnDDave A6) Questions like “what will I learn?” And “what new skills will I develop?” We’re big factors in making my last career move. #lrnchat
9:14 PM carlakarijolich a6 I’m very methodical so I have to try to not get in my own way. I try to leave room for/be open to serendipity #lrnchat
9:14 PM ChadSLowry A6) If you don’t have an endless fascination w/novelty & never-ending curiosity, I don’t know how you can hope to succeed in biz. #lrnchat
9:14 PM WrayMelissa A6) you have to be open to growth, motivated to learn, to successfully move along a career path. #lrnchat
9:14 PM MrKMaston @carlakarijolich Thanks. It was the best thing I did. Set me on the path of curiosity towards how people learn at work #lrnchat
9:14 PM SimonBlairTrain @LnDDave Were they questions you asked the potential employer, or ones you asked yourself? #lrnchat
9:14 PM AmberandGreene RT @kat_goyette: A6: Those who do not learn or are not interested in learning will not grow. Therefore, they remain stagnant, stuck in medi…
9:14 PM HollyJustice1 Yes, learning one’s craft is never done…must embrace the next challenge #mastery #lrnchat https://t.co/QxtGlI337j
9:14 PM JD_Dillon A6) Good chances the job you’ll have in 10 years doesn’t exist today. #lrnchat
9:14 PM CandiceCPLP A6) For me, a major one. Any claims that sound too good to be true MUST be investigated. #lrnchat #bogusbrainscience
9:14 PM DrJessupS A6) Ongoing learning is necessary for evolving your job and career. #lrnchat
9:14 PM katrinamwehr A6) The biggest part! Learning is an investment in yourself. No one can take your education away from you, so go after it #lrnchat
9:15 PM AmberandGreene MT @kat_goyette A6: Those who do not learn or are not interested in learning will not grow. Therefore, they remain stagnant & stuck #lrnchat
9:15 PM carlakarijolich @WrayMelissa Great advice. I’ll admit I have resisted things that have ended up working well. 😉 #lrnchat
9:15 PM ChadSLowry @JaneBozarth Truth. That would be one boring person. #lrnchat
9:15 PM The_NthDegree @JD_Dillon I’m in education so whilst I agree with you in principle better extrapolate that by a factor of 100 🙂 #lrnchat
9:15 PM LnDDave A6) There’s a direct correlation between one’s ownership towards learning and one’s ownership of career path. #lrnchat
9:16 PM ric9901 A6) I always consider the new people that I will have access to and can learn from. #lrnchat
9:16 PM CandiceCPLP Yes, as well as, “what can I help people learn about?” #lrnchat https://t.co/ImgFuzLTpm
9:16 PM urbie #lrnchat A6 Roles are important. Being able to roll matters too. Keeping one’s eyes & ears open & teaming with others keeps it interesting..
9:16 PM kregerck RT @JD_Dillon: A6) Good chances the job you’ll have in 10 years doesn’t exist today. #lrnchat
9:16 PM kelly_smith01 Q6) Now you must ask with each new job —> How will this job lead me to my next job in the next “economy “ #lrnchat
9:16 PM margmary RT @DrJessupS: A6) Ongoing learning is necessary for evolving your job and career. #lrnchat
9:16 PM SimonBlairTrain RT @LnDDave: A6) There’s a direct correlation between one’s ownership towards learning and one’s ownership of career path. #lrnchat
9:16 PM kregerck RT @LnDDave: A6) There’s a direct correlation between one’s ownership towards learning and one’s ownership of career path. #lrnchat
9:16 PM perrinia @kelly_smith01 yes i find this hard. #lrnchat
9:17 PM TheQuietSpeaker Q6) Having trouble with the question because I don’t see how anyone could view learning as NOT connected to their career path! #lrnchat
9:17 PM carlakarijolich Future thesis topic for me? #lrnchat https://t.co/Nt5uFLy0dE
9:17 PM LnDDave Both – but I phrased the question differently to the employer. #lrnchat https://t.co/Osy1WbNrZO
9:17 PM urbie #lrnchat A6 Boredom plays a role too. Why keep doing the same something once it gets old?
9:17 PM The_NthDegree @LnDDave ownership is key in so many things, apathy is the biggest challenge we face in many respects… #lrnchat
9:17 PM kelly_smith01 RT @LnDDave: A6) There’s a direct correlation between one’s ownership towards learning and one’s ownership of career path. #lrnchat
9:17 PM disgamechanger RT @CandiceCPLP: A5) Seems to happen every couple of years, from reading or meeting a thought leader–Jane Hart has been a huge influence #…
9:18 PM CandiceCPLP A6) and what I learn usually leads to greater curiosity. Take performance support 4ex; the more I learn, the more I want to know #lrnchat
9:18 PM perrinia @LnDDave #lrnchat so i guess figuring out how to ‘own it’ not knowing is as much a decision.
9:18 PM carlakarijolich @SimonBlairTrain @LnDDave Do you go back and assess the outcome afterwards? #lrnchat
9:18 PM SimonBlairTrain @urbie Unless it’s to free up your mind for other things? CF: Einstein as patent clerk. #lrnchat
9:18 PM margmary If you stop learning you stop growing. What happens when a plant does that? #lrnchat
9:18 PM HollyJustice1 Q5 temp jobs took me some interesting places while reskilling #noregrets better than #unemployment plus learned new stuff #lrnchat
9:18 PM JD_Dillon “Where do you want to be in 5 years?” is a funny question. Can you even tell me where the company will be in 5 years? #lrnchat
9:18 PM perrinia @urbie #lrnchat I wonder this a lot. This is really prevalent in LND. I see ‘experts’ doing the same thing all the time and i wonder how.
9:19 PM lrnchat Q7) “There’s always a thing to get better at”. What is that thing for you? How will you do it? #lrnchat
9:19 PM kregerck RT @The_NthDegree: @LnDDave ownership is key in so many things, apathy is the biggest challenge we face in many respects… #lrnchat
9:19 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A6) For me it is the Keymaster; Mutually opening up new relationships, new vistas of growth and possibilities. #lrnchat
9:19 PM CandiceCPLP I like that I’ve been called a boddisatvah, too. (Leading others to enlightenment) 😌 #lrnchat
9:19 PM perrinia A7 #lrnchat listening, asking questions, being curious, being quiet.
9:19 PM StyleLearn A6) Interest is essential to my ongoing career. The problem is I only have another 50-60 years of learning #lrnchat https://t.co/RsG8HnO66g
9:19 PM margmary Right now , it’s social media #lrnchat
9:19 PM LnDDave RT @lrnchat: Q7) “There’s always a thing to get better at”. What is that thing for you? How will you do it? #lrnchat
9:19 PM JD_Dillon A7) Is “everything” too vague as an answer? 😋 #lrnchat https://t.co/OBnJiGNSGd
9:20 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: Q7) “There’s always a thing to get better at”. What is that thing for you? How will you do it? #lrnchat
9:20 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q7) “There’s always a thing to get better at”. What is that thing for you? How will you do it? #lrnchat
9:20 PM perrinia @JaneBozarth Ahhhh there it is
#lrnchat
9:20 PM The_NthDegree A7 Being a smart-ass. I’m hoping in 10 years there’ll be a greater need for sarcasm, wit & drum rolls. #lrnchat
9:20 PM LnDDave A7) What? Staying on top of my inbox. How? Select All, Delete. 🙂 #lrnchat
9:20 PM carlakarijolich a7 body language while listening! I’m having to have someone tape me while I’m listening to someone. #lrnchat
9:21 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A7) HTML, graphic design, game design (the list goes on). Play, Think, Test, Reflect, and sleep on it from time to time #lrnchat
9:21 PM kelly_smith01 Q6) Today the world can change so fast that some lessons and books are obsolete before deployment or publication #Lrnchat
9:21 PM kregerck A7) Confidence! That’s why I am researching it for a conference session! #lrnchat https://t.co/bfFYY70Ouh
9:21 PM HollyJustice1 Q6 being curious and brave is the first step for corporate learners…must be willing to look silly and risk failure #lrnchat
9:21 PM ChadSLowry A7) I’m always trying to improve the overall experience of learning for my company’s users; not just a particular course. #lrnchat
9:21 PM SimonBlairTrain @The_NthDegree Me too! I’ve been preparing for that day all my life. It’s like the Olympics for me. #lrnchat
9:21 PM CynnamonStelly A7) Incorporating stories for compliance training. I’ve got to make that more exciting. #lrnchat
9:21 PM btopro #lrnchat A7 focusing on details and the mundane instead of chasing the crazy in the clouds. mundane wins the battles, cloud vision the war.
9:21 PM iamDrWill A) I knew I had to take a step back and work with adults. Working with young people was burning me out #lrnchat
9:21 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Q6) What role does learning/interest in learning play in ongoing career paths? #lrnchat
9:21 PM CandiceCPLP A7) Organizing, and developing my PKM. #lrnchat
9:21 PM urbie @SimonBlairTrain I guess so. I became a peer trainer at Intel in ’94 when I got bored with operating and started coding #lrnchat
9:21 PM Ruthie_HB Q7) Interacting with a plethora of people. Work itself isn’t hard. Learning to navigate my interactions w/ folks, still needs work. #lrnchat
9:22 PM eLearninCyclops Q7) Graphic design – Something I need as 1 person shop. Learn via books, articles and soaking in what others create #lrnchat
9:22 PM eLearninCyclops Q7) Graphic design – Something I need as 1 person shop. Learn via books, articles and soaking in what others create #lrnchat
9:22 PM WrayMelissa A7) I need to be better at taking care of me. And it will take focus and repetition until it becomes habit. #lrnchat
9:22 PM SimonBlairTrain @LnDDave I did that once. IT couldn’t restore my messages. It was sadly liberating. #lrnchat
9:22 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A7)….and work out loud? #lrnchat
9:22 PM carlakarijolich @kregerck good luck! Is it for public speaking/client work/more general? #lrnchat
9:22 PM kregerck RT @CandiceCPLP: A7) Organizing, and developing my PKM. #lrnchat
9:22 PM katrinamwehr A7) Realizing that failure is an inevitable part of the path toward anything worth accomplishing. Failure isn’t the same as defeat. #lrnchat
9:23 PM urbie @perrinia I’m at #iPadPalooza next week. It’s a different kind of PD experience #lrnchat #reimaginePD https://t.co/sZHcl08EWA
9:23 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q7) “There’s always a thing to get better at”. What is that thing for you? How will you do it? #lrnchat
9:23 PM kregerck RT @CynnamonStelly: A7) Incorporating stories for compliance training. I’ve got to make that more exciting. #lrnchat
9:23 PM kregerck RT @HollyJustice1: Q6 being curious and brave is the first step for corporate learners…must be willing to look silly and risk failure #l…
9:23 PM CandiceCPLP A7) and my fitness regime. It’s a daily struggle! #lrnchat
9:23 PM HollyJustice1 RT @lrnchat: Q7) “There’s always a thing to get better at”. What is that thing for you? How will you do it? #lrnchat
9:24 PM StyleLearn A7) Coding, it’s the future and plenty of resources to learn from. If I can @google it I can learn it #lrnchat https://t.co/ccRh1xk6qR
9:24 PM kregerck RT @MrKMaston: @lrnchat A7)….and work out loud? #lrnchat
9:24 PM urbie #lrnchat A7 That’s a hard one. While I consider myself a risk taker I’ve been wondering lately if the next risk (career change) is worth it?
9:25 PM mrjkorb RT @lrnchat: Q7) “There’s always a thing to get better at”. What is that thing for you? How will you do it? #lrnchat
9:25 PM btopro RT @StyleLearn: A7) Coding, it’s the future and plenty of resources to learn from. If I can @google it I can learn it #lrnchat https://t.c…
9:25 PM kregerck RT @katrinamwehr: A7) Realizing that failure is an inevitable part of the path toward anything worth accomplishing. Failure isn’t the same…
9:25 PM carlakarijolich A classic! The Sound of Music was all about an accidental career… #lrnchat https://t.co/15FQfEFJTV
9:25 PM TheQuietSpeaker A7) terrific Q! Want to add #elearning to my expertise—so need a weekend to sit down and learn @Articulate. #lrnchat
9:25 PM MrKMaston @TheQuietSpeaker Phew. Sounds like I am on track. I think…. @JaneBozarth #lrnchat
9:25 PM urbie #lrnchat A7 Since Christmas I’ve been doing project management.. I REALLY love designing learning experiences. it’s more than getting better
9:25 PM kelly_smith01 Q7) The challenge is finding out what to put youreffort into It is a sort of risk assessment How I can contribute in the future #lrnchat
9:26 PM CandiceCPLP A7) also going to work on my Plan by going to TLDC16. Anyone else? #lrnchat
9:26 PM lrnchat QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:26 PM urbie #lrnchat A7 Going forwards it’s doing what I enjoy. Everything else, skill improvement, etc will follow.
9:26 PM HollyJustice1 Q7 striving to get better in communication plus all the tools…faster, more reuse, more clarity. #lrnchat
9:27 PM ChadSLowry @CandiceCPLP Didn’t know about this one. I’m considering the AECT conference in October. #lrnchat
9:27 PM TheQuietSpeaker @JaneBozarth oops! Still learning #lrnchat. Thanks for reminder.
9:27 PM urbie @perrinia Dunno. I’ve seen your tweets. There’s some interesting gems n #shinyobjects in there #lrnchat
9:27 PM kelly_smith01 RT @LnDDave: A7) What? Staying on top of my inbox. How? Select All, Delete. 🙂 #lrnchat
9:27 PM perrinia #lrnchat awrap – am off to imagine the perfect job. it will include UX and smarts and wombats.
9:27 PM The_NthDegree AWrap Nigel frm NZ sliding out, read my latest on the difference between teaching and learning if you dare! https://t.co/tBG9kOUFdM #lrnchat
9:27 PM LnDDave RT @lrnchat: QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:27 PM btopro RT @lrnchat: QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:28 PM ChadSLowry Awrap) Chad Lowry, Client Education Manager, Chicago. #lrnchat
9:28 PM CandiceCPLP Wrap) Candice in Oregon, rocking performance support at Apply Learning. #lrnchat
9:28 PM eLearninCyclops Thx for another great #lrnchat All have a good night.
9:28 PM JD_Dillon Thanks #lrnchat! Back to Orlando tomorrow. Salt Lake next week. https://t.co/8xKUK5eqMk + https://t.co/pbUEYUHS6u https://t.co/uf5vZLCtbp
9:28 PM StyleLearn Excellent @lrnchat this was Alex Salas L&D pro and #elearning designer from #OrlandoStrong #lrnchat https://t.co/8Fm2C1fRb1
9:28 PM WrayMelissa Wrap) already? Melissa from Charlotte. Instructional designer, would be game designer. #lrnchat
9:29 PM SimonBlairTrain AWrap: Simon Blair, sarcastic and punny Cannuck. Blogging at https://t.co/NFoMJCrmHE #lrnchat
9:29 PM The_NthDegree Remember be an optimist – everything looks better that way. In all fairness being an optometrist can help with that too… #lrnchat
9:29 PM kregerck Awrap) Christine Kreger, librarian and trainer. Great #lrnchat tonight! https://t.co/wajtxTME5d
9:29 PM btopro #lrnchat @elmsln lead dev. Believe we can eliminate/fundamentally alter #edTech market if we stop believing in it and believe in ourselves!
9:29 PM urbie #lrnchat urbie, instructional designer. Next week’s I’m enjoying my first #iPadPalooza https://t.co/sZHcl08EWA #NotYourDaddysPD
9:29 PM DrJessupS Awrap) Stephanie an e-learning manager in Wisconsin. Thanks for another thought provoking #lrnchat. #lrnchat
9:29 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat Kim, Sydney. Lover of #lrnchat. Currently reviewing life’s choices and paths forward.
9:29 PM WrayMelissa RT @The_NthDegree: Remember be an optimist – everything looks better that way. In all fairness being an optometrist can help with that too…
9:30 PM perrinia @urbie I’m keeping an eye on your back channel and i didnt mean for that to sound that way. #lrnchat
9:30 PM TheQuietSpeaker Awrap) Amy in Toronto. Freelance instructional designer currently designing training for cooperatives in Africa! #lovemywork #lrnchat
9:30 PM btopro RT @MrKMaston: @lrnchat Kim, Sydney. Lover of #lrnchat. Currently reviewing life’s choices and paths forward.
9:30 PM MrKMaston @JaneBozarth LRNCHAT….LRNCHT….LUNCH! Mmm, yes, it is indeed time for lunch! #lrnchat
9:30 PM TheQuietSpeaker @JaneBozarth oooooh, you’re coming to Toronto?? #lrnchat
9:31 PM lrnchat Thanks everyone for joining #lrnchat tonight. See you next week! Look for weekly transcripts at https://t.co/ijNIXq164N