Transcript – December 19: “Holiday Appy Hour”

Be sure to check out the collaborative list of “Lrnchat Favorite Apps” that was created tonight.  Feel free to add your favorites to it.

Remember we’re taking next week off: see you on Jan 2, 2014.

Happy Holidays from everyone at #lrnchat.

8:31 PM lrnchat Welcome everyone to #lrnchat! How have you been?
8:31 PM brunowinck RT @JaneBozarth #lrnchat starts in 2 mins. Tonight: Holiday Appy Hour!
8:31 PM JaneBozarth @SocraticOrg Hello Owl. Know Hedwig? #lrnchat
8:31 PM lrnchat Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
8:32 PM JaneBozarth I have been GREAT, thanks for asking. Winning the Battle of the Bikeshed! #lrnchat
8:32 PM stipton RT @JaneBozarth: #lrnchat starts in 2 mins. Tonight: Holiday Appy Hour!
8:32 PM SocraticOrg @lrnchat Hey all! Currently at @SocraticOrg – crowdsourcing teaching videos! former math teacher in NYC #lrnchat
8:32 PM 2GFred Been a while since I attended. Very glad to be back! #lrnchat
8:32 PM lodtrain IT Clickity click global training been great and APpy to be here #lrnchat
8:32 PM JaneBozarth Prepping Stuff for #ASTDTK , #LT14 London, #Training2014 #lrnchat
8:33 PM MaddyzDaddy My name is Chad Shaner. New technology coach for my High School. Interested in educational technology. #lrnchat
8:33 PM JaneBozarth @2GFred Hey Fred how’ve you been? Long time no #lrnchat
8:33 PM marklearns Intro: Mark Sheppard, L&D Geek for the RCAF, just got handed a major hot potato from HQ to convert a ton of ILT to EL. By 1 Feb. #lrnchat
8:33 PM JaneBozarth @lodtrain ha #lrnchat
8:33 PM lodtrain Been working on finishing projects while eating some awesome holiday cookies #lrnchat
8:33 PM SocraticOrg @marklearns Good luck! #lrnchat
8:33 PM marklearns …and it’s been quite some time since I’ve done #lrnchat.🙂
8:34 PM lodtrain @MaddyzDaddy Welcome to #lrnchat
8:34 PM marklearns @SocraticOrg Thanks! I’m looking for a human cloning app to help me with resource management. #lrnchat
8:34 PM JaneBozarth @marklearns One word: Jeopardy. #lrnchat
8:34 PM brunowinck Bruno Winck, Work at @Kneaver on Self Direct Learning Software, taking my breakfast chat #lrnchat
8:34 PM SocraticOrg @JaneBozarth hoot hoot! That’s my best friend🙂 #lrnchat
8:34 PM stipton RT @lrnchat: Please introduce yourselves. Passions? Projects? What are you working on these days? #lrnchat
8:35 PM JaneBozarth It’s like class reunion week in #lrnchat. Where’ve y’all been?
8:35 PM MattGuyan Hi everyone, Matt from Australia here. I’ve been working on systems training, and some SHOTs (Short Hits of Training) #lrnchat
8:35 PM marklearns @brunowinck Hi MOOC classmate! #lrnchat
8:35 PM brunowinck @marklearns Hello ILT, EL ? could you expand for me #lrnchat
8:35 PM lrnchat Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:35 PM CandiceCPLP Candice in NC working on competency mapping in a re- org. Again #lrnchat
8:35 PM jshamsy Hello all. Jennifer from Atlanta. Getting ready to go fight #holidaytravelseason tomorrow =( #lrnchat
8:36 PM christacole74 Working on a Career Self-Mgmt workshop and ADKAR pieces to increase Desire for a Change.#lrnchat
8:36 PM stipton Just popping in and out tonight. Shannon, Chicago, passionate about staying warm this winter, L&D director #lrnchat
8:36 PM kelly_smith01 Kelly Smith Consultant in Texas Vacationing in Minnesota #lrnchat
8:36 PM JaneBozarth I’m taking Don Norman’s Design Thinking MOOC. Anyone else? #lrnchat
8:36 PM marklearns @JaneBozarth …that’s exactly what I will be in if this effort doesn’t come to fruition. #lrnchat
8:36 PM JaneBozarth @CandiceCPLP 2nd verse same as the first. #lrnchat
8:36 PM JaneBozarth RT @lrnchat Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:36 PM marklearns @brunowinck ILT: Instructor-led training. EL: eLearning. #lrnchat
8:36 PM jshamsy A0) Learned that there is nothing that makes grading easier… Just have to get after it. Sooner you start the sooner you finish. #lrnchat
8:36 PM learner4eva Working on year-end reports #lrnchat
8:37 PM Tracy_Parish Hey cool. Me too. RT @JaneBozarth: I’m taking Don Norman’s Design Thinking MOOC. Anyone else? #lrnchat
8:37 PM christacole74 I learned to be more realistic with yearly goals so I’m not cramming with 1 day left #lrnchat
8:37 PM SocraticOrg Q0 #lrnchat: Greenland has to import Christmas trees because they cannot grow that far north, random!
8:37 PM lodtrain Q0) learned about tiny videos and moving forward in 2014 with more of these for PS learning #lrnchat
8:37 PM marklearns @JaneBozarth What’s the URL for that, Jane? I did the Stanford one with @brunowinck and enjoyed it. #lrnchat
8:37 PM JaneBozarth Q0 learned more about design affordances and signifiers #lrnchat
8:37 PM stipton Q0) Learned that some people was to grow and others don’t wisedom is knowing when to back off and when to keep plugging. #lrnchat
8:37 PM espnguyen A0) I learned about a great Twitter app for Windows 8. Tweetium! #lrnchat
8:38 PM CandiceCPLP Today, Learned some short cuts in WordPress, but that blogging requires concentration. Eh. #lrnchat
8:38 PM odguru Q0) Not sure what I learned this week. Need to reflect. Has been like being shot out of a cannon. #lrnchat
8:38 PM JaneBozarth @lodtrain tell us more. Examples? you mean like Vine? #lrnchat
8:38 PM marklearns @Tracy_Parish Hiya neighbour! #lrnchat
8:38 PM SocraticOrg @odguru Make sure to make time for that! You deserve it! #lrnchat
8:38 PM stipton sounds interesting, shall I just turn on google machine? RT @JaneBozarth: taking Don Norman’s Design Thinking MOOC. Anyone else? #lrnchat
8:38 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat: #lrnchat in 30 min! Tonight’s theme: “Appy Hour”. Join us for tonight’s chat!
8:38 PM kelly_smith01 Learned that it is likely Minnesota leads the nation in Curmudgeons (per capita) #lrnchat
8:38 PM Tracy_Parish Tracy Parish, ID Healthcare. Newmarket Ontario. Trying to learn one new thing each day. #lrnchat
8:39 PM CandiceCPLP “@christacole74: I learned to be more realistic with yearly goals so I’m not cramming with 1 day left #lrnchat” how?😉
8:39 PM trishuhl Trish Uhl. Tall. Outspoken. Friendly. Chicago. Hanging out getting holiday mani/pedi. I have a snowman painted on my big toe #lrnchat
8:39 PM SocraticOrg @kelly_smith01 haha is that an official stat🙂 #lrnchat
8:39 PM JaneBozarth @kelly_smith01 well, now that you’re there… #lrnchat
8:39 PM marklearns Q0) I learned that it always pays to explore your learning asset archive. Sometimes there are bacon-saving treasures. #lrnchat
8:39 PM stipton nice. RT @espnguyen: A0) I learned about a great Twitter app for Windows 8. Tweetium! #lrnchat
8:39 PM theASIDEblog We learned that even if everything else is a merry-go-round, slowing down brings the learning back in focus. #lrnchat
8:39 PM odguru @SocraticOrg Yes! Time to consolidate and chill. #lrnchat
8:39 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat: Q0) We always begin with this: What did you learn today? If not today, then this week? #lrnchat
8:40 PM Tracy_Parish I learned today that 1lb weight loss is = to 4lb pressure off your knees. #resolutions? #lrnchat
8:40 PM brunowinck Q0) Learned that errors repeat less often than you would suspect it, better start with a clear mind #lrnchat
8:40 PM kelly_smith01 RT @Tracy_Parish: I learned today that 1lb weight loss is = to 4lb pressure off your knees. #resolutions? #lrnchat
8:40 PM stipton @trishuhl picture please. #lrnchat
8:40 PM Tracy_Parish Hello friend. “@marklearns: @Tracy_Parish Hiya neighbour! #lrnchat”.
8:40 PM lrnchat Q1) Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social, organization, etc #lrnchat
8:41 PM learner4eva Q0) Learned how to operate new LMS and about iTunes Radio #lrnchat
8:41 PM odguru @Tracy_Parish I wonder/I wish if there is a commensurate measure for brain capacity when you ditch unhealthy thoughts. #lrnchat
8:41 PM marklearns Gives me a goal! RT @Tracy_Parish: I learned today that 1lb weight loss is = to 4lb pressure off your knees. #resolutions? #lrnchat
8:41 PM JaneBozarth @trishuhl imagine if you were tall, outspoken, and friendly– and had a camera #lrnchat
8:41 PM trishuhl RT @SocraticOrg: Q0 #lrnchat: Greenland imports Christmas trees because they cant grow that far north, random! > I have now learnd this too!
8:41 PM SocraticOrg Q1 #lrnchat: Maybe this is a copout, but nothing would run smoothly for admin or students without Google Apps!
8:41 PM JaneBozarth RT @lrnchat Q1) Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social, organization, etc #lrnchat
8:41 PM CandiceCPLP “@stipton: @trishuhl picture please. #lrnchat”. Yes, Trish. Happy holidays, indeed!
8:41 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat Q1) Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social, organization, etc #lrnchat #lrnchat
8:41 PM marklearns RT @lrnchat: Q1) Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social, organization, etc #lrnchat
8:42 PM stipton RT @lrnchat: Q1) Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social, organization, etc #lrnchat
8:42 PM learner4eva A1) Yes, social #lrnchat
8:42 PM lodtrain #lrnchat Q1) Apps on iPad are social twitter, linkedi, FB, and tools docs to go, goodreader, and design jot
8:42 PM jshamsy Q1) I would say organizational, but some are social & organizational..Too many apps make me feel overwhelmed #lrnchat
8:42 PM espnguyen A1) I’m a sucker for productivity apps. Continuously tweaking #GTD workflow. #lrnchat
8:42 PM marklearns Q1) I’m not sure, but on my iphone it leans toward social. On my laptop, it leans toward EdTech/LrnTech gadgetry #lrnchat
8:43 PM CandiceCPLP A1. Feels like PowerPoint, but is actually Excel. Ugh. #lrnchat
8:43 PM lrnchat Help us build a takeaway for tonight! Add your favorite apps to the Google Doc at http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
8:43 PM brunowinck Q1) Email is still ruling for me, @Kneaver just after, outside of software dev tools of course #lrnchat
8:43 PM JaneBozarth Social, travel, photo #lrnchat
8:43 PM SocraticOrg @lrnchat See, can’t do edtech without Google Apps🙂 #lrnchat
8:43 PM JaneBozarth RT @lrnchat Help us build a takeaway for tonight! Add your favorite apps to the Google Doc at http://t.co/l4IYAa1cpl #lrnchat
8:43 PM learner4eva A1) Social – Easy way to grow knowledge, PLN, and increase inclusion #lrnchat
8:43 PM trishuhl @JaneBozarth @lrnchat Q0 Participated in inaugural #LeavingADDIE for SAM MEGA Workshop and am now stirring up trouble #lrnchat #runwscissors
8:43 PM stipton I would say tied between social and org, always flipping between twitter/FB and evernote/dropbox/google drive #lrnchat both resource rich.
8:43 PM kelly_smith01 Q1) At this point my “app” is either Tweet Deck ot Hoot Suite managing SoMe #lrnchat
8:43 PM Tracy_Parish Q1. Work is 90% productivity tools. iPhone/iPad are split social/productivity/games #lrnchat
8:43 PM nGinius RT @lrnchat: Help us build a takeaway for tonight! Add your favorite apps to the Google Doc at http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
8:44 PM odguru Q1) Some core things in social and organizational. My big obsession is to have a toolset I don’t notice, available on any device. #lrnchat
8:44 PM lodtrain Q1) iPad social and fun, some work-stuff – numbers, pages, keynote, mobileiron #lrnchat
8:44 PM MattGuyan A1 For me it’s games followed by social #lrnchat
8:45 PM nGinius @SocraticOrg Google apps are high on my list too. Google drive saves my bacon! #lrnchat
8:45 PM stipton oh yeah, right now Linkedin…build those connections right? #lrnchat
8:45 PM learner4eva RT @JaneBozarth Help us build a takeaway for tonight! Add your favorite apps to the Google Doc at http://t.co/X0mTg27Jaq #lrnchat #lrnchat
8:45 PM JaneBozarth @Tracy_Parish like what re productivity tools? #lrnchat
8:45 PM trishuhl .@stipton @CandiceCPLP BAM! Snowman on my toe! #lrnchat http://t.co/WvlLvkoww0
8:45 PM SocraticOrg @odguru So key – I prefer apps to make life easier, rather than be a distraction #lrnchat
8:45 PM JaneBozarth I could waste my whole day playing with productivity tools… #lrnchat
8:45 PM lodtrain RT @stipton: oh yeah, right now Linkedin…build those connections right? #lrnchat
8:46 PM kelly_smith01 Q1) Also Google+ is becoming my personal library book cart and shelves for my PLN #lrnchat
8:46 PM SocraticOrg @JaneBozarth Waste with productivity tools, eh?🙂 #lrnchat
8:46 PM Tracy_Parish Tweaking, finding new, better isn’t something everyone does. @espnguyen: A1) I’m a sucker for productivity apps. #lrnchat”
8:46 PM stipton saves my bacon, my pig, my ice cream. RT @nGinius: @SocraticOrg Google apps are high on my list too. Google drive saves my bacon! #lrnchat
8:46 PM SocraticOrg @kelly_smith01 Which communities are you a fan of? #lrnchat
8:46 PM learner4eva @kelly_smith01I need to check out Google + #lrnchat
8:47 PM urbie #lrnchat late arrival, urbie delgado, instructional designer. learned more about app smashing taking notes
8:47 PM jyoti__gupta @lrnchat Storytelling basics #lrnchat
8:47 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q1) Does 1 category of Tool/App dominate your device/computer? Which and why? I.e social, organization, etc #lrnchat
8:47 PM Tracy_Parish I can’t be the only one to admit they have games hogging their memory too.😉 #lrnchat
8:47 PM lrnchat Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
8:47 PM marklearns @nGinius Hi Gin! Sorry we didn’t get to do another lunch before the holiday break. You home now? #lrnchat
8:47 PM CandiceCPLP “@JaneBozarth: I could waste my whole day playing with productivity tools… #lrnchat”. Me, too, Jane
8:47 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
8:47 PM learner4eva RT Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat #lrnchat
8:48 PM tomspiglanin Hello all, tardy again. Hope it’s not #lrnchat jail for me. Again.
8:48 PM tomspiglanin RT @lrnchat Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
8:48 PM JaneBozarth anyone still using UStream? #lrnchat
8:48 PM SocraticOrg Q2 #lrnchat I tested out some math apps in the past, but students seemed more distracted by the gamification rather than learning
8:48 PM marklearns @Tracy_Parish I’m equally guilty. Fave one now is “Babel Rising” #lrnchat
8:48 PM urbie #lrnchat A1 Evernote dominates. It’s like a pasteboard that never runs out of space. It’s like desktop publishing on my iPad. Ease of use.
8:48 PM JaneBozarth RT @lrnchat Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
8:49 PM JaneBozarth Playing fewer games. Airline apps seem useless. Doing less app shopping. #lrnchat
8:49 PM espnguyen @tomspiglanin We’re just happy to have you in our presence, Tom. #lrnchat
8:49 PM brunowinck Design of Everyday things https://t.co/6916DXGqCD I’m on it too but didn’t start reading yet #lrnchat
8:49 PM stipton Project Management app I found seems to be pretty easy to use. RT @JaneBozarth: @Tracy_Parish like what re productivity tools? #lrnchat
8:49 PM JaneBozarth MT @urbie #lrnchat A1 Evernote dominates…a pasteboard that never runs out of space. It’s like desktop publishing on my iPad. Ease of use.
8:49 PM tomspiglanin A2) Moving away from anything on my desktop, I like cloud and collaboration. Found cadre of fwd-thinkers at work joining me #lrnchat
8:49 PM kregerck On #lrnchat talking about apps!
8:49 PM trishuhl @lrnchat Q1) Social. Definitely social! @Evernote @YouTube @Twitter FB http://t.co/I29GiMQhKR @LinkedIn And media creation apps #lrnchat
8:49 PM JaneBozarth @brunowinck it’s good. i liked the 1st lesson. #lrnchat
8:49 PM learner4eva @JaneBozarth I am disappointed in airline apps as well. #lrnchat
8:49 PM lodtrain #lrnchat Q2) Not moving away from just ADDING AND ADDING and learning more all the time (am I a hoarder?)
8:49 PM stipton RT @lrnchat: Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
8:50 PM CandiceCPLP A2. Prezi. Started making people nauseous. #lrnchat
8:50 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
8:50 PM MaddyzDaddy Haiku LMS dominates. Our district started this year. I have websites for each of my classes and for my professional development #lrnchat
8:50 PM marklearns Q2) I’m such a trial and explore guy with apps that they come and go at will. Usual reason to stop is “nothing new here” syndrome #lrnchat
8:50 PM Tracy_Parish Productivity tools – time mgt, project mgt, list tools, RSS feed tools #lrnchat
8:50 PM stipton Q2) Tweetdeck for sure, hootsuite lady now. #lrnchat
8:50 PM SocraticOrg @CandiceCPLP Haha, they sometimes make me motion sick, too🙂 #lrnchat
8:51 PM espnguyen A2) I used to accumulate news and social aggregators. None of them live up to Flipboard IMO. #lrnchat
8:51 PM nGinius @marklearns Tomorrow. Not looking fwd to weather. Today I got new digs! And new car! #lrnchat
8:51 PM kelly_smith01 RT @stipton: Q2) Tweetdeck for sure, hootsuite lady now. #lrnchat
8:51 PM kregerck RT @stipton: RT @lrnchat: Q2) What tools/apps have you moved away from? Why? #lrnchat
8:51 PM trishuhl @lrnchat Q2) MS Outlook. I never would have thought I’d let it go after 10+ yrs of use, but it was easier to let go than expected #lrnchat
8:51 PM Tracy_Parish Me too – “@marklearns: Q2) I’m such a trial and explore guy….Usual reason to stop is “nothing new here” syndrome #lrnchat”
8:51 PM SocraticOrg @trishuhl Why’d you leave Outlook? #lrnchat
8:52 PM theASIDEblog We moved away for the Kidblog and Prezi apps. Web versions are so much better. #lrnchat
8:52 PM learner4eva RT Flipboard rocks!@espnguyen A2) I used to accumulate news and social aggregators. None of them live up to Flipboard IMO. #lrnchat #lrnchat
8:52 PM odguru @JaneBozarth Doing a lot less app shopping. More games right now, but not mobile.Liberal hints to Santa about a new N64 controller #lrnchat.
8:52 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 gave given up on most MS Office-like apps and kept the pick of the litter: Polaris Office https://t.co/64HSpwN9u4
8:52 PM Tracy_Parish Makes me super sick. “@SocraticOrg: @CandiceCPLP Haha, they sometimes make me motion sick, too🙂 #lrnchat”
8:52 PM stipton love me my evernote! RT @urbie: #lrnchat A1 Evernote dominates. pasteboard, never runs out of space. like desktop publishing on my iPad.
8:52 PM jshamsy A2) Facebook! The harder it is to get on the more barriers that will prevent me from using it. In this case that is a good thing! #lrnchat
8:52 PM marklearns @trishuhl If work didn’t need it, I’d ditch it in a heartbeat. I think I’d prefer to ditch email altogether. #lrnchat
8:52 PM brunowinck Q1) Using github more and more #lrnchat
8:52 PM espnguyen @trishuhl What do you use instead and why is it better? #lrnchat
8:53 PM CandiceCPLP @espnguyen, love Flipboard, too. Wish I had more time to read! #lrnchat
8:53 PM nGinius @JaneBozarth Hipmunk started well. Agree – Airline apps disappointing. #lrnchat
8:53 PM trishuhl .@MattGuyan Yeah – Games. Admittedly I have Ticket2Ride installed on EVERY device I own #junkie #lrnchat
8:53 PM stipton @JaneBozarth couldn’t live w/out my AA app. Hilton app only good for immediate use, when I’m stuck somewhere. #lrnchat
8:53 PM Tracy_Parish Sorry folks. Want to stay but just can’t do it tonight. Hope you all have a great Christmas and Happy Holidays. #lrnchat
8:53 PM marklearns @Tracy_Parish @SocraticOrg @CandiceCPLP Just like PPT, effective use of Prezi comes down to good design, not “hey, this is cool!” #lrnchat
8:53 PM SocraticOrg @nGinius @JaneBozarth Hipmunk is great, but I find the online version to be solid enough #lrnchat
8:53 PM urbie #lrnchat A2 other Office-like apps on iOS choke on larger (>100 kb files) with track changes, images. Polaris chugs along.
8:53 PM tomspiglanin A2) FINALLY moving away from Lotus Notes! Org migrating to Outlook and cloud services. Now if only they’d add Yammer @espnguyen #lrnchat
8:53 PM theASIDEblog Not sure apps are always the best choice if the web works better. #lrnchat
8:53 PM JaneBozarth @odguru Funny I remember when iPhone was new I used to app shop every Sat morning #lrnchat
8:54 PM odguru @stipton @urbie Do you guys do serious document storage in #Evernote? #lrnchat
8:54 PM espnguyen @stipton @urbie I actually prefer OneNote. It’s so powerful and flexible. #lrnchat
8:54 PM lrnchat Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat
8:54 PM SocraticOrg @tomspiglanin @espnguyen Wow! At my last company, we got rid of Lotus notes a few years ago.. congrats! Cause for celebration🙂 #lrnchat
8:54 PM lodtrain Q2) Yammer fav app for internal social collab, twitter best for external like tonight – use daily to learn #lrnchat
8:54 PM trishuhl .@tomspiglanin Hey Tom! Ooooo! Nifty. What does #lrnchat late penalty look like?!
8:54 PM stipton @trishuhl we use gmail at work, AWESOME… do not miss outlook. #lrnchat
8:54 PM marklearns Is it sad that I don’t travel enough to have an airline app? #lrnchat
8:54 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat #lrnchat
8:55 PM JaneBozarth @espnguyen I need to learn about OneNote. Have heard others say they love it. #lrnchat
8:55 PM lodtrain RT @lrnchat: Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat
8:55 PM theASIDEblog We still find not having Flash on the iPad can be a problem. Voki is still so fun for kids, but needs Flash and not an app. #lrnchat
8:55 PM JaneBozarth @lrnchat and hi Steve! #lrnchat
8:55 PM CandiceCPLP .@tomspiglanin Congratulation! Hate Lotus Notes! And try Jabber instead of Yammer #lrnchat
8:55 PM JaneBozarth RT @learner4eva RT @lrnchat Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat #lrnchat
8:55 PM marklearns RT @lrnchat: Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat
8:55 PM SocraticOrg Q3 #lrnchat: Reddit apps (few of em) have introduced me to a bunch of great subcommunities (e.g., teachers, edtech, askscience)
8:55 PM stipton @marklearns @Tracy_Parish @SocraticOrg @CandiceCPLP cant get my head around prezi. #lrnchat
8:55 PM urbie @odguru @stipton #lrnchat not too many mobile devices in my org. I like Dolphin, Evernote because of ease of use, cloud. I PDF a lot too
8:56 PM MaddyzDaddy RT @trishuhl Q2) MS Outlook. Ditto! #lrnchat
8:56 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat
8:56 PM trishuhl .@JaneBozarth @urbie Hear! Hear! I would be a weeping mess without my @Evernote! > (Still tall + friendly, just tearful too) #lrnchat
8:56 PM lrnchat In the name of being collaborative & all help us build the list of our favorite apps at http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
8:56 PM JaneBozarth @theASIDEblog We use ‘app’ because ‘tool’ can cause talk about things like markers. Can put other things in category #lrnchat
8:56 PM theASIDEblog We liked using Pic Collage to make infographics, and were surprised about the flexibility. #lrnchat
8:56 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat In the name of being collaborative & all help us build the list of our favorite apps at http://t.co/X0mTg27Jaq #lrnchat #lrnchat
8:57 PM stipton @odguru @stipton @urbie keep all project notes, meeting notes, when interviewing ppl I downloaded resumes and interview notes. #lrnchat
8:57 PM lodtrain Q3) would be maybe Pinterest at first used to find stuff and now use to learn show work etc #lrnchat
8:57 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: In the name of being collaborative & all help us build the list of our favorite apps at http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
8:57 PM Maha9313 RT @lrnchat: In the name of being collaborative & all help us build the list of our favorite apps at http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
8:57 PM espnguyen @JaneBozarth A good starting point is the OneNote blog: http://t.co/4jcXurrfap #lrnchat
8:57 PM MattGuyan @trishuhl Yeah I’m still addicted to Candy Crush… #lrnchat
8:57 PM JaneBozarth @SocraticOrg @nGinius ? ok. Doesn’t have to be mobile app. #lrnchat
8:57 PM stipton sorry slow tonight, breaking in my new ipad air!! Awesome blossom bday present. #lrnchat
8:57 PM lodtrain RT @lrnchat: In the name of being collaborative & all help us build the list of our favorite apps at http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
8:57 PM SocraticOrg Q3 #lrnchat: Google docs have replaced my need for a word processor on all devices
8:58 PM theASIDEblog Up In Pieces Jigsaw Puzzle maker worked great for several projects our kids worked on from 3rd to 6th grade. #lrnchat
8:58 PM odguru Q3) Well I use FB for more than rating girls on campus! #lrnchat
8:58 PM JaneBozarth @lodtrain🙂 Did you see my Pinterest article? #lrnchat
8:58 PM kelly_smith01 @SocraticOrg On Google+ I focus on adding document and links and following key folks – no communities – yet #lrnchat
8:58 PM trishuhl .@marklearns OMG Some days I live for the demise of email! I hope 1 day to outlive email as a primarily abused communication mthd #lrnchat
8:58 PM JaneBozarth RT @lrnchat In the name of being collaborative & all help us build the list of our favorite apps at http://t.co/l4IYAa1cpl #lrnchat
8:58 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat
8:58 PM SocraticOrg @JaneBozarth @nGinius Definitely agree! Do you like the mobile app (if you use it) #lrnchat
8:58 PM tomspiglanin @trishuhl #lrnchat jail http://t.co/EbB6kO5qLL
8:59 PM nGinius @lodtrain Agree! Pinterest is morphing. #lrnchat
8:59 PM MelanieHeath Evernote for me“@lrnchat: Help us build a takeaway for tonight! Add your favorite apps to the Google Doc at http://t.co/TKe43u8WgI #lrnchat”
8:59 PM marklearns @odguru But you’re still rating?😉 #lrnchat
8:59 PM stipton @espnguyen @stipton @urbie I like evernote applet click on off it goes, and you can send notes to evernote from twitter. Coolio. #lrnchat
8:59 PM kregerck #lrnchat A3: Twitter. It is one of my top professional development tools.
8:59 PM theASIDEblog We ran our first live chat on Twitter with 6th graders. It was fabulous. #lrnchat #bcdsEllisIs
8:59 PM SocraticOrg @stipton @espnguyen @urbie That’s awesome! I had no idea. Today I learned. #lrnchat
8:59 PM JaneBozarth I use Fake Call for less than altruistic reasons. #lrnchat
8:59 PM JaneBozarth #lrnchat
9:00 PM JaneBozarth We didn’t mean to limit people to talking only to mobile apps tonight, btw . Whatever you like. #lrnchat
9:00 PM marklearns Q3) I used MS Project for managing team professional development objectives back in my Mgmt days. A neat approach. #lrnchat
9:00 PM tomspiglanin RT @lrnchat Q3) What tools/apps have you used for reasons other than what they were designed for? Explain #lrnchat
9:00 PM trishuhl .@espnguyen I cut my tech teeth on DOS – I’m a tech minimalist. Stripped down, resource appropriate, basic functioning apps. #lrnchat
9:00 PM JaneBozarth @theASIDEblog say more!! #lrnchat
9:00 PM JaneBozarth RT @theASIDEblog We ran our first live chat on Twitter with 6th graders. It was fabulous. #lrnchat #bcdsEllisIs
9:00 PM learner4eva RT @kregerck #lrnchat A3: Twitter. It is one of my top professional development tools. #lrnchat
9:00 PM odguru @marklearns LOL – well not on the original criteria! And not girls on campus… #lrnchat
9:00 PM SocraticOrg @JaneBozarth Thank you for clarifying! I wasn’t sure until now! #lrnchat
9:00 PM theASIDEblog We are combining apps in an organic way using several to accomplish a more complex outcome. #lrnchat
9:01 PM stipton @JaneBozarth @lodtrain great article, posted it everywhere!! #lrnchat
9:01 PM odguru RT @JaneBozarth: I use Fake Call for less than altruistic reasons. #lrnchat
9:01 PM marklearns @JaneBozarth I thought those were the only reasons? You mean….its not altruistic? #lrnchat
9:01 PM tomspiglanin RT @kregerck #lrnchat A3: Twitter. It is one of my top professional development tools.
9:01 PM learner4eva A3) LinkedIn and Twitter for prof growth #lrnchat
9:01 PM trishuhl .@espnguyen I primarily access email, calendar, etc on mobile devices. I don’t miss Outlook crashes or slow load times #nimble #lrnchat
9:01 PM brunowinck Q2) Apps I use less and less: Word, Excel, Powerpoint, just because the need is not there anymore (no printing, no f2f meetings) #lrnchat
9:01 PM marklearns @odguru I’m glad you clarified that =oP #lrnchat
9:01 PM lodtrain “@tomspiglanin: RT @kregerck #lrnchat A3: Twitter. It is one of my top professional development tools.” agreed
9:02 PM lodtrain RT @learner4eva: A3) LinkedIn and Twitter for prof growth #lrnchat
9:02 PM JaneBozarth @lodtrain Using Pinterest in L&D http://t.co/bRoDtPsIIz #lrnchat
9:02 PM tomspiglanin A3) Photoshop. I’m not an artist, not who the tool was designed for. I use it all the time anyway for all kinds of things. #lrnchat
9:02 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 appsmash http://t.co/TWoYddKnrW a lot: Evernote, Paper, Venn Diagram. Paper best #sketchnote app de rigueur for #PositiveDeviant
9:02 PM stipton gotta run guys, sorry…great to see your “faces” I’ll add to google doc. #lrnchat
9:02 PM AtomicHigherEd Need help with online discussions in your class? http://t.co/vBRI0fYL0d #comm_college #lrnchat
9:02 PM CandiceCPLP A3 used FindMyPhone to scare the cat. Cheap entertainment, if sad. #lrnchat
9:02 PM SocraticOrg @stipton Thanks for sharing your knowledge tonight ! #lrnchat Have a great night.
9:02 PM lrnchat Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
9:02 PM marklearns Q3) Definitely Twitter for PD, and for knowledge-mining. #lrnchat #infojunkie #PKM
9:03 PM tomspiglanin A3) Skype. Persistent groups become communities, not initially conceived, I don’t think. #lrnchat
9:03 PM MaddyzDaddy A3: Genuis Scan- I use it for creating assessments in class- take pictures of models, illustrations and incorporate them into docs #lrnchat
9:03 PM kelly_smith01 Trying to master Pinterest in a PLN functional way.#lrnchat
9:03 PM JaneBozarth @SocraticOrg last time we asked about ‘tools’ rather than apps we got answers like Mr Sketch markers smh #lrnchat
9:03 PM tomspiglanin RT @lrnchat Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
9:03 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
9:03 PM urbie #lrnchat A3 I’m in the field (this time of year icey mud, snow) a lot so lightweight, portable rocks.
9:03 PM JaneBozarth @AtomicHigherEd No but I need help with people who spam #lrnchat
9:03 PM JaneBozarth RT @tomspiglanin A3) Skype. Persistent groups become communities, not initially conceived, I don’t think. #lrnchat
9:03 PM SocraticOrg @JaneBozarth haha! Well, I’m glad you were specific tonight. Helps guide the discussion #lrnchat
9:03 PM buzzwordpressuk RT @JaneBozarth: MT @urbie #lrnchat A1 Evernote dominates…a pasteboard that never runs out of space. It’s like desktop publishing on my i…
9:03 PM JaneBozarth RT @lrnchat Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
9:03 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
9:03 PM espnguyen @trishuhl Outlook is so much more to me than just email. Yes, calendar, but also task mgmt. #lrnchat
9:04 PM JaneBozarth Q4 The Google. #lrnchat
9:04 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat #lrnchat
9:04 PM tomspiglanin A4) Can’t live without: Twitter iPhone app, FB iPhone app. Keep me connected all the time. #lrnchat
9:04 PM MattGuyan RT @JaneBozarth: @lodtrain Using Pinterest in L&D http://t.co/bRoDtPsIIz #lrnchat
9:04 PM odguru RT @JaneBozarth: RT @tomspiglanin A3) Skype. Persistent groups become communities, not initially conceived, I don’t think. #lrnchat
9:04 PM brunowinck Q3) While traveling I favor apps and tools that allow disconnected work and low bandwith => gmail = no #lrnchat
9:04 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
9:04 PM trishuhl .@JaneBozarth @odguru Me too. Almost took mine back2 AT&T in 1st 30 days ’cause took bit to find killer app to make clunky phone ok #lrnchat
9:04 PM lodtrain Q4)Can’t live without Twitter, Yammer, Word and PPT and Articulate Storyline #lrnchat
9:05 PM SocraticOrg Q4 #lrnchat: Have to say Google Docs here. Very helpful to be able to access my content from any computer.
9:05 PM MattGuyan RT @marklearns: Q3) Definitely Twitter for PD, and for knowledge-mining. #lrnchat #infojunkie #PKM > me too
9:05 PM marklearns Q4) Twitter. Definitely Twitter. (including HootSuite or TweetDeck). I’d hate losing that real-time connection to my PLN #lrnchat
9:05 PM kregerck #lrnchat A4: I still rely in RSS for news/articles even though it is supposed to be “dead”.
9:05 PM urbie #lrnchat A4 don’t laugh. My can’t live without app is Plants v Zombie HD. Don’t like the new one though. It helps me ideate.
9:05 PM kellygarber q4 outlook, it organizes my world and Skype because it keeps email out of my Outlook. #lrnchat
9:05 PM kelly_smith01 Q4) Yes. The Google and Google+ – And I have only scratched the surface. #lrnchat
9:05 PM brunowinck @espnguyen I’m still happy with outlook (2007!) but I use stricly email, no tasks, no meetings (google is better for that) #lrnchat
9:05 PM kregerck RT @brunowinck: Q3) While traveling I favor apps and tools that allow disconnected work and low bandwith => gmail = no #lrnchat
9:05 PM learner4eva A4) Evernote, Twitter, LinkedIn, Flipboard, banking, news, google drive, etc #lrnchat
9:05 PM CandiceCPLP A4 IM. Connects me to colleagues for quick answers many times daily. Could not work without it.@#lrnchat
9:05 PM marklearns Q4) Oh, and Evernote. #lrnchat
9:05 PM tomspiglanin A4 Can’t live without iPhone Safari, look up prices and availability while looking at an item IRL #lrnchat
9:05 PM JaneBozarth Q4 Twitter. Google gives me links; Twitter gives me answers. That might be links. But they’re the right ones. #lrnchat
9:06 PM SocraticOrg Q4 #lrnchat: Feedly (or Google Reader until July 2013 RIP) – love to know what’s going on in many different worlds
9:06 PM tomspiglanin ++++RT @JaneBozarth Q4 Twitter. Google gives me links; Twitter gives me answers. That might be links. But they’re the right ones. #lrnchat
9:06 PM MaddyzDaddy A4 Google calendar: it controls my life! #lrnchat
9:06 PM aaronesilvers Q4) Rdio. Because sometimes I need some Prince and it must arrive without delay #lrnchat
9:06 PM trishuhl .@JaneBozarth @espnguyen YOWZA! I moved off OneNote to Evernote quite some time ago, but that was when ON was LAN/WAN hosted only #lrnchat
9:06 PM kregerck RT @MattGuyan: RT @marklearns: Q3) Definitely Twitter for PD, and for knowledge-mining. #lrnchat #infojunkie #PKM > me too
9:06 PM theASIDEblog @JaneBozarth We flipped homework on its head. Kids were thoughtful, engaged, and interacted for well over an hour. Inspiring! #lrnchat
9:06 PM JaneBozarth Informally Dr. Jane has cherry picked data and found that Evernote seems to be the most popular thing tonight? #lrnchat
9:06 PM MelanieHeath Me too “@tomspiglanin: A4) Can’t live without: Twitter iPhone app, FB iPhone app. Keep me connected all the time. #lrnchat”
9:07 PM tomspiglanin A4) iPhone Camera app. Can’t live without. See around corners, remind me what I saw for later. Etc. #lrnchat
9:07 PM SocraticOrg @JaneBozarth It’s like having a 24/7 helpline at your fingertips, experts in any subject matter #lrnchat
9:07 PM kregerck RT @JaneBozarth: Q4 Twitter. Google gives me links; Twitter gives me answers. That might be links. But they’re the right ones. #lrnchat
9:07 PM urbie #lrnchat A4 apps in the class of Nearpod are amazing for Ss feedback. https://t.co/sRoXX5DYSr
9:07 PM brunowinck @kregerck RSS is not dead before long, just the readers are #lrnchat
9:07 PM EBPhD @lrnchat A4 Tough one, most of the tools or apps I use are based on preference, I’m beginning to think @evernote #lrnchat
9:07 PM nGinius I’d be lost without Google maps! RT: Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
9:07 PM kelly_smith01 @kregerck I “save” links to My Google+ acccount plus “like” great links from my Google circle connections #lrnchat
9:07 PM CandiceCPLP Neat to ‘see’ the different directions this discussion has taken. Lots of ways to grow and learn #lrnchat
9:08 PM theASIDEblog @kregerck Faculty & students who participated were pumped by the discussion. It continued in school the next day. That’s learning. #lrnchat
9:08 PM trishuhl .@CandiceCPLP @tomspiglanin Once upon a time in IT world far far away I was a Lotus Notes / Domino programmer #oldworld #lrnchat
9:08 PM lodtrain Q4) Honestly all apps amaze me, at work we have folks design them for internal use too (am a geek) #lrnchat
9:08 PM learner4eva A4) Task list, tweet caster #lrnchat
9:08 PM lodtrain RT @nGinius: I’d be lost without Google maps! RT: Q4) What is the one tool/app you can’t live without and why? #lrnchat
9:09 PM CandiceCPLP “@tomspiglanin: A4) iPhone Camera app. Can’t live without. #lrnchat”
YES! Take pix of things I used to write down
9:09 PM marklearns Q4) Weren’t you a navigator?? Google maps? really?😉 #lrnchat
9:09 PM brunowinck @nGinius true, forgto google Maps, so natural I forgot it’s an app as well, couldn’t travel without it now, even in lost places #lrnchat
9:09 PM urbie #lrnchat A4 Yakit https://t.co/YBvZDh6eca comes a close second. Awesome for animating mouths in photos. Prezi on iOS is fun too
9:09 PM odguru @JaneBozarth Looks like it’s Evernote. Have used and do use but not an over the top fan. Care to explain your love folks? #lrnchat ?
9:09 PM EBPhD @lrnchat Could find others for Twitter, Office, etc. and still be OK, but haven’t found an acceptable @evernote replacement #lrnchat
9:09 PM espnguyen @trishuhl @JaneBozarth I don’t even really realize that my OneNote is in the cloud or local. It’s just there. #lrnchat
9:09 PM tomspiglanin Trying again, join the collaboration for this topic here https://t.co/SYWgJrC8et #lrnchat
9:09 PM marklearns Q4) I know it’s a service, but I’d be very bored without my podcast feeds, both entertainment and educational. #lrnchat
9:09 PM learner4eva A4) app to put money on my kids school lunch account #lrnchat
9:09 PM lodtrain Q4) Using Lync 2013 for ipad pretty cool for work #lrnchat
9:10 PM JaneBozarth Does the screenshot function on my iPhone count? #lrnchat
9:10 PM tomspiglanin I vote yes, I use that all the time too RT @JaneBozarth Does the screenshot function on my iPhone count? #lrnchat
9:10 PM EBPhD @espnguyen @trishuhl @JaneBozarth Had major sync issues with OneNote, lost weeks of notes, never had that issue with @Evernote #lrnchat
9:10 PM CandiceCPLP .@trishuhl Next we’ll@be talking about MagCard decks.😉 We’re old! #lrnchat
9:10 PM urbie #lrnchat A4 ID Guru isn’t as comprehensive as Mager’s Six Pack but it’s a light ISD reference https://t.co/cGQd0FEESC
9:10 PM JaneBozarth @odguru I wrote my new book in Evernote #lrnchat #showyourwork
9:11 PM espnguyen A4) Yammer app. It’s where I get my work done and collaborate with my team. #lrnchat
9:11 PM brunowinck What extra feature would you like to have on top of or similar to evernote #lrnchat
9:11 PM lrnchat Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat
9:11 PM marklearns @odguru My love was re-ignited when I got a smartpen. It integrated with Evernote so I could keep sketches/notes in the cloud. #lrnchat
9:11 PM lodtrain “@JaneBozarth: Does the screenshot function on my iPhone count? #lrnchat” showurwork aid
9:11 PM trishuhl .@tomspiglanin ROFL I might opt for #lrnchat jail time just for the social networking opportunities🙂
9:11 PM marklearns RT @lrnchat: Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat
9:12 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat #lrnchat
9:12 PM urbie #lrnchat A4 TweetBot is in a special class. It’s more appendage than app.
9:12 PM SocraticOrg Q5 #lrnchat: Productivity tools make your existing life easier to manage, learning apps introduce new content
9:12 PM EBPhD @odguru @JaneBozarth It does what it does well & really isn’t an equal replacement. Office, could use Open Office or Libre, etc. #lrnchat
9:12 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat
9:12 PM marklearns @brunowinck OCR might be a neat feature for Evernote. #lrnchat.
9:12 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat
9:13 PM jeskeeler #lrnchat Evernote is my favorite tool. Love having access to notes across all devices & ability to search photos of my handwritten notes.
9:13 PM JaneBozarth RT @marklearns love was re-ignited when I got a smartpen. It integrated with Evernote so I could keep sketches/notes in the cloud. #lrnchat
9:13 PM kelly_smith01 Q5) A learning tool equates to one book a proctivitytool equals an unlimited library #lrnchat
9:13 PM kellygarber Q4 warming to office365 and SkyDrive… great tool integration and accessibility across devices. Google docs and Dropbox are out. #lrnchat
9:13 PM kregerck #lrnchat A5: May not always be different. If I am learning I am being productive.
9:13 PM EBPhD @marklearns @brunowinck OCR is in Evernote #lrnchat
9:13 PM tomspiglanin RT @lrnchat Q5) How is a productivity tool/app different from a learning tool? #lrnchat
9:13 PM learner4eva A5) productivity tool keeps me on task and in a box. Learning tool give me freedom to explore – border less #lrnchat
9:13 PM lodtrain Q5) App or productivity tool both great for learning, ex twitter, and incorporating app within course (jump to twitter or yam) #lrnchat
9:13 PM odguru @JaneBozarth Sent it to the editor in Evernote? #lrnchat
9:13 PM brunowinck @marklearns and ptrace, ever tried, converts sketch into vectors #lrnchat
9:14 PM tomspiglanin A5) Productivity, getting things done. Learning, how to get things done. #lrnchat
9:14 PM MaddyzDaddy A4 Screencast-O-Matic http://t.co/VTAA9l3eA9 essential for flipped classroom #lrnchat
9:14 PM WillWorkLearn #lrnchat No smile sheets for productivity tools. SMILE
9:14 PM lodtrain Q4) Oh cant live without SNAGIT! #lrnchat
9:14 PM CandiceCPLP “@learner4eva: A5) productivity tool keeps me on task and in a box. Learning tool give me freedom to explore – border less #lrnchat” nice!
9:14 PM marklearns @EBPhD Clearly I’m a few features behind! Is that core or via plugin? MT @brunowinck #lrnchat
9:14 PM brunowinck same RT @kregerck #lrnchat A5: May not always be different. If I am learning I am being productive.
9:14 PM kregerck #lrnchat A5: productivity apps help you get things done now. Learning apps help you grow to be more productive in the future.
9:14 PM lodtrain RT @tomspiglanin: A5) Productivity, getting things done. Learning, how to get things done. #lrnchat
9:14 PM kellygarber RT @SocraticOrg: Q5 #lrnchat: Productivity tools make your existing life easier to manage, learning apps introduce new content
9:14 PM urbie #lrnchat A5 Dunno that I’d agree an app isn’t a learner tool. Apps are evidence/project-based tools. So I guess they’re production tools.
9:14 PM EBPhD @lrnchat A5 I think productivity help me get things done, learning tools really take me down a rabbit hole, so almost the opposite #lrnchat
9:14 PM trishuhl .@CandiceCPLP ROFL LOVE that! =^^= #lrnchat
9:14 PM lodtrain RT @MaddyzDaddy: A4 Screencast-O-Matic http://t.co/VTAA9l3eA9 essential for flipped classroom #lrnchat
9:14 PM kregerck RT @learner4eva: A5) productivity tool keeps me on task and in a box. Learning tool give me freedom to explore – border less #lrnchat
9:15 PM tomspiglanin @lodtrain oddly I’ve managed with screen captures and Photoshop #lrnchat
9:15 PM CandiceCPLP RT @WillWorkLearn: #lrnchat No smile sheets for productivity tools. SMILE
9:15 PM espnguyen RT @learner4eva: A5) productivity tool keeps me on task and in a box. Learning tool give me freedom to explore – border less #lrnchat
9:15 PM JaneBozarth @lodtrain Oh my gosh yes SNAGIT #lrnchat
9:15 PM marklearns @brunowinck OOh, hadn’t seen that one. I was underwhelmed with Skitch. #lrnchat
9:15 PM learner4eva RT @tomspiglanin A5) Productivity, getting things done. Learning, how to get things done. #lrnchat #lrnchat
9:15 PM JustStormy dammit #lrnchat
9:15 PM MattGuyan @JaneBozarth Google connects me with information but Twitter connects me with people who have experience #lrnchat
9:16 PM tomspiglanin A5) Don’t some tools work for both? Twitter – get answers fast so I’m more productive, also learning in the flow of my work #lrnchat
9:16 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lodtrain: Q4) Oh cant live without SNAGIT! #lrnchat
9:16 PM WonderPix RT @lodtrain: Q4) Oh cant live without SNAGIT! #lrnchat” for sure!
9:16 PM SocraticOrg @MattGuyan Great point.. it’s like a technology vs a live teacher #lrnchat
9:16 PM urbie #lrnchat Have you seen Chrome apps on Chromebooks? Awesome tools. Learned about them at #edcampWT. Check out http://t.co/sMrpi88d3A near you
9:16 PM marklearns @britz @Quinnovator @LnDDave @ryantracey @jimbobtyer Explains why you’re not at #lrnchat
9:17 PM trishuhl .@espnguyen Ya – I use CentralDesktop for doc management and task management w my team Been a decade since I used Outlook for tasks #lrnchat
9:17 PM kelly_smith01 In a word Google stuff #lrnchat
9:17 PM nGinius Agree! “@EBPhD: @lrnchat A5 I think productivity help me get things done, learning tools =rabbit holes, so almost the opposite #lrnchat”
9:17 PM audioswhite @JaneBozarth @odguru using Evernote now to write technical video script. Holds references, docs, interviews/notes and pics. #lrnchat
9:17 PM lrnchat Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn, and why? How did you find them? #lrnchat
9:17 PM odguru @JaneBozarth Would like to see. #showyourwork #lrnchat
9:17 PM stipton One last app “Zip list” is the best app if you like to cook, has applet, makes shopping lists, stores recipes etc. LOVE it! #lrnchat C-YA!
9:17 PM tomspiglanin RT @lrnchat Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn, and why? How did you find them? #lrnchat
9:18 PM espnguyen @trishuhl I would venture a guess that tasks in Outlook have come a long way in a decade😉 #lrnchat
9:18 PM SocraticOrg A6 #lrnchat: nothing sends me on a learning spiral like @Wikipedia can
9:18 PM urbie #lrnchat OMG at #edcampWT @christycate showed how iOS and AppleTV enabled uber collaboration. So simple to switch presenters.
9:18 PM JustStormy @tomspiglanin I missed #lrnchat! Son just came back from college for the holiday and we got side-tracked. Not a bad thing, but still…
9:18 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn, and why? How did you find them? #lrnchat #lrnchat
9:18 PM kelly_smith01 Q6) My Twitter/Facebook/Google peeps #lrnchat
9:18 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn, and why? How did you find them? #lrnchat
9:18 PM tomspiglanin A6) ASTD Yammer community. Helps me learn all the time. Direct email from @ASTDLearningDev tipped me off. #lrnchat
9:18 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn, and why? How did you find them? #lrnchat
9:18 PM lodtrain Q6) YOUTUBE teaches me all!!! Fixed an old printer last week to the amazing folks who create vids #lrnchat
9:18 PM EBPhD @lrnchat I use @Lynda for some, mostly because my University has a campuswide license #lrnchat
9:19 PM trishuhl .@aaronesilvers RIGHT? No fear – you need Prince ASAP, I’m your girl. Now, a #Firecracker candy bar – that I need lead time for! #lrnchat
9:19 PM SocraticOrg @JustStormy join in now! There’s still time🙂 #lrnchat
9:19 PM marklearns Q6) Twitter and FB are the big personal learning apps. Podcasts are next. All free access to knowledge, brains, & ideas #lrnchat
9:19 PM tomspiglanin @JustStormy Ah, I arrived late, my daughter is hungry tho so must dash #lrnchat
9:19 PM kelly_smith01 Wikipedia is good – specially the footnotes and source citations #lrnchat
9:19 PM EBPhD @marklearns Yes, definitely podcasts as well. #lrnchat
9:19 PM jyoti__gupta @tomspiglanin @lrnchat #lrnchat Notepad++ for notetaking. It’s just the basics, and that’s all I need.
9:19 PM urbie #lrnchat A6 The aforementioned Evernote for notetaking. Documents for storing stuff.
9:19 PM SocraticOrg @lodtrain teachers teach EVERYTHING on YouTube. We love it. Teaches the world #lrnchat
9:19 PM kregerck #lrnchat A6: Twitter. Did not get the point until I saw conference Tweets
9:19 PM JustStormy @SocraticOrg Oh….i’m watching…need to catch up. thanks! #lrnchat
9:19 PM learner4eva A6) YouTube, google, blogs, discussion boards, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pulse #lrnchat
9:19 PM tomspiglanin A6) I still have to stick with the Google for the way I learn most often, as in daily. #lrnchat
9:19 PM CandiceCPLP A6. TED talks digests. Help me think more globally and capture knowledge nuggets. #lrnchat
9:20 PM JustStormy RT @lrnchat #lrnchat Notepad++ for notetaking. It’s just the basics, and that’s all I need.
9:20 PM theASIDEblog Performance, productivity, and learning are linked. It’s not one, or the other. #lrnchat
9:20 PM JustStormy RT @lrnchat: Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn, and why? How did you find them? #lrnchat
9:20 PM brunowinck Q6) Kneaver (sorry for self promo), keep track of what I learned and from where I got it, follow on it, tracks how much I remember #lrnchat
9:20 PM lrnchat Before you go: Add your favorite apps here, please: http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
9:20 PM odguru RT @kelly_smith01: Wikipedia is good – specially the footnotes and source citations #lrnchat
9:20 PM MaddyzDaddy RT @lodtrain Q6) YOUTUBE teaches me all!!! Fixed an old printer last week #lrnchat: It taught me how 2 fix my car!
9:20 PM kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Before you go: Add your favorite apps here, please: http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
9:20 PM lodtrain RT @tomspiglanin: A6) I still have to stick with the Google for the way I learn most often, as in daily. #lrnchat
9:20 PM lodtrain RT @CandiceCPLP: A6. TED talks digests. Help me think more globally and capture knowledge nuggets. #lrnchat
9:20 PM MattGuyan YES! RT @lodtrain: Q6) YOUTUBE teaches me all!!! Fixed an old printer last week to the amazing folks who create vids #lrnchat
9:20 PM JustStormy RT @lrnchat: Before you go: Add your favorite apps here, please: http://t.co/f0VSbmtbJU #lrnchat
9:20 PM lodtrain RT @lrnchat: Before you go: Add your favorite apps here, please: http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
9:20 PM learner4eva RT @kelly_smith01 RT @lrnchat: Before you go: Add your favorite apps here, please: http://t.co/X0mTg27Jaq #lrnchat #lrnchat
9:20 PM audioswhite Quick look in on #lrnchat at intermission of Xmas Follies. Good show @JaneBozarth there’s even ukulele caroling! Have a great Xmas all!
9:20 PM marklearns @aaronesilvers Greetings, Buford. #lrnchat😉
9:21 PM JaneBozarth RT @lrnchat: Q6) What tools/apps do you use to help you learn, and why? How did you find them? #lrnchat
9:21 PM kregerck #lrnchat Yes, yes and yes! A6) YouTube, google, blogs, discussion boards, Twitter, LinkedIn,
9:21 PM lodtrain RT @SocraticOrg: @lodtrain teachers teach EVERYTHING on YouTube. We love it. Teaches the world #lrnchat
9:21 PM SocraticOrg There’s quite a movement of educators on YouTube.. which is why I believe in crowdteaching so much! #lrnchat
9:21 PM trishuhl .@CandiceCPLP LOL We are *Old School*!🙂 #wasadigitalgirlinanalogworld #lrnchat
9:21 PM CandiceCPLP .@lodtrain YouTube, of course! Also, Khan Academy #lrnchat
9:21 PM odguru Just for you @aaronesilvers http://t.co/uvBJfuMPu5 #lrnchat
9:22 PM urbie #lrnchat A6 since #edcampWT I’ve added 20 or so apps to my toolkit, mostly presentation, story, animation apps. http://t.co/tKgKljjPl2
9:22 PM odguru RT @SocraticOrg: @lodtrain teachers teach EVERYTHING on YouTube. We love it. Teaches the world #lrnchat
9:22 PM kregerck RT @SocraticOrg: There’s quite a movement of educators on YouTube.. which is why I believe in crowdteaching so much! #lrnchat
9:22 PM MaddyzDaddy RT @kregerck RT @SocraticOrg: There’s quite a movement of educators on YouTube.. which is why I believe in crowdteaching so much! #lrnchat
9:22 PM lodtrain “@CandiceCPLP: .@lodtrain YouTube, of course! Also, Khan Academy #lrnchat” khan acad YES
9:22 PM CandiceCPLP @trishuhl AND new school, girlfriend. #lrnchat
9:23 PM trishuhl “@tomspiglanin: A5) Productivity, getting things done. Learning, how to get things done. #lrnchat > YES!
9:23 PM brunowinck Q6) IMO we should differentiate between sources of knowledge and tools to learn #lrnchat
9:23 PM crazyauntg RT @SocraticOrg: Q5 #lrnchat: Productivity tools make your existing life easier to manage, learning apps introduce new content
9:23 PM audioswhite Q6 twitter/pln mostly. Occasionally blogs & tech press & occasionally just searching topics. #lrnchat
9:23 PM tomspiglanin RT @lrnchat Before you go: Add your favorite apps here, please: http://t.co/2esDdGkoqu #lrnchat
9:23 PM trishuhl .@WillWorkLearn LOL #lrnchat #rant
9:23 PM marklearns Very true. RT @brunowinck: Q6) IMO we should differentiate between sources of knowledge and tools to learn #lrnchat
9:23 PM odguru @urbie Can you point me to a write up of #edcampWT. #lrnchat
9:24 PM urbie #lrnchat A6 lately I’ve been using @burgessdave Teach Like a Pirate, design thinking to my workflow. Those apps are great rapid prototyping
9:24 PM JustStormy @tomspiglanin yeah…if only every #lrnchat nite was free and clear…it’d be like #heaven
9:24 PM odguru RT @tomspiglanin: RT @lrnchat Before you go: Add your favorite apps here, please: http://t.co/2esDdGkoqu #lrnchat
9:25 PM lrnchat QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:25 PM SocraticOrg @nGinius Haha yes, love that “agony” search method #lrnchat
9:25 PM learner4eva RT @lrnchat QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat #lrnchat
9:25 PM tomspiglanin Parting thought, can’t be lazy, need to use many tools. Example, FB post by @JaneBozarth reminded me get my butt over here. Boom #lrnchat
9:25 PM brunowinck Q6) With powercuts, frequent here, I rediscovered the pleasure to read off line, currently re-reading all d.school stuff on DT #lrnchat
9:26 PM tomspiglanin Tom Spiglanin, incredibly optimistic entering 2014 with you all. Thank you #lrnchat
9:26 PM kregerck RT @lrnchat: QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:26 PM JaneBozarth RT @tomspiglanincan’t be lazy, need to use many tools. Example, FB post by @JaneBozarth reminded me get my butt over here. Boom #lrnchat
9:26 PM SocraticOrg QWrap #lrnchat: We’re crowdsourcing the best YouTube teaching videos. Had a great time chatting with you. Hope you can join us at Socratic!
9:26 PM urbie #lrnchat @EdCampWestTexas, @christycate can you help @odguru with a write up for #edcampWT?
9:26 PM learner4eva Q wrap) Ann – Midwest; OD professional life-long learner, coach, mentor, etc. #lrnchat
9:26 PM brunowinck QWrap) Bruno Wick, -> Same topic “how do you learn” -> take survey at http://t.co/x1yqnHqKm6 #lrnchat
9:26 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: Before you go: Add your favorite apps here, please: http://t.co/9rqjBhsuqx #lrnchat
9:27 PM Medhaa04 RT @MaddyzDaddy: A4 Screencast-O-Matic http://t.co/VTAA9l3eA9 essential for flipped classroom #lrnchat
9:27 PM lodtrain Qwrap) Thanks for an very appy almost new year #lrnchat happy holidays to all from IT clickity click training
9:27 PM MelanieHeath @MelanieHeath: @lrnchat A6: Other than blogs and hashtags, probably YouTube is my main source for new info. #lrnchat
9:27 PM JustStormy RT @lrnchat: QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:27 PM urbie RT @lrnchat: QWrap. It’s that time again. Please re-introduce yourselves. Shameless plugs welcome #lrnchat
9:27 PM JaneBozarth Headed next to #ASTDTKVegas, #LT14London

Headed next to ASTD TK Vegas, LT14 London, Training 2014 San Diego. #lrnchat

9:27 PM EBPhD @lrnchat Eric Brown, prof from Iowa State University. Love to learn about learning to become a better teacher. #lrnchat
9:27 PM marklearns Qwrap) Mark Sheppard, learning geek, excited speaker at #LSCon14. Occasional Sushi date to @nGinius and lover of ginger ale. #lrnchat
9:27 PM nGinius @JaneBozarth Thanks! I needed that FB reminder too! #lrnchat
9:28 PM tomspiglanin @LearnKotch @ASTDLearningDev will send in a bit if someone doesn’t send first. No need for ASTD membership either #lrnchat
9:28 PM SocraticOrg @EBPhD What do you teach? #lrnchat
9:28 PM kregerck #lrnchat Christine Kreger, Librarian and Professional Development Consultant for the Colorado State Library. Libraries are good tools too!
9:29 PM urbie #lrnchat urbie delgado, instructional designer recently converted to no/low-cost PD via #edcamp, @tcea, #ShowYourWork, #DesignThinking
9:29 PM kelly_smith01 Qwrap) So long until next year – Thanks for a great #lrnchat year
9:29 PM MaddyzDaddy This was my first twit chat and my mind’s blown! Can’t wait for the next one! #lrnchat
9:30 PM cammybean Sorry I missed the app fun talk with tonight’s #lrnchat. But looking forward to checking out the list! https://t.co/CwZjCSWvg1
9:30 PM EBPhD @SocraticOrg Management, HR, and Leadership #lrnchat
9:30 PM CandiceCPLP Candice @.Cisco in NC Contact me if you’ll be in NYC for Christmas! We’ll lift a glass! #lrnchat
9:30 PM MattGuyan Wishing you all a Merry Christmas and to a happy, healthy and educational 2014! #lrnchat
9:30 PM tomspiglanin Excellent topic, #lrnchat thanks for all you guys do to put these chats on, I know it ain’t easy!
9:30 PM odguru Christy – OD. My word for the upcoming year? Shameless. Out with the old! #lrnchat . http://t.co/PF4O8D1VDe
9:30 PM brunowinck RT @tomspiglanin: Excellent topic, #lrnchat thanks for all you guys do to put these chats on, I know it ain’t easy!
9:30 PM CandiceCPLP . Best wishes for a happy and successful 2014, all! #lrnchat
9:31 PM JaneBozarth And to all a good night. #lrnchat
9:31 PM lrnchat Thanks all for joining #lrnchat tonight.We’re taking next week off: see you on Jan 2! Look for weekly transcripts at http://t.co/ijNIXq164N