Transcript of #lrnchat for 5/14/09

8:32:12 pm lrnchat: Welcome to #lrnchat everyone!
8:33:14 pm RobRobertson: Fair warning tweeps, about to join #Lrnchat might be a flurry of tweets…come join in! https://lrnchat.wordpress.com/about/
8:33:21 pm Quinnovator: welcome to the chat! #lrnchat
8:33:50 pm roninchef: @lrnchat Tweetchat and Tweetdeck are not updating with #lrnchat info. Anyone else having this problem?
8:34:14 pm moehlert: hi all #lrnchat folks from frederick, MD ..and lemme say Go Hershey Bears!
8:34:34 pm marciamarcia: Q0: What did you learn today? (Or what did you learn this week if today was an edu-dud :-)) #lrnchat
8:35:00 pm moehlert: Good cal…fair warning to all my followers who may not have been w/ me that long…about to join #lrnchat to talk about …learning!!
8:35:17 pm KoreenOlbrish: it appears my tweetchat is running 30 minutes slow. I’m not sure how that will work😉 #lrnchat
8:35:46 pm carolwhit: @KoreenOlbrish mine too #lrnchat
8:35:54 pm Quinnovator: hmm, not sure my message got through, hello all! #lrnchat
8:36:15 pm moehlert: #lrnchat Game-based learning = my son playing math game for so long we had to make him stop to go to bed!
8:36:35 pm lrnchat: If tweetchat is acting flaky n slow for you tonight, try tweetgrid.com or a simple search.twitter.com and then search on #lrnchat
8:36:39 pm jilliant: @KoreenOlbrish Having serious lag on TweetDeck too…#lrnchat
8:36:50 pm carolwhit: @roninchef yes, tweetchat is not refreshing #lrnchat
8:37:23 pm roninchef: @Quinnovator Internets are slow tonight. #lrnchat
8:37:48 pm carolwhit: I’m searching for #lrnchat live on TweetGrid Search – http://tweetgrid.com/search?q=%23lrnchat
8:37:59 pm BradnDeedo: Hello all – Dynamic week – I re-learned how much I hate the last week of school again for the 32nd time. #lrnchat
8:39:03 pm roninchef: I’m searching for #lrnchat live on TweetGrid Search – http://tweetgrid.com/search?q=%23lrnchat
8:39:06 pm RobRobertson: @lrnchat hmm strange but I dont see anyone in tweetchat tonight #lrnchat
8:39:10 pm carolwhit: @lrnchat tweetgrid is also behind, updates are coming through faster on my regular Nambu client #lrnchat
8:39:10 pm KoreenOlbrish: I’m searching for #lrnchat live on TweetGrid Search – http://tweetgrid.com/search?q=%23lrnchat ok, trying this one tonight
8:39:10 pm dougsymington: @lrnchat I learned how water is used to protect fire-fighters from extreme heat #lrnchat
8:39:34 pm marciamarcia: Something weird going on in @twitter land. All of the tweet tools (including search) are way behind so #lrnchat is slow. Please be patient.
8:39:42 pm roninchef: @carolwhit Even that is slow. #lrnchat
8:39:42 pm BradnDeedo: I’m searching for #lrnchat live on TweetGrid Search – http://tweetgrid.com/search?q=%23lrnchat
8:40:18 pm eekim: Sick of eavesdropping on #lrnchat. Gonna drop in this time… at least until the Laker game starts.
8:40:28 pm Quinnovator: #lrnchat seems tweetchat’s having problems, am trying a search column in TweetDeck, tweetgrid, and tweetchat, all are lagging
8:41:03 pm moehlert: @eekim Bring it EEK #lrnchat welcomes all!🙂
8:41:16 pm roninchef: Tonight, I learned if you sit by the Twitter stream long enough you will see your tweet go by. #lrnchat
8:41:26 pm carolwhit: #lrnchat maybe they are trying to prevent a “wardrobe malfunction” from being publicized???🙂
8:41:26 pm lrnchat: So @dougsymington, how is water used to protect fire-fighters from extreme heat? #lrnchat
8:41:34 pm eekim: My favorite learning story of the day: http://tumblr.com/xlw1s5ihy #lrnchat
8:41:34 pm BradnDeedo: Having a hard time seeing tweets – mine and everyone elses. Using Tweetgrid now as TweetChat wasn’t working for me. deja vu #lrnchat
8:42:14 pm mkfrie: I’m searching for #lrnchat live on TweetGrid Search – http://tweetgrid.com/search?q=%23lrnchat
8:42:43 pm Quinnovator: yep, starting #lrnchat for the next 90 mins or so, so apologies in advance if my tweet stream gets tres’ busy
8:43:29 pm carolwhit: #lrnchat I learned that there are no web conferencing solutions for small biz that serve large audiences without giving up phone or big$
8:43:37 pm mkfrie: Ok I hope to get into this conversation tonight…I posed a question even #lrnchat
8:44:14 pm Quinnovator: #lrnchat learned this about the great twitter setting controversy
8:44:30 pm moehlert: I want to rec this http://bit.ly/bHRmI to #lrnchat Implications for the institutionalizing of learning processes
8:44:45 pm marciamarcia: What did I learn today? A simple necklace chain w/o any extra bling can amuse a 4 yr old for hours. W00t! #lrnchat
8:45:11 pm BradnDeedo: I can only see my tweets in Twitter home – but can’t follow conversations #lrnchat
8:46:01 pm marciamarcia: I learned today that family friend/artist Peter Marcus is still in STL and still creating amazing art http://sn.im/ptrmc #lrnchat
8:46:34 pm BradnDeedo: I’m searching for #lrnchat live on TweetGrid Search – http://tweetgrid.com/search?q=%23lrnchat
8:46:37 pm Quinnovator: #lrnchat actually, I had a great learning from a comment on one of my blog posts, detailing the ongoing battle to get SoMe into the org
8:46:54 pm dougsymington: @lrnchat A wide spray of water (versus a narrow stream) provides a cooling barrier between flames and fighters #lrnchat
8:47:05 pm mkfrie: I seem to have learned today, that live collaborative learning does not work with a pause of more than 30 seconds between entries! #lrnchat
8:47:11 pm dbolen: learning, patience is a virtue? #lrnchat
8:47:18 pm lrnchat: @mkfrie Question received. Look forward to asking it once a few more folks can actually see the chat happenin’ #lrnchat
8:47:20 pm carolwhit: @eekim glad to have you here! #lrnchat
8:47:26 pm roninchef: My friends list is the only thing updating fast. I will be adding new friends as I go. #lrnchat
8:47:32 pm moehlert: I learned that I need to think more loosely about an innovation strategy #lrnchat
8:47:45 pm silverchirps: Got on Facebook. Learned to add comments to areas of a picture. #lrnchat
8:47:53 pm Quinnovator: @eekim, come on down! #lrnchat
8:48:07 pm tgrevatt: @hjarche @tgrevatt Hello #lrnchat ! Greetings from Manx Pub in Ottawa. Raising a glass to you all!
8:48:10 pm J_Schulz: Good evening, #lrnchat. I can’t tell if nobody’s talking, or the tweet are just slooooow to appear.
8:48:17 pm Quinnovator: @moehlert how do you mean “think more loosely”? #lrnchat
8:48:50 pm carolwhit: @roninchef true for me as well, guess twitter doesn’t want us to find new friends anymore #lrnchat
8:48:59 pm JaneBozarth: I learned about using Twitter in VILT and conferences. #lrnchat
8:49:03 pm MariaOD: @marciamarcia i dont understand this twitter reply frenzy. I just turned that setting on last weekdidn’t realized it even existed. #lrnchat
8:49:04 pm KoreenOlbrish: so frustrated with lag all day. obviously i didn’t learn patience today. #lrnchat
8:49:10 pm RobRobertson: @lrnchat I learned that one of the astronauts fixing hubb is using a tool he created inspired by one of his kids “claw” type toys #lrnchat/
8:49:33 pm marciamarcia: @eekim thanks for thinking of us. Twitter is having massive slow down tonight tho so not having much of a chat yet. #lrnchat
8:49:34 pm MariaOD: @marciamarcia twazzup is sloooooooooowwww. #lrnchat
8:49:47 pm silverchirps: I am 15 minutes behind. RT @carolwhit: @KoreenOlbrish mine too #lrnchat
8:50:00 pm Priaak: #lrnchat there seems to be a 10 min lag for the messages to show up
8:50:01 pm JaneBozarth: @carolwhit @roninchef #lrnchat I told @slqotd yesterday that it seems Twitter no longer thinks Twitter is appropriate for social learning.
8:50:07 pm lrnchat: Anyone else want to toss in what they learned today? #lrnchat
8:50:09 pm row4it: Learned today that while I’m searching for models/structures….I really am capable of creating my own for the org. #lrnchat
8:50:30 pm roninchef: @KoreenOlbrish Something is up with the web today. I had Google troubles this morning and lagginess all day too. #lrnchat
8:50:36 pm moehlert: @Quinnovator #lrnchat great question…still mapping it out
8:50:56 pm jilliant: Learned how much I was longing for a change of pace once one was handed to me. #lrnchat
8:51:07 pm KoreenOlbrish: tweetchat takes the lead with only a 3 minute lag! (hey, celebrate the small stuff🙂 #lrnchat
8:51:17 pm Quinnovator: #lrnchat great learning from another comment: Charles Jennings said 20% improvement from objectives & measures, 7% bennie from training !
8:52:20 pm MariaOD: I learn about the the importance of play. The opoosite of play is not work. It is depression. #lrnchat
8:52:55 pm moehlert: RT @MariaOD: I learn about the the importance of play. The opoosite of play is not work. It is depression. #lrnchat
8:52:59 pm Quinnovator: #lrnchat also learning that lag pretty much destroys a chat!
8:53:02 pm carolwhit: @JaneBozarth @roninchef seems that now they aren’t even good at socializing in general! #lrnchat
8:53:19 pm BradnDeedo: Juggling between twwetchat and tweetgrid interesting results some tweets showing up on one but not the other – hmmmmmm #lrnchat
8:53:27 pm moehlert: @MariaOD AND the opposite of imposed structure is NOT chaos but emergent structure!🙂 #lrnchat
8:53:31 pm mkfrie: Twitter main page running 60-90 secs delay. Ugh #lrnchat
8:53:39 pm lrnchat: congrats @row4it who learned today that while searching for models/structures he really is capable of creating his own for the org. #lrnchat
8:53:52 pm eekim: @carolwhit What are your requirements? GoToMeeting works well for me and doesn’t cost too much. #lrnchat
8:53:59 pm BradnDeedo: Tweetchat is improving #lrnchat
8:54:32 pm BradnDeedo: or maybe not #lrnchat
8:55:34 pm KoreenOlbrish: i learned this week that social media has a LONG way to go in Pharma. Maybe farther than virtual worlds. #lrnchat
8:55:51 pm MariaOD: @moehlert hear hear! #lrnchat
8:55:54 pm lrnchat: from @MariaOD > I learn about the the importance of play. The opposite of play is not work. It is depression. #lrnchat
8:56:20 pm Quinnovator: @row4it yes, make models! #lrnchat
8:56:30 pm carolwhit: @eekim large audience (100+) and toll-free line for those that can’t/don’t use VOIP #lrnchat
8:57:10 pm shantarohse: I learned that you can create a presentation in 20 minutes (when you don’t fill your slides full of text). #lrnchat
8:57:59 pm lrnchat: Unlikely Q1: Should we stop and pick up again next week? Delays are exhausting. If so, please remember to add to http://sn.im/lrncq #lrnchat
8:58:08 pm roninchef: @lrnchat Let’s go! #lrnchat
8:58:13 pm eekim: @moehlert That piece hits way too close to home. Reminds me of work I did with FAA years ago, but I see it all over. #lrnchat
8:58:46 pm BradnDeedo: I’m getting ready to sign off – next week then? #lrnchat
8:59:06 pm MariaOD: @lrnchat yes…it’s unbearable! I’m managing Twazzup, Tweetie and Tweekdeck…alll slowwwww #lrnchat
8:59:11 pm Quinnovator: tweetchat seems to have caught up, at least for now #lrnchat
8:59:38 pm roninchef: @lrnchat Juggling 5 Twitter apps on 2 laptops is fun, fun, fun! And no I’m eying my phone,too. #lrnchat
8:59:46 pm Quinnovator: @lrnchat Q1: I’m tempted to toss in the towel, frustrating #lrnchat
8:59:57 pm eekim: Via @moehlert: AND the opposite of imposed structure is NOT chaos but emergent structure! #lrnchat
9:00:03 pm JaneBozarth: #lrnchat I’m NOT having delays. Any explanation for that?
9:00:18 pm roninchef: Tweet chat is the clear winner. For the moment:| #lrnchat
9:00:59 pm Quinnovator: @lrnchat we’ll have to test it out next week, and have a backup plan in place (there *are* other alternatives) #lrnchat
9:01:20 pm Quinnovator: @JaneBozarth quick, steal her pipe! #lrnchat
9:01:29 pm roninchef: @JaneBozarth You are sitting on an internet pipeline. #lrnchat
9:01:30 pm jilliant: @lrnchat Q1 – Yeah, this is really too tough to follow tonight… #lrnchat
9:01:36 pm lrnchat: I vote for “voting by feet” or is that fingers, and call this one a night. See you all next week same time same channel. Sigh. #lrnchat
9:01:43 pm carolwhit: @eekim GoToMeeting doesn’t allow recording on mac, big downfall, also doesn’t allow linux, could be an issue for some #lrnchat
9:01:58 pm allisunelearns: Today I learned about differences in the files (flv vs. swf vs. swf skin vs flv url) needed 2 view a Flash video in the Moodle CRS. #lrnchat
9:02:04 pm nancydevine: RT @eekim Via @moehlert: AND the opposite of imposed structure is NOT chaos but emergent structure! #lrnchat
9:02:10 pm Quinnovator: odd thing is, can’t really tell how ‘real time’ it is, if all tools are lagged! #lrnchat
9:02:14 pm MariaOD: Goodnight all! #lrnchat #lrnchat
9:02:13 pm moehlert: @KoreenOlbrish #lrnchat Why is that? Is it just native to pharma? Regulation?
9:02:25 pm mkfrie: I am dying with this delay. Next week is my vote. #lrnchat
9:02:35 pm roninchef: @carolwhit Me! Me! I am a Linux! #lrnchat
9:02:36 pm eekim: @carolwhit Yes, for groups of that size, there are no good cheap solutions.😦 #lrnchat
9:02:57 pm silverchirps: tweetgrid, twitter search, tweetchat, twitterfall are all real time now. #lrnchat
9:02:59 pm eekim: @carolwhit ReadyTalk at least has good toll-free support. #lrnchat
9:03:07 pm shantarohse: @moehlert Yes, amazing. And somehow the presentation is more memorable too. #lrnchat
9:03:11 pm moehlert: stupid lag #lrnchat
9:03:12 pm JaneBozarth: #lrnchat …umm, I’m not using any Twitter app…
9:03:15 pm dbolen: buh bye #lrnchat
9:03:18 pm KoreenOlbrish: @moehlert i don’t know if its just pharma, actually. but the “culture” of pharma seems too regulated to readily adopt SoMe #lrnchat
9:03:45 pm moehlert: @shantarohse almost like you’re just telling a….story…🙂 #lrnchat
9:03:46 pm RobRobertson: @lrnchat great, now I have no excuse to procrastinate on submitting my devlearn proposal😉 #lrnchat
9:04:08 pm Quinnovator: good night all; we’ll try again next week. Stupid internets… #lrnchat
9:04:37 pm carolwhit: @eekim yeah, they’re on the short list! along with HyperMeeting #lrnchat
9:05:17 pm MariaOD: Anyone going to DevCon2009 in Salt Lake City next month? #lrnchat #lrnchat
9:05:22 pm JaneBozarth: #lrnchat I am intoxicated with the joy of sitting on an internet pipeline, but wish my friends were here with me…
9:05:40 pm carolwhit: @roninchef There’s always a linux where you least expect it! (or not! I’ve heard of your love for code!) #lrnchat
9:07:32 pm marciamarcia: If video killed the radio star then lagtime on the twitterfeeds killed our #lrnchat tonight. Off to learn elsewhere. Next week, tho.

Leave a Reply

