Transcript – Februray 25, 2016: Are You a Lazy Learner?

8:30 PM lrnchat Welcome everyone to #lrnchat! How have you been?
8:30 PM MrsMurat Need to save time? Check out these extensions: https://t.co/uIxqZKgyuV #ctqchat #g2great #lrnchat
8:30 PM JD_Dillon Coming to you LIVE from my couch … It’s time for Lazy #lrnchat! And now your host for the evening …
8:30 PM lopta @lrnchat Is it #lrnchat yet? 🙂
8:30 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: #lrnchat now! Are you a lazy learner? https://t.co/TMqmqnjjuk
8:31 PM lrnchat Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
8:31 PM MrKMaston Hello #lrnchat folks! Coming to you from an overcast Sydney. Currently reading ‘the Myth of Mass Practice” in: https://t.co/zJYV2Lk4vw
8:31 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: #lrnchat now! Are you a lazy learner? https://t.co/TMqmqnjjuk
8:32 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: #lrnchat now! Are you a lazy learner? https://t.co/TMqmqnjjuk
8:32 PM perrinia #lrnchat Hi hi hi 3 week gap due to meetings and So Excited to be here- Auckland tweep!
https://t.co/Jd0II1Bqdq
8:32 PM DrJessupS hi #lrnchat I’m sitting with my feet up in my recliner and ready for a fast paced lazy lrnchat.
8:33 PM JD_Dillon Howdy #lrnchat! JD in Orlando, FL. Learning geek w/ @Axonify, tense Flyers fan, sharer. https://t.co/r41sTXbMpg
8:33 PM jyoti__gupta #lrnchat How ah yah? ID from Boston, on time for once
8:33 PM JeremyNegrey @mcthompson5849 & @MakinsieEvans – I love #lrnchat on Thursday nights! Check it out. https://t.co/mDTPWSDaSQ
8:33 PM ChadSLowry Coming to you live from my car, where my wife is driving us to my birthday dinner. #lrnchat
8:34 PM DerekTac Recently got a bike and commuted to work (16mi total) for the 1st time yesterday. Sore legs today 😮 #lrnchat
8:34 PM JKatzaman I’m a fast lazy learner. I skip to the last page of the CliffsNotes. #lrnchat
8:34 PM CynnamonStelly Cynnamon here! Bonsoir! #lrnchat
8:34 PM perrinia @JaneBozarth Ick Indeed!!! this is much more productive and entertaining <3 #lrnchat
8:34 PM lrnchat Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:34 PM lrnchat And #lrnchat loves youuuuuuuu too! https://t.co/6Io558X4c8
8:35 PM DrJessupS @JaneBozarth @DrJessupS I don’t think so. It seems like a lot of lazy things are rushed these days. #lrnchat
8:35 PM perrinia #lrnchat I’ve been asked to develop roadmaps and best practice principles.humbled by how hard those are to synthesize
8:35 PM JeremyNegrey Hey #lrnchat! Long time no see… Jeremy, ID @OnBase checking in from Cleveland, OH USA. Planning to lurk a little tonight.
8:35 PM JD_Dillon A0) Learning PLENTY about my new role and team #lrnchat https://t.co/c5zf3DDMPd
8:35 PM kelly_smith01 Kelly Smith Consultant and gadfly #lrnchat
8:35 PM TriciaRansom I’m baaaaaaaaaack! This is Tricia in Silicon Valley, California. I’ve missed you guys #lrnchat
8:35 PM ChadSLowry @JaneBozarth Good! Turned in my deck for @EcosysCon on Monday! How are you, Jane? #lrnchat
8:36 PM Tracy_Parish Hello #lrnchat, Tracy Parish, ID in healthcare in Newmarket, Ontario
8:36 PM SimonBlairTrain Simon (in Ontario, Canada). Working on employee acknowledgements and trying to get user-generated content going on my blog. #lrnchat
8:36 PM MrKMaston Early days, @JaneBozarth. Intriguing propositions, though I am checking references as I read along. Book review to come? #lrnchat
8:36 PM krisse131 #lrnchat Learnt how to create a #SAMR ladder
8:36 PM perrinia #lrnchat Learning this week about UVP. and trying to make the business of learning less…polarized https://t.co/V8H2ND51hP
8:36 PM The_NthDegree Hi @lrnchat – not sure I’ve got strength on a Fri pm to fight the L&D world for long but I’ll give it a go… Shaking it up from NZ #lrnchat
8:37 PM lopta @lrnchat A0) Even though I like hatchbacks, I need a vehicle with more ground clearance for the winter. #lrnchat
8:37 PM lrnchat @TriciaRansom WHERE have you BEEN? #lrnchat
8:37 PM TriciaRansom RT @lrnchat: @TriciaRansom WHERE have you BEEN? #lrnchat
8:37 PM kelly_smith01 Q0) Learned to be careful about the light at the end of the tunnel. #lrnchat
8:37 PM jyoti__gupta a0) how kerning is specified in digital fonts… using character pairings. #lrnchat
8:37 PM urbie #lrnchat urbie, instructional designer. Kinda nervous. I’m buying white Honda CR-V. Mrs (25 years married) tells me she no like white cars..
8:37 PM JD_Dillon I joined @Axonify in a new multifaceted role – excited to get engaged and help orgs improve performance #lrnchat https://t.co/y7Bf1QXc3Q
8:37 PM SimonBlairTrain A0: I learned that baby goats walk withing hours and get playful within days. #lrnchat
8:37 PM TriciaRansom Yep. I’m like a virus…you can’t get rid of me RT @JaneBozarth Hey look everyone! @TriciaRansom’s back! #lrnchat
8:37 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:38 PM ChadSLowry A0) Learned a lot about sustainable investing, due to an initiative for my company that launches on Monday. #lrnchat
8:38 PM reward75 I’m learning about programmable text workflows (I think that’s what you call it) #lrnchat
8:38 PM DerekTac A0) This week I learned the power of being likeable #lrnchat
8:38 PM TriciaRansom a0) I relearned the power of music. #lrnchat
8:38 PM kregerck Learned I am not yet ready for bi-focals, and eyes dilated = headache. #lrnchat https://t.co/hHUHe3rGgP
8:38 PM JeremyNegrey A0-Earned my professional scrum master #agile certification this week; now trying to make the theoretical practical #lrnchat
8:38 PM SimonBlairTrain @TriciaRansom @JaneBozarth Proof positive that not all viruses are bad. 🙂 #lrnchat
8:38 PM JeremyDBond Hey, #lrnchat. Jeremy. I love to learn and I’m totally lazy.
8:39 PM urbie #lrnchat A0 I learned my #bebop2 drone is cool. It’s why I’m buying a car with AWD.
8:39 PM TriciaRansom HAHAHA….I’ve got you guys fooled RT @SimonBlairTrain @TriciaRansom @JaneBozarth Proof positive that not all viruses are bad. 🙂 #lrnchat
8:39 PM DerekTac I’m lazy because I’m efficient #lrnchat
8:39 PM perrinia @SimonBlairTrain Goats and learning seem to be a theme. i was chatting about the US govt’s goat learning game the other day. #lrnchat
8:39 PM DerekTac or am I efficient because I’m lazy? #lrnchat
8:39 PM reward75 RT @DerekTac I’m lazy because I’m efficient #lrnchat
8:39 PM DrJessupS @JeremyNegrey Congratulations #lrnchat
8:39 PM kelly_smith01 @SimonBlairTrain careful I think there are some goat groupies in #lrnchat
8:39 PM lrnchat @JeremyDBond Well then you have sure come to the right place. #lrnchat
8:39 PM TriciaRansom We have an official goat game? RT @perrinia @SimonBlairTrain Gi was chatting about the US govt’s goat learning game the other day. #lrnchat
8:40 PM SimonBlairTrain @kregerck Is anybody ever ready for bifocals? #lrnchat
8:40 PM Tracy_Parish I learned yesterday that our brain’s capacity is estimated to be as large as the info in the web. #lrnchat
8:40 PM JeremyDBond @lrnchat I didn’t even have to get up. #lrnchat
8:40 PM perrinia @TriciaRansom @SimonBlairTrain less official goat and more official game using goats
#lrnchat
8:40 PM kregerck RT @reward75: RT @DerekTac I’m lazy because I’m efficient #lrnchat
8:40 PM SimonBlairTrain @TriciaRansom @perrinia Is it “Got Simulator”? I’ve heard of that one. 🙂 #lrnchat
8:40 PM TriciaRansom Me too, but too cheap to pay for it RT @SimonBlairTrain @TriciaRansom @perrinia Is it “Got Simulator”? I’ve heard of that one. 🙂 #lrnchat
8:41 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A0) This week I’m learning about attitude, perspective and resilience when professional growth hurdles are thrown my way #lrnchat
8:41 PM JeremyDBond @DerekTac I’m too lazy to figure that out. #lrnchat
8:41 PM Tracy_Parish @JaneBozarth I learned I have 17 days until I get to see some guy pretend to be Buddy Holly on stage. whoooo hoooo. 😉 #lrnchat
8:41 PM lrnchat Q1) How do you feel when learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes you bring? #lrnchat
8:41 PM TriciaRansom Wait, what? @jd_dillon got a new job? #lrnchat
8:41 PM TriciaRansom RT @lrnchat Q1) How do you feel when learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes you bring? #lrnchat
8:41 PM DerekTac @JeremyDBond lol! #lrnchat
8:41 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q1) How do you feel when learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes you bring? #lrnchat
8:42 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q1) How do you feel when learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes you bring? #lrnchat
8:42 PM JD_Dillon @TriciaRansom I really need to increase distribution of the newsletter! 😜 #lrnchat
8:42 PM urbie #lrnchat A1 Depends.
8:42 PM TriciaRansom A1) Overwhelmed, excited, young, terrified #lrnchat
8:42 PM TriciaRansom DUH RT @JD_Dillon @TriciaRansom I really need to increase distribution of the newsletter! 😜 #lrnchat
8:42 PM The_NthDegree A1 Another ‘it depends’ answer for me, seriously it can be anything… #lrnchat
8:42 PM CynnamonStelly A1) Always earger! Open minded! #lrnchat
8:42 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q1) How do you feel when learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes you bring? #lrnchat
8:42 PM JD_Dillon A1) Depends on the WHY – did I chose to engage or is this required w/ lack of WIIFM? #lrnchat https://t.co/bPLJNVNhBC
8:42 PM perrinia @SimonBlairTrain @TriciaRansom https://t.co/90kXExawoL
#lrnchat
8:43 PM The_NthDegree A1 Learning is affected by emotions and emotions can have a direct effect on learning; but I don’t think there’s a constant there.. #lrnchat
8:43 PM DrJessupS A1) I love to learn so the emotion is happy and the attitude is how can I apply this or connect this to other things I know. #lrnchat
8:43 PM lopta @lrnchat A1) If it’s something that interests me, upbeat! #lrnchat
8:43 PM TriciaRansom a1) When I learn something new, always excited of how I’ll incorporate it in my life. Usually the excitement dims quickly #lrnchat
8:43 PM kregerck A1) Excited, nervous. Sometimes overwhelmed. Usually want to share with everyone! #lrnchat https://t.co/ikIATGl3d3
8:43 PM ChadSLowry A1) Nervous, excited, anxious, energized. Basically, I’m a spaz. #lrnchat
8:43 PM reward75 A1) I love learning new things… as long as it’s relevant to what I need to do #lrnchat
8:43 PM urbie #lrnchat A1b Michelle Jackman learned me about the Whoopee-to-Woe algorithm. If what I’m learning is more Whoopee than Woe I’m giddy w/joy..
8:43 PM perrinia #lrnchat it’s important to not battle despair. ive heard it called the black hole of death. (saying for a friend) https://t.co/jObwnsIHrI
8:43 PM JD_Dillon A1) Try to bring a growth mindset and positive attitude, limit inherent discomfort/fear #lrnchat https://t.co/bPLJNVNhBC
8:43 PM MarisaASan #LrnChat what we are learning tonight? I’m new here.
8:43 PM Tracy_Parish Excellent observation. #lrnchat https://t.co/hoHLptBQFh
8:44 PM TriciaRansom Hi Marisa, I think we’re learning about being lazy in learning RT @MarisaASan #LrnChat what we are learning tonight? I’m new here.
8:44 PM JKatzaman A1 Learning attitude depends on the subject. If interested in it, I’ll be more open and learn and retain more. #lrnchat
8:44 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A1) Sometimes it feels like this… #lrnchat https://t.co/Z0H9vcw15a
8:44 PM JeremyDBond A1) During the learning, anything from excitement to frustration. “Having learned” sometimes feels better. #lrnchat https://t.co/Ih1wTRmNlk
8:44 PM reward75 @JaneBozarth How could I not be here. You’re very persausive #lrnchat
8:44 PM kelly_smith01 Q1) Determine how I can leverage what I learned to a new level or alternate universe #lrnchat
8:44 PM perrinia @MrKMaston @lrnchat that’s my tweetdeck #lrnchat
8:44 PM JD_Dillon A1) Likely a bit of frustration, especially if task is brand new and challenging #lrnchat
8:44 PM urbie #lrnchat A1c The more the learning leans towards Woe (compliance) the more moribund it feels. (See fight or flight)..
8:44 PM JeremyNegrey A1-impatient. Typically I want to be left alone to process the info, question & try what I learned out. #lrnchat
8:45 PM MarisaASan @JaneBozarth thanks! Hello. Nice to meet you. #lrnchat
8:45 PM Tracy_Parish That sounds more like me trying something new rather than specifically learning something new. #lrnchat https://t.co/t4c4tuvdMj
8:45 PM TriciaRansom A1) Learning something new becomes very personal very quickly. It’s a competition w/myself to conquer. #lrnchat
8:45 PM krisse131 A1:Very cautious, in hopes of not making a mistake #lrnchat
8:45 PM CynnamonStelly @MarisaASan Welcome! 🙂 #lrnchat
8:45 PM MarisaASan @TriciaRansom hm interesting. I don’t think I’m a lazy learner. We must all be active learners to be here right? #lrnchat
8:46 PM JD_Dillon A1) Because we can so easily now … #lrnchat https://t.co/J62WcrdrC4
8:46 PM Tracy_Parish Is there a distinct difference between trying something and learning something? #lrnchat
8:46 PM The_NthDegree @krisse131 that’s a shame – fear is often a really bad motivator for learning… #lrnchat
8:46 PM eLearninCyclops Q1) Excited if it is relevant and even more if it is a fun, challenging topic #lrnchat
8:46 PM JD_Dillon A1) Interesting how much my approach to personal learning has changed over years of doing this for a living #lrnchat
8:46 PM kregerck RT @JeremyDBond: A1) During the learning, anything from excitement to frustration. “Having learned” sometimes feels better. #lrnchat https:…
8:46 PM Tracy_Parish @JD_Dillon My name is JD and and I have a gif addiction problem. 😉 #lrnchat
8:46 PM The_NthDegree lazy belongs in the same basket as busy… highly subjective… #lrnchat
8:46 PM perrinia #lrnchat is all about failing fast. and often https://t.co/Nk7AY8Nv11
8:47 PM lopta @krisse131 That seems sad, not least because making mistakes is another way to learn. #lrnchat
8:47 PM MarisaASan @lrnchat a2: depends what I’m learning. Inspired, excited. #lrnchat
8:47 PM MrKMaston Welcome to #lrnchat @MarisaASan! https://t.co/DJFKFte9hB
8:47 PM JeremyNegrey #lrnchat @JaneBozarth why am I blocked??? 😀
8:47 PM DavidnProgress RT @lrnchat: Q1) How do you feel when learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes you bring? #lrnchat
8:47 PM lrnchat For tonight’s #lrnchat we’re referencing https://t.co/5Ky6Clhu2t
8:47 PM kelly_smith01 RT @The_NthDegree: lazy belongs in the same basket as busy… highly subjective… #lrnchat
8:47 PM Tracy_Parish @The_NthDegree Can you expand on that thought at all? It’s an interesting point. #lrnchat
8:47 PM urbie #lrnchat A1 Spitballs aren’t nearly as fun when I’m disengaged (bored out of my mind) with an online learning experience. Gimme F2F boredom.
8:48 PM lrnchat Q2) How hard is it for you to learn something new? How willing are you to put in the effort? #lrnchat
8:48 PM SimonBlairTrain A1: Emotions: Excited (start), then frustrated (plateaus), then excited again (more progress). #lrnchat
8:48 PM lopta @perrinia “Fail upwards” 😉 #lrnchat
8:48 PM TriciaRansom RT @lrnchat Q2) How hard is it for you to learn something new? How willing are you to put in the effort? #lrnchat
8:48 PM Tracy_Parish RT @lrnchat: Q2) How hard is it for you to learn something new? How willing are you to put in the effort? #lrnchat
8:48 PM kregerck RT @JD_Dillon: A1) Interesting how much my approach to personal learning has changed over years of doing this for a living #lrnchat
8:48 PM MarisaASan @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom I don’t recall many times feeling frustrated when learning something new. Have you guys? #lrnchat
8:48 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q2) How hard is it for you to learn something new? How willing are you to put in the effort? #lrnchat
8:49 PM Tracy_Parish Q2) Have I chosen to try to learn it on my own or has someone told me have need to learn this? One I’m always more excited about. #lrnchat
8:49 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q2) How hard is it for you to learn something new? How willing are you to put in the effort? #lrnchat
8:49 PM TriciaRansom a2) It’s not hard to learn something new. The hard part is UNLEARNING #lrnchat
8:49 PM JD_Dillon A2) Entirely depends on the WIIFM – more willing to put in effort if there’s a clear value-add #lrnchat https://t.co/HodegUnuVl
8:49 PM wls1961 RT @Tracy_Parish: I learned yesterday that our brain’s capacity is estimated to be as large as the info in the web. #lrnchat
8:49 PM DavidnProgress q1) excited if learning by my own choice and motvation #lrnchat
8:49 PM The_NthDegree @tracy_parish sometimes I wonder if I’m lazy. I don’t categorise, store, reference & check things. But I do question everything. #lrnchat
8:49 PM JD_Dillon A2) Although it is also just fun to learn new stuff w/o direct application sometimes #lrnchat
8:49 PM lopta @lrnchat A2) Depends how much of the foundation’s already in place. Also perhaps how large the leap is to the next level. #lrnchat
8:49 PM perrinia Imreading lots about learning to be comfortable with being unsettled. I thnk new is a very unsettled space #lrnchat https://t.co/qBSzCNPPXG
8:50 PM The_NthDegree @tracy_parish but lazy is compared to what? Who’s to tell if it’s lazy or smarter working? busy = what? Not necessarily either #lrnchat
8:50 PM DerekTac A1) I love to learn new things! I’ve found it the best to go in without expectations and w/ and open mind #lrnchat
8:50 PM duchampian A1) I’m a nerd. I get excited when something new presents itself. If you aren’t learning you’re in stasis. #lrnchat
8:50 PM DrJessupS A2) Depends on the motivation. I have a lot of grit and will use it if the goal is important to me. #lrnchat
8:50 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A2) When I’m not in the ‘zone’ of receiving enlightenment for a particular interest of learning, effort = Mt Everest #lrnchat
8:50 PM reward75 @MarisaASan @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom It depends on your perspective, if your eager then it’s not frustrating for long #lrnchat
8:50 PM SimonBlairTrain A2: If I see a benefit or if the topic interests me, very easy. If not, I’ll probably fight all the way and forget quickly. #lrnchat
8:50 PM kregerck A2) Willing to give it my all, but need to see some sort of progress or I will lose interest. #lrnchat https://t.co/eX9ZJKiQRr
8:50 PM eLearninCyclops RT @Tracy_Parish RT @lrnchat: Q2) How hard is it for you to learn something new? How willing are you to put in the effort? #lrnchat
8:50 PM perrinia #lrnchat exhilarating when you move through the tunnel but i think it takes prac to bring that earlier into the process
8:50 PM waltruistic RT @lrnchat: Q1) How do you feel when learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes you bring? #lrnchat
8:50 PM Tracy_Parish @JaneBozarth @The_NthDegree Oh me too. I have good intentions, but it doesn’t always work out so well. (yeah for #evernote) #lrnchat
8:50 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth @tracy_parish does that make you lazy? I suspect not. I also don’t subscribe to uber busy. Busy doing what? activity? #lrnchat
8:50 PM JD_Dillon A2) Often easier to sit down and dedicate effort when you have “skin in the game” #lrnchat
8:51 PM kelly_smith01 Q2) Learning is difficult (a challenge) when it is highly structured (a course) but rewarding when I structure it pace/content #lrnchat
8:51 PM DerekTac A2) I have to want to learn something to put in max. effort to retain information. I need to work hard to learn, so interest helps #lrnchat
8:51 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 Ok. So I get that learning styles are a myth. I’m cool with it. But I REALLY learn like nobody’s business when I’m having fun..
8:51 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: For tonight’s #lrnchat we’re referencing https://t.co/5Ky6Clhu2t
8:51 PM reward75 A2) Technically, we learn new things all the time, so it’s not hard. It’s becoming good at it that’s hard #lrnchat
8:51 PM CynnamonStelly A2) Not hard for me to learn something new. I make sure to get in my “zone”. One on one time w/ the subject matter. No distractions #lrnchat
8:51 PM TriciaRansom Ummmm….RT @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom I often find learning joyful, not painful . Have you been playing your ukulele? #lrnchat
8:51 PM eLearninCyclops Q2) Completely new of something building on current knowledge? Do I know what I’m getting into? #lrnchat
8:52 PM DerekTac @urbie I agree with you on A2 #lrnchat
8:52 PM perrinia boom. #lrnchat https://t.co/FnAUbDEvdU
8:52 PM The_NthDegree A2 Very easy with the right frame of mind. Almost impossible with the wrong. #lrnchat
8:52 PM audioswhite A1) often depends on context – put-out to excited to relieved #lrnchat
8:52 PM DavidnProgress q2) level of effort and excitement depends a lot on level of interest and level of anticipated reward for the learning #lrnchat
8:52 PM Tracy_Parish @kelly_smith01 Certainly seems much less of chore when self directed. The knowledge becomes a reward. #lrnchat
8:52 PM TriciaRansom @Tracy_Parish @JaneBozarth @The_NthDegree I can’t do #evernote…never learned it. #lrnchat
8:52 PM JeremyDBond A2)When I think about the work it requires, I avoid it. When it’s sudden inspiration, I learn w/o thinking. #lrnchat https://t.co/zgcyFsQ6Ta
8:52 PM kregerck RT @reward75: A2) Technically, we learn new things all the time, so it’s not hard. It’s becoming good at it that’s hard #lrnchat
8:52 PM 4KM Alice joining #lrnchat late! A2) Love learning new things unless it’s software. Then picture the “scream” painting.
8:53 PM MarisaASan @JeremyNegrey @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom yes school days. What I learn now in my career I find interesting. #lrnchat
8:53 PM MarisaASan @reward75 @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom I’m the eager type you can say because I don’t find it frustrating. How about you? #lrnchat
8:53 PM SimonBlairTrain @Tracy_Parish @kelly_smith01 Bingo! #lrnchat
8:53 PM DerekTac RT @JeremyDBond: A2)When I think about the work it requires, I avoid it. When it’s sudden inspiration, I learn w/o thinking. #lrnchat https…
8:53 PM The_NthDegree A2 Also it’s really important to note that most learning can’t be quantified like we try to here. Wot have u learned? Worst Q ever #lrnchat
8:53 PM MarisaASan RT @JeremyDBond: A2)When I think about the work it requires, I avoid it. When it’s sudden inspiration, I learn w/o thinking. #lrnchat https…
8:54 PM JD_Dillon A2) Or maybe it’s … #lrnchat https://t.co/DZC0J9JwMQ
8:54 PM SimonBlairTrain @4KM Just remember “hardware is the parts you can hit with a hammer, software is the parts you can only curse at” 🙂 #lrnchat
8:54 PM MelissaSmithTTC For me, it sometimes depends on the level of risk involved. #lrnchat https://t.co/A0KjLDPNg4
8:54 PM reward75 @MarisaASan @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom I’m eager as well. I get frustrated becuz I’m a perfectionist #lrnchat
8:54 PM kregerck RT @Tracy_Parish: @kelly_smith01 Certainly seems much less of chore when self directed. The knowledge becomes a reward. #lrnchat
8:54 PM JeremyDBond And if we learn the hard way, we don’t hold onto it and forget all over again. #lrnchat https://t.co/nmqWfLk64E
8:54 PM kregerck RT @The_NthDegree: A2 Very easy with the right frame of mind. Almost impossible with the wrong. #lrnchat
8:54 PM JillSKeith RT @JeremyDBond: And if we learn the hard way, we don’t hold onto it and forget all over again. #lrnchat https://t.co/nmqWfLk64E
8:54 PM TriciaRansom @reward75 It’s been too long…how are you? #lrnchat
8:54 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth it took you a few days to learn that? You must be kidding 😉 (yes pun intended) #lrnchat
8:54 PM 4KM @SimonBlairTrain Great tip 😉 #lrnchat
8:55 PM Tracy_Parish @JeremyDBond Ha. I’m think of that with all the bumps and bruises I’ve gotten over the years. #lrnchat
8:55 PM perrinia #lrnchat a2) Seth makes a good point that putting in effort upfront actually makes it easier. stay unsettled.
8:55 PM audioswhite A2 gaining knowledge on new apps, interfaces etc part of the job – actually learning them? Can be pretty lazy about that #lrnchat
8:55 PM lrnchat Q3) What is the benefit of persevering through the frustration to master something new? #lrnchat
8:55 PM reward75 @TriciaRansom I agree, too long. Doing well enough to not complain. How about you? #lrnchat
8:55 PM TriciaRansom RT @lrnchat Q3) What is the benefit of persevering through the frustration to master something new? #lrnchat
8:56 PM SimonBlairTrain @Tracy_Parish @JeremyDBond If that’s from learning the uke, then you’re doing it wrong. #lrnchat
8:56 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 Learning how to put out jet fuel and metal fires in the Navy was fun. Learned that lickety-split.
8:56 PM MarisaASan @reward75 @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom what do you all like learning about most? #lrnchat
8:56 PM 4KM A2) Important to get away from distractions when learning new things #lrnchat
8:56 PM perrinia #lrnchat a2) These folks say it well when you get a chance: https://t.co/AXrCm73hiN
8:56 PM Tracy_Parish Learning something new is easy….it’s the mastering it that truly requires the preservation. #lrnchat
8:56 PM MelissaSmithTTC Yes, learning all the time.So is it about how difficult it is for the learner?The complexity Level of risk? #lrnchat https://t.co/B161Ai9Kdj
8:56 PM JD_Dillon A3) Ability to apply new knowledge/skill, pride in accomplishment, possibly a pretty piece of paper #lrnchat https://t.co/b9PXLNlnci
8:56 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q3) What is the benefit of persevering through the frustration to master something new? #lrnchat
8:56 PM DrJessupS A3) You get to put extra letters behind your name in your signature line. #lrnchat
8:56 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q3) What is the benefit of persevering through the frustration to master something new? #lrnchat
8:56 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 There’s a benefit?
8:57 PM perrinia LULZ for days. #lrnchat https://t.co/PtS6MAVSN1
8:57 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth I think you missed my multiple jokes in there… never mind… I’ll go back to being serious 😦 #lrnchat
8:57 PM TriciaRansom ummmm….as always I’m happily twirling down my own path. What is the question again? #lrnchat
8:57 PM 4KM A3) If you persevere, you can sometimes move mountains: be a go-to person, a role model, help to solve intractable problems #lrnchat
8:57 PM JKatzaman A2 I’m usually willing to learn. If lucky, I’ll find an angle to relate to, which will help me retain the process. #lrnchat
8:57 PM kregerck RT @DrJessupS: A3) You get to put extra letters behind your name in your signature line. #lrnchat
8:57 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth I don’t think it’s black & white that learning is quantifiable, just lots actually isn’t – it’s a shaping process #lrnchat
8:57 PM Tracy_Parish @4KM Great answer. Thx. #lrnchat
8:57 PM SimonBlairTrain A3: You get to laugh at the people who are still stuck. (Did I say that out loud? Oops 🙂 #lrnchat
8:58 PM JD_Dillon A3) And then you feel like … #lrnchat https://t.co/QcjALUYW3N
8:58 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 Borrowing a lyric or three from Billy Joel.. When I wore a younger man’s clothes I tuff’d it out through crappy training. Often.
8:58 PM JeremyDBond A3) You learn perseverance at the same time. And there isn’t much to celebrate when it comes easy. #lrnchat https://t.co/DeOD2mVykZ
8:58 PM TriciaRansom Truly great question…everything RT @MarisaASan: @reward75 @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom what do you all like learning about most? #lrnchat
8:58 PM JD_Dillon A3) Then you can move on to the next skill or level of proficiency #lrnchat
8:58 PM Tracy_Parish You get to win at Trivia Pursuit. #lrnchat https://t.co/3jdoafemax
8:58 PM perrinia #lrnchat …you get to MASTER something NEW! https://t.co/lHpqGjQ3gb
8:58 PM CynnamonStelly A3) The benefit reminds me of the “measue twice, cut once” phrase. Sticking with it, do more (without a redo). #lrnchat
8:58 PM The_NthDegree @kregerck nope. I’m going to go with living instead 🙂 #lrnchat
8:58 PM reward75 RT @lrnchat: Q3) What is the benefit of persevering through the frustration to master something new? #lrnchat
8:59 PM Tracy_Parish RT @CynnamonStelly: A3) The benefit reminds me of the “measue twice, cut once” phrase. Sticking with it, do more (without a redo). #lrnchat
8:59 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 As an older in body but much younger in mind (thank you #EdCamp) why would I want to persevere?
8:59 PM SimonBlairTrain @Tracy_Parish Does that make up for me constantly forgetting people’s names? Please say it does! #lrnchat
8:59 PM TriciaRansom Help! using tweetchat, but it’s driving me crazy with links for retweets. Can’t do @jd_Dillon and tweet from phone. #lrnchat
8:59 PM JD_Dillon A3) Its never “yes I learned!” Its “yes now I can do!” #lrnchat
8:59 PM urbie #lrnchat a3 Designing engaging learning isn’t rocket science.
8:59 PM JKatzaman A3 Conquering frustration and then learning gives a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction. #lrnchat
8:59 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A3) What ARE the benefits of persevering etc…. ? Will ask my kids after toilet training #lrnchat
9:00 PM TriciaRansom It is for @TomSpiglanin! RT @urbie #lrnchat a3 Designing engaging learning isn’t rocket science.
9:00 PM perrinia @urbie #lrnchat …and yet. and yet. <weeping in corner>
9:00 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth no blame – I don’t know who’s responsible for it, but it’s a poor question as it leads to noddy answers, it’s b&w #lrnchat
9:00 PM 4KM Yes – Pig headed Determination! I did that too 😉 #lrnchat https://t.co/PDsFhutTrL
9:00 PM duchampian A3) The simple satisfaction of knowing, understanding, creating something you didn’t before. #lrnchat
9:00 PM TriciaRansom No seriously….what is the question? #lrnchat
9:00 PM lopta @lrnchat A3) A sense of achievement, certainly. Also the bonus lesson that perseverance can pay off. #lrnchat
9:00 PM reward75 A3) That’s like asking what’s the benefit of getting high or drunk. It’s all about the feeling you get #lrnchat
9:00 PM Tracy_Parish RT @lrnchat: Q3) What is the benefit of persevering through the frustration to master something new? #lrnchat
9:01 PM JD_Dillon @TriciaRansom @tomspiglanin @urbie We need to keep Tom around just for that reference 😜 #lrnchat
9:01 PM The_NthDegree A3 It’s all about the journey isn’t it? Sometimes the most rewarding journeys are the hardest ones… #lrnchat
9:01 PM reward75 @TriciaRansom Q3) What is the benefit of persevering through the frustration to master something new? #lrnchat
9:01 PM SimonBlairTrain @MrKMaston @lrnchat I’m not even going to attempt toilet training my kids… because: goats. #lrnchat
9:01 PM TriciaRansom #RandomRansomRuminations I’m sitting alone in a conference room thats as cold as the antartic #lrnchat
9:01 PM MelissaSmithTTC A3) Persevere to mastery or to ‘good enough’? Both can be very satisfying, given the situation #lrnchat https://t.co/oFG4EPaZfQ
9:01 PM kregerck RT @JD_Dillon: A3) Its never “yes I learned!” Its “yes now I can do!” #lrnchat
9:01 PM TriciaRansom Ruining my fun RT @reward75 @TriciaRansom Q3) What is the benefit of persevering through the frustration to master something new? #lrnchat
9:01 PM perrinia @MelissaSmithTTC #lrnchat sometimes i think so. So often hard is valued as bad, but really it holds its own meaning.
9:01 PM DerekTac A3: Learning difficult things/tasks is usually rewarding in the end. I get a ‘high’ after completion of steep learning curves #lrnchat
9:02 PM kregerck RT @The_NthDegree: A3 It’s all about the journey isn’t it? Sometimes the most rewarding journeys are the hardest ones… #lrnchat
9:02 PM kelly_smith01 Q3) Perseverance is the essence of learning. PS Check the writing and research of Angela Duckworth. #lrnchat
9:02 PM TriciaRansom Here is learning something relevant: Why does tweetchat make some tweets yellow? #lrnchat
9:02 PM 4KM Yet sometimes there are costs that come with high levels of expertise: pressures, jealousies etc. #lrnchat (not from experience!)
9:03 PM TriciaRansom Yikes, you’ve got me nailed RT @perrinia Ping @TriciaRansom

here. https://t.co/ljUUj7vkvX #lrnchat

9:03 PM ryantracey Hi all, late to the party. #lrnchat
9:03 PM lrnchat Q4) Example of a time you took a shortcut/avoided learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes about it? #lrnchat
9:03 PM DerekTac @The_NthDegree For me, it’s not just the journey, but finishing. The finish is where the good feelings of accomplishment are! #lrnchat
9:03 PM ryantracey RT @JD_Dillon: A3) Its never “yes I learned!” Its “yes now I can do!” #lrnchat
9:03 PM kregerck A3) Sometimes a “hey…I did that” sometimes a “well I get to keep my job” #lrnchat https://t.co/tyw1jLzBM0
9:03 PM TriciaRansom When I know I’m learning something, I set challenges for me. But then again, usually don’t know that I’m learning till I’m done #lrnchat
9:04 PM TriciaRansom RT @lrnchat Q4) Example of a time you took a shortcut/avoided learning something new? Emotions? Attitudes about it? #lrnchat
9:04 PM JeremyDBond @ryantracey hey there. #lrnchat
9:04 PM reward75 @TriciaRansom Good question, I’ve been wondering that since they started it #yellowtweets #lrnchat
9:04 PM The_NthDegree A4 Is avoidance of learning a thing? I think we’re still stuck in this learning is a thing, knowledge a thing. Gotta lift our game #lrnchat
9:04 PM Tracy_Parish Every time someone tries to put something together with out reading the instructions! #lrnchat
9:04 PM JD_Dillon A4) Plenty of times you can shortcut to an answer via Google – depends on long-term value #lrnchat https://t.co/B1MDL6oQ9c
9:04 PM TriciaRansom @reward75 thought it was just me #yellowtweets #lrnchat
9:04 PM CynnamonStelly A5) Sewing! Spent a whole day undoing the mistake. NEVER AGAIN! #lrnchat
9:05 PM kelly_smith01 Angela Duckworth on perseverance/grit https://t.co/Uvf9JPcKLd #lrnchat
9:05 PM JD_Dillon A4) Or maybe you feel like … #lrnchat https://t.co/m9SlBsiaGp
9:05 PM kregerck A4) Often avoid learning sports things. No eye/hand coordination. #lrnchat https://t.co/EynPEOLqVm
9:05 PM TriciaRansom a4) SATISFACTION!!! I like thinking I gamed the system #lrnchat
9:05 PM DerekTac Yup. RT @Tracy_Parish: Every time someone tries to put something together with out reading the instructions! #lrnchat
9:05 PM perrinia #lrnchat I’ve also unpacked projects with so many bandaids – then the fun really began.
9:05 PM kregerck RT @Tracy_Parish: Every time someone tries to put something together with out reading the instructions! #lrnchat
9:05 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A4) E.g. new tedious operational process relevant to team but not to my role. Complete disinterest = unwillingness to lrn #lrnchat
9:05 PM The_NthDegree @derektac I’m totally on the other end of scale – I’m not sure there’s ever a finish. The destination isn’t a clearly defined point #lrnchat
9:05 PM SimonBlairTrain A5: I can’t think of a specific example, but learning to fix a one-off problem when someone else already knows how would qualify. #lrnchat
9:06 PM 4KM A4 This has me thinking about skimmers and deep-divers. I’ve seen success with both. #lrnchat
9:06 PM TriciaRansom There is no shame in learning, trying, are making mistakes RT @JD_Dillon A4) Or maybe you feel like … #lrnchat https://t.co/9KrmHVOaZb
9:06 PM ryantracey A4) Sometimes with coding I’ll use a script without bothering to learn why it’s set out that way. If it works, it works. #lrnchat
9:06 PM DerekTac @The_NthDegree Learning is truly endless, I agree. Maybe I should use the word “milestone” instead of “finish” #lrnchat
9:06 PM TriciaRansom Thank goodness you’re balanced by Mr. DrJane RT @JaneBozarth @kregerck you & me both. No sportsing here. #lrnchat
9:07 PM MelissaSmithTTC @JaneBozarth At least then you KNOW you need to know it! #lrnchat https://t.co/V9edD2m5RZ
9:07 PM ryantracey RT @SimonBlairTrain: A5: I can’t think of a specific example, but learning to fix a one-off problem when someone else already knows how wou…
9:07 PM tomspiglanin Who’s interrupting my “must go” wine event with Lauren? @TriciaRansom @tomspiglanin @urbie #rocketscience 😜 sorry to miss #lrnchat
9:07 PM 4KM @kregerck I relate. But then I got a horse. #lrnchat
9:07 PM DerekTac @SimonBlairTrain I need destinations and/or milestones/rewards in my learning. It’s what pushes me along the journey. #lrnchat
9:07 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth respectfully disagree, learning isn’t a thing, it’s pervasive, it doesn’t have a start or a finish it shapes us #lrnchat
9:07 PM duchampian A4) I went to Spain for a month thinking I’d learn Spanish though emersion. I learned “mas cervesa, por favor”. It worked! #lrnchat
9:07 PM JD_Dillon A4) As long as rules aren’t broken and no long-term problems, get to the desired outcome #lrnchat
9:07 PM kelly_smith01 Probably some Excel pivot table fiasco. The horror, the horror #lrnchat
9:08 PM SimonBlairTrain @DerekTac Agreed! #lrnchat
9:08 PM perrinia Q4 #lrnchat has exposed all of us as a bunch of cheaty-cheaters
9:08 PM JeremyDBond A4) Felt shame. Didn’t put my all into learning to tie a tie. I still keep them tied, but at least I’m now the one who ties them. #lrnchat
9:08 PM tomspiglanin This week activity includes “Spacecraft Systems Design” and “Space Parts, Materials, and Processes” @JD_Dillon @TriciaRansom @urbie #lrnchat
9:09 PM TriciaRansom a4) Is it cheating or being smart to take shortcuts? I have no shame in figuring out the easy way. #lrnchat
9:09 PM SimonBlairTrain @kelly_smith01 I think I have a mental block when it comes to pivot tables. They’re evil! #lrnchat
9:09 PM JD_Dillon A4) What they call cheating in school we call collaboration in the workplace #lrnchat
9:09 PM TriciaRansom I HATE ’em RT @SimonBlairTrain @kelly_smith01 I think I have a mental block when it comes to pivot tables. They’re evil! #lrnchat
9:09 PM 4KM A4 Short cuts can be everything from unethical to needed baby steps in learning #lrnchat
9:09 PM reward75 A4) If a shortcut exists, I’ll find it. #efficientlearner #lazylearner #lrnchat
9:09 PM lrnchat Q5. Time you were highly motivated to learn something new?Emotions? Attitudes about it? #lrnchat
9:09 PM TriciaRansom Tweet-o-the-night RT @JD_Dillon A4) What they call cheating in school we call collaboration in the workplace #lrnchat
9:09 PM TriciaRansom Tweet-o-the-night RT @JD_Dillon A4) What they call cheating in school we call collaboration in the workplace #lrnchat
9:09 PM Tracy_Parish I just learned this. #lrnchat https://t.co/GyD4L48Bqd
9:09 PM TriciaRansom RT @lrnchat Q5. Time you were highly motivated to learn something new?Emotions? Attitudes about it? #lrnchat
9:10 PM kelly_smith01 RT @TriciaRansom: a4) Is it cheating or being smart to take shortcuts? I have no shame in figuring out the easy way. #lrnchat
9:10 PM kelly_smith01 RT @JD_Dillon: A4) What they call cheating in school we call collaboration in the workplace #lrnchat
9:10 PM SimonBlairTrain @TriciaRansom I guess it depends on whether you can still cope if the shortcut goes away. #lrnchat
9:10 PM DrJessupS A4) As a boss there is always the option of assigning it to someone on the team if I don’t want to learn it. #lrnchat
9:10 PM JD_Dillon Sometimes it’s just … 😜 #lrnchat https://t.co/lj9mH9QDaJ
9:10 PM TriciaRansom a5) was motivated to learn evernote. Never figured it out. learned that what some love, others detest. Still learned something #lrnchat
9:10 PM cthomasknight RT @lrnchat: Q5. Time you were highly motivated to learn something new?Emotions? Attitudes about it? #lrnchat
9:10 PM Tracy_Parish I KNEW IT!!!!!!! #lrnchat https://t.co/Xmif6Ipwit
9:10 PM ryantracey A5) When I was excited by it. Latest example: Google Cardboard. #lrnchat
9:10 PM SimonBlairTrain @JD_Dillon Also, life is an open-book test. #lrnchat
9:10 PM reward75 RT @JD_Dillon A4) What they call cheating in school we call collaboration in the workplace #lrnchat
9:11 PM 4KM Got my 1st horse and “self-boarded” her, so had to learn about dozens of things at once. Exciting & rewarding #lrnchat
9:11 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth actually no I don’t think it does. What about other animals? Why? Let’s agree we see things differently from here? #lrnchat
9:11 PM JD_Dillon A5) New role, new sport, new piano, new gadget #lrnchat https://t.co/SzSAZXIMiw
9:12 PM CynnamonStelly A5) First time trying a create a small animation! I created about 5 seconds (of complete JOY)! #lrnchat
9:12 PM perrinia @JaneBozarth #lrnchat youhave a level of hell but prolly above this one: https://t.co/U50IDJGodV 😛
9:12 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A5) Society & Masculinity subject @ uni. Gender Studies changed my world forever. New perspectives; ravenous learning! #lrnchat
9:12 PM The_NthDegree A5 Yeah necessity tends to be a huge driver, but I like it when I’m in science mode and it’s why? why? why? why? #lrnchat
9:12 PM JD_Dillon A5) Get a new gadget and be like … #lrnchat https://t.co/NseEt7GTVY
9:12 PM SimonBlairTrain @Tracy_Parish Please let there be video! #lrnchat
9:13 PM kelly_smith01 Some time short cuts are merely eliminating the formalities or “let’s introduce ourselves” from the learning agenda #lrnchat
9:13 PM ryantracey A5) I find the feeling that I “should” know something motivating to learn it – eg a learning theory or edtech. #lrnchat
9:13 PM JD_Dillon @kregerck Oh the whole “get it wrong get punished closed book” system has something wrong 😫 #lrnchat
9:13 PM JeremyDBond A5) Was motivated to learn Twitter when I was motivated to help start a blog when I was motivated to form a partnership. It builds. #lrnchat
9:13 PM MrKMaston RT @JD_Dillon: A5) Get a new gadget and be like … #lrnchat https://t.co/NseEt7GTVY
9:13 PM reward75 A5) I’m really excited to learn more about tech savviness. Frustrated I can’t spend as much as I’d like on researching it #lrnchat
9:13 PM perrinia @JD_Dillon do you have these on autolibrary or soemthing? #lrnchat
9:13 PM Tracy_Parish RT @lrnchat: Q5. Time you were highly motivated to learn something new?Emotions? Attitudes about it? #lrnchat
9:13 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth You’re missing my point totally Jane, this issue, like the goat, it’s not b&w #scapegoat? #lrnchat all good let’s move on
9:14 PM MrKMaston @JD_Dillon I need this gif whenever someone asks me how I feel once the kids are asleep #lrnchat
9:14 PM kregerck A5)When I discovered the power of interactive learning vs lecture. As an accidental trainer…liberating! #lrnchat https://t.co/szs0GcYTtF
9:14 PM ryantracey @JD_Dillon You’re the gifmeister 🙂 #lrnchat
9:14 PM lopta @lrnchat A5) All the time, pretty much. Perhaps that’s a sign I’m working in a field that interests me. #lrnchat
9:14 PM duchampian A5) like most adult learners, when I needed to get something done; a project’s success depended on skill mastery or the research #lrnchat
9:14 PM Tracy_Parish When I’m really motivated to learn something new I will spend hours researching, trying, mastering. Time slips away #lrnchat
9:14 PM lrnchat Q6. Can you spot trends in your own learning over time? What patterns do you see in your active & lazy learning? #lrnchat
9:14 PM JD_Dillon @perrinia mobile Twitter now has a GIF feed for easy access #lrnchat
9:14 PM The_NthDegree @tracy_parish @janebozarth good diffusing Tracy! – still can’t believe my ‘kid’ding joke when missing let alone the timeframe! #lrnchat
9:15 PM reward75 @Tracy_Parish Me too! #lrnchat
9:15 PM kelly_smith01 @Tracy_Parish I can not make my penguins do anything let alone get on a treadmill. Just “feed me” they say. #lrnchat
9:15 PM Tracy_Parish I’m working on a reflective learning journal and realize I’m very lazy when it comes to journaling. #lrnchat
9:15 PM DrJessupS A6) Is it lazy if you learn just enough to be dangerous versus becoming an expert? #lrnchat
9:15 PM ryantracey A6) I’ve become more discerning about what to *not* bother learning… at least, not yet. #lrnchat
9:15 PM JD_Dillon A6) Purposeful learning tends to decline based on busyness in work/life – must pay attention + make time #lrnchat https://t.co/3Dk2l3fCSf
9:16 PM perrinia what she said. #lrnchat #shortcutting https://t.co/pTYEpc72Wf
9:16 PM The_NthDegree A6 I don’t prescribe to ‘lazy learning’ – If your attitude is right you can learn whenever, that’s not lazy… #lrnchat
9:16 PM kregerck RT @The_NthDegree: A5 Yeah necessity tends to be a huge driver, but I like it when I’m in science mode and it’s why? why? why? why? #lrnchat
9:16 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q6. Can you spot trends in your own learning over time? What patterns do you see in your active & lazy learning? #lrnchat
9:16 PM CynnamonStelly A6) Although I’m always eager, there are times where I tend to become a little fickle. #lrnchat
9:16 PM SimonBlairTrain @kelly_smith01 @Tracy_Parish Sounds like my kids… and my children. #lrnchat
9:16 PM MrKMaston @lrnchat A6) Trends? : Whenever I take time out to eat well, exercise and rest. And watch the sun rise. Power of rejuvenation #lrnchat
9:17 PM JD_Dillon A6) Sometimes after work you just feel like … #lrnchat https://t.co/MGxgGFNyP7
9:17 PM reward75 RT @JD_Dillon A6) Purposeful learning tends to decline based on busyness in work/life – must pay attention + make time #lrnchat
9:17 PM The_NthDegree @janebozarth Cool. Then we just disagree and that’s fine too… #lrnchat
9:17 PM Tracy_Parish RT @lrnchat: Q6. Can you spot trends in your own learning over time? What patterns do you see in your active & lazy learning? #lrnchat
9:17 PM TriciaRansom ok….wandered away to get some wine. What am I supposed to be talking about now???? #lrnchat
9:18 PM MelissaSmithTTC A6 I am activated when I discover a richness to the topic/skill set I didn’t know was there. Pure joy! #lrnchat https://t.co/1dyeYgDSMD
9:18 PM duchampian A6. Biggest trend. It doesn’t ever stop. #humble #grateful #change #lrnchat
9:18 PM TriciaRansom Happily I have wine. #lrnchat
9:18 PM TriciaRansom Bartender is Jorge, and had to walk thru THREE rooms!! RT @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom how persistent you were in finding the wine #lrnchat
9:18 PM tomspiglanin RT @lrnchat: Q6. Can you spot trends in your own learning over time? What patterns do you see in your active & lazy learning? #lrnchat
9:18 PM JD_Dillon A6) Often add a level of process to ensure continued targeted learning – along with all that accidental learning throughout the day #lrnchat
9:18 PM MrKMaston @TriciaRansom How has wine contributed to your attitude towards learning something you’re not interest in? #lrnchat
9:19 PM SimonBlairTrain A6: I tend to focus on spotting patterns and understanding how things work. Less so fact memorization (except apparently trivia) #lrnchat
9:19 PM ryantracey RT @SimonBlairTrain: A6: I tend to focus on spotting patterns and understanding how things work. Less so fact memorization (except apparent…
9:19 PM Tracy_Parish The laziness always factors in if I am rushed, when I’m not interested (it’s for one task), or don’t suspect I’ll need it again,. #lrnchat
9:19 PM tomspiglanin Sorry for the late arrival #lrnchat – Trend over time, less reactive more “Learning is already happening”
9:19 PM TriciaRansom DUH! RT @MrKMaston @TriciaRansom How has wine contributed to your attitude towards learning something you’re not interest in? #lrnchat
9:19 PM JeremyDBond @lrnchat A6) Both come in fits & starts. I’ve learned more about when I’m an active v. lazy learner: if it leads to something more. #lrnchat
9:19 PM revbarbee RT @MrKMaston: @TriciaRansom How has wine contributed to your attitude towards learning something you’re not interest in? #lrnchat
9:19 PM kregerck I over-research some things. Just the librarian in me 🙂 #lrnchat https://t.co/plckpOHqXx
9:20 PM MelissaSmithTTC Not lazy…I’d say efficient. If you don’t need to be expert, that is! @DrJessupS #lrnchat https://t.co/UK8y2nCSbX
9:20 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom Did you also get a “Junior Mad Scientist Home Doomsday Device Kit” for Christmas? #lrnchat
9:20 PM kelly_smith01 Q6) I loose patience with learning stuff I used to include in my lessons – objectives, quizzes, structure #lrnchat
9:20 PM kregerck RT @Tracy_Parish: The laziness always factors in if I am rushed, when I’m not interested (it’s for one task), or don’t suspect I’ll need it…
9:20 PM ryantracey A6) I’ve learned that putting in effort is usually worth it. #lrnchat
9:20 PM lrnchat Q7) What did you learn tonight? #lrnchat
9:21 PM reward75 @JaneBozarth @TriciaRansom @MrKMaston When someple need to learn something new they have plenty of whine #lrnchat
9:21 PM Tracy_Parish Laptop is giving me the critical battery low warning. Night everyone. Thanks for another #lrnchat
9:21 PM SimonBlairTrain @Tracy_Parish I just had to plug mine in. #lrnchat
9:21 PM TriciaRansom What wait….it’s not over! IT AINT OVER TILL I SAY IT’S OVER!!! #lrnchat
9:21 PM benbobowski Ben from Lansing, I will try to catch up #lrnchat
9:21 PM The_NthDegree A7 That we’re still obsessed with the over-quantification of learning & treating it like a thing… I’m out @lrnchat… *sigh #lrnchat
9:21 PM kregerck RT @JD_Dillon: A6) Purposeful learning tends to decline based on busyness in work/life – must pay attention + make time #lrnchat https://t.…
9:21 PM JD_Dillon A7) All questions can be answered in GIF form … 😜 #lrnchat https://t.co/xXc2aSU971
9:22 PM ryantracey A7) I’ve learned that we don’t need to LEARN ALL THE THINGS! #lrnchat
9:22 PM perrinia This #lrnchat has been hilarious. i’m in a much better mood. thanks y’all- watch out for goats. #ducking
9:22 PM DrJessupS A7) lrnchatters aren’t lazy. #lrnchat
9:22 PM DrJessupS A7) lrnchatters aren’t lazy. #lrnchat
9:22 PM TriciaRansom a7) Learned that the US government has a goat training course #lrnchat
9:22 PM benbobowski A6: really trying to discipline myself to learn something new everyday. It really is a discipline someways, while others it’s easy #lrnchat
9:22 PM tomspiglanin Compulsory attendance at a work event for Lauren. Wine is good by #lrnchat is better @JaneBozarth
9:22 PM ryantracey @JaneBozarth Too lazy. #lrnchat
9:22 PM SimonBlairTrain A7: That @The_NthDegree doesn’t like quantification and @JaneBozarth doesn’t like stats. Oh and the government goat thing. #lrnchat
9:22 PM JD_Dillon #lrnchat … Because … https://t.co/roAJxRcMMm
9:23 PM JeremyDBond I’d like to learn why I’m seeing responses to @JaneBozarth‘s tweets but not her tweets themselves. Mobile feed acting a bit weird. #lrnchat
9:23 PM reward75 A7) That I should come back and chat more often #lrnchat
9:23 PM ryantracey A7) I’ve also learned you can never have too many gifs. #lrnchat
9:23 PM kelly_smith01 Learned I share some attitudes and habits with others #lrnchat
9:23 PM perrinia @SimonBlairTrain @The_NthDegree @JaneBozarth I am pretty pleased to have contributed this nugget to the chat tonight. i must say. #lrnchat
9:23 PM kregerck A7) Learned that #lrnchat + moving gifs = fun Thanks @JD_Dillon https://t.co/vIBy9CamAS
9:23 PM SimonBlairTrain @JD_Dillon At first glance, I thought it said “Knowledge is fewer” #lrnchat
9:23 PM perrinia @SimonBlairTrain @JD_Dillon me too! #lrnchat
9:24 PM efto RT @TriciaRansom: a7) Learned that the US government has a goat training course #lrnchat
9:24 PM CynnamonStelly A7) Many of us push through. We know the benefits! #lrnchat
9:24 PM SimonBlairTrain @JeremyDBond @JaneBozarth Maybe she turned on ninja mode? #lrnchat
9:24 PM benbobowski What are some resources for interactive learning? I do wbt, hands-on, kinesthetic, and group discussions. #lrnchat
9:24 PM MelissaSmithTTC A7 I’m appreciating how operationalizing adult learning principles helps a lazy learner be more active… #lrnchat https://t.co/xywT7Lctxv
9:24 PM TriciaRansom I’m still sayin this aint over!!! #lrnchat
9:24 PM kelly_smith01 RT @DrJessupS: A7) lrnchatters aren’t lazy. #lrnchat
9:24 PM lrnchat QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:25 PM ImagineEasy 6 Strategic Lessons for Teaching Reading & Writing https://t.co/T1KZ76uLpg #lrnchat #INeLearn #ICEilchat https://t.co/32i0wvLemR
9:25 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth @The_NthDegree My bad. I’m conflating two separate statements. #lrnchat
9:25 PM ryantracey AWrap) Ryan from Sydney. Sorry to have missed the first half. Something about goats. #lrnchat
9:25 PM kregerck RT @MelissaSmithTTC: A7 I’m appreciating how operationalizing adult learning principles helps a lazy learner be more active… #lrnchat ht…
9:25 PM JeremyDBond A7) I learned lazy learning is a thing beyond me. I learned that I’m more aware of it than I thought. #lrnchat
9:26 PM ryantracey ShamelessPlug) Tell your friends… it’s #VRwolweek next week! https://t.co/0JxDFwFgs3 #lrnchat
9:26 PM JD_Dillon Thanks #lrnchat! JD in Orlando. Hope to cya at #LSCon soon. https://t.co/8xKUK5eqMk + https://t.co/pbUEYUHS6u https://t.co/BzDB77BMgp
9:26 PM lopta @lrnchat A6) I choose to learn more. @coursera helps with that. #lrnchat
9:26 PM SimonBlairTrain AWrap: Simon Blair, goat grandad. I need people to share their fav L&D articles for my latest post https://t.co/qGHr6gVBpN. #lrnchat
9:27 PM kelly_smith01 @JeremyDBond You too? I thought my iPad had blocked her. #lrnchat
9:27 PM kregerck Christine Kreger, librarian, trainer, learner…and hopefully sleeper soon! Good night from Denver! #lrnchat https://t.co/N48K7bTYLs
9:27 PM MelissaSmithTTC @kregerck Sounds like a type-thing to me! Nothing wrong with lots of research 😉 #lrnchat
9:27 PM JD_Dillon Or simply … #lrnchat https://t.co/GEEY1jjZYG
9:27 PM reward75 QWrap) Regina Ward, NYC, Director of L&D but is open to suggestions of new professional opportunities #lrnchat
9:27 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth I am SO looking forward to LSCon. It’s going to be my first (but hopefully not my last) conference! #lrnchat
9:27 PM DrJessupS @lopta @lrnchat I’ve taken lots of coursera courses and love that it’s free to learn so many things. Now I need more time. #lrnchat
9:28 PM TriciaRansom You are now officially the GIFman RT @JD_Dillon Or simply … #lrnchat https://t.co/VGFKcEfW9k
9:28 PM MelissaSmithTTC Me too! #lrnchat https://t.co/1ZlmfP91UI
9:28 PM JeremyDBond Awrap) Jeremy from Connecticut. Work in education, and a parent… and only sometimes a lazy one. #lrnchat
9:28 PM DrJessupS Awrap) Stephanie an e-learning manager. Thanks for another interesting #lrnchat
9:29 PM reward75 @JaneBozarth Pirate Golf?? #lrnchat
9:29 PM perrinia @JaneBozarth dangit! i miss all the fun. #lrnchat.
9:29 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth I was hoping there would be a live chat. I’ve seen people mention them before. #lrnchat
9:30 PM SimonBlairTrain @JaneBozarth @reward75 You had me at “pirate”, you lost me at “golf”. I didn’t think you were that kind of doctor. 🙂 #lrnchat
9:30 PM lrnchat Thanks everyone for joining #lrnchat tonight. See you next week! Look for weekly transcripts at https://t.co/ijNIXq164N