Transcript – June 19: Anxiety and Learning

8:31 PM lrnchat Welcome everyone to #lrnchat! How have you been? Relax #lrnchat is about to start
8:32 PM Quinnovator time again for the 60 min memestream mayhem that is #lrnchat, duck or join. Welcome to returning and new participants!
8:32 PM kregerck Time for #lrnchat!
8:32 PM lodtrain Happy to be back at #lrnchat from IT Global Educational Services
8:32 PM sellio7 @lrnchat good real good. How’s everyone else? #lrnchat
8:32 PM urbie #lrnchat Been great. On holiday today, tomorrow. Didn’t make the window to #edcampsa. #edcampoc Saturday a go!
8:33 PM lrnchat Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? Anxieties? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
8:33 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat – great week, much accomplished, the ed psy in me is eager to get started!
8:33 PM Quinnovator Clark Quinn, L&D revolutionary, consultant/author/speaker up to mischief in Walnut Creek CA #lrnchat
8:34 PM lrnchat Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:34 PM urbie 56 minutes of skoolhouse frivolity, maximum verbosity.. #lrnchat started 4 minutes ago
8:34 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat Sharon from Calgary. Sr. ID in Cubeville – passions – learning, technology, dogs
8:34 PM lodtrain Q0) Passionate about elearning games, tiny videos, and now sharepoint #lrnchat
8:35 PM kregerck Christine Kreger, librarian and learning professional. Working on first Articulate Storyline course. #lrnchat
8:35 PM stipton Excuse the firestorm of tweets. Come on and join #LRNchat
8:35 PM lodtrain Q0) Learned how to create a sharepoint site with doc libraries, views, and gantt charts today as have to present tues (nail biter) #lrnchat
8:35 PM eLearninCyclops Jeff Goldman – eLearning Designer, blogger and help desk for team that does want to call the real help desk #lrnchat
8:35 PM urbie #lrnchat urbie delgado, education engineer, Arizona/Cali the next few days.
8:35 PM sellio7 @lrnchat Hi I’m Steve! Working on my practicum and now that you mention I’m anxious about it! #lrnchat
8:35 PM OhThatRachel I’m Rachel, and I am about to start as a project manager at an awesome e-learning company Monday! Love my dog & live in DC #lrnchat
8:35 PM Quinnovator a0) learned today that getting iterative feedback on a webinar makes it better and better #lrnchat
8:35 PM willconstantine Q0) I learned so much more about #neuroscience today with @davidrock101 #lrnchat
8:36 PM learningdojo Lisa from Indy, welcoming a new learning designer w/o formal ISD experience. Makes me anxious! #lrnchat
8:36 PM willconstantine Hello everyone! #lrnchat
8:36 PM stipton Shannon, Chicago – anxiety? Newly formed consultancy, wondering into waters not accustomed to. #LRNchat
8:37 PM sellio7 Q0) I learned how tough it’s to facilitate a group when they don’t want to be there. Can this be future #lrnchat topic? #lrnchat
8:37 PM OhThatRachel #lrnchat A0) I’ve learned quite a lot about malaria for a client project, and I’ve been thinking about video games that are good “courses”
8:37 PM kregerck A0) Learned how complex branching scenarios can be! #lrnchat
8:37 PM urbie #lrnchat Someone mention anxieties? Only one on my mind’s show me the data: quantitative or qualitative. #bringit
8:37 PM stipton Q0) Continuously learning what my passions are and that’s fun. #LRNchat
8:38 PM lrnchat Q1 When have you been anxious about learning? In your youth – as a grown-up? #lrnchat
8:38 PM stipton @Quinnovator you have many partners in crime! #LRNchat
8:38 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q1 When have you been anxious about learning? In your youth – as a grown-up? #lrnchat
8:38 PM LearnNuggets Q0) I learned they don’t make flip flops like they used to. #lrnchat
8:38 PM LearnNuggets RT @lrnchat Q1 When have you been anxious about learning? In your youth – as a grown-up? #lrnchat
8:39 PM Ruthie_HB Q0) Learned open discussion about processes vs. email discussion helps keeps things transparent (more candid). #lrnchat
8:39 PM RefreshTraining Q0): #lrnchat: I’m Wendy Gates Corbett, still deciding on focus for my summer eBook.
8:39 PM Quinnovator some #lrnchat pre reading, if you care: http://t.co/mnnnibPCpi
8:39 PM eLearninCyclops Q1) When new to a job and need to learn the org and where all the important files are #lrnchat
8:39 PM willconstantine Q1) I was very anxious about learning to drive. I wanted that freedom! #lrnchat
8:39 PM learningdojo #lrnchat A0) I learned that extreme patience is unfortunately necessary when teaching my team of trainers.
8:39 PM LearnNuggets Q1) Learning to ride a bike without training wheels. Always anxious about the next crash. #lrnchat
8:39 PM stipton RT @lrnchat: Q1 When have you been anxious about learning? In your youth – as a grown-up? #lrnchat
8:39 PM urbie #lrnchat A0 Learned this week.. Fixing major probs reveals smaller ones. Don’t freak out. They were there all the time. Drill down.
8:39 PM Ruthie_HB Ruth here. Learning enthusiast from NY. #lrnchat
8:39 PM Quinnovator RT @eLearninCyclops: Q1) When new to a job and need to learn the org and where all the important files are #lrnchat < & the skeletons
8:39 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat Can’t say I’ve been anxious in MY learning. More about how others will react to what I’ve developed for them.
8:40 PM Quinnovator RT @stipton: @Quinnovator you have many partners in crime! #LRNchat < bwaahaha!
8:40 PM eLearninCyclops @Quinnovator Yes & still finding those #lrnchat
8:40 PM heikan2003 Q1) Similar to the article, math was not my gift and it was not until my mid-thirties that I quit being embarrassed about it. #lrnchat
8:40 PM lodtrain Q1) Anxious for prep exams for college and grad school (gmats), now not so anxious as curious about learning new things #lrnchat
8:40 PM OhThatRachel A1) Youth – gosh I was terrible at tests. Adult – I think I’m still terrible at tests. #lrnchat
8:40 PM KCASTD RT @lrnchat: Q1 When have you been anxious about learning? In your youth – as a grown-up? #lrnchat
8:40 PM heikan2003 RT @lrnchat: Q1 When have you been anxious about learning? In your youth – as a grown-up? #lrnchat
8:40 PM Quinnovator a1) was anxious about learning to drive #lrnchat
8:41 PM stipton Q1) When younger wanted to be perfect, didn’t share the learning because was scared others would find mistakes. Huge anxiety there. #LRNchat
8:41 PM LnDDave @lrnchat: Q1 When have you been anxious about learning? In your youth – as a grown-up? #lrnchat”
8:41 PM RefreshTraining Q1) Lifeguarding. Lives were going to be in my hands. No pressure. #lrnchat
8:41 PM LearnNuggets Q1) Anxious about playing sports when that one play rested on me to make the game. #lrnchat
8:41 PM Ruthie_HB Q1) Usually if there’s a subsequent test or proof of application, that adds to my anxiety in learning.#lrnchat
8:41 PM kelly_smith01 Q1) When business processes change as a result of technology or practice change #lrnchat
8:41 PM urbie #lrnchat A1 Learning anxiety? Today actually. Had planned to go to San Aantonio today for #edcampSA tomorrow. Can’t make it, stuff came up.
8:41 PM Quinnovator RT @RefreshTraining: Q1) Lifeguarding. Lives were going to be in my hands. No pressure. #lrnchat < yep, remember that
8:41 PM learningdojo A1) I was anxious about learning as a child….parents wanted me to do what they couldn’t achieve academically. #lrnchat No pressure🙂
8:42 PM heikan2003 Q1) I have been anxious when learning anything athletic in front of others. #lrnchat
8:42 PM lodtrain “@Quinnovator: a1) was anxious about learning to drive #lrnchat” agreed, dad had me drive a stick shift, no lessons, lrg truck behind me
8:42 PM LnDDave A1) have been anxious when the expectations of competency exceeded the potential of the learning resources. #lrnchat
8:42 PM eLearninCyclops Q1) Learning my haftorah – Especially as my Bar Mitzvah got closer and closer #lrnchat
8:42 PM sellio7 Q1) I was anxious as a child about learning to hit a baseball. Something about the unknown and the chance of being hurt? #lrnchat
8:42 PM LearnNuggets Q1) Anxious about how others would see my artwork. Worried how others thought and never said anything. #lrnchat
8:42 PM Quinnovator a1) learning to use power tools, self-taught😮 #lrnchat
8:42 PM OhThatRachel A1) (More) – now I get anxious about best practices for effective learning when creating courses. #lrnchat
8:42 PM urbie #lrnchat A1 As a wee lad in Catholic parochial school, anxiety around asking too many questions of a certain nature.
8:42 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat Actually, as a child, when forced to do group work. Anxious about others not meeting my expectations…bit of perfectionist
8:42 PM kregerck A1) Also totally blanked when taking my comps for my MLIS. #lrnchat
8:42 PM LearnNuggets @sellio7 Right. The unknown that it might hit you in the head! Hated when that happened. #lrnchat
8:42 PM stipton Q1) Most would be surprised but I was very shy, scared to meet people. Hid behind stack of books. Group work always anxious to me. #LRNchat
8:43 PM Ruthie_HB Q1) Anxious about learning to swim and I still don’t know how.😦 #lrnchat
8:43 PM Quinnovator a1) seems clear a lot of it is more about ‘the test’ than it is the learning! Driving, comp exams, called on in class… #lrnchat
8:43 PM sellio7 Q1) As an adult I was anxious learning how to public speak. Still get butterflies but not as much nerves as before. #lrnchat
8:43 PM heikan2003 @Quinnovator Last time I saw you I did not notice any digits missing. #lrnchat
8:44 PM LearnNuggets Q1) Not as anxious as an adult, but rush hour traffic still gets my heart going. #lrnchat
8:44 PM Quinnovator RT @heikan2003: @Quinnovator Last time I saw you I did not notice any digits missing. #lrnchat < fear is a powerful motivator!
8:44 PM LnDDave A1) when trying to learn something someone doubts I can, there’s anxiety around the question “what if they’re right?” #lrnchat
8:45 PM stipton Q1) The “Show Your Work” part of any math equation. #LRNchat
8:45 PM heikan2003 Q1) Learning may not be the anxiety but the performance is. #lrnchat
8:45 PM Quinnovator a1) when I challenge myself making a stretch goal, and realize I’ve promised to deliver #lrnchat
8:45 PM urbie #lrnchat A1 Until last year’s #MOOCs, #edcamps #postdoc tweeps I follow was anxious about being wrong, stress. Everyone is. What? Me worry?
8:46 PM willconstantine Q1) as an adult I am trying to make sure I keep up with all the updates. i also am starting to break out into learning #anxiety #lrnchat
8:46 PM Ruthie_HB RT @heikan2003: Q1) Learning may not be the anxiety but the performance is. #lrnchat // Performance, yes!
8:46 PM LearnNuggets Q1) As a designer, I get anxious about showing the work/build/art to the client for the first time. #lrnchat
8:46 PM learningdojo RT: @heikan2003: Q1) Learning may not be the anxiety but the performance is. #lrnchat So true!
8:47 PM Quinnovator a1) a bit when I’m learning ‘out loud’, unveiling my interim thoughts #fearofbeingstupid #lrnchat
8:47 PM LnDDave A1) when I’m falling behind the curriculum pace. #lrnchat
8:47 PM lrnchat Q2 How does anxiety impact learning? #lrnchat
8:47 PM eLearninCyclops RT @LearnNuggets Q1) As a designer, I get anxious about showing the work/build/art to the client for the first time. #lrnchat | Ditto
8:47 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q2 How does anxiety impact learning? #lrnchat
8:47 PM LearnNuggets RT @lrnchat Q2 How does anxiety impact learning? #lrnchat
8:47 PM sellio7 A1) It can be anxious when you don’t get something that everyone else in the room seems to get right away. #lrnchat
8:47 PM stipton RT @kregerck: @stipton Group work is still hard. When to stand firm, when to let it go < Some how I figured that out. not easy. #LRNchat
8:47 PM lodtrain Q1) Anxious when had to train SAP yrs back, and so many acronyms and could I learn, write and teach this system #lrnchat
8:48 PM Quinnovator a2) well, the Yerkes-Dodson law (http://t.co/yXNcwZXhdp–Dodson_law) suggests that a little helps, too much hinders #lrnchat
8:48 PM willconstantine Q1) I remember in college when I took an effective speaking class. I had major anxiety! Now I am all over the stage! #lrnchat
8:48 PM stipton RT @eLearninCyclops: RT @lrnchat Q2 How does anxiety impact learning? #lrnchat
8:48 PM LearnNuggets A2) If you’ve ever taken a proctored test, that’s anxiety. #lrnchat
8:48 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat – depends if pos. or neg. anxiety. Positive can motivate; negative can debilitate
8:48 PM RefreshTraining Q2) Brain freeze, stage fright. #lrnchat
8:48 PM stipton Q2) I think we forget end users feel anxiety, especially adults – they don’t want to look “stupid” in front of peers. #LRNchat
8:48 PM Quinnovator a2) the problem is that the point at which helps turns to hinder is individual! #adaptivelearning #seriousgames #lrnchat
8:49 PM KCASTD RT @lrnchat: Q2 How does anxiety impact learning? #lrnchat
8:49 PM lodtrain Q2) Anxiety impacts = immobilized until can attack & chunk out what u can learn (small bits) then you can move forward #lrnchat
8:49 PM sellio7 @LnDDave Wow great minds think alike! I just tweeted something similar. Except yours is worded better. #lrnchat
8:49 PM willconstantine Q2) Anxiety with learning can be settled with confidence. Anxiety with performance can be good. #lrnchat
8:49 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 Depends. Where is anxiety coming from? E-Ticket rides brought on anxiety. My qualification dives too.
8:49 PM LearnNuggets A2) The atmosphere/environment may cause anxiety in learners/participants impact on learning. #lrnchat
8:49 PM kregerck A2) Anxiety can halt learning. Fear can be a great demotivator. #lrnchat
8:49 PM OhThatRachel A2) If you don’t feel confident in yourself, may fail to see the whole picture when learning or focus on the wrong topic. #lrnchat
8:49 PM stipton Q2) Therefore anxiety becomes a barrier, you are so worried about “whatever” you miss the learning points. #LRNchat
8:49 PM LnDDave A2) it depends. Sometimes the anxiety is a distraction, in other contexts it can help me focus. #lrnchat
8:49 PM learningdojo A2) When anxious, I feel like my brain slows to a crawl, and I churn in questioning myself. Forget about effective learning! #lrnchat
8:49 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat can lead to fear of failure, procrastination…safer to be inert than to try
8:49 PM heikan2003 Q2) Anxiety could impact retention when learning or practicing. #lrnchat
8:50 PM LearnNuggets RT @LnDDave A2) it depends. Sometimes the anxiety is a distraction, in other contexts it can help me focus. #lrnchat
8:50 PM willconstantine @SLDoyle67 the amygdala responds with those pos or neg emotions which usually the neg are stronger #lrnchat
8:50 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 Market a learning event correctly, build anticipation, word-of-mouth and they’ll be lined up around the corner. #tlap
8:50 PM sellio7 A2) Designers tend to forget how “uncomfortable” learning can be. I still see role plays in training and it drives me nuts. #lrnchat
8:50 PM stipton .@LearnNuggets Agree, there may be physical conditions that are triggered from environment. #LRNchat
8:50 PM Ruthie_HB Q2) Anxiety can give learner preconceived notions. Hard to shake off. #lrnchat
8:51 PM OhThatRachel @stipton Fear of being “stupid” is a good one – you may not ask the questions you need to or becoming as engrossed. #lrnchat (A2)
8:51 PM LearnNuggets A2) How the material/content whether workshop or online can cause anxiety. Can you say, “Click-n-read.” #lrnchat
8:51 PM eLearninCyclops RT @Ruthie_HB Q2) Anxiety can give learner preconceived notions. Hard to shake off. #lrnchat
8:51 PM willconstantine Q2) Pos anxiety can cause focus but neg anxiety can hinder the learning and lack of focus #lrnchat
8:51 PM SLDoyle67 @willconstantine Yes – amygdala will overrule the logical, prefrontal cortex every time #lrnchat
8:51 PM LearnNuggets RT @SLDoyle67 @willconstantine Yes – amygdala will overrule the logical, prefrontal cortex every time #lrnchat < Yep!
8:52 PM kmarranzino @kmarranzino: Jumping into #lrnchat late. Ken Marranzino, Learning Manager – Design for financial services co.
8:52 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 Seen new Godzilla? Takeaway from movie was balance. Negative anxiety breeds stress. Blood vessels constrain.. Learning = #owie
8:52 PM sellio7 A2) Facilitators can do a lot to “dial down” the anxiety that learners feel. It goes a long way to making the learning stickier. #lrnchat
8:52 PM stipton Q2) Need to know it’s okay to fail in session, classroom or elearning. Perfection is never accomplished, so take away expectation. #LRNchat
8:52 PM learningdojo A2) I have to differentiate between pressure and anxiety. In learning, pressure revs me up, but anxiety shuts me down. #lrnchat
8:52 PM Quinnovator a2) emotion research says stress makes you go deeper, openness makes you go broader #lrnchat
8:52 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat – if left untreated, anx can lead to panic in learning situations. Emotions override logic – esp. in children.
8:52 PM Ruthie_HB MT @learningdojo: A2) When anxious, I feel like my brain slows to a crawl, and I churn in questioning myself. #lrnchat / <- Doubt!
8:53 PM stipton @OhThatRachel So true, that’s why you have to involve everyone, letting them know “this” is a safe environment. #LRNchat
8:53 PM LearnNuggets RT @learningdojo A2) I have to differentiate between pressure and anxiety. In learning, pressure revs me up, anxiety shuts me down. #lrnchat
8:53 PM eLearninCyclops Q2) Anxious – I over prepare and practice way too much, especially with presentations #lrnchat
8:53 PM kregerck A2) In some cases anxiety makes people resist learning something new, like technology. #lrnchat
8:53 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat Adult learners – you can talk about the anxiety they are feeling. They can usually pinpoint it in a way children can’t.
8:53 PM Quinnovator a2) anxiety makes it easy to worry about consequences, not focus on the learning #lrnchat
8:54 PM eLearninCyclops RT @Quinnovator a2) anxiety makes it easy to worry about consequences, not focus on the learning #lrnchat
8:54 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 We should seek a little anxiety. How does same-ol-same-ol anything help us grow, develop? It’s why I stopped going to confs
8:54 PM heikan2003 RT @Quinnovator: a2) emotion research says stress makes you go deeper, openness makes you go broader #lrnchat makes me want to bolt in trng
8:54 PM lrnchat Q3 ) Is there anything that counters the impact of anxiety on learning? #lrnchat
8:54 PM OhThatRachel @Quinnovator I like the sound of this research. Do you have reading material suggestions? #lrnchat
8:54 PM stipton @SLDoyle67 and a lot of adults, see any panic situation. #LRNchat
8:54 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q3 ) Is there anything that counters the impact of anxiety on learning? #lrnchat
8:54 PM Quinnovator @LearnNuggets @learningdojo reckon some pressure will rev you up, too much will interfere #lrnchat
8:54 PM stipton RT @lrnchat: Q3 ) Is there anything that counters the impact of anxiety on learning? #lrnchat
8:54 PM eLearninCyclops Q3) Power poses🙂 #lrnchat
8:54 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 Success banishes anxiety.
8:54 PM heikan2003 @sellio7 that is awful. I promise I do not do that.#lrnchat
8:54 PM kregerck Yes! <RT @eLearninCyclops Q2) Anxious – I over prepare and practice way too much, especially with presentations #lrnchat
8:55 PM eLearninCyclops RT @urbie #lrnchat A3 Success banishes anxiety.
8:55 PM sellio7 A2) One of the best facilitators that I witnessed at dialing down the anxiety was @nataliecurrie at UofToronto! Amazing! #lrnchat
8:55 PM KCASTD RT @lrnchat: Q3 ) Is there anything that counters the impact of anxiety on learning? #lrnchat
8:55 PM stipton Q3) Thorough, complete communication prior to session. Let people know what they are going to be doing. #LRNchat
8:55 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 Learning collaboratively in real-time gives most anxiety the boot. Situational leadership results. Strength in diversity.
8:55 PM Ruthie_HB Q3) Oh yeah! Explicit support from others helps learner reduce anxiety. Cheerleading on the sidelines. #lrnchat
8:55 PM LearnNuggets A3) Thumballs #lrnchat
8:55 PM Quinnovator a3) deliberate reduction of anxiety (e.g. meditation), external reduction (making it safe), providing practice ’til confident #lrnchat
8:55 PM SLDoyle67 Q3) Scaffolding, building on previous knowledge, chunking, repetition, creating a safe environment where mistakes are encouraged #lrnchat
8:55 PM heikan2003 Q3) Positive, encouraging instructor and peer learners #lrnchat
8:56 PM stipton Q3) I find a lot of classroom negativityanxiety comes from learners being uniformed or mislead about class expectations. #LRNchat
8:56 PM learningdojo A3) In general, I’m learning that practicing mindfulness can stop anxiety in its tracks….if I remember that in the moment. #lrnchat
8:56 PM LearnNuggets A3) The fear of failure is removed. #lrnchat
8:56 PM Quinnovator @OhThatRachel I got it from Don Norman’s book on Emotional Design #lrnchat
8:56 PM lodtrain Q3) Pre-reads can assist, with good Perf Support added so that learners feel better prior to virtual course #lrnchat
8:56 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 Grounding learning in solid expectations, designing then teaching/learning/assessing to objectives squelches anxious moments
8:57 PM RefreshTraining A3) I think that’s part of our role as instructor, as others said, to create a safe space for learners. Encourage, support. #lrnchat
8:57 PM kregerck A3) Empathy goes a looooong way #lrnchat
8:57 PM willconstantine Q3) hopefully a “safe” learning environment #lrnchat
8:57 PM stipton A3) Can we agree that role playing in front of group is the worst? Put adults in a situation set up for failure. WHY??? #LRNchat
8:57 PM Quinnovator a3) reduce consequences, boost motivation, build confidence #lrnchat
8:57 PM heikan2003 RT @LearnNuggets: A3) The fear of failure is removed. #lrnchat Or may I add encouraged? safe fails can aid learning
8:57 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat – A3) yoga, physical exercise – both children and adult learners. Use the adrenaline for good, then focus on the learning
8:58 PM sellio7 A3) Be through and communicate the “little” details so the learner can properly prepare for the session. #lrnchat
8:58 PM stipton RT @RefreshTraining: A3) That’s part of our role as instructor, to create a safe space for learners. Encourage, support. #lrnchat
8:58 PM kmarranzino A2) Anxiety blocks. In the Maslow hierarchy “survival” comes first. Learners must 1st be comfortable to be open to learning. #lrnchat
8:58 PM Quinnovator @stipton why set up for failure? Provide prep so set up for success, also failure is ok, part of learning #lrnchat
8:58 PM Ruthie_HB Q3) Hmm, maybe addressing anxiety head on will help learning. Take care of elephant in the room. #lrnchat
8:58 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 Designing a learning experience (presentation) using #tlap strategies, PBL assessments, gamification sends anxiety packing.
8:58 PM willconstantine Q3) I think that as long as there is solid support for our learners and they know we will be there to help them #lrnchat
8:58 PM Quinnovator RT @Ruthie_HB: Q3) Hmm, maybe addressing anxiety head on will help learning. Take care of elephant in the room. #lrnchat < yes!
8:58 PM LearnNuggets @heikan2003 Exactly! #lrnchat
8:59 PM RefreshTraining @stipton @lodtrain I, too, find that do hinder uniforms hinder learning. =D #lrnchat.
8:59 PM sellio7 A3) I know pre-work is rarely done by adult learners, but there is value in providing some light reading material to the learners #lrnchat
8:59 PM learningdojo It’s an interesting challenge when really anxious learners act out and appear cocky. #lrnchat
8:59 PM lodtrain Q3) An instructor who is humble, saw a presenter once who admitted how he couldnt do something, put all at ease #lrnchat
8:59 PM OhThatRachel A3) Perhaps ironically, having the learner fail. Failing at something is a great way to learn it, and they can feel safe doing it #lrnchat
8:59 PM SLDoyle67 A3) As an adult, a good Long Island Iced Tea…😉 #lrnchat
8:59 PM kregerck A3) Making the information relatable to them. What might motivate them to learn? #lrnchat
8:59 PM Quinnovator @sellio7 think pre-work is great; need to motivate it, so they ‘get’ that it makes sense, make it meaningful #Lrnchat
9:00 PM urbie @stipton #lrnchat Looking stupid in front of peers? How with elearning? No other learners in sight. Anxiety comes from alone-ness.
9:00 PM RefreshTraining @stipton @lodtrain How’s that for karma! Tried to be funny…uniforms…filled with typos. My bad. #lrnchat
9:00 PM Quinnovator @kregerck meaningful in two ways: the problem they’re solving is obviously real, and they care about the problem! #Lrnchat
9:00 PM OhThatRachel Q3) Setting up multiple methods of learning & repetition if possible. #lrnchat
9:01 PM stipton @Quinnovator inherently RPlays (set up in front of room) set for “gotcha” Tell what they did well, tell them how they can improve. #LRNchat
9:02 PM stipton @Quinnovator That creates natural anxiety to be put in front of room let them practice in pairs or triads. #LRNchat
9:02 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat Sometimes anxiety comes from not knowing the technology of eLearning. Getting to a course via LMS is difficult for some.
9:02 PM heikan2003 RT @urbie: @stipton #lrnchat Looking stupid in front of peers? How with elearning? No other learners in sight. Anxiety comes from alone-ness
9:02 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 Begs the question.. Have we asked the learner why they’re anxious? A little empathy, authentic listening works wonders.
9:02 PM Quinnovator @stipton internalize the monitoring of performance, become self-improving #lrnchat
9:03 PM sellio7 A3) Failure is a part of learning, but you want learners to feel safe to fail. Give them a safety net to try new things #lrnchat
9:03 PM stipton @urbie true, or an insecurity about program – they don’t know how to work computer, and have to ask. “There’s goes the old guy…” #LRNchat
9:03 PM lodtrain Q3) Backchannel helps reduce anxiety so you can shout out to others and ask/answer questions #lrnchat
9:03 PM kmarranzino A3) Icebreaker activities, light personal sharing, setting clear ground rules can all reduce anxiety. #lrnchat
9:03 PM lrnchat Q4 ) Is there a time when learning does not include some degree of anxiety? #lrnchat
9:03 PM OhThatRachel @lodtrain Love that. It’s hard to remember that everyone starts as a noob. #lrnchat
9:04 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q4 ) Is there a time when learning does not include some degree of anxiety? #lrnchat
9:04 PM LearnNuggets RT @lrnchat Q4 ) Is there a time when learning does not include some degree of anxiety? #lrnchat
9:04 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 Support groups, solid info from peers, authentic stories mitigate anxiety. I dropped phd program not known anxiety came with it.
9:04 PM willconstantine @heikan2003 @urbie @stipton Could be the score they receive on a quiz that they know their manager will see #lrnchat
9:04 PM eLearninCyclops Q4) Learning for the sake of learning – no obligation except to yourself #lrnchat
9:04 PM LearnNuggets A4) Learning to play a new board game #lrnchat
9:04 PM heikan2003 MT @urbie: #lrnchat Have we asked the learner why they’re anxious? A little empathy, authentic listening works wonders.; or share w/peers
9:04 PM OhThatRachel Q4) Good question. I think a little bit of anxiety is appropriate. It serves as a motivator. Too much anxiety is detrimental. #lrnchat
9:05 PM lodtrain Q4) Learning with no anxiety might be the annual retraining of a topic, or if you are super knowledgeable on topic #lrnchat
9:05 PM Quinnovator a4) when learning is ‘safe’, the consequences are low, and the rewards outweigh the consequences #lrnchat
9:05 PM LearnNuggets A4) When it’s self-inflicted learning. Like making your first cheesecake. Who cares if its a flop. #lrnchat
9:05 PM willconstantine Q4) I think learning has some degree of anxiety but sometimes we can’t identify it. #lrnchat
9:05 PM stipton RT @lrnchat: Q4 ) Is there a time when learning does not include some degree of anxiety? #lrnchat
9:05 PM urbie @willconstantine @heikan2003 @stipton #lrnchat Why assess with quiz? Show me you learned. Decades of stress anxiety says try something else
9:06 PM Quinnovator a4) when *no* one is watching and the consequences are low #lrnchat
9:06 PM sellio7 @willconstantine @heikan2003 Adds to the anxiety esp. if boss or leader is in the audience watching. #lrnchat
9:06 PM heikan2003 RT @LearnNuggets: A4) Learning to play a new board game #lrnchat Love that. Or playing alone with no score, no report @willconstantine
9:06 PM kregerck A4) Always some…maybe not anxiety per se, but tension when you learn something new. #lrnchat
9:06 PM Quinnovator @stipton think this is a longer convo, but one I’m keen to have. Ideas? #lrnchat
9:06 PM Ruthie_HB Q4) Exploration. Open to learning, insights. Less fear. #lrnchat
9:06 PM SLDoyle67 Q4) Is anxiety about me & the learning, or about how others perceive me while I’m learning…#lrnchat
9:06 PM learningdojo A4) When I’m enhancing my learning about something I love, there’s no stress, and even not getting it right the first time is ok. #lrnchat
9:06 PM lodtrain Q4) Learning a game app no anxiety just fun stress #lrnchat
9:07 PM LearnNuggets RT @lodtrain Q4) Learning a game app no anxiety just fun stress #lrnchat
9:07 PM stipton RT @LearnNuggets: A4) When it’s self-inflicted learning. Like making your first cheesecake. Who cares if its a flop. #lrnchat
9:07 PM eLearninCyclops Q4) When you are learning with others who are in the same boat #lrnchat
9:07 PM heikan2003 @LearnNuggets Now you have gone too far. You can’t mess up the cheesecake.#lrnchat
9:07 PM urbie #lrnchat A4 Learners have gaps. They wouldn’t need to be trained otherwise. Learners being a little anxious is a good thing. Motivates.
9:07 PM sellio7 A4) When the learner feels safe, or in control of the situation. I’m learning at @Toastmasters but don’t feel anxious about it. #lrnchat
9:07 PM Quinnovator a4) when it’s ‘hard fun’ #lrnchat
9:07 PM rfs426 Glad to join late. A4) showing up late to always produces some beneficial anxiety. #lrnchat
9:08 PM Ruthie_HB Q4) When there’s no judgment. Learning = Intrinsic reward. #lrnchat
9:08 PM urbie #lrnchat A4 Are know-it-alls the least bit anxious?
9:08 PM LearnNuggets A4) I love learning so I enter with expectation of failure through trial & error. After learning and fail to maintain is anxious. #lrnchat
9:08 PM heikan2003 Q4) There is no stress when you allow yourself to just learn, not judge or compare. Just do it. #lrnchat
9:08 PM kregerck @rfs426 But you learned it is ok to be late to #lrnchat🙂
9:08 PM kelly_smith01 Q4) When it is not a classroom and the learner can see the application of the learnin’ stuff #lrnchat
9:09 PM Quinnovator a4) when you’re *expected* to screw up #lrnchat
9:09 PM sellio7 a4) when it doesn’t feel like learning. This is either due to the design or facilitation. As the cliché goes, learning can be fun! #lrnchat
9:09 PM rfs426 A4) Anxiety is sometimes given a bad rap. It can be a driver. #lrnchat
9:09 PM stipton @Quinnovator #rolePlayChat I’m open to discuss! #LRNchat
9:09 PM Social_LMS Here is the link for the recorded demo of social #LMS TOPYX http://t.co/CKQ0I8ke6Z #hr #astd #lrnchat
9:09 PM theASIDEblog Educators sometimes feel anxiety in learning technology. In reality kids are willing to help them make it. Use the kids. #lrnchat
9:09 PM kregerck Yes! RT @kmarranzinoA4) I don’t think so; it’s human nature. Learning = Change (in thinking and behavior) and change causes anxiety #lrnchat
9:10 PM stipton Yes. RT @heikan2003: Q4) There is no stress when you allow yourself to just learn, not judge or compare. Just do it. #lrnchat
9:10 PM rfs426 @theASIDEblog See that everyday. #lrnchat
9:10 PM sellio7 @urbie Sure! They get anxious that they will get found out for not knowing it all.#lrnchat
9:10 PM learningdojo @urbie: #lrnchat A4 Are know-it-alls the least bit anxious? – Could the attitude be covering some anxiety?
9:11 PM Ruthie_HB @LearnNuggets Failure seen as a next step to learning or expected as predecessor to successful knowledge gain. #lrnchat
9:11 PM kelly_smith01 Q4) When a quiz or test-your-knowledge is not lurking around the corner #lrnchat
9:11 PM heikan2003 @learningdojo @urbie Or their own insecurity. A dare them to say I am wrong boldness. #lrnchat
9:11 PM lrnchat Q5 How can you reduce/eliminate anxiety when you learn or start a new task? #lrnchat
9:11 PM stipton RT @Quinnovator: a4) when you’re *expected* to screw up #lrnchat Failure breeds success! (and can be fun too!)
9:11 PM rfs426 A4) As managers we walk the line of creating beneficial anxiety in our staff when it comes to learning. #lrnchat
9:11 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q5 How can you reduce/eliminate anxiety when you learn or start a new task? #lrnchat
9:12 PM sellio7 @eLearninCyclops Yes! The us against them mentality! There are strength in numbers! #lrnchat
9:12 PM stipton Totally agree here! RT @kelly_smith01: Q4) When a quiz or test-your-knowledge is not lurking around the corner #lrnchat
9:12 PM rfs426 RT @lrnchat Q5 How can you reduce/eliminate anxiety when you learn or start a new task? #lrnchat
9:12 PM KCASTD RT @lrnchat: Q5 How can you reduce/eliminate anxiety when you learn or start a new task? #lrnchat
9:12 PM Quinnovator a5) expect to fail, be committed to learn from it, and be ok with that #lrnchat
9:12 PM eLearninCyclops Q5) Learn alongside other newbies #lrnchat
9:12 PM sellio7 @kelly_smith01 A4) or your boss or leader isn’t in the room watching you fail at the “new” stuff you are learning! #lrnchat
9:13 PM lodtrain Q5) Reduce anxiety by connecting with others – experts, coach other who know this app/process, ask ask ask, then u have lrning tips #lrnchat
9:13 PM learningdojo A5) I can reduce anxiety when learning something new by finding ways to practice. #lrnchat
9:13 PM heikan2003 Q5) Deep breath. Do your homework, Positive attitude. No judging. Enjoy it. . .with wine if needed. #lrnchat
9:13 PM eLearninCyclops Q5) Repeat your Stuart Smalley affirmations #lrnchat
9:13 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat – A5) I look at the end goal, and then chunk into manageable units. Learn step by step to reach the goal
9:13 PM Quinnovator a5) arrange good coaching #lrnchat
9:13 PM urbie #lrnchat A5 Performance support.. Checklists maybe. A well-worn copy of Show Your Work on their desks. Viewing task on youtube first.
9:13 PM rfs426 A5) Don’t be afraid to show vulnerability. It levels the anxiety playing field. #lrnchat
9:13 PM stipton RT @lrnchat: Q5 How can you reduce/eliminate anxiety when you learn or start a new task? #lrnchat
9:13 PM kregerck A5) For myself, research. Look for examples before jumping in. #lrnchat
9:13 PM kmarranzino A5) Expect it. Embrace it. Use the anxiety to drive you to learn it quickly and learn it well. #lrnchat
9:13 PM Ruthie_HB Q5) think setting expectations help. Learning in phases or achieve mini-goals.#lrnchat
9:13 PM TrainerBrew @lrnchat understand and be clear of expectations and scope #lrnchat
9:14 PM willconstantine Q5) if you can connect what you are learning to what you already know, then that should ease the anxiety a little bit. #lrnchat
9:14 PM SLDoyle67 A5) …and accept i will make mistakes. Can always ask, “What did I learn from that?” and move on #lrnchat
9:14 PM sellio7 A5) wear your steel toed shoes so when you stub your toe you can move on without hobbling! #lrnchat
9:14 PM OhThatRachel Q3) @stipton already mentioned about making it a “safe” place to learn. #lrnchat having a good trainer/teacher is very helpful.
9:14 PM rfs426 A5) Teamwork makes the dream work. #lrnchat
9:14 PM heikan2003 MT @lodtrain: Q5) Reduce anxiety by connecting – experts, coach other who know this app/process, ask, then u have lrning tips #lrnchat YES
9:14 PM theASIDEblog Practice what we preach; it’s okay to fail and learn from mistakes. #lrnchat
9:14 PM rfs426 RT @theASIDEblog Practice what we preach; it’s okay to fail and learn from mistakes. #lrnchat
9:15 PM learningdojo @Quinnovator: a5) expect to fail, be committed to learn from it, and be ok with that #lrnchat – This can require some courage.
9:15 PM stipton Q5) I’m do a bit of pre-work. When was in @visualrinse session for m-learning I did some research prior to feel a bit more comfort. #LRNchat
9:15 PM OhThatRachel A5) Really tapping into “how” I learn depending on the topic. I love videos, mindmaps, pratical applications. #lrnchat
9:15 PM kregerck A5) For others =, create a safe place to learn, experiment, and fail..where all are learning together including the instructor. #lrnchat
9:15 PM Ruthie_HB RT @eLearninCyclops: Q5) Learn alongside other newbies #lrnchat // and discuss, discuss, discuss.
9:15 PM theASIDEblog Risk taking is learning to jump in without worrying about outcome. #lrnchat
9:15 PM kmarranzino Prepare! I like it!

“@kregerck: A5) For myself, research. Look for examples before jumping in. #lrnchat”

9:15 PM eLearninCyclops RT @Ruthie_HB RT @eLearninCyclops: Q5) Learn alongside other newbies #lrnchat // and discuss, discuss, discuss. | Yes
9:15 PM urbie #lrnchat A5 Have learner walk course first. First time General Quarters was sounded on the ship went as well as it did because I walked it.
9:16 PM eLearninCyclops RT @kmarranzino Prepare! I like it!
“@kregerck: A5) For myself, research. Look for examples before jumping in. #lrnchat”
9:16 PM sellio7 a5) don’t suppress the anxiety, embrace it and keep it in check to stay focused. #lrnchat
9:16 PM RefreshTraining A5) treat myself like I treat my learners: create my own safe space to learn, encourage, support myself. #lrnchat
9:16 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lodtrain RT @theASIDEblog: Risk taking is learning to jump in without worrying about outcome. #lrnchat
9:16 PM stipton Q5) As the instructor make the people comfortable, know your audience. They appreciate and feel at ease. #LRNchat
9:16 PM eLearninCyclops RT @stipton Q5) As the instructor make the people comfortable, know your audience. They appreciate and feel at ease. #LRNchat
9:16 PM Quinnovator a5) be ok with failing, period. Whether in front of others, or alone, know that it’s part of the process. #lrnchat
9:16 PM heikan2003 @stipton I feel like I do pre-work when I prep my #sketchnotes for a session. I get my head in the game. #lrnchat
9:16 PM eLearninCyclops RT @Quinnovator a5) be ok with failing, period. Whether in front of others, or alone, know that it’s part of the process. #lrnchat
9:17 PM LearnNuggets A5) Be prepared. Yoga, shot of whiskey, read up, or whatever it takes to get in the zone. #lrnchat
9:17 PM rfs426 RT @LearnNuggets A5) Be prepared. Yoga, shot of whiskey, read up, or whatever it takes to get in the zone. #lrnchat
9:17 PM eLearninCyclops RT @LearnNuggets A5) Be prepared. Yoga, shot of whiskey, read up, or whatever it takes to get in the zone. #lrnchat
9:18 PM KCASTD RT @LearnNuggets: A5) Be prepared. Yoga, shot of whiskey, read up, or whatever it takes to get in the zone. #lrnchat cheesecake
9:18 PM heikan2003 RT @LearnNuggets: A5) Be prepared. Yoga, shot of whiskey, read up, or whatever it takes to get in the zone. #lrnchat cheesecake
9:18 PM rfs426 A5) Join an org where it is ok to say I Don’t Know: http://t.co/iJYgIkA6eC #lrnchat
9:18 PM stipton .@heikan2003 Good I’m not the only geeky on doing pre-work or research for a session where it;s not required. #LRNchat
9:18 PM SLDoyle67 A5) To borrow from Nike, “Just Do It” You may surprise yourself #lrnchat
9:18 PM Ruthie_HB @kregerck @rfs426 Vulnerability can be powerful! helps with ones metacognition. #lrnchat
9:18 PM kmarranzino I choose “B.”
“@LearnNuggets: A5) Be prepared. Yoga, shot of whiskey, read up, or whatever it takes to get in the zone. #lrnchat”
9:19 PM Quinnovator a5) click your heels 3 times and repeat: “it’s OK to lose if you don’t lose the lesson” #Lrnchat
9:19 PM heikan2003 @stipton must be that fear of failure when we are learning? I think not. Just engaged, enthusiastic learners. #lrnchat
9:19 PM stipton RT @LearnNuggets A5) Be prepared. Yoga, shot of whiskey, read up, or whatever it takes to get in the zone. #lrnchat < Whiskey Yoga! I’m in.
9:19 PM LearnNuggets @kmarranzino Option B is always a good place to start! #lrnchat
9:19 PM rfs426 @Ruthie_HB @kregerck When I feel comfortable I seek out anxiety and vulnerability. Can’t take the easy road. #lrnchat
9:20 PM LearnNuggets @stipton Whiskey Yoga! Now that’s something new to learn. I bet there’s no anxiety either. #lrnchat
9:20 PM rfs426 A5) Take a @dalecarnegie course. Best 12 weeks I’ve had in building confidence. #lrnchat
9:20 PM sellio7 A5) Be a role model for others, get out there, jump in and see where the learning takes you. Enthusiasm is contagious! #lrnchat
9:21 PM stipton @heikan2003 I’ll accept that! #LRNchat
9:21 PM heikan2003 @sellio7 That is how I began curling. I just got on the ice. #lrnchat
9:21 PM stipton @LearnNuggets All yoga poses lead to the JD bottle. The challenge is to remain standing at the end. LOL.. #LRNchat
9:22 PM LearnNuggets @heikan2003 @sellio7 Curling. Now that’s something I’d like to learn. #lrnchat
9:22 PM kmarranzino Sign me up!
“@LearnNuggets: @stipton Whiskey Yoga! Now that’s something new to learn. I bet there’s no anxiety either. #lrnchat”
9:22 PM sellio7 @heikan2003 Me too! Jumped in with both feet and landed hard on the ice! LOL! #lrnchat
9:22 PM OhThatRachel Q6) The game “Papers Please” is a really good example of how to set up learning. Teach a little at a time, give real consequences. #lrnchat
9:23 PM LearnNuggets @stipton Wait…what? Whiskey Yoga requires standing at the end. Now I’m anxious! #lrnchat
9:23 PM willconstantine @stipton @LearnNuggets i like that game. Gamification at its finest! #lrnchat
9:23 PM heikan2003 @LearnNuggets google #USAcurling to find a club near you. Most have learn to curl sessions in Sept/Oct #lrnchat No anxiety, just fun.
9:23 PM stipton A5) Let learners set the path, let conversations take you down a different road than planned. Let energy drive away any anxiety. #LRNchat
9:24 PM Quinnovator how funny, we’ve got a hobby throwback to last week! #lrnchat blame the moderators. Oh, wait…
9:24 PM SLDoyle67 @heikan2003 @sellio7 Curling. Now that’s something I’d like to learn > The only sport (except bowling) where you can drink & play #lrnchat
9:25 PM stipton @LearnNuggets Well, you have to find some way to get to the nachos afterwards. #LRNchat
9:25 PM heikan2003 Yea. RT @Quinnovator: how funny, we’ve got a hobby throwback to last week! #lrnchat blame the moderators. Oh, wait…
9:25 PM Quinnovator a6) now I’m feeling anxious! #lrnchat
9:25 PM eLearninCyclops MT @SLDoyle67 @heikan2003 @sellio7 Curling. .. > The only sport (except bowling) where you can drink & play #lrnchat | Softball
9:25 PM stipton .RT @willconstantine: @stipton @LearnNuggets i like that game. Gamification at its finest! #lrnchat < If you build it they will come.
9:25 PM urbie #lrnchat A6 My 1st try silk screening was in 1969. Primitive tech + sharps. Next time in 90s photolithography made it so easy.
9:25 PM sellio7 A6) that when I’m motivated and focused I have a large appetite for learning! See @ElvisPresley , see @Toastmasters #lrnchat
9:26 PM kmarranzino A5) From my 14yo son; make it a cooperative (facilitated group) lesson; not a lecture. That’s my boy! #lrnchat
9:26 PM sellio7 @heikan2003 @SLDoyle67 Ok the only sport where your competitors buy you a drink after the game! #lrnchat
9:26 PM urbie #lrnchat A6 So research helps. Being patient so technology catches up with desire/need helps.
9:26 PM heikan2003 Don’t want to be in trouble with the moderator but learning curling is done with friends, encouragement, & fun. no anxiety. #lrnchat
9:26 PM Ruthie_HB Have to hop off #lrnchat to tend to the little one. Have a great night, everyone!
9:26 PM stipton RT @urbie: #lrnchat A3 Lrning collaboratively real-time gives most anxiety the boot. Situational leadership results. Strength in diversity.
9:27 PM Quinnovator a6) reckon some games get better with whisky: Cards Against Humanity for instance🙂 #notpoliticallycorrect #lrnchat
9:27 PM lrnchat QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:27 PM heikan2003 RT @kmarranzino: A5) From my 14yo son; make it a cooperative (facilitated group) lesson; not a lecture. That’s my boy! #lrnchat
9:27 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:27 PM lrnchat Q6) How can we help learners move from anxiety to engagement? #lrnchat
9:28 PM eLearninCyclops RT @lrnchat Q6) How can we help learners move from anxiety to engagement? #lrnchat | 1 more ques?
9:28 PM LearnNuggets RT @lrnchat QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:28 PM stipton RT @lrnchat: QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:28 PM SLDoyle67 MT >> learning curling is done with friends, encouragement, & fun. no anxiety. >> being coordinated as Bambi on ice = anxiety!! #lrnchat
9:28 PM Quinnovator RT @lrnchat: QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat < already?
9:28 PM lodtrain Qwrap another non-anxious #lrnchat thanks to all for great conversations IT Global Education
9:28 PM KCASTD RT @lrnchat: Q6) How can we help learners move from anxiety to engagement? #lrnchat
9:29 PM Quinnovator thanks to all new and returning participants for yet another wise and witty, anxiety-free #lrnchat
9:29 PM rrisdpd Plugs if you are in Texas join us for the summer learning: https://t.co/yNkzEt8hHo #lrnchat
9:29 PM urbie #lrnchat awrap urbie delgado, education engineer.. There is yet time to enroll in Lean for Social Change #mooc https://t.co/npnxqnfOBM
9:29 PM kmarranzino A6) Old cars: Get in there and get your hands dirty. Mess up and learn from it for next time. #lrnchat
9:29 PM heikan2003 @SLDoyle67 grippy shoes, helmet if needed, no worries #lrnchat
9:29 PM learningdojo Wrap) Lisa in Indy. Great conversation, I’m now anxiety-free!🙂 #lrnchat
9:29 PM kmarranzino @lrnchat: Q6 What has your hobby taught you about your own ways of learning? #lrnchat”
9:29 PM eLearninCyclops Jeff Goldman – eLearning Guy in Baltimore. Blogging at http://t.co/gB8qeJNWC9 #lrnchat
9:29 PM sellio7 A6) Be willing to admit you don’t know everything. Have a mentor show you the ropes. Be open to feedback! #lrnchat
9:29 PM heikan2003 RT @Quinnovator: thanks to all new and returning participants for yet another wise and witty, anxiety-free #lrnchat
9:29 PM KCASTD RT @Quinnovator: thanks to all new and returning participants for yet another wise and witty, anxiety-free #lrnchat
9:29 PM Quinnovator Clark Quinn, blogger at http://t.co/Nm5yXCu4jZ, consulting at http://t.co/SOV4QyMfos, and new book at http://t.co/gfA9Tw0bYT #lrnchat
9:30 PM SLDoyle67 Qwrap) Sharon Doyle from Cubeville in Calgary. Now heading off to yoga – no whiskey, though…must talk to instructor about that.. #lrnchat
9:30 PM stipton Qwrap – Shannon, Chicago. Come check out new business at http://t.co/8XBBgrJfGl & my last blog on how to “Market your Learning”. #LRNchat
9:30 PM kregerck A6) Empathy and knowing your audience. Acknowledge the fear and use what motivates them. #lrnchat
9:30 PM willconstantine #lrnchat is going late tonight! Exciting!
9:30 PM heikan2003 Qwrap)Heidi from Kansas. Happy to learn anxiety free with all of you on Thursday night. Thanks #lrnchat
9:30 PM sellio7 The fastest and most anxiety free hour on Twitter! Thanks for the great convo tonight folks! #lrnchat
9:30 PM SLDoyle67 #lrnchat – I look forward to meeting with you folks every week. Thanks for stimulating my neurons.
9:31 PM willconstantine Q6) providing support but also letting them discover on their own and create the understanding of the concept for themselves. #lrnchat
9:31 PM Quinnovator a6) bonus answer: reduce anxiety, increase motivation and build confidence #Lrnchat
9:31 PM stipton Namaste – RT @KCASTD: RT @Quinnovator: thanks to all new and returning participants for yet another wise and witty, anxiety-free #lrnchat
9:32 PM sellio7 QWrap Shameless plug, follow me on Twitter! Soon to be published on @LinkedIn if you want to know about Cust Service I’m the guy! #lrnchat
9:32 PM kregerck Christine Kreger Professional Development Consultant for the Colorado State Library. Thanks for another great chat! #lrnchat
9:32 PM lrnchat Thanks everyone for joining #lrnchat tonight. See you next week! Look for weekly transcripts at http://t.co/ijNIXqjfiV